![]() |
|
|
![]() |
Foster Business Library research guides are aimed at University of Washington students, faculty, and staff, highlighting resources available to them; users not currently affiliated with the university may be unable to access some of these resources.
Foster Business
Library Databases:
The Foster Business Library Reference Accounting Collection is located
adjacent to
the Reference Collection. Unlike the Reference Collection, which is
arranged by call number, the Reference Accounting Collection is arranged largely
by issuing body; within those bodies, material is arranged alphabetically
by series title. Color coding also helps accounting students navigate this collection, using the guides at the end of each shelving range. This arrangement is designed to facilitate self service
access to reference accounting materials since many items in the
collection are too narrow to permit easy identification of call
numbers--and call numbers would scatter materials that logically belong
together.
The Reference Accounting collection occupies two shelving ranges. One
range and half of another is devoted to AICPA publications, including
historical publications, exposure drafts, statements and standards, audit
and accounting guides (in four volumes), audit risk alerts, audit guides,
checklists, and committee publications. The remaining half range includes
FASB, GASB, CICA, IASC, ICA and miscellaneous publications (the latter
arranged alphabetically by call number):
While this arrangement might seem daunting, it actually works very well
for accounting students, accustomed as they are to searching for materials
by issuing body. For an orientation to the arrangement of this collection, see the Foster Business Library Reference Accounting Collection Arrangement. For a detailed list of materials in this collection, see the research guide for the Foster Business Library Reference Accounting Collection.
Another source for locating where materials are in this
collection is the UW
Libraries Catalog. Here is an example, an AICPA publication:
Fraud
detection in a GAAS audit: SAS no. 99 implementation guide. Materials
in the Foster Reference Accounting collection include shelving notes to
make it easier for you to find where materials are shelved. In the case
of this title, the record says: Shelved: AICPA Committee Series
- AICPA. Practice Aid Series.
To limit the results of your search just to materials in the Foster Business Library collection, use the Modify or Limit options at the top of the search results and change the library location to Foster Business Library.
Availablity is indicated on the right of each online catalog record. First, note in which collection, within Foster, your materials are in, since the library has ten different Collections, each in a different location and often with differing arrangements. "Available" indicates that the book should be on the shelves under that call number and available for you to check out. "Due" and a date indicates that the book is already checked out to someone and is due back on the date indicated; you can have the "Request/Place Hold" feature to recall the book for your use.
If the material you want is not in the collections of the University of Washington, you can use the "Search Summit" feature to repeat your search in the combined holdings of over thirty cooperating libraries in Washington and Oregon. Use the "Request This Item" feature in Summit to have books in those library sent here to Foster for you to check out.
The Foster general stacks collection is located south of the main part of the Foster Business Library, through the two pass-throughs into the basement of Balmer. The arrangement is by call number, from A (at the east end, near the Copy Center) to Z (at the far west end).
A keyword search for the word Accounting, limited to materials in the Foster Business
Library, retrieved over 2,900 titles. A subject search for the same term, limited to the Foster Business Library, produced over 2000 titles.
Foster titles from these searches include:
The UW Libraries subscribes to a very long list of electronic journals; for a list of electronic
journals in the fields of business and economics, click here; for a list of
electronic journals by nearly 100 subjects, click here.
Foster Business Library Articles:
All four of these databases are available from any computer on the campus
network as well as from home (via the UW
Connectivity Kit or the Libraries' Off-Campus Access link, using your UW Net ID and password). The easiest of these databases to use is ProQuest Databases. For more information about accessing Foster Business Library databases from off
campus, see Database Access.
For more
information about business databases, see the research guide entitled Databases, A to Z.
This database--actually, a family of over two dozen databases--offers full text articles for over 10,000 publications, including scholarly journals, magazines, trade and industry periodicals, newspapers, and reports on a very wide range of topics. To find articles on specific topics, search by word or phrase by keying your search phrase into the search box--or search for your topic in the
Topic Guide. Article full text is often available in several formats, including text, text plus graphics, and PDF. This database also offers a very useful subject structure, to narrow search results, as well as article citation information.
Your search terms will be highlighted in red in each article. For tips on searching this database, see About ProQuest Databases.
This database includes citations for and, in many cases, full text, for over sixty periodicals
with the word Account* in
the title and nine periodicals with the word Audit* in the title. Go to Publication
Search to view these titles.
Accounting problems at major corporations can also be researched by searching by company name and the word accounting.
As examples of articles, see:
The Foster Business Library Reference Desk is staffed
nearly all of the hours that the
library is open.
The
staff at the desk
will be happy to help you find business research tools and resources, exploit business databases to the
fullest or
advise on research strategies.
See also the Foster Business Library's Business & Economics FAQ, and, in particular, the section for Taxation and Accounting.
For research guides on a wide variety of industries,
products, companies, issues and topics, see the Team Librarian Consultation
archives.
The Foster Business Library offers an extensive collection of over fifty databases on its homepage; see under Databases. For a complete list of Foster databases, see the List of All Business Databases. Access to these databases from off campus requires that you first go to the Off-Campus Access button, in the upper right of all library webpages. These resources may not be accessed from off campus except by those with a valid UW Net ID and password. For more information on Foster business databases, click Databases, A-Z. For information on which Foster business databases to use, see the Database Index.
For information on accessing Foster databases from off campus, see Database Access.
For guidelines on responsible database usage, see Database Usage.
Unlike library databases, Web resources are available wherever
you have web access; they do not require that you access them via the Off-Campus Access button, in the upper right of all library webpages. When using web resources, be sure to evaluate the credibility of these resources. For a subject index to web resources, see Business Resources on the Web on the Foster Business Library homepage.
Foster Business
Library Reference Collection:
The Foster Business Library Reference Collection consists of business handbooks, encyclopedias, dictionaries, and other quick reference tools. It is located behind the Reference Desk in Foster, arranged by call number. Reference materials cannot be checked out; they may only be used in the library.
Foster Business
Library Reference Accounting Collection:
Foster Business
Library Books:
The Foster Business Library maintains a collection of over 70,000 books on
all business topics. To search for materials on all three campuses of the University of Washington, go to the UW Libraries Catalog, in the upper left corner of the Foster Business Library homepage. Search by keyword, title, author, series, etc.
Foster Business Library Periodicals:
The Foster Periodicals Collection is located at the west end of the main floor, arranged alphabetically
by title, from A to the right (north) to Z to the left (south); for a list of the titles in this
collection, click here.
In addition to the 800 journals in the Foster Business Library Periodicals
Collection, the Foster Business Library offers access to over 100 million full text articles in over 10,000 periodicals through its full text article
databases such as EBSCO Business Source Premier, Factiva, LexisNexis
Academic, and ProQuest Databases.
These article databases may be found on the Foster Business Library homepage, listed under
Databases.
Help:
(See also the Seattle Times special report Dot-Con Job, for all the articles in this multi-part series)