ADS
Quick Tips
Become
master of the ADS astronomy information domain.
|
general online search tips
| ADS tips | ADS
interface overview | results
|
NASA's Astrophysical
Database Service (ADS) is a powerful tool for searching for astronomy
information. It contains over 640,000 abstracts from astronomical/planetary
sciences/solar physics articles found in hundreds of astronomy and astrophysics
refereed and non-refereed journals, conference proceedings, and dissertations.
Here is their journal list.
For most scanned astronomy journals, coverage extends back to Volume
1. Unscanned journal abstracts primarily date back to 1975. Try Web
of Science or paper databases in the library to find older materials.
ADS also links to SIMBAD,
NED, LPI,
and IAUC
databases. Thus, you can use ADS to search for articles by object. (Important:
The ADS link to SIMBAD provides name resolution information only. Go
directly to SIMBAD for object data.)
General online search
tips:
-
Use unique or unusual terms whenever possible
-
Combine terms with 'and' and 'not' to narrow a search
and 'or' to widen.
-
Put phrases in quotes: "supernova remnant"
-
Perform more than one search
-
Perform the same searches in more than one database,
search engine, etc.
-
-
This is a database of abstracts. It is good
for locating articles on a particular subject or topic, or by a particular
author or authors. Some full text articles can be accessed through
ADS, but not all. ADS is good for getting citation information on
articles that interest you.
-
Have a plan for your search. What is the best
approach: search by author(s)? Object? Title terms? Date range? Journal(s)?
-
Use as many unique terms or combinations thereof
as possible. Mine terms from abstracts if needed.
-
Authors specialize – search by name, co-authors,
etc.
-
If you are getting too many results, utilize
the filters, sorting and settings options to further refine your search.
-
To find related articles:
-
use the keyword search, or
-
follow 'U' (Also-read articles) links,
or
-
Find Similar Abstracts links within the
citation hyperlinks.
Overview of the ADS search interface
It is divided into four sections from top to bottom:
- Abstract Query Form - you should master this
- Filters - you probably won't use this much
- Sorting - only needed in certain circumstances
- Settings - can be useful
1. Abstract Query Form
- Preferences - Use the preferences form if you are a regular
user of the database. The forms let you customize some settings for
viewing and printing articles. More
information.
- Database query choices Next you can choose which databases
to query. You can select more than one: Astronomy, Instrumentation,
Physics/Geophysics, LANL Preprints.
- Authors
- Use the Exact Author name search to find all variations
of an author or authors’ name(s). Just input your authors last name
– or the first few letters followed by an "*" (example: chandr*)
– and the first letter of his/her first name followed by an "*".
(chandr*, s*). Press send and it will jump to that place in the
list.
- Check the boxes next to all variations of the author names. You
can do more than one author at a time. Press Send
- Use the checkboxes if you are searching for the work of one
author.
- Use the checkboxes if you want all works by two or more authors.
This will not limit results to co-authored works.
- When using the textbox, type one author name per line or separate
with semi-colons.
- Use the textbox to search for co- or multiple-authored works.
Use the and radio button.
- Scroll down the form to Sorting and select sort by author
first name of you are targeting a particular author.
- Scroll down the form to Settings and select Require
field for selection: Authors, if you are targeting a particular
author.
Warning: If you bypass selecting your author through the checkboxes
provided through the Authors link or the Exact author name
search, and just type a name into the text box, you may miss some
articles because you did not search all variations on their name (Schramm,
David Norman; Schramm, David N.; Schramm D. N., etc).
Note: You cannot search ADS by author affiliation. More
information.
2. Filters - you probably won't
use this much.
Enter "-31" in the Day field to select all new entries
in ADS in the past month.
3. Sorting – only needed in certain
circumstances
- Sort based on what you are looking for. This option can be useful
if you are looking for older material or the work of a particular
author or authors.
4. Settings –
can be useful
- Require field for selection
This setting is very useful for focusing your search on a particular
author or object and eliminating material of lesser importance.
- Synonym replacement
- Turn this off!
- Put a "#" symbol in front of individual words you would like to retain
synonym replacement for.
- Use truncation symbols instead (accret* = accretion, accrete,
accreting, etc.)
- Relative Weights/Use for Weighting/Weighted Scoring
Use if you like to further refine importance of author, object, title,
abstract fields in your search.
Once you get some results you like
- Select articles you would like by checking the check box next to
the citation. Click on the citation for more information.
- Scroll down to the bottom of the page and click Retrieve selected
references
- Under Find papers related to the above articles select any
choice you would like. Most of those choices will retrieve a huge number
of further references.
- If you use Find papers similar to selected articles, select
only the Titles checkbox next to the button, to get a more reasonable
number of results.
- Print out full text of papers you want or print citations and access
individually. See ADS Viewing/Printing
Options for more information on printing articles.
|