Foster Business Library


Reference Collection



This annotated list consists of the most frequently-used titles in the Foster Business Library reference collection. For a list of all titles in this collection, see the Foster Business Library Complete Reference Collection.
Classes:   A to G      H to HA      HB      HC      HD      HF      HG      HJ to J      K      L to P      T to Z

  • Seattle metro yellow pages.
    An excellent and easy to use source for local business information, this directory is also a link to resources often more valuable than web and print resources: people working in business and industry.
    Foster Business Library Reference Desk, Annual

Class A – General Works:

Class B -- Philosophy, Psychology, Religion:

  • Multicultural manners: new rules of etiquette for a changing society.
    This 280-page paperback is arranged not by region or country but by body language, clothing, colors, foodways, gifts, male-female relationships, verbal expressions, etc. The index provides limited access to information by country.
    Foster Business Library Reference, CALL NUMBER: BJ1838 .D74 1996.

Class G -- Geography, Anthropology, Recreation:

  • Yearbook of tourism statistics.
    This World Tourism Organization annual publication provides, for over 200 countries, statistical information about tourism for the years 1995 through 1999, including international visitors by country
    of residence.
    Foster Business Library Reference, CALL NUMBER: G149 .I73.

  • Compendium of tourism statistics.
    This World Tourism Organization annual publication provides, for over 200 countries, statistical information about tourism, including inbound tourism, with arrivals by region and mode of transport, purpose of visit, length of stay, tourism expenditure, as well as domestic and outbound tourism, and tourism activities. More detailed statistics from this organization are available in the Yearbook of tourism statistics, in the Foster reference collection, call number G149 .I73.
    Foster Business Library Reference, CALL NUMBER: G155 .A1 .T5896.

  • When in Rome or Rio or Riyadh.
    This paperback is subtitled as cultural questions and answers for successful business behavior around the world, arranged not by country, but by behavior—with an index at the beginning of the book, by country.
    Foster Business Library Reference, CALL NUMBER: G156.5 .B86 .O46 2004.

  • Global, Inc.: an atlas of the multinational corporation.
    This large heavily-illustrated, map-rich paperback covers the foundations of globalization, the history of multinational corporations, global corporations by industry, the impacts of multinational corporations on employment and wages, taxes, technology, capital, culture, environment, and standards, and the governance of multinational corporations.
    Foster Business Library Reference, CALL NUMBER: G1046 .Q1 .G3 2003.

  • Rand McNally commercial atlas & marketing guide.
    This oversized annual publication provides population, economic, and geographic data for over 129,000 places in the United States as well as information about the largest U.S. corporations and state, county, and city data.
    Foster Business Library Reference, CALL NUMBER: G1046 .Q1 .R35 (in dictionary stand, adjacent to the reference desk)

  • CultureGrams World Edition.
    This large two volume ring binder set provides four-page profiles for 190 countries, arranged alphabetically by country, with a map, and sections on land and climate, history, people, customs and courtesies, lifestyles, and society (including government, economy, transportation and communications), plus development data, and recent events and trends.
    Foster Business Library Reference, CALL NUMBER: GT150 .C858 2006.

  • The entertainment, media and advertising market research handbook.
    This paperback covers how consumers use their leisure time, key players in the entertainment, media, and advertising industries, with profiles of major companies in each industry as well as rankings. There are also chapters on branding, including top brands; on direct marketing and outdoor advertising; on sponsorships and licensing, including sports, plus naming rights; on entertainment marketing, on television and TV advertising and programming; on TV stations, cable, pay per view, satellite, video on demand, film and video, film studios, recorded music, radio, satellite and internet radio, and print media; sports; and a series of chapters on the demographics of various markets, from children to seniors, ethnic markets, gay and lesbian, and faith-based media.
    Foster Business Library Reference, CALL NUMBER: GV174 .E58 2007.

  • The sports sector analysis report.
    This large spiral bound publication, from American Sports Data, Inc., provides demographics, attitudinal, and behavioral information on over 100 individual sports and activities, with rankings by participant population; by demographic indices; and most importantly, aggregates reflecting the total net number of participants within a sports groups.
    Foster Business Library Reference, CALL NUMBER: GV741 .S66 2006.

Class HA -- Statistics:

Class HB -- Economic Theory, Demography, Business Cycles:

  • The anti-capitalist dictionary: movements, histories & motivations.
    This dictionary is described as "an alternative and a counter-balance to the many political dictionaries that ignore or marginalize the history and influence of anti-capitalist movements."
    Foster Business Library Reference, CALL NUMBER: HB61 .L66 2006.

  • Routledge dictionary of economics.
    Standard dictionary of economics terms.
    Foster Business Library Reference, CALL NUMBER: HB61 .R92 2002.

  • Index of economic freedom.
    This annual paperback, jointly issued by the Heritage Foundation and Wall Street Journal, ranks 156 countries in terms of foreign investment friendliness, taxes, tariffs, banking regulations, monetary policy, black markets, net foreign direct investment, etc. Arrangement is alphabetical by country.
    Foster Business Library Reference, CALL NUMBER: HB95 .I48 2002.

  • Principles of economics.
    The third edition of this college textbook, by Gregory Mankiw, covers all aspects of economics, for undergraduate students in economics courses.
    Foster Business Library Reference, CALL NUMBER: HB171.5 .M264 2005.

  • Economics.
    Eighteenth edition of the standard college textbook, by Samuelson and Nordhaus.
    Foster Business Library Reference, CALL NUMBER: HB171.5 .S25 2005.

  • The Blackwell handbook of entrepreneurship.
    This British publication offers 21 essays on this topic, from thirty authors, in four parts, from setting the stage for international research in entrepreneurship, to governmental impacts on entrepreneurship, financing growth, and achieving growth, with a concluding chapter.
    Foster Business Library Reference, CALL NUMBER: HB615 .B617 2000.

  • Business cycles and depressions: an encyclopedia.
    This older one-volume covers and explains a wide range of topics related to business cycles and depressions.
    Foster Business Library Reference, CALL NUMBER: Hb3711 .B936 1997.

  • The Irwin guide to using the Wall Street Journal.
    How to be your own economist, by using the Wall Street Journal (so says this book's preface).
    Foster Business Library Reference, CALL NUMBER: HB3743 .L44 2005.

Class HC -- Economic History and Conditions:

  • World industry & market outlook.
    This large paperback provides data on over 120 world industries, in 45 major countries, with data on estimated sizes of establishments, employment, and sales, as well as local sales. This reference lacks an index.
    Foster Business Library Reference, CALL NUMBER: HC10 .W69 2007.

  • Great events from history II : business and commerce series.
    This five-volume chronological encyclopedia is devoted to the history of business and economic events of the twentieth century worlwide, starting with the first publication of the Dow Jones Industrial Average in 1897 and continuing up to the effective date of NAFTA in 1994. This set includes indexes by chronology, an alphabetic list of events, a subject-keyword index, a category index, a geographic index, and an index by person.
    Foster Business Library Reference, CALL NUMBER: HC55 .G68 1994.

  • World economic outlook.
    This twice-yearly International Monetary Fund publication "presents the IMF staff's analysis and projections of economic developments at the global level, in major country groups (classified by region, stage of development, etc.), and in many individual countries. It focuses on major economic policy issues as well as on the analysis of economic developments and prospects."
    Foster Business Library Reference, CALL NUMBER: HC59 .I52 (Twice yearly)
    (Also available
    Online)

  • World development indicators.
    This World Bank volume contains a large number of tables listing each country and key data about its people, environment, economy, markets, employment, poverty, etc.
    Foster Business Library Reference, CALL NUMBER: HC59.15 .W656.
    Also available, in part, online.

  • Best customers: demographics of consumer demand.
    Using data from the U.S. Bureau of Labor Statistics, this volume indicates who the best and biggest customers are, for 300 specific products and services, with an analysis of household spending by age, income, race, region, etc.
    Foster Business Library Reference, CALL NUMBER: HC79 .C6 .B45 2006.

  • World consumer income patterns.
    This Euromonitor publication provides global coverage of comparable income distribution data, over time and across countries, for 71 major countries, divided into socio-economic parameters, cross country comparisons, and snapshots for over seventy countries.
    Foster Business Library Reference, CALL NUMBER: HC79 .I5 .W675 2003.

  • Digital planet 2002: the global information economy..
    This pamphlet examines tech segments and global markets, the economics of global information and communications technology, and the high tech society, with many tables on global growth and spending in these areas, with data about online users per country, personal computers, worldwide IT spending by country (hardware, software, services), electronic commerce (B2B, B2C), internet users, home internet users, and much more.
    Foster Business Library Reference, CALL NUMBER: HC79 .I55 .D52 2002.

  • The global information technology report.
    This World Economic Forum publication provides country profiles and data about the diffusion of information technology, along with chapters on network readiness, global diffusion of information technology, information technology and poverty, regulatory reform, and a case study on Finland.
    Foster Business Library Reference, CALL NUMBER: HC79 .I55 .G56 2003-2004.

  • Business statistics of the United States.
    This reference work covers the U.S. economy in detail, including GDP, industrial production, income distribution, consumer income and spending, savings and investment, government spending, foreign trade, prices, employment, energy, money and markets, international comparisons, industries, historical data, and state and regional data. Over 3,400 time series are included in this volume.
    Foster Business Library Reference, CALL NUMBER: HC101 .A13122 2007.

  • Standard & Poor's current statistics.
    Formerly known as the S & P Statistical Service (and still stored in the blue ring-binder with this title), this annual publication, with monthly supplements, provides data in the form of tables that cover a span of years and a wide variety of industries, economic indicators, stock exchange averages, GDP, foreign trade, money market measures, government debt, employment, cost of living indexes, etc.
    Foster Business Library Reference, CALL NUMBER: HC101 .S7 (Monthly)

  • U.S. market & industry outlook.
    This large paperback provides data on over 100 U.S. industries, and over 500 minor industries, on current and projected estimated sizes of establishments, employment, and sales, as well as sales per employee and per establishment. This reference lacks an index.
    Foster Business Library Reference, CALL NUMBER: HC101 .U56 2007.

  • D&B million dollar directory.
    This five-volume set is a directory of America's top public and private companies, firms with more than 180 employees or more than $9 million in annual sales; there are also geographic and industry indexes to the directory.
    Foster Business Library Reference, CALL NUMBER: HC102 .D8 2004.

  • Encyclopedia of American industries.
    This heavy two-volume set provides essays on over 1,000 industries, with manufacturing industries largely in volume one and service and other non-manufacturing industries in volume two, arranged by Standard Industrial Code, with an index at the back of volume two.
    Foster Business Library Reference, CALL NUMBER: HC102 .E53 2005.
    (Also available online, in the Foster database Gale Virtual Reference Library, under Business)

  • Gale encyclopedia of U.S. economic history.
    This two-volume encyclopedia covers economic history from Paleolithic times to the present of 1999, with just over 1,000 articles on the major terms, overviews, issues, biographies, events and companies of America's economic history. There is a single extensive index in the back of the second volume.
    Foster Business Library Reference, CALL NUMBER: HC102 .G35 1999.
    (Also available online, in the Foster database Gale Virtual Reference Library, under History)

  • United States entrepreneurs and the companies they built.
    Biographies of many entrepreneurs don't appear as books about them; instead, these biographies are part of larger works. This volume is an index to biographies of 1,700 American executives, appearing in over 120 sources.
    Foster Business Library Reference, CALL NUMBER: HC102.5 .A2 .M37 2003.

  • Icons of business: an encyclopedia of mavericks, movers, and shakers.
    This small two-volume encyclopedia profiles "twenty-four entrepreneurs, corporate executives, and mavericks whose influence extends beyond business into society at large. From Martha Stewart to Ben and Jerry, Bill Gates to Anita Roddick, [this set] offers in-depth profiles of the business leaders whose names and products have become household words."
    Foster Business Library Reference, CALL NUMBER: HC102.5 .A2 .D74 2007.
    (List of icons)

  • Standard & Poor's industry surveys.
    This three-volume set provides 30-page profiles on 52 industries with a focus on the current economic environment, trends, regulation and outlook for each industry. Major companies in each industry are profiled, with references to sources of additional industry information.
    Foster Business Library Reference, CALL NUMBER: HC106.6 .S74 (Quarterly)
    (Also available online in the database Standard & Poor's NetAdvantage)

  • MSA profile: metropolitan area projections to 2025.
    Population, employment, earnings, personal and household income and retail sales data and projections for the years 1970, 1980, 1990, 1996, 1999, 2000, 2001, 2002, 2005, 2010, 2015, 2020 and 2025 for states, regions and metropolitan areas. Data includes white, black, other, and hispanic populations.
    Foster Business Library Reference, CALL NUMBER: HC106.8 .M77 (Annual)

  • Washington state almanac: an economic and demographic overview of counties and cities.
    Two-page profiles of the state as a whole and of each county, with information on population, population change, personal income, taxable retail sales, registered business, new businesses, property assessments, employment by industry sector and unemployment.
    Foster Business Library Reference, CALL NUMBER: HC107 .W2 .E25 (Annual)

  • Puget Sound major employers directory pinpointer.
    Published by the Greater Seattle Chamber of Commerce, this unique reference work to companies in King, Pierce, and Snohomish counties covers almost 1,900 major employers in the region (employers with more than 100 employees), pinpointing them by map location and providing company addresses, number of employees, telephone numbers, principal products or services, and four names of contact persons. There is also an SIC code index.
    Foster Business Library Reference, CALL NUMBER: HC107 .W22 .P864 2001/2003.

  • Puget Sound Business Journal book of lists.
    This annual publication is an invaluable source of information about public and private companies in the Puget Sound area, culled from lists that appeared weekly in the Puget Sound Business Journal. There is an index to companies and topics in the back of this volume.
    Foster Business Library Reference, CALL NUMBER: HC108 .S77 .P83 (Annual)

  • Household spending: who spends how much on what.
    This publication, part of the New Strategist series, details American spending in 2000 by various demographic categories as well as on apparel, financial products and services, food and drink, gifts, health care, housing, personal care, reading, education, tobacco and transportation.
    Foster Business Library Reference, CALL NUMBER: HC110 .C6 .H59 2003.

  • American generations: who they are and how they live.
    This publication, part of the New Strategist series, describes how American generations differ on attitudes, education, health, income, labor force, population, spending and wealth.
    Foster Business Library Reference, CALL NUMBER: HC110 .C6 .M545 2005.

  • The multicultural economy: minority buying power in the new century.
    This 200-page paperback covers the multicultural economy in all states, with introductory sections on black, native American, Asian, and Hispanic buying power, following by detailed data for each state on buying power by race, residence, changes over time, etc.
    Foster Business Library Reference, CALL NUMBER: HC110 .C6 .M85 2005.

  • Asian development outlook.
    This short one-volume annual reference work, published by the Asian Development Bank, focuses on economic trends and prospects in 37 Asian nations, including the Asian republics formerly part of the U.S.S.R. There are tables covering major economic indicators for many of the countries, GDP, balance of payments, etc.
    Foster Business Library Reference, CALL NUMBER: HC411 .A17 (Annual)

Class HD -- Economic History and Conditions:

Class HF -- Commerce:

  • International trade statistics yearbook.
    This two-volume annual work, published by the United Nations, provides statistics for international trade, volume one arranged by country, volume two by commodity.
    Foster Business Library Reference, CALL NUMBER: HF91 .Y4.

  • Greater Seattle Chamber of Commerce Membership and Business Directory.
    While some of this information is available at the Chamber's
    website, this print edition is sometimes easier to use, with information about the local business situation and major companies in the area as well as profiles of local successful organizations.
    Foster Business Library Reference, CALL NUMBER: HF296 .S4 2003.

  • International encyclopedia of business & management.
    This eight volume set provides 750 essays on topics from Accounting to Zimbabwe, Management In, in seven volumes; volume eight is an index to the seven volumes. Each essay is a dozen or more pages in length, with bibliographies and links to related essays. See the essays in volume two on Entrepreneurship (pages 1763 to 1770), Entrepreneurial Marketing (pages 1747 to 1753), and Entrepreneurial Strategies (pages 1754 to 1762).
    Foster Business Library Reference, CALL NUMBER: HF1001 .I53 2002.

  • International trade reporter: export reference manual.
    This regularly updated manual is in three large ring-binders and provides U.S. export information and information about foreign import regulations. It is arranged alphabetically by country. For each country, the entry provides brief background information, import and exchange controls, marketing, distribution and procurement (including electronic commerce), documentary requirements, mail shipments, standards, labelling and packing, customs and entry, and business travel. Binder number three includes a section on export controls, agreements, a and codes.
    Foster Business Library Reference, CALL NUMBER: HF1010 .I53 (Updated Regularly)

  • Business statistics on the web.
    This reference work covers the basics of statistics, who generates and publishes statistics, industry sources, market research sources, economic and financial statistics, company, demographics and population statistics, etc.
    Foster Business Library Reference, CALL NUMBER: HF1016 .B47 2003.
    (See also the author's A to Z index to Business Statistics on the Web)

  • Terms of trade.
    This paperback is a good source for explanations of international trade and economics terms.
    Foster Business Library Reference, CALL NUMBER: HF1373 .D43 2006.

  • Dictionary of international trade.
    This 600-page dictionary covers all terms used in the global trade community, with nearly twenty appendices including an international dialing guide and codes, world currencies, maps, guides to ocean freight and air freight containers, Incoterms, letters of credit, computer terms, resources for international trade, web resources, a guide to trade documents, key words in eight languages, and world airports.
    Foster Business Library Reference, CALL NUMBER: HF1373 .H55 2002.

  • A handbook of world trade: a strategic guide to trading internationally.
    This volume offers essays on the origins and nature of the World Trade Organization, patterns and trends in world trade, regulatory issues and disputes, the management of foreign currencies in international trade, international trade finance and documentation (methods of settlement, documentary credits, letters of credit, etc.), international trade development issues, and electronic commerce in world trade, with ten appendices.
    Foster Business Library Reference, CALL NUMBER: HF1379 .H366 2004.

  • The global competitiveness report.
    Published by the World Economic Forum, this annual paperback ranks over 80 countries for their competitiveness, with essays and individual country profiles. One of the chapters covers wages in twenty-seven countries for five benchmark positions; another chapter includes rankings for computers and for internet hosts as well as for use of the internet, e-commerce, etc.
    Foster Business Library Reference, CALL NUMBER: HF1414 .G563 2007/2008.

  • The IMD world competitiveness yearbook.
    This yearbook, published annually by the International Institute for Management Development in Switzerland, provides ranking information in many competitiveness categories for 46 major countries. Among the many categories are international trade, employment, prices, business legislation, labor markets, management practices, impact of globalization, and corruption.
    Foster Business Library Reference, CALL NUMBER: HF1414 .W67 2007.

  • Managing exports: navigating the complex rules, controls, barriers, and laws.
    This book covers the whole export process, export control, the export product, export channels, marketing, pricing, terms of sale, insurance, contracts, invoices, purchase orders, transportation, documentation, export credit, and keeping current about exporting.
    Foster Business Library Reference, CALL NUMBER: HF1414.4 .R49 2003.

  • The ultimate guide to export management.
    This hardcover publication from the American Management Association discusses the risks of international trade, gaining entry into world markets, meeting customer sales and service demands, freight and logistics issues, export documentation and procedures, what exporters should know about importing, trade finance, banking and letters of credit, cargo loss control, EDI and electronic commerce, managing critical areas of the world, personnel deployment, obtaining export assistance, and free trade zones and bonded warehouses.
    Foster Business Library Reference, CALL NUMBER: HF1416 .C665 2001.

  • Dun & Bradstreet's guide to doing business around the world.
    Covering the U.S.'s top forty trade partners, this reference work offers ten page country summaries about these forty countries that include five top cultural tips plus brief demographic data, holidays, and work week information.
    Foster Business Library Reference, CALL NUMBER: HF1416 .M78 2001.

  • Import/export: how to get started in international trade.
    This paperback covers how to write a business plan, choose a product, make trade contacts, finance import or export transactions, protect patents and trademarks, navigate customs and import duties, avoid risk, and trade in the European Union.
    Foster Business Library Reference, CALL NUMBER: HF1416 .N45 2000.

  • A basic guide to exporting.
    This slim paperback from the U.S. Department of Commerce, discusses what decisions need to be made and where to obtain the knowledge to make correct decisions, with information about costs, export regulation, customs benefits, and tax incentives.
    Foster Business Library Reference, CALL NUMBER: HF1416.5 .B37 2000.

  • Export/import: procedures and documentation.
    This comprehensive hardcover publication from the American Management Association covers sales and other documentation for exporting and purchase documentation for importing, with a chapter on specialized exporting and importing, and numerous appendices.
    Foster Business Library Reference, CALL NUMBER: HF1416.5 .J64 2002.

  • Demographics USA: county edition.
    This large paperback provides in-depth demographics, for people, races, households, and businesses, for U.S. states, cities, and counties, with consumer and buying power data. Also included is retail sales and employment data.
    Foster Business Library Reference, CALL NUMBER: HF3007 .S96 (Annual)
    (See also Demographics USA: zip edition, call number HF5415.3 .D463)

  • Directory of United States exporters.
    Geographic listing of U.S. exporters, with an alphabetic list of exporters, an alphabetic product listing, a list of products by harmonized code, and by SIC code, and a list by state, plus an overview of exporting and sections on exporting strategy, market research, trade contacts, consulates, banks, and world ports.
    Foster Business Library Reference, CALL NUMBER: HF3011 .D63 2003.

  • Directory of United States importers.
    Geographic listing of U.S. importers, with an alphabetic list of importers, an alphabetic product listing, a list of products by harmonized code, and by SIC code, and a list by state, plus an overview of importing and sections on importing strategy, market research, trade contacts, consulates, banks, and world ports.
    Foster Business Library Reference, CALL NUMBER: HF3012 .D533 2003.

  • Marketing guidebook for major imported products.
    This three-volume compendium provides a wealth of information on the markets for imported products in Japan, in considerable detail.
    Foster Business Library Reference, CALL NUMBER: HF3827 .M37 2004.

  • Foreign companies in China.
    This yearbook provides corporate data on companies, subsidiaries, joint ventures, and associate companies in China, listing companies from A to Z, with head and regional offices, parent company head offices, and indexes by company name, industry class, nationality, etc.
    Foster Business Library Reference, CALL NUMBER: HF3831 .F66 2005.

  • Business Week industry outlook.
    Each year, usually in mid-January, Business Week magazine offers its Special Report on the new year's Industry Outlook, with feature articles about major industries.
    Foster Business Library Reference, CALL NUMBER: HF 5001 .B89 2003.
    (The content of issues of Business Week is also available online in ABI/Inform Global.)

  • Chinese business in America.
    This directory covers ethnic Chinese importers and exporters in the U.S., with information as well about starting, marketing, and sourcing a new business in this country.
    Foster Business Library Reference, CALL NUMBER: HF5035 .C515 2004-2005.

  • Washington state international trade directory.
    This annual directory provides brief profiles of Washington state companies involved in importing and exporting. There are indexes by product, by industry code and a geographic index by country, as well as support service listings for attorneys, consultants, translators, and transportation.
    Foster Business Library Reference, CALL NUMBER: HF5065 .W2 .W37 (Annual)

  • Business ethics: a reference handbook.
    Over 400 pages of information about business ethics and their application to consumers, advertising, corporations, employees, the environment; also includes information about codes of ethics, a business ethics glossary, and relevant cases, statutes and agencies.
    Foster Business Library Reference, CALL NUMBER: HF5387 .D54 1998.
    (also in Foster Business General Stacks, CALL NUMBER: HF5387 .D54 1998)

  • Encyclopedia of business ethics and society.
    This five-volume reference work includes 900 essays by scholars, arranged alphabetically by topic, on all aspects of business ethics.
    Foster Business Library Reference, CALL NUMBER: HF5387 .E53 2008.

  • Eighty exemplary ethics statements.
    This small paperback provides ethics statements for 80 corporations including such companies as Boeing, Hewlett Packard, Starbucks and Tom's of Maine. Appendices at the end of the volume provide indexes to values statements, codes of ethics, a values index, and an index by industry.
    Foster Business Library Reference, CALL NUMBER: HF5387 .M876 1998.

  • Doing business internationally: the resource book to business and social etiquette.
    Arranged by region, this work provides six-page profiles of each country's history, social conventions, introductions, customary business practices, business entertaining, dining out and public customs.
    Foster Business Library Reference, CALL NUMBER: HF5389 .D64 1997.

  • Gold nuggets galore: how to behave in business: sayings to help you succeed.
    This small book is organized around topics, such as business conduct, communication (oral and written), performance, and management, with sayings as the basis for the essays in each section.
    Foster Business Library Reference, CALL NUMBER: HF5389 .H35 2005.

  • Global business etiquette: a guide to international communication and customs.
    This guide is arranged by topic, not country; chapters include travel customs and tips; language and greetings; gestures; dress and appearance; attitudes and behaviors; dining and tipping; conversational customs and manners; and oral and written communications and etiquette. For each chapter, there are country-specific tips for Canada, China, England, France, Germany, Japan, Mexico, Netherlands, South Korea, and Taiwan.
    Foster Business Library Reference, CALL NUMBER: HF5389 .M375 2006.

  • Kiss, bow or shake hands.
    This paperback is arranged alphabetically by country name, with seven page profiles for each country, detailing the country's history, government, language, religion and demographics, cognitive styles, negotiation strategies, value systems, locus of decision making, sources of anxiety reduction, issues of equality, business practices, protocol, gestures, dress and gifts.
    Foster Business Library Reference, CALL NUMBER: HF5389 .M67 2006.

  • International business etiquette: Asia & the Pacific Rim.
    This 200-page paperback is arranged alphabetically by country name, with twelve- to fifteen-page profiles of thirteen countries, covering why people do business in each country, some background information, statistics, currency, dates, ethnic makeup, holidays, language, religion, weather, business attire, etiquette and conversation, gestures, gifts, protocol, decision-making, meeting manners, tips, toasting, and important cultural taboos.
    Foster Business Library Reference, CALL NUMBER: HF5389.3 .A78 .S23 1999.

  • International business etiquette: Europe.
    This 300-page paperback is arranged alphabetically by country name, with twelve- to fifteen-page profiles of twenty-five countries, covering why people do business in each country, some backgroundinformation, statistics, currency, dates, ethnic makeup, holidays, language, religion, weather, business attire, etiquette and conversation, gestures, gifts, protocol, decision-making, meeting manners, tips, toasting, and important cultural taboos.
    Foster Business Library Reference, CALL NUMBER: HF5389.3 .E85 .S23 1999.

  • International business etiquette: Latin America.
    This 200-page paperback is arranged alphabetically by country name, with twelve-page profiles of fourteen countries, covering why people do business in each country, some background information, statistics, currency, dates, ethnic makeup, holidays, language, religion, weather, business attire, etiquette and conversation, gestures, gifts, protocol, decision-making, meeting manners, tips, toasting, and important cultural taboos.
    Foster Business Library Reference, CALL NUMBER: HF5389.3 .L3 .S22 2000.

  • Editor and Publisher market guide.
    This publication provides information on geographic markets for cities with daily newspapers, with demographic data and projections, with market rankings and U.S. and Canadian newspaper market surveys. See Washington state newspapers on pages II-436 to II-444; Washington state population, age and ethnicity on pages III-102 to III-103; Washington state housing, income, and education on pages IV-102 to IV-103; and Washington state retail sales on pages V-137 to V-138.
    Foster Business Library Reference, CALL NUMBER: HF5410 .E33 (Annual)

  • Market share reporter.
    Annual two-volume compilation of U.S. and world market share data for companies, products and services, arranged by SIC code, and with indexes by product, company and topic.
    Foster Business Library Reference, CALL NUMBER: HF5410 .M35 2008.

  • Dictionary of marketing communications.
    This paperback provides an A to Z list of 4,000 marketing communications terms and concepts, with definitions.
    Foster Business Library Reference, CALL NUMBER: HF5412 .G68 2004.

  • The IEBM encyclopedia of marketing.
    This volume includes twelve-page essays on about five dozen topics, under such headings as marketing management, the marketing mix, marketing in practice, and special topics.
    Foster Business Library Reference, CALL NUMBER: HF5412 .I32 1999.

  • The handbook of marketing.
    This handbook consists of twenty-one essays on marketing and society, marketing strategy, marketing activities (such as branding and product development, sales force management and compensation, and special topics (including global marketing, and marketing and the internet).
    Foster Business Library Reference, CALL NUMBER: HF5415 .H18665 2002.

  • U.S. market trends & forecasts.
    This large volume provides an overview and projections for 400 significant industries and their component products or services, arranged alphabetically by industry name. For each product or service, there is a brief indication of the value of the U.S. market in 1998 and the compound U.S. market growth rate from 1993 to 1998 as well as a graph depicting market value in dollars and the growth rate. There is also a brief analysis of the market sectors for the product or service and a description of the market segmentation by volume for 1997, plus U.S. market share and market forecast information.
    Foster Business Library Reference, CALL NUMBER: HF5415.1 .U8 2001.

  • Marketing plans: how to prepare them, how to use them.
    This newer title, in its fifth edition, provides information about the marketing process, the marketing audit, the communication and pricing plans, and marketing planning, as well as the nuts and bolts of how to prepare and use a marketing plan.
    Foster Business Library Reference, CALL NUMBER: HF5415.13 .M369183 2002.

  • Marketing know-how: your guide to the best markeing tools and sources.
    Consumer trends, marketing information, and federal, state and local sources of marketing information, plus articles on these topics.
    Foster Business Library Reference, CALL NUMBER: HF5415.2 .F69 1998.

  • Green book.
    This spiral bound publication, by the New York chapter of the American Marketing Association, is an international directory of marketing research firms and services, with an alphabetical listing and brief description of companies, a yellow pages index by type of research, a research services index, an audiences/industries/markets index, a computer software index, a trademarks/service index, a geographical/telephone index (with Washington state on pages 641) and a principal personnel index.
    Foster Business Library Reference, CALL NUMBER: HF5415.2 .G69 (Annual)
    Also available, in part, online.

  • The international handbook of market research techniques.
    This British paperback publication provides essays on the preparation of international market research surveys, data collection, communications, advertising and media, analysis and modeling, and presentation of results.
    Foster Business Library Reference, CALL NUMBER: HF5415.2 .H284 2002.

  • MRA blue book.
    This two-volume annual paperback is published by the Marketing Research Association. Volume one is arranged geographically by state and city, with profiles of marketing research companies; volume two is an index by market research specialty.
    Foster Business Library Reference, CALL NUMBER: HF5415.2 .M3557a 2003.
    Also available online.

  • QMR: qualitative market research.
    This seven volume paperback set provides an introduction to qualitative market research, information on interviewing groups and individuals in qualitative market research, methods beyond interviewing in qualitative market research, analysis and interpretation in qualitative market research, developing brands with qualitative market research, developing advertising with qualitative market research, and how to deliver results in qualitative market research.
    Foster Business Library Reference, CALL NUMBER: HF5415.2 .Q25 2002.

  • Marketing scales handbook.
    Volume three presents 941 scales culled from articles, on marketing scales in consumer behavior, published in the top marketing journals between 1994 and 1997; volume four provides all new or new uses of previously developed scales in consumer behavior and advertising that appeared between 1998 and 2001, with 654 scales. These volumes include two indexes, by author and by publication.
    Foster Business Library Reference, CALL NUMBER: HF5415.3 .B785 2001, 2005.

  • Demographics USA: zip edition.
    This large paperback provides in-depth demographics, for both people and businesses, for U.S. zip codes.
    Foster Business Library Reference, CALL NUMBER: HF5415.3 .D463 (Annual)
    (See also Demographics USA: county edition, call number HF3007 .S96)

  • Generation X: Americans born 1965 to 1976.
    This publication, also part of the New Strategist series, describes American attitudes, education, health, income, labor force, population, spending and wealth information for those born between 1965 and 1976.
    Foster Business Library Reference, CALL NUMBER: HF5415.33 .U6 .F462 2004.

  • The lifestyle market analyst.
    Market analysis information including demographic, geographic and lifestyle information to identify who customers are, where they live, how they spend their time and money and how to reach them.
    Foster Business Library Reference, CALL NUMBER: HF5415.33 .U6 .L54 (Annual)

  • The millenials: Americans born 1977 to 1994.
    This publication, also part of the New Strategist series, describes the attitudes, education, health, income, labor force, population, spending and wealth information for those born between 1977 and 1994.
    Foster Business Library Reference, CALL NUMBER: HF5415.33 .U6 .M558 2004.

  • Research alert yearbook.
    This volume collects marketing research data from over 1,000 market research reports on a very wide variety of topics, including advertising and marketing, age groups, demographics, apparel, spending, entertainment, food and beverages, health, internet, sports, etc.
    Foster Business Library Reference, CALL NUMBER: HF5415.33 .U6 .R47 2006.

  • The baby boom: Americans born 1946 to 1964.
    This publication, also part of the New Strategist series, describes the attitudes, education, health, income, labor force, population, spending and wealth information for those born between 1946 and 1964.
    Foster Business Library Reference, CALL NUMBER: HF5415.33 .U6 .R877 2004.

  • Perfect phrases for customer service.
    This small paperback is subtitled "hundreds of tools, techniques, and scripts for handling any situation," covering the basics of customer service and how to deal with sixty specific customer situations.
    Foster Business Library Reference, CALL NUMBER: HF5415.5 .B23 2005.

  • American wholesalers and distributors directory.
    This annual directory provides information on 27,000 wholesalers and distributors in the United States, arranged by industry; over 60 industries are included. There are indexes in the back of the volume by SIC code, state-city, and alphabetically by company.
    Foster Business Library Reference, CALL NUMBER: HF5421 .A615 2004.

  • Bond's franchise guide.
    Over 1,000 franchiser profiles are included in this volume as well as information on franchise attorneys, consultants, and service providers.
    Foster Business Library Reference, CALL NUMBER: HF5429.235 .U5 .S66 2004.

  • Washington state retail survey.
    Comprehensive survey of retail sales activity in each county and city in the state, with historical sales trends in over 300 individual market areas, based on activity in 65,000 retail outlets.
    Foster Business Library Reference, CALL NUMBER: HF5429.4 .W2 .W37 2007.

  • The IEBM handbook of information technology in business.
    This nearly-900 page handbook covers information technology and software in terms of business environment, conceptual support, hardware and software tools, and strategic applications.
    Foster Business Library Reference, CALL NUMBER: HF5548.2 .I22 2000.

  • The IEBM handbook of human resource management.
    This volume covers human resource management, global dimensions of the topic, focal policy areas in this field, industrial and labor relations and biographies of key individuals in the field.
    Foster Business Library Reference, CALL NUMBER: HF5549.17 .I33 1998.

  • The HR answer book.
    Included in this book are sections on employee selection, human resource policies, performance management, training and development, employee relations and retention, compensation and benefits, regulatory issues, workplace issues, and termination and discharge, presented in a question and answer format.
    Foster Business Library Reference, CALL NUMBER: HF5549.17 .S62 2004.

  • BNA policy and practice series.
    This set of regularly updated ring binders, from the Bureau of National Affairs, covers compensation, Fair Employment Practices, Labor Relations, Personnel Management, and Wages and Hours. The master index volume provides one-stop indexing to each of these binders or sets of binders.
    Foster Business Library Reference, CALL NUMBER: HF5549.2 .U5 .M37 (Ring Binders)

  • The complete human resources writing guide.
    This manual for effective writing in human resources includes writing style and tone, writing pitfalls, structure, format and design, and samples of such writing as for recruiting, employment interviewing, new employees, performance management, employee services, and employee handbooks and manuals.
    Foster Business Library Reference, CALL NUMBER: HF5549.5 .C6 .A75 1997.

  • The compensation handbook: a state-of-the-art guide to compensation strategy and design.
    Written by 56 compensation specialists, this large guide covers current and future ompensation issues from surveys, to work-life issues, to global compensation in 46 essays of about 20 pages each. There is also an excellent index.
    Foster Business Library Reference, CALL NUMBER: HF5549.5 .C67 .H36 2000.

  • The ultimate accountants' reference.
    This accounting reference work provides an overview of accounting, accounting rules and regulations and the bodies that produce those rules, accounting reports, balance sheets and income statements, accounting management, financial management, other accounting topics, accounting ratios, a dictionary of accounting terms, and a due diligence checklist.
    Foster Business Library Reference, CALL NUMBER: HF5616 .U5 .B713 2006.

  • The encyclopedia of accounting systems.
    This older two-volume encyclopedia is a primary source of information about the accounting systems of a very wide range of specific enterprises, from accountants (public) to voluntary health and welfare organizations.
    Foster Business Library Reference, CALL NUMBER: HF5635 .E54 1994.

  • Portfolio of accounting systems for small and medium-sized businesses.
    This 1,000-page publication from the National Society of Public Accountants covers accounting systems for artists, attorneys, auto repair shops, dentists and 55 other specific types of small business.
    Foster Business Library Reference, CALL NUMBER: HF5635 .P86 1992.

  • RMA annual statement studies.
    Norms and ratios for many industries and sizes of business, itemized by asset size, and categorized by four digit SIC code.
    Foster Business Library Reference, CALL NUMBER: HF5681 .B2 .R6 2006-2007.

  • Industry norms and key business ratios.
    Key business ratios for 800 S.I.C industry categories, a publication of Dun & Bradstreet.
    Foster Business Library Reference, CALL NUMBER: HF5681 .R25 .I525 2005-2006.

  • Almanac of business and industrial financial ratios.
    This annual publication, edited by Leo Troy, offers a different take on ratios than the title above. The arrangement of industries is by SIC code.
    Foster Business Library Reference, CALL NUMBER: HF5681. R25 .T68 2007.

  • Wiley not-for-profit GAAP.
    This annual publication provides information for the interpretation and application of generally accepting accounting principles for not-for-profit organizations, with many examples and illustrations.
    Foster Business Library Reference, CALL NUMBER: HF5686 .N56 .W55 2005.
    (Also available online, in LexisNexis Academic, under Business, Accounting)

  • How to say it for executives: the complete guide to communication for leaders.
    This paperback is aimed at leaders and how they can best communicate, orally and nonverbally, through speaking and presentations, business writing, meetings, and personal behaviors. In particular, see chapter 13, entitled Bridging Cultures.
    Foster Business Library Reference, CALL NUMBER: HF5718 .M549 2005.

  • The writer's guide to corporate communications.
    This volume covers sales meetings, audiovisual communications, corporate videos, speech writing, printed materials, press releases, product brochures, mission statements, writing for the web, etc.
    Foster Business Library Reference, CALL NUMBER: HF5718 .M648 1997.

  • Guide to managerial communication: effective business writing and speaking.
    This volume discusses audience strategy, verbal structures, tell/sell presentations, visual aids, and nonverbal skills.
    Foster Business Library Reference, CALL NUMBER: HF5718 .M86 2000.

  • Presentations that change minds: strategies to persuade, convince, and get results.
    This title presents the five unbreakable rules of persuasive presentations, with many tips to achieving a powerful presentation.
    Foster Business Library Reference, CALL NUMBER: HF5718.22 .G67 2006.

  • New York Times guide to business communication.
    This small paperback consists of 21 essays on business communications, electronic mail, e-mail etiquette, legal and ethical issues, persuasion, career communication, and other topics. See in particular the section on Primers of Persuasion.
    Foster Business Library Reference, CALL NUMBER: HF5718.3 .G843 2001.

  • Write up the corporate ladder: successful writers reveal the techniques that help you write with ease and get ahead.
    The author shares his "plan then write" method, as well as the secrets that made successes of some of today's top business writers, plus insights on the importance of writing on the job, from authorities working at top corporations.
    Foster Business Library Reference, CALL NUMBER: HF5718.3 .R9 2003.

  • The manager's guide to business writing.
    Structure, formats, visuals, tough situations, persuasion, reports, top ten tips, writing basics.
    Foster Business Library Reference, CALL NUMBER: HF5718.3 .S68 1999.

  • Rules of thumb for business writers.
    This paperback is aimed to help business writers with tips for letters, resumes, agendas, newsletters, proposals, e-mail, PowerPoint, covering grammar, presentation tips, research, etc.
    Foster Business Library Reference, CALL NUMBER: HF5718.3 .W54 2005.

  • Perfect phrases for business proposals and business plans.
    This paperback's subtitle is:   "hundreds of ready-to-use phrases for winning new clients, launching new products, and getting the funding you need."
    Foster Business Library Reference, CALL NUMBER: HF5718.5 .D43 2006.

  • Writing effective letters, memos, & e-mail.
    This small paperback covers writing style, layouts, conventions, reports, proposals, and business plans, and writing for sensitive situations, with appendices that include a quick guide to grammar and pronunciation, and converting written documents to oral presentations, on pages 218 to 224.
    Foster Business Library Reference, CALL NUMBER: HF5721 .B483 2004.

  • The ultimate book of business letters.
    This paperback, from Entrepreneur magazine, is set up to allow you to customize letters, memos, emails, and presentations, based on an accompanying CD-ROM (available at the Foster circulation desk) The CD-ROM includes over 1,000 letters and memos.
    Foster Business Library Reference, CALL NUMBER: HF5721 .K54 2007.

  • The AMA style guide for business writing
    Grammar, usage, electronic mail, charts, budgets, memos, sample financial and budget reports, letters, planning documents, style tips, format, etc.
    Foster Business Library Reference, CALL NUMBER: HF5726 .A49 1996.

  • The manager's portfolio of model memos for every occasion.
    More than 800 sample memos for every occasion.
    Foster Business Library Reference, CALL NUMBER: HF5726 .B237 1996.

  • Business letters ready to go.
    Sales orders, thank you letters, complaints, policies, letters to employees, personnel letters, recruiting, reprimands, layoff notices, letters to shareholders, etc.
    Foster Business Library Reference, CALL NUMBER: HF5726 .B29 1998.

  • 300+ hundred successful business letters for all occasions.
    This Barrons' publication provices examples of letters of inquiry, congratulations, announcements, minutes, reports and proposals, orders, job correspondence, press releases, letters to shareholders, letters of sympathy and condolence, etc.
    Foster Business Library Reference, CALL NUMBER: HF5726 .B67 2005.

  • Cyberstyle: the writer's complete desk reference.
    Punctuation, hyphenating, capitalization, number formats, grammar and usage, abbreviations, words often confused or misused, proofreading and editing, using the internet, electronic messaging, address format, business letters and memos, reports and other business documents, employment applications, etc.
    Foster Business Library Reference, CALL NUMBER: HF5726 .C55 2001.

  • The Prentice Hall complete book of model letters, memos, and forms for secretaries.
    Requests and inquiries, reservations and orders, acknowledgment letters, reminders, appointment letters, introductions and recommendations, employees, appreciation and goodwill, social-business messages, complaints and adjustments, credit and collection, sales promotion, memos, announcements, press releases, forms, letters and memos.
    Foster Business Library Reference, CALL NUMBER: HF5726 .D479 1993.

  • The AMA handbook of business letters.
    Planning the letter, components of an effective letter, letter structure, letter appearance, grammar and usage, word processing, numerous sample letters: sales and marketing, customer service, credit and collection, letters to vendors, personnel letters, confirmation letters, requests, replies, permissions, social, personal, etc.
    Foster Business Library Reference, CALL NUMBER: HF5726 .S42 1996.

  • Webster's New World business writing handbook.
    This handbook covers the fundamentals of business writing, the principles of procedure writing, writing letters and memos (with many samples), etc.
    Foster Business Library Reference, CALL NUMBER: HF5726 .W76 2002.

  • Running a meeting that works.
    This small paperback succinctly covers how to prepare for a meeting, encourage participation, and use audiovisual materials effectively.
    Foster Business Library Reference, CALL NUMBER: HF5743.5 .M56 2004.

  • Export documentation and shipping.
    This spiral-bound paperback covers parties to the international transaction, international trade terms, how to obtain country information, the international freight quotation and cover letter, methods of payment, buy/sell agreements, freight forwarding, shipping documentation, U.S. government regulations, and marine insurance.
    Foster Business Library Reference, CALL NUMBER: HF5761 .E94 2002.

  • Ad $ summary.
    This two-volume work reports paid advertising expenditures in major media categories for companies and brands in America.
    Foster Business Library Reference, CALL NUMBER: HF5801 .A18 January-December 2001.

  • The Advertising Age encyclopedia of advertising.
    In three volumes, this heavily-illustrated encyclopedia includes profiles of more than 120 ad agencies worldwide, essays on 80 leading agencies, detailed articles on 40 U.S. agencies, biographies of 47 major advertising figures, as well as 160 significant corporate advertisers, brands, and campaigns, 20 essays on market research methods, and 52 essays on advertising tools and operations.
    Foster Business Library Reference, CALL NUMBER: HF5803 .A28 2003.

  • The Advertiser Red Book.
    This annual two-volume publication, also known as the Standard directory of advertisers, is the most comprehensive source for information on the advertising practices of 24,000 U.S. and Canadian companies spending a minimum of $200,000 on national and regional advertising. Companies may be accessed by 54 business categories or by state, province or city. Entries for companies advertising include SIC codes, business descriptions, statistics, personnel, approximate advertising expenditures, and media. Entries for ad agencies often include the companies and brand names handled and the executive assigned to each account. Volume two includes indexes by product by state or province, by brand name, by SIC code and by personnel. There is also a geographic index volume.
    Foster Business Library Reference, CALL NUMBER: HF5805 .S7 (Annual)   (volume 1: businesses)
    Foster Business Library Reference, CALL NUMBER: HF5805 .S7 (Annual)   (volume 2: indexes)
    Foster Business Library Reference, CALL NUMBER: HF5805 .S7115 (Annual)   (geographic index)

  • The Advertiser Red Book.
    This annual publication, also known as Standard directory of advertising agencies, is the most comprehensive directory of advertising agencies in the U.S. and Canada, including not just ad agencies but also house agencies, media buying services, sales promotion agencies, public relations firms, a personnel index and an index to services and suppliers for specialized services to the advertising industry such as banners, binders, computer services, computer software, data processing, and voiceovers. In the front of this volume are lists and rankings of the top agencies by various industry categories. There is also a Special Market Index, categorizing agencies by two dozen specialties including Asian market, health care, travel and tourism, etc. There is also a supplement to the annual volume.
    Foster Business Library Reference, CALL NUMBER: HF5805 .S78 (Annual)
    Foster Business Library Reference, CALL NUMBER: HF5805 .S782 (Annual)   (supplement)

  • Company/brand $.
    This two-volume work reports and itemizes all paid advertising space and expenditures in ten major media categories for companies and brands in America, in several hundred consumer and Sunday magazines, in newspapers, outdoor advertising, television, and radio.
    Foster Business Library Reference, CALL NUMBER: HF5813 .U6 .C68 2001.

  • The media handbook.
    This paperback is subtitled "a complete guide to advertising media selection, planning, research, and buying," with guidance on developing media objectives, terms, calculations and considerations, creating the plan, offering alternatives, making the media buys, and evaluating the media plan.
    Foster Business Library Reference, CALL NUMBER: HF5826.5 .K38 2003.

  • Marketer's guide to media.
    This small paperback was formerly entitled Mediaweek's Guide to Media. It provides information on media trends, media rates, and demographics, for Broadcast television, syndicated television, cable television, radio, and out-of-home media (such as billboards, outdoor advertising and posters), teens, promotion media, custom publishing, magazines, newspapers, Hispanic markets and media, and media and marketing software.
    Foster Business Library Reference, CALL NUMBER: HF5826.5 .M45 2004.

  • Co-op advertising programs sourcebook.
    This reference work covers over four thousand co-op advertising programs, in over fifty product classifications, with indexes by manufacturer, retailer program, wholesaler program, and by trademark.
    Foster Business Library Reference, CALL NUMBER: HF5827.4 .C66 2007.

  • Encyclopedia of major marketing campaigns.
    This large two-volume reference profiles nearly 1,000 notable advertising and marketing campaigns of the twentieth and twenty-first centuries. Arrangement is by company name and, if the company name is that of a person, by their first name. For each campaign, there is an overview, historical content, target market, competition, market strategy and outcome, as well as a few suggestions for further reading.
    Foster Business Library Reference, CALL NUMBER: HF5837 .E53 2000-2007.

  • SRDS/Standard Rate & Data Service publications:
    SRDS business publication advertising source, SRDS circulation  source, SRDS community publication advertising source, SRDS consumer magazine advertising source, SRDS direct marketing list source, SRDS hispanic media & market source, SRDS newspaper advertising source, SRDS out of home advertising source, SRDS radio advertising source, and SRDS television & cable source. These publications provide media rates and data for the advertising industry, listing advertising rates, editorial or programming content, circulation and other basic information for a variety of advertising media, including radio, television, newspapers, and consumer magazines, in separate volumes with different call numbers. Most volumes are organized by state and by city, with demographic and market data for each state. For the latest publication dates, see the list of SRDS Publications.
    Foster Business Library Reference:

  • A century of American icons.
    This book is subtitled "100 products and slogans from the 20th-century consumer culture" and is arranged chronologically by decade, with an index at the end of the volume. For each product or slogan, there is an essay of about a page and a half in length, with references.
    Foster Business Library Reference, CALL NUMBER: HF6161 .B4 .C46 2002.

Class HG -- Finance: