Art Library


HOW TO FIND ART PERIODICAL ARTICLES - Art Library Pathfinder

Art Building
Carol Martin, © UW Health Sciences Center for Educational Resources
The Art Library houses a collection of specialized art books and journals that support student and departmental coursework. Although Art is the principal location for art publications, art books and periodicals are also located in Suzzallo Library and OUGL.

For the most comprehensive catalog of periodicals and resources, visit the UW Library's main website.

The pathfinder below will guide you in searching the key art periodical databases available in the University of Washington libraries.


Abstracts

Art Databases UW Research Guide E-Journals


Abstracts

Art Abstracts




A bibliographic database that indexes and abstracts articles from periodicals published throughout the world. Subjects covered include art, architecture and architectural history, art history, decorative arts, graphic arts, industrial design, non-Western art, painting, photography, pottery, sculpture, textiles, video. Coverage includes English-language periodicals, yearbooks, and museum bulletins, as well as periodicals published in Western European languages.

Bibliography of the History of Art


BHA Bibliographie de l'Histoire d'Art / Bibliography of the History of Art Includes writings from 1973 to present. This database covers visual arts in all media including traditional fine arts; decorative and applied arts; material culture; photography and contemporary new media; visual arts aspects of performing arts. BHA includes European art from late Antiquity to the present; American art from the European arrival to the present and Christian and European art in Africa, Asia, and Australia. BHA includes references to both print and electronic journal articles, monographs, collections of essays, conference proceedings, and exhibition catalogues. BHA is bilingual, in English and French, and is published jointly by the J. Paul Getty Trust and the Institut de l'Information Scientifique et Technique du CNRS.



Full-text databases

Expanded Academic Index




Provides indexing and abstracting for approximately 1,500 scholarly and general interest periodicals, covering all major fields of study in the humanities, social sciences, and science and technology.

JSTOR




A subject searchable index of journals online, including journals related to the fields of art, art history and architecture. Retrieves full-text backfiles of scholarly journals, some of which date back to the 1800's.

Research Library Complete


Indexing and full text for a basic collection of general-interest, humanities, social science and science periodicals and newspapers; 1986 to present. Divided into Newspapers and periodicals sections




Print resources in the Art Library

Design & Applied Arts Index
NK1160 .D46 - Art index tables

Index to Nineteenth Century American Art Periodicals
N6510 .S35 1999, v.1 & 2 - Reference

Ryerson Library Index to Art Periodicals
N1.A1 A55 v.1-10 - Reference

       

Article Citation

This brief list contains some of the most common examples of bibliographic citations according to the 5th edition of the MLA Handbook for Writers of Research Papers (LB 2369 .G53 1999).

A comprehensive reference page on citing and writing help can be found at the UW Library's Citation & Writing Guides page.


 
Locating articles in the Art Library


The UW Libraries Catalog provides information on the holdings of the UW Libraries system, and includes the holdings of the Art Library. Art Library shelving locations are also indicated in the online catalog. Books are shelved by call number in the general stacks under the Library of Congress classification system. Bound volumes of periodicals are arranged alphabetically by title.

Current unbound issues of selected periodicals are kept behind the circulation desk or on the current periodicals display shelves. Unbound issues of other periodicals are kept with the bound volumes.


What to do if a periodical is not owned by UW

If the UW does not own the journal you will need to use interlibrary loan. Non-health sciences students, staff and faculty (includes all Bothell and Tacoma students): Use Interlibrary Loan (ILL). For more information, see the ILL FAQ.

Top
Art Databases UW Research Guide E-Journals

Contact the Art Library

Last modified: Tuesday March 04 2008