![]() |
|
|
![]() |
Other sources for annual reports include the Foster Business Library database Lexis-Nexis Academic Universe, with 128,000 corporate annual reports covering the period 1972 through 1995. To access these reports, go to the Business section and then to Company Financial Information and use the pulldown menu to search NAARS - Annual Reports 1972 - 1984 or NAARS - Annual Reports 1984 - 1995. Securities and Exchange Commission Filings are another source of information that often prove more valuable than the annual reports mailed out to shareholders. Lexis-Nexis is a good source (among many) for online SEC filings back to December, 1987. For earlier SEC filings, the Foster Business Library has a microfiche backfile from 1982 to 1991 called Q-File. This set was followed by a microfiche backfile called SEC File for the period from 1991 to 1997. For these microfiche, see:
SEC file index.
This index covers the years 1978 to 1998.
Foster Business Library Reference, Call number: HG4028. B2 .S42.
The Balmer Copy Center closed permanently on June 10, 2006. Please visit one of the following centers for your copying needs:
All course packs previously sold at the Balmer Copy Center were relocated to the University Bookstore as of Spring Quarter 2006.
Two self-service printers are located in the Foster Business Library, next to the main computing area; one of them is a color printer. Print jobs sent to these printers can be accessed with a Copy Quick Card. The cost is $0.10 per sheet when printing single-sided; $0.19 per sheet when printing double-sided.
Two self-service photocopiers are located in the alcove to the left of the Circulation Desk, as you head upstairs to the library's second floor. The cost is $0.15 when using cash; $0.125 when using a Copy Quick Card.
Contact Copy Services at 206-543-7336 or via e-mail to uwpubs@u.washington.edu, if you have questions.
For historical perspective, see the now out-of-date:
The 100 best companies to work for in America.
Foster Business Library Reference, Call number: HF5549.2 .U5 .L38 1993.
For other "best companies," consider companies who are members of the organization Business for Social Responsibility, which "has helped companies of all sizes and sectors to achieve success in ways that demonstrate respect for ethical values, people, communities and the environment." See their Member List.
For historical perspective, see the now out-of-date:
The job seeker's guide to socially responsible companies.
Foster Business Library Reference, Call number: HF5382.75 .U6 .J36 1995.
In a similar vein, see also the journal Business Ethics list of the 100 Best Corporate Citizens. Many other "best company lists" exist; as an example, see Working Mother Magazine's 100 Best Companies for Working Mothers.
Standard & Poor's stock reports
Foster Business Library Reference, Call number: HG4907 .S72.
Companies are listed alphabetically by company name in this two- or three-volume report, with Beta listed under Key Stock Statistics, right under the chart for the company's stock. For historical beta, consult older editions of this title. The Foster Business Library reference collection is located right behind the reference desk in the center of the first floor under a sign that says Reference.
Another source for beta is the Foster Business Library database Factiva. Go to Companies/Markets and search for a company by company name or ticket symbol; scroll down to Reports and then to Financial Snapshot; look for Beta (36 month and 60 month) under Price Change. Beta can also be found, under Reports, in the Comparison Report, under Price Action (for 36 months), along with the beta for the industry in which the company operates.
For more companies' beta and to find historical beta online, the Foster Business Library database Bloomberg is a good source; click here for more information about the Bloomberg terminal (U.W. restricted). To find historical beta on Bloomberg, key in the ticker symbol of the company; Function Key 8 (Equity) and BETA. For instance, for the beta for Washington Mutual:
WM [F8 key, Equity] BETA
For more detailed historical beta instructions, for Bloomberg, see the last page in the black notebook next to the Bloomberg terminal, or go to Finding Historical Beta on Bloomberg.
To find out how to calculate beta on your own, see:
Practical financial management.
Foster Business Library Reference, Call number: HG4026 .L37 2000.
See pages 258 to 260 for determining beta.
See also:
Information on the Beta Equation (STOCKS):
The beta of a stock is determined as follows:
[(n) (sum of (xy)) ]-[(sum of x) (sum of y)]
[(n) (sum of (xx)) ]-[(sum of x) (sum of x)]
where: n = # of observations (24-60 months)
x = rate of return for the S&P 500 Index
y = rate of return for the stock
Source: http://members.tripod.com/pugahome/investterms.htm
Or, see page 32 of the Small Business Valuation Book.
For more about bonds, see the Foster Business Library research guide Bond Resources.
Go to the Foster Business Library database Mergent Online and search for the company whose bond ratings you seek. Look under Long Term Debt; at the end of this section are changes in the company's bond ratings (if any) plus the company's Fitch, S&P, Duff & Phelps, and Moody's ratings. As an example, go to the bottom of the Long Term Debt webpage, in Mergent Online, for Dell Corporation; access to this information, as for any of the library's databases, is limited to those with a University of Washington Net ID.
See the following titles in the Foster Business Library reference collection:
Mergent bond record.
Foster Business Library Reference, Call number: HG4651 .M662 (Monthly)
Standard & Poor's bond guide.
Foster Business Library Reference, Call number: HG4905 .S435 (Monthly)
The Foster Business Library no longer carries the Fitch Ratings, published by Fitch Investors Service.
Alternatively, go to NASD BondInfo to search for Moody's and S&P bond ratings, prices and yields online; as an example, see the ratings for Dell Computer Corporation. This site also allows you to make lists of bonds by bond ratings.
For an explanation of bond ratings, click here for the Yahoo! Bond Center's cribsheet. For an explanation of S&P bond ratings, see:
Standard & Poor's guide to personal finance.
See the explanation of S&P bond ratings on page 52.
Foster Business Library Reference, CALL NUMBER: HG179 .D697 2005.
For more about bonds, see the Foster Business Library research guide Bond Resources.
For more about bonds, see the Foster Business Library research guide Bond Resources.
"End of the Line" and SUB(Book Reviews)
Alternatively, try searching your title in online bookseller sites such as Amazon.Com (look for Editorial Reviews) or Barnes & Noble.Com (look for From The Critics).
The Prentice Hall encyclopedia of model business plans.
Foster Business Library Reference, Call number: HD30.28 .C76 1998.
Model business plans for product businesses.
Foster Business Library Reference, Call number: HD30.28 .C627 1995.
Anatomy of a business plan: a step-by-step guide to building the business.
Foster Business Library Reference, Call number: HD30.28 .P5 1996.
Business plans handbook: a compilation of over 200 actual business plans developed by small
business throughout North America.
In ten volumes, with an index by type of business at the back of
volume ten.
Foster Business Library Reference, Call number: HD62.7 .B865.
See also the Foster Business Library research guide, Business Plans, with business plan examples on the web, as well as many more sources of information about business plans.
See also the Business Plans and Profiles Index, compiled by the Business Department at the Carnegie Library of Pittsburgh, from a variety of sources, with links in some cases to online editions of plans. One of the print sources cited is the Business Plans Handbook, in the Foster Business Library reference collection, call number HD62.7 B865.
Compensation for company officers?
For more companies (U.S. public companies), try the Foster Business Library database Lexis-Nexis Academic. To find company information, go to Business and then to Company Financial where you can obtain financial and other data for companies. Company proxy statements are available under SEC Filings; use the SEC 10-K Reports pulldown menu to access SEC Filings - Proxy Statements; look for the Executive Compensation section.
For more about salaries, see the Foster Business Library research guide Salary Resources.
Connecting to Foster databases from home?
For more about connecting to UW Libraries' databases from home, see UW Libraries Off-Campus Access. Your UD Net ID is needed to access this information.
Try also this title in the Foster Business Library reference collection:
Statistical abstract of the United States.
Various Consumer Price Index tables can usually be found in the chapter on Prices (starting on page 459 in the
year 2004-2005 edition).
Foster Business Library Reference, Call number: HA202 .U56 2004-2005.
(Also available online)
The library circulation desk often has empty copy cards, left by users, that can be borrowed and used for copying or printing, adding money to them in the copiers, in case users don't want to spend five dollars to obtain a card.
In the case of companies that have changed ticker symbols, merged, been acquired or gone out of business, finding daily stock price closings is more complicated; print sources must be consulted since this information typically disappears from web sources. The sources below include daily volume, high, low and closing prices.
Try:
Daily stock price record.
Foster Business Library Reference, Call number: HG4915 .I23
(Quarterly) for the NYSE, back to 1972;
Foster Business Library Reference,Call number: HG4915. I22
(Quarterly) for the ASE, back to 1972;
Foster Business Library Reference, Call number: HG4915. I24
(Quarterly) for the NASDAQ, back to 1993.
For earlier daily stock prices, see:
ISL daily stock price index.
Daily stock price index, over-the-counter.
Foster Business Library Reference Serials, Call number: HG4915. I24
(Quarterly), from 1972 to 1992.
ISL daily stock price index, over-the-counter.
Foster Business Library Reference Serials, Call number: HG4915. I24
(Quarterly), from 1968 to 1972.
Definition of the term "tracking stock"?
For definitions of this term and 5,000 others, used in investing, go to InvestorWords or this source in the Foster Business Library reference collection:
Wall Street words.
See the definition of Tracking Stock on pages 383 and 384.
Foster Business Library Reference, Call number: HG4513 .S37 2003.
For a list, by call number, of all the many types of dictionaries in the Foster Business Library reference collection, click here.
International marketing data and statistics.
Foster Business Library Reference, Call number: HA42 .I56 2003.
European marketing data and statistics.
Foster Business Library Reference, Call number: HA1107 .E87 2003.
Demographics USA, county edition.
Foster Business Library Reference, Call number: HF3007 .S96 (Annual)
Alternatively, try this site for U.S. national and state demographic
data on the Web, provided by the Population Reference Bureau:
AmeriStat: one-stop source for U.S. population data.
For international demographics, try the list of International
Statistical Agencies maintained by the
U.S. Census Bureau.
For more about demographics, see the Foster Business Library research guide Demographics Resources.
An alternative source in a print format for this information is in the Foster Business Library Periodical stacks, in appendix A-23 of the monthly Federal Reserve Bulletin. The Foster Business Library Periodicals Collection is arranged alphabetically by publication title (not by call number).
Mergent dividend record (1999- )
Formerly
Moody's dividend record (1953-1999).
Foster Business Library Reference, Call number: HG4028 .D5 .M65. (Twice Weekly)
Standard & Poor's dividend record (1977- )
Foster Business Library Reference, Call number: HG4028 .D5 .S7a. (Weekly)
Standard & Poor's stock reports (1998- )
See under Per Share Data.
Foster Business Library Reference, Call number: HG4907 .S72. (Monthly)
Mergent's handbook of common stocks (2001- )
Formerly the Handbook of common stocks (1999-2001)
Formerly Moody's handbook of common stocks (1965-1999)
A good alternative source, online, is Yahoo! Finance; go to a company's Key Statistics and then to the Dividends & Splits section in the lower right. As an example, see Boeing. Doing Business Series?
The Foster Business Library database Hoovers Online includes the D&B D-U-N-S number in its company fact sheets for tens of thousands of U.S. companies. The Foster Business Library business directory database Reference USA does not have D-U-N-S numbers; instead, it has ABI numbers.
Alternatively, check this title in the Foster Business Library reference collection (behind the Reference Desk):
D&B million dollar directory.
This five-volume set is a directory of America's top public and private companies, firms with more than 180 employees or more than $9 million in annual sales; there are also geographic and industry indexes to the directory. Company listings include the D-U-N-S number.
Foster Business Library Reference, Call number: HC102 .D8 2003.
The King County Library System also offers online access to many databases, including the D&B Million Dollar Database; a KCLS library card number is required for access.
Standard & Poor's stock reports.
See under Per Share Data.
Foster Business Library Reference, Call number: HG4907 .S72. (Monthly)
Mergent's handbook of common
stocks.
See under Earnings.
Foster Business Library Reference, Call number: HG4501 .M59 (Quarterly)
An alternative source, online, is Yahoo! Finance; go to a company's Key Statistics and then to the Income Statement section for EPS, earnings per share. As an example, see Boeing.
Print editions of these two series are available in the Periodicals Collection up to 2001/2002 (when the library stopped receiving print editions). This collection is arranged alphabetically by the name of the periodical, from A on the right to Z on the left, so you will find the Economist Intelligence Unit's quarterly Country Reports shelved in the C's. The Country Reports are arranged alphabetically by country. The Country Profiles come out annually; the Country Reports, quarterly. Some smaller countries may be included, out of alphabetic sequence, in a combined report or profile with other adjoining countries; check the UW Libraries Catalog if the country cannot be found on the shelves.
For more about countries, see the Foster Business Library research guide International Business Resources.
Do the Foster Business Library's computers offer Endnote? Yes, all of the Access + computers in the library, the computers that ask for your UW Net ID, offer Endnote, as of the beginning of winter quarter 2005. It's also is also available in the Odegaard Undergraduate Library, the Suzzallo/Allen Library, and the Engineering Library. To find EndNote, go to the Start button at the lower left of the Access + homepage, then to Programs, for EndNote.
For more about Endnote, go to Research Guides on the Foster Business Library for the guide About Endnote.
For executive biographies on the web, try Yahoo! Finance (http://quote.yahoo.com/). For instance, for Boeing, look up the company via the ticker symbol BA and go to the Boeing company Profile; scroll down to Officers and click on Bios at the bottom of the list of officers; unfortunately, to access this biographical information, you must register with Reuters (membership is free).
Another source for executive biographies on the web is ZoomInfo, with over 28 million business people at over 2.3 million companies. As an example, see the information available for a former local CEO, Doug Walker, a founder of WRQ.
Though only available in the Foster Business Library, the Bloomberg database, on PC #20, is another good source for executive biographies. "For example, if you were looking for information on Warren Buffett, you would:
Type Warren Buffett, hit the green HELP key.
This brings up the HELP page with various categories.
Type 7 (next to People), hit the green GO key.
Type 1 (next to Warren Edward Buffett), hit the green GO key.
This brings up his profile that contains:
--his current position, company name, address, phone number
--his photograph
--current news about him
--his career history
--other company affiliations
--board memberships
--education
--personal information (including his DOB)
--awards
--reported holdings (of stock in other public companies)"
(The above thanks to Richard Drezen, Research Librarian, Washington Post/NYC Bureau.)
Alternatively, consult these titles in the Foster Business Library reference collection (behind the Reference Desk):
American business leaders: from colonial times to the present.
Two-page biographies of male and female American business executives, in two volumes.
Foster Business Library Reference, Call number: HC102.5 .A2 .H36 1999.
African-American business leaders: a biographical dictionary.
Extensive biographies of about 100 prominent African-American business leaders.
Foster Business Library Reference, Call number: HC102.5 .A2 .I52 1994.
Business: the ultimate resource.
See pages 1062 to 1163 for two-page biographies of 51 Management Giants.
Foster Business Library Reference, Call number: HD38.15 .B878 2002.
Reference book of corporate managements: America's corporate leaders.
Brief biographies of top executives at 12,000 U.S. companies.
Foster Business Library Reference, Call number: HG4057 .A22 (Annual)
Standard & Poor's register: directors and executives.
Brief biographies for 71,000 top executives, directors and partners at U.S. companies, with
birthdates, education, experience, and, sometimes, e-mail addresses.
Foster Business Library Reference, Call number: HG4057 .A4 v.2 (Annual)
For books about executive celebrities, try a UW Libraries Catalog for the subject Chief executive officers -- United States -- Biography; click here to launch such a search--or search by name of executive.
Exchange rate for British pounds and U.S. dollars for a date in 1996?
Other good sources for currency rates and historical data on the web include Oanda, Pacific Exchange Rate Service and Economic History Services.
For older currency exchange rates, see:
Currency
conversion tables: a hundred years of change.
Currency rates for 28 major countries, going back to the early years of
the twentieth century.
Foster Business Library reference collection, Call number HG219 .B5 1970.
For more recent information, see the latest Statistical abstract of the United States, call number HA202 .U56, published annually, in the Foster Business Library reference collection; it is also available online. Look for section 15, on Business Enterprise.
For more recent information, see the references to business bankruptcies and business terminations in the U.S. Small Business Administration's Small Business Economic Indicators for 2003 (in 29 PDF pages). This Annual Publication is issued by the S.B.A.'s Office of Advocacy's Office of Economic Research.
While articles in this magazine are available online in several library databases, the Fortune 500 list is not included and is only available, online from the magazine, to those with a subscriber account number. That number, which appears on the mailing label on the cover of the library's issues, is: 188066379
To identify what databases might include full text for journals, try the search engines at Indiana University Bloomington Libraries or the University of New Mexico. The University of Washington Libraries may not have access to some of the databases at those campuses.
Futures and options for commodities and currencies?
For more about futures, see the Foster Business Library research guide entitled Futures Resources.
The directory of venture capital & private equity firms: domestic & international.
Foster Business Library Reference, Call number: HG4963 .D57 2004.
For more information on the topic of venture capital, see the Foster Business Library research guide on Venture Capital.
Those with a UW NetID can also access the database Testing and Education Reference Center; see their GMAT Test Preparation section.
The Foster Business Library database EUI Online is also a good online source for a country's GDP; go to Viewswires, look up the country of your choice, and go to the category Economic Structure for the most recent GDP data.
Alternatively, try these titles in the Foster Business Library reference collection:
Statistical abstract of the United States.
Foster Business Library Reference, Call number: HA202 .U56 (Annual)
World economic outlook.
Foster Business Library Reference, Call number: HC59. .I52 (Annual)
International financial statistics.
Foster Business Library Reference, Call number: HG3881 .I6263 (Annual)
Foster Business Library Reference Serials, Call number: HG3881 .I626 (Monthly)
Comprehensive teaching materials catalog.
Foster Business Library General Stacks, Call number: HD30.4 .D573 1998/1999.
Alternatively, you might try the Harvard Business School Publishing website at: http://www.hbsp.harvard.edu/products/cases/index.html. For a wider range of case studies sources, see a Research Guide on this topic, prepared by the Davis Library, University of North Carolina, Chapel Hill, or the Penn State Business Library's Case Studies.
The Foster Business Library has, in its General Stacks collection, some collections of Harvard Business School case studies that have been collected and republished by HBS. Click here for a list of more than 60 titles, collected via a keyword search for Harvard and Business and Case, limited to the location Foster Business Library.
The Foster Business Library has over 1,400 books in its General Stacks collection, with case studies in them. To find them, go to UW Libraries Catalog on the Foster homepage and do a keyword search for Case Studies, limited to the Location Foster Business Library. Click here to launch such a search. You can also use Cases as your search term, limited to the Foster Business Library location, which will retrieve over 400 books in the Foster collections.
Another source for case studies is periodical articles. Go to the Foster Business Library database ABI/Inform Global, click Select Multiple Databases, and then Select All Databases. Enter a subject search for SUB(Case Studies) to produce over 170,000 articles on this topic; combine this subject with another term to obtain case studies about an industry, company, or concept, as in SUB(Case Studies) and SUB(Nonprofit Organizations).
When a company's ticker symbol has changed, or the company has been acquired or gone out of business, print sources need to be consulted. See Daily Stock Prices in the Foster Business Library reference collection.
Culture's consequences: comparing values, behaviors, institutions, and
organizations acrosss nations.
Foster Business Library Reference, Call number: GN502 .H628 2001.
Culture's consequences: international differences in work-related
values.
Foster Business Library Reference, Call number: GN502 .H63 1980.
Cultures and organizations: software of the mind.
Foster Business Library Reference, Call number: HM258 .H574 1997.
For more about the Hofstede scales and their applications to individual countries, go to the Geert Hofstede site at the International Business Center.
For a brief profile of Hofstede and his work, see:
Business: the ultimate resource.
See Hofstede on pages 1004 to 1005.
Foster Business Library Reference, Call number HD38.15 .B878
2002.
For information about the Hofstede model of national culture, see:
The fundamentals of organizational behavior.
See the Hofstede Model on pages 115 to 119.
Foster Business Library Reference, Call number HD58.7 .T653 2003.
The Central Puget Sound real estate research report.
This publication includes single family housing, income property, building and economic
activity and special reports. It includes commercial real estate and demographics
information and is published every fall and spring.
Foster Business Library Reference, Call number: HD266 .W22 .K58 (Semiannual)
Alternatively, see the Washington Center for Real Estate Research and its quarterly Market Data section for Central Puget Sound summary data.
Also useful is the Marketing & Statistics section on the website of the Northwest Multiple Listing Service (with data for all Washington state counties). Another source, for five communities in Washington state, with calculators for comparison with 350 other U.S. communities, is ColdwellBankerBain.Com's Price Comparison table.
For more about real estate, see the Foster Business Library research guide Real Estate Resources.
Stocks, bonds, bills, and inflation yearbook: valuation edition
Foster Business Library Reference, Call number: HG4028 .V3 .S86 2005.
(Earlier editions in the Foster Business Library Reference Serials Collection)
Stocks, bonds, and inflation: Japan yearbook
Foster Business Library Reference, Call number: HG4503 .S75 1989.
Stocks, bonds, bills, and inflation yearbook / SBBI
Foster Business Library Reference, Call number: HG4905 .S75 2006.
(Earlier editions in the Foster Business Library Reference Serials Collection)
The library does not have Ibbotson's:
Cost of capital yearbook
The only library in Summit with a copy of this title is Western Washington University, in Bellingham.
The U.S. Federal Reserve is the best source for interest rate information, for both Daily Updates and Historical Data.
For print sources for this information, go to the monthly Federal Reserve Bulletin in the Foster Business Library Periodicals Collection, or:
Economic indicators.
Monthly publication from the Council of Economic Advisors.
Foster Business Library Reference, Call number HC101 .E35.
(Also available online)
The Foster Business Library has the:
Complete Internal Revenue Code
Foster Business Library Reference, Call number KF6276.558 .A19 .U53 (Latest)
(The previous year's edition is in Foster Business Library General Stacks, with the same call number, and can be checked out.)
The Internal Revenue Code is also available online via the Foster Business Library database Lexis-Nexis Academic; go to Legal Information, then to Tax Law, and then to Internal Revenue Code.
Investment managers in the Seattle area?
In the Foster Business Library reference collection, see:
Nelson Information's directory of investment managers.
This large three-volume directory profiles over 1,800 investment firms, U.S. and foreign, that provide investment services to institutional clients; see volume three, pages 5545 to 5546, for Washington state companies, by major metropolitan area, including Seattle.
Foster Business Library Reference, Call number: HG4907 .N44 (Annual)
For securities firms in the Seattle area, see:
Puget Sound Business Journal book of lists.
This oversized annual publication ranks the largest and fastest growing firms, institutions, wineries and other businesses in the Puget Sound region. See Securities Firms, for the 25 largest firms.
Foster Business Library Reference, Call number: HC108 .S77 .P83 (Annual)
The Ernst & Young LLP guide to the IPO value journey.
Foster Business Library Reference, Call number: HG4028 .S7 .B56 1999.
For more books on this topic, see a short list of books, in the Foster Business Library, on the subject Going Public (Securities) -- United States. For data and articles on this topic, see IPO Data and IPO Links.
At the end of spring quarter 2004, the library stopped loaning laptops for use within the library, the aging fleet of Dell laptops too slow and outdated to be useful, their service contracts expired; they were returned to the Student Technology Office. The Foster Business Library now has over twenty Access + personal computers with Microsoft Office software, for word processing and spreadsheet applications. There is also an extensive Business School Computer Lab on the fourth floor of Balmer Hall. Classroom Support Services in the basement of Kane Hall also circulates laptops that are newer, faster, have better software, can be reserved, and can be checked out for three days.
An unofficial copy of this article is also available online by clicking here.
A number of UW libraries have copies of the book entitled Answering Chief Seattle, about Chief Seattle's speech. While there is no online version of the Reader's Digest article in the Foster Business Library article databases, Lexis-Nexis Academic and ABI's historical New York Times databases include an April 21, 1992 New York Times article on this topic, with the title "Chief's Speech of 1854 Given New Meaning (and Words)," by Timothy Egan, in Section A, Page 1, Column 5. The version of the speech that has caused so much discussion may also be found at the Suquamish Tribe's Website for the speech.
Market share reporter.
This two-volume annual publication includes the U.S., Canada, and Mexico, as well as globally.
Foster Business Library Reference, Call number: HF5410 .M35 (Annual)
For newer market share information or for market share information not in the volumes above, try full article searches for market share in a Foster Business Library database such as ABI Inform/Global, searching in all collections.
For more about marketing, see the Foster Business Library research guide Marketing Resources.
International marketing data and statistics.
Foster Business Library Reference, Call number: HA42 .I56 (Annual)
Statistical abstract of the United States.
Foster Business Library Reference, Call number: HA202 .U56 2002.
European marketing data and statistics.
Foster Business Library Reference, Call number: HA1107 .E87 2003.
Market share reporter.
Foster Business Library Reference, Call number: HF5410 .M35 (Annual)
U.S. market trends & forecasts.
Foster Business Library Reference, Call number: HF5415.1 .U8 2001.
See also the Foster Business Library databases:
Lexis-Nexis Statistical. (Search by product.)
For newer market size information, try full text article searches for Market Potential in the Foster Business Library database ABI Inform/Global, searching in all databases.
The internet marketing plan: a practical handbook for creating, implementing and assessing your online presence.
Foster Business Library Reference, Call number: HF5415.1265 1997.
Marketing plans: how to prepare them, how to use them.
This newer title, in its fifth edition, provides information about the marketing process, the marketing audit, the communication and pricing plans, and marketing planning, as well as the nuts and bolts of how to prepare and use a marketing plan.
Foster Business Library Reference, CALL NUMBER: HF5415.13 .M369183 2002.
How to write a successful marketing plan: a disciplined and comprehensive approach.
Foster Business Library Reference, Call number: HF5415.13 .H52 1996.
Most business plans include a marketing plan so a good business plan reference work should offer examples of marketing plans; in particular, see this compendium:
Business plans handbook: a compilation of over 200 actual business plans developed by small
business throughout North America.
In ten volumes, with an index by type of business at the back of
volume ten.
Foster Business Library Reference, Call number: HD62.7 .B865.
For ten sample marketing plans online, try MPlans.Com and look for the notation View Plan Online.
For more than 20 books in the Foster Business Library collection on Marketing Plans, click here. For a list of recent books in the Foster Business Library on marketing plans, click here.
For more about marketing, see the Foster Business Library research guide Marketing Resources.
For a brief guide to personal statements in general, see Personal Statements and Application Letters, produced by Indiana University's Writing Tutorial Services.
See also these books in the Foster Business Library reference collection:
The Wall Street Journal guide to the top business schools.
See Admission Tips on pages 44 to 51.
Foster Business Library Reference, Call number: HF1106 .W26 2002.
The best business schools.
See Essays That Work: Writing Your Way Into Business School on pages 67 to 104.
Foster Business Library Reference, Call number: HF1131 .S78 1995.
Which MBA?
See Essay Questions on pages 78 to 79.
Foster Business Library Reference, Call number: HF1111 .B53 1999.
The Business Week guide to the best business schools.
See Crafting The Perfect B-school Essay on pages 27 to 30.
Foster Business Library Reference, Call number: HF1131 .B95 2001.
For more information about web page creation on campus, see Computing & Networking's Creating and Publishing Web Pages.
Mission statements: a guide to the corporate and nonprofit sectors.
Foster Business Library Reference, Call number: HD30.28 .G697 1994.
The Mission statement book: 301 corporate mission statements from America's top companies.
Foster Business Library Reference, Call number: HD30.285 .A27 1995.
101 great mission statements.
Foster Business Library Reference, Call number: HD30.285 .F67 1993.
Say it and live it: 50 corporate mission statements that hit the mark.
Foster Business Library Reference, Call number: HD30.285 .J66 1995.
Business rankings annual.
This annual volume provides 5,000 rankings of companies, products, services and business activities, with data culled from thousands of sources. See Industry, on pages 446 to 448 of the 2004 edition, for the most profitable, fastest growing, top five-year returns, top one-year return, and top ten-year return to shareholders.
Foster Business Library Reference, Call number: HG4050 .B88 2004.
Try the following publication in the Foster Business Library reference collection:
Morningstar mutual funds
Foster Business Library Reference, Call number: HG4530 .M676 (Current Biweekly Binder) or:
Online, at PC #19, in the CD-ROM Morningstar Principia database. For more information on how to use this database, go to Morningstar's twenty-five Product Tutorials.
For more about mutual funds, see the Foster Business Library research guide Mutual Fund Resources.
Alternatively, you can consult this title in the Foster Business Library reference collection:
North American industry classification system: United States, 2002.
Foster Business Library Reference, Call number: HF1042 .N67 2002.
Neighborhood demographics in Washington state?
To find information on census-related places, such as, for instance, White Center, go to the U.S. Census Bureau's American Factfinder, and click on People. In the City or Town box, key in White Center; make Washington the state to be searched. The result is a complete listing of all available data for White Center as well as a map of the place. For a list of all Washington state demographic profiles, for the state, counties, metropolitan areas, reservations, and cities, towns, and census-designated places, click here.
For more about demographics, see the Foster Business Library research guide Demographics Resources.
Barrons
Computerworld
The Financial Times
Investors Business
Daily
Nikkei Weekly
Puget Sound Business
Journal
Travel Weekly
Wall Street Journal
For a list of these newspapers and links to online versions, click here.
Currency conversion tables: a hundred years of change.
The corporate acquisition guide.
Foster Business Library Reference, Call number: HD2746.55 .U5 .C67 1997.
The directory of obsolete securities.
Foster Business Library Reference, Call number: HG4921 .D56 1994.
Capital changes reporter
Foster Business Library Reference, Call number: KF1428 .A6 .C65. (Updated often)
Try these titles in the Foster Business Library reference
collection, for newer stocks:
The Mergent company archives manual.
2,700 U.S. companies that merged, were acquired, went bankrupt or became private companies
from 1996 to 2000.
Foster Business Library Reference, Call number: HD2746.55 .U5 .M466 2001.
The Mergent company archives manual supplement.
1,500 U.S. companies that merged, were acquired, went bankrupt or became private companies
since 2001.
Foster Business Library Reference, Call number: HD2746.55 .U5 .M466 2002.
See also the information on Old Stock Certificates maintained by the Washington State Department of Financial Institutions, Securities Division and the Foster Business Library research guide on Old Stock Certificates.
Organization charts: structures of 230 businesses, government agencies, and non-profit
organizations.
Foster Business Library Reference, Call number: HD38 .O738 2000.
Foster Business Library Reference, Call number: HD58.65 .O74 1996.
Foster Business Library Reference, Call number: HD58.65 .O74 1992.
The Conference Board chart collection.
(v. 1. Retail and wholesale. Banks and other finance. Insurance -- v. 2.
Food.
Manufacturing: transportation equipment. Manufacturing: machinery and
metals -- v. 3.
Chemicals and pharmaceuticals. Petroleum and gas. Communications.
Transportation -- v. 4.
Utilities. Services: consultants and executive search. Services: other --
v. 5.
Non-durables. Diversified operations. Manufacturing: miscellaneous.)
Foster Business Library Reference, Call number: HD2741 .C645 1997.
Keyword patent searching online: a workbook.
Foster Business Library Reference, Call number: T210 .B53 2002.
For much more on patents, go to the UW Engineering Library's Patents and Trademarks website. See also the website FreePatentsOnline.com, for free access to both United States and European patent information.
Do you need to print a document from your wireless laptop in the library? University of Washington Publications Services maintains a printer webpage, allowing users to download any of the public, self-service print queues to their laptops. This makes it easy for wireless users to send print jobs to these public printers via the wireless network; select Balmer for printing in the Foster Business Library. Find this webpage at:
http://www.washington.edu/admin/pubserv/copy/uniprint/locations.php
At this time, Apple Computers' laptops cannot print in the libraries, due to software problems.
Production processes for various products?
How products are made.
This illustrated seven-volume set explains, in simple essays, how more than 700 products are produced. See the index in volume seven for specific products.
Foster Business Library Reference, Call number: TS146 .H67.
Alternatively, try this website, provided by the Alliance for Innovative Manufacturing at Stanford University: How Everyday Things Are Made, with over 40 products or processes.
The Little Brown book of anecdotes.
Foster Business Library Reference, CALL NUMBER: CT109 .L58 1985.
The quotations of Chairman Greenspan.
Foster Business Library Reference, CALL NUMBER: HB119 .G74 .K33 2000.
The manager's book of quotations.
Foster Business Library Reference, CALL NUMBER: HD38 .M31875 1989.
The speaker's library of business stories, anecdotes, and humor.
Foster Business Library Reference, CALL NUMBER: HF5351 .S74 1990.
The New Yorker book of business cartoons.
Foster Business Library Reference, CALL NUMBER: NC1428 .N47 1998.
Leadership: quotations from the world's greatest motivators.
Foster Business Library Reference, CALL NUMBER: PN6081 .L43 1997.
The big book of business quotations.
Foster Business Library Reference, CALL NUMBER: PN6081 .B87 .B54 2003.
The MacMillan book of business and economic quotations.
Foster Business Library Reference, CALL NUMBER: PN6081 .B87 .M33 1984.
Money talks: the 2500 greatest business quotes.
Foster Business Library Reference, CALL NUMBER: PN6084 .B87 .M58 1985.
The Wiley book of business quotations.
Foster Business Library Reference, CALL NUMBER: PN6084 .B87 .W55 1998.
The Elgar dictionary of economic quotations.
Foster Business Library Reference, CALL NUMBER: PN6084 .E36 .E44 2003.
Ratios for various industries?
Alternatively, try these books in the Foster Business Library reference collection:
RMA annual statement studies.
Foster Business Library Reference, Call number: HF5681 .B2 .R6 (Annual)
Industry norms and key business ratios.
Foster Business Library Reference, Call number: HF5681 .R25 .I525 (Annual)
The almanac of business and industrial financial ratios.
Foster Business Library Reference, Call number: HF5681 .R25 .T68 (Annual)
For information about business ratios, see:
Business ratios and formulas: a comprehensive guide.
Foster Business Library Reference, Call number: HF5691 .B73 2002.
See also other books in the Foster Business Library on the subject of Ratio Analysis.
The Foster Business Library does not receive or have access to market research reports from firms such as Jupiter, Gartner, IDC, Yankee Group, and the many other firms whose reports are often cited in the press. These reports are extremely expensive and are not generally made available to libraries to acquire, store, or loan to anyone with library access. For information about what reports are available from such firms and the costs of such reports, go to MarketResearch.Com, the Amazon.Com for market research reports.
For research reports aimed at investors, from firms such as Morgan Stanley and Lehmann Brothers, go to Business Databases on the Foster Business Library homepage and click on Investext, for reports from hundreds of sources, on companies and industries.
Online alternatives include the Member Directory of the Association of Independent Information Professionals and the Consult Online feature of the Special Libraries Association. Both online directories allow searchers to locate information consultants by specialty and location (city, state).
101 more best resumes.
Foster Business Library Reference, Call number: HF5383 .B535 1999.
Resume writing: a comprehensive how-to-do-it guide.
Foster Business Library Reference, Call number: HF5383 .B57 1990.
101 resumes for sure-hire results.
Foster Business Library Reference, Call number: HF5383 .K36 1994.
Sure hire resumes.
Foster Business Library Reference, Call number: HF5383 .K37 1990.
Just resumes: 200 powerful and proven successful resumes.
Foster Business Library Reference, Call number: HF5383 .M285 1997.
See also the Resumes & Salaries section in the Jobs & Careers links on the University of Washington Libraries homepage and the Resumes, Cover Letters & Interviews section on the Odegaard Undergraduate Library's Career Resources page.
Also worthwhile are Florida State University's excellent website on How to write a resume, aimed at MBA students, and Back2College.Com's Resume Writing Resources.
Finally, see the sources listed in the Foster Business Library's Career Resources.
An alternative source, in the Foster Business Library reference collection:
IMD world competitiveness yearbook.
This source provides risk analysis for 48 countries; see Political Instability Risk on page 606; Investment Risk, on page 634; and Venture Capital Risk, on page 635.
Foster Business Library Reference, Call number: HF1414 .W67 2002.
Salary information for the King County area?
For more sources for salary information, see the Foster Business Library research guide on Salary Resources.
Salary information for the U.S.?
For more sources for salary information, see the Foster Business Library research guide on Salary Resources.
Seattle Daily Journal of Commerce?
In brief, the Sharpe Ratio measures the risk-return tradeoff of a stock, by dividing the stock's average annual return (over the most recent five years) by the stock's annualized volatility over those same five years. High Sharpe ratios usually imply lower risk stocks.
Alternatively, you can check the following title in the Foster Business Library reference collection:
Standard industrial classification manual.
Foster Business Library Reference, Call number: HF1042 .A55 1987.
For more about small business, go to the Foster Business Library Research Guide on Small Business.
The CRB Commodity Yearbook.
Foster Business Library Reference, Call number: HF1041 .C56 (Annual)
Alternatively, try this book (a bit dated):
The ticker symbol book.
Foster Business Library Reference, Call number: HG4636 .S72 1997.
The Washington State Employment Security Deparment also offers Labor Market Information for the state and its counties.
For more information on labor, see the Foster Business Library research guide on Labor Resources.
Some students have a different UW Net ID access problem. For some reason, a small percentage of students have not had their lab access turned on automatically. If so:
If these steps are not successful, telephone Computing & Networking at 206-543-5970. You can get technical help on using the UW Internet Connectivity Kit (UWICK) or other UW computing or network software from the student-run technical support group during these hours: Monday-Thursday, 10:00 a.m. to 8:00 p.m., Friday, 10:00 a.m. to 5:00 p.m., Sunday, 1:00 p.m. to 8:00 p.m
Standard & Poor's The Outlook. (Weekly, in a black binder)
Foster Business Library Reference, Call number: HG4501 .O88.
Overall market viewpoint, with a small number of stocks highlighted.
Standard & Poor's stock reports. (Bimonthly)
Foster Business Library Reference, Call number: HG4907 .S72
For brief company reports and investment analysis.
Standard & Poor's stock market encyclopedia. (Quarterly)
Foster Business Library Reference, Call number: HG4921 .S685
The first few pages in each issue include a list of growth selections, contrarian selections, income selections, stock group performances, winners and losers, etc. The rest of the volume comprises an A to Z list of S&P 500 stocks and S&P's recommendations, from Strong Buy to Sell.
Mergent's handbook of common stock. (Quarterly)
Foster Business Library Reference, Call number: HG4961 .M59.
See the analysis of stock price movements by company in the beginning of the volume. Also offers brief company reports and investment analysis.
Mergent industry review. (Twice yearly)
Foster Business Library Reference, Call number: HG4961 .M68.
Industry-oriented analysis of companies.
See also the Foster Business Library research guide entitled Investing Resources.
The Seattle Public Library and the King County Library System subscribe to the print editions of Value Line; you can find SPL's copy in their Reference—Investment area, at the central library. King County has multiple copies of this subscription, in various larger branches, also in Reference-Investment.
Puget Sound Business Journal book of lists.
(See the list of Venture Capital Firms in the Banking and Finance Section)
Foster Business Library Reference, Call number: HC108 .S77 .P83 (Annual)
Pratt's guide to venture capital sources.
(Includes indexes by state and by industry)
Foster Business Library Reference, Call number: HG65 .R8 2001.
The Gold book of venture capital firms.
(Includes indexes by state and by industry)
Foster Business Library Reference, Call number: HG963 .G65 1999.
Venture capital yearbook/Venture capital.
Foster Business Library Reference, Call number: HG4028 .C4 .V462 1999.
The Venture capital sourcebook: the definitive guide to finding start-up funds and growth capital.
Foster Business Library Reference, Call number: HG4751 .S54 1994.
The directory of venture capital & private equity firms: domestic & international.
Foster Business Library Reference, Call number: HG4963 .D57 2004.
The best source for information about Washington state venture capital firms is the Venture Capital Notebook in the Seattle Post-Intelligencer, available online at http://seattlep-i.nwsource.com/venture/firms.asp.
For current UW faculty, students, and staff, the database VentureXpert Web is an excellent source for worldwide information and data on venture capital.
For more information on the topic of venture capital, see the Foster Business Library research guide on Venture Capital.
Alternatively, try this print resource in the Foster Business Library reference collection (behind the reference desk):
The sourcebook of zip code demographics.
Foster Business Library Reference, Call number: HA203 .S66
(Annual)
See Washington state zip codes on pages 348-A to 354-D, in the 2002
edition.
For zip codes, go to the U.S. Postal Service Zip Code Lookup or to the Foster Business Library database ReferenceUSA. For a map of Seattle zip codes, see page 42 in the Seattle area yellow pages, available at the Foster Business Library reference desk.
For more demographics information, see the Foster Business Library research guide, Demographics Resources.
For an overview of the Foster Business Library's facilities, resources, and people, click here. For an A to Z list of Foster Business Library features, click here. For the official Foster Business Library's Business Research FAQ, click here.
For research guides on a wide variety of industries, products, companies, issues and topics, see the Team Librarian Consultation archives.
Business Library FAQ Sites: