Object Databases

Use to find data and information on particular objects.

 

Most objects have more than one name or designation. To identify an object's other names, use ADS and do the following:

  1. On the query form, click the object name search hyperlink.
  2. Type in an object name, like NGC 4565, in the SIMBAD box, NED box or other as appropriate.
  3. Click send - violá!

Warning: ADS will also automatically search other names of an object, but you may miss a few if you rely solely on this.

Here are the major object databases:

  • Astronomical Data Center (NASA) – Provides computer-ready astronomical catalogs and data sets.

  • Astrophysics Data System (ADS) – Contains over half a million abstracts of refereed and non-refereed journals, conference proceedings, and dissertations. A huge database, not for the faint of heart. Use these ADS Quick Tips as needed.

  • NASA Extragalactic Database (NED) – Database of objects for which cross-identifications of names have been established, accurate positions and redshifts entered to the extent possible, and some basic data collected. Also contains detailed and referenced photometry, position, and redshift data.

  • Planetary Data System (NASA) - Archives and distributes scientific data from NASA planetary missions, astronomical observations, and laboratory measurements.

  • SIMBAD – Provides basic data, cross-identifications and bibliography for galactic objects. Can be searched by object name, coordinates, or reference code.

 

 

 

Physics-Astronomy Library
University of Washington, Seattle, WA
phylib@u.washington.edu

updated: 06/05/01
[top] [home]