![]() |
|
|
![]() |
After Graduation:
After graduation from the University of Washington, students move into a different category of library user: visitor (unless they continue here at the university as a student, faculty or staff member). Graduating students are not usually deleted from the student registry upon commencement; they may continue to have their usual student access for a limited period after graduation.
Here is an overview of Services
Available to Visitors to the UW Libraries:
Services generally available FREE to visitors:
Foster Business Library Databases:
Accessing business databases is very easy in the Foster Business Library where there
are three dozen public workstations with the Foster Business Library website as their
homepage. Under Business Databases on this homepage are listed the most commonly
used business databases. There are additional Business-Related
Databases listed below this list. In addition, there are specialized business databases
on two workstations that cannot be accessed from the Foster homepage; click here for a list of all Foster
databases, including which Foster Business Library databases are available in local public
libraries (as well as some databases not available in the Foster Business Library which are
available in some area public libraries). For more information about which of the three
dozen Foster business databases to
use, click here. There is also access, from the workstations in the
Foster Business Library, to All Libraries' databases.
Accessing these databases from outside the Foster Business Library is easy anywhere on
campus. From the University of Washington homepage,
click on the left menu selection for Libraries; from the Information Gateway, go
to About the Libraries and to Hours & Libraries to get to the Foster Business
Library homepage.
Many local public and academic libraries have an excellent array of online business databases that
may be accessed from home or office with your public library card number or card number and
local public library PIN number. For more information, try some of these websites (whose
online catalogs may also be a good source for books not in the U.W. collections):
For a list of public library webpages in Washington state, click here.
Most of the databases on the Foster Business Library homepage may be used in the library or
and in the libraries on the Seattle, Bothell, and Tacoma campuses. The major exceptions are
these databases that are limited by very strict vendor contracts to current UW students,
faculty, and staff:
Database Availability Summary:
This list is accurate to the date of this document (which can be found in the footer) but is subject to change as
libraries switch databases and database vendors change database names and content. Library codes, used in the table below, are for the King County Library System (KCLS), the Sno-Isle Regional Library (SIRL), and the Seattle Public Library (SPL).
Services generally available for a FEE to visitors:
Services usually NOT AVAILABLE to visitors:
Database Restrictions:
| Database Availability | ||||
| Available On Campus To Visitors |
Available In Some Public Libraries? |
Available In What Libraries? |
||
| ABI/Inform Dateline | No | -- | ||
| ABI/Inform Global | Yes | KCLS, SPL | ||
| ABI/Inform Trade & Industry | Yes | KCLS, SPL | ||
| Associations Unlimited | Yes | KCLS, SIRL, SPL | ||
| China Data Online | No | -- | ||
| Comtrade | No | -- | ||
| Conference Board | No | -- | ||
| Datastream | No | -- | ||
| EBSCO Business Source Complete | No | -- | ||
| EconLit | No | -- | ||
| Economic Literature Database | No | -- | ||
| EIU Online | Yes | KCLS | ||
| Expanded Academic ASAP | Yes | KCLS, SIRL, SPL | ||
| Factiva | Yes | KCLS | ||
| Forrester Research | No | -- | ||
| Gale Virtual Reference Library | Yes | KCLS, SPL | ||
| Global Financial Data | No | -- | ||
| Hoovers Online | Yes | SPL | ||
| InfoTech Trends | No | -- | ||
| Investext | Yes | KCLS, SIRL, SPL | ||
| Kompass | No | -- | ||
| Lexis-Nexis Academic | No | -- | ||
| MarketResearch.com Academic | -- | -- | ||
| Mediamark Reporter | No | -- | ||
| Mergent Online | Yes | SPL | ||
| Morningstar | Yes | KCLS | ||
| National Newspapers | Yes | KCLS, SPL | ||
| OCLC Worldcat | No | -- | ||
| Oxford Reference | Yes | KCLS, SPL | ||
| ProQuest Databases | Yes (in part) | KCLS, SIRL, SPL (in part) | ||
| ProQuest Dissertations | No | -- | ||
| ProQuest Newspapers | Yes (in part) | KCLS, SIRL, SPL (in part) | ||
| PsycARTICLES | No | -- | ||
| PsycInfo | No | -- | ||
| Public Affairs Information Service | No | -- | ||
| Reference USA | Yes | KCLS, SIRL, SPL | ||
| Research Library | Yes | KCLS, SPL | ||
| RIA Checkpoint | No | -- | ||
| Simmons Choices III | No | -- | ||
| Social Sciences Citation Index | No | -- | ||
| Sociological Abstracts/SocioFile | No | -- | ||
| Source OECD | No | -- | ||
| Stat USA | Yes | KCLS | ||
| Statistical Universe | No | -- | ||
| VentureXpert Web | No | -- | ||
| Washington State Newstand | Yes | KCLS, SPL | ||
| World Bank GDF Online | No | -- | ||
| World Bank WDI Online | No | -- | ||
The Foster Business Library Reference Desk is staffed most of the hours that the library is open. The staff at the desk will be happy to help find information in the Libraries' databases and to answer questions about database availability. The telephone number for the reference desk is (206) 543-8012. Questions are also welcome via e-mail to balib@u.washington.edu.
See also the Foster Business Library's Business & Economics FAQ, and, in particular, the section for Business Databases.