![]() |
|
|
![]() |
Foster Business Library research guides are aimed at University of Washington students, faculty, and
staff, highlighting resources available to them; users not currently affiliated with the university
may be unable to access some of these resources.
Foster Business Library
Databases:
A search for Benchmarking, in the 37-page PDF Cumulative
Index of topics, retrieved seven references.
See Benchmarking, in the Encyclopedia of Business and Finance.
A search in this database for Benchmarking retrieved over six hundred
references.
A search in this database for Benchmarking retrieved over eighty
references.
Foster Business Library
Reference Collection:
See Benchmarking on page 31.
See Benchmarking and competitor analysis on page 22.
See Benchmarks on pages 8 to 10.
See Benchmarking on pages 45 to 48.
See Benchmarking, starting on page 295, as well as the checklist A program for
benchmarking
starting on page 488; see also business information sources for
Benchmarking on pages 1,911 to 1,913.
See references to Benchmarking in the chapter on Managerial ideologies,
organization culture, and the outcomes of innovation on pages 261 to 278.
See Benchmarking in the context of Total Quality Management on pages 305 and 306, with
examples of success at Xerox, Ford, and Motorola.
See Competitive Benchmarking on pages 135 and 136.
Foster Business Library
Books:
To limit the results of your search just to materials in the Foster Business Library collection, use the Modify or Limit options at the top of the search results and change the library location to Foster Business Library.
Availablity is indicated on the right of each online catalog record. First, note in which collection, within Foster, your materials are in, since the library has ten different Collections, each in a different location and often with differing arrangements. "Available" indicates that the book should be on the shelves under that call number and available for you to check out. "Due" and a date indicates that the book is already checked out to someone and is due back on the date indicated; you can have the "Request/Place Hold" feature to recall the book for your use.
If the material you want is not in the collections of the University of Washington, you can use the "Search Summit" feature to repeat your search in the combined holdings of over thirty cooperating libraries in Washington and Oregon. Use the "Request This Item" feature in Summit to have books in those library sent here to Foster for you to check out.
The Foster general stacks collection is located south of the main part of the Foster Business Library, through the two pass-throughs into the basement of Balmer. The arrangement is by call number, from A (at the east end, near the Copy Center) to Z (at the far west end).
A keyword search for Benchmarking, limited to the Foster Business
Library location,
produced a list of over thirty
records. A review of those records indicates that the LC Subject
Benchmarking (Management) is the appropriate subject term. A search for
this
subject produced
a list of over eighty
records, including over twenty
records in the Foster Business Library.
Many of these books are shelved in the Foster Business Library General Stacks
collection around the call number HD62.15.
Examples in the Foster Business Library's collections include:
A search for the Subject Benchmarking (Management) -- Case studies produced a list of
just three
records, including two
records in the Foster Business Library (from the 1990s).
A keyword search for Best Practices,
limited to
the Foster Business Library, produced a list of sixty
records. There is no subject term for Best Practices.
Foster Business Library Articles:
All four of these databases are available from any computer on the campus
network as well as from home (via the UW
Connectivity Kit or the Libraries' Off-Campus Access link, using your UW Net ID and password). The easiest of these databases to use is ProQuest Databases. For more information about accessing Foster Business Library databases from off
campus, see Database Access.
For more
information about business databases, see the research guide entitled Databases, A to Z.
This database--actually, a family of over two dozen databases--offers full text articles for over 10,000 publications, including scholarly journals, magazines, trade and industry periodicals, newspapers, and reports on a very wide range of topics. To find articles on specific topics, search by word or phrase by keying your search phrase into the search box--or search for your topic in the
Topic Guide. Article full text is often available in several formats, including text, text plus graphics, and PDF. This database also offers a very useful subject structure, to narrow search results, as well as article citation information.
Your search terms will be highlighted in red in each article. For tips on searching this database, see About ProQuest Databases.
As an example, a basic search in this database for Benchmarking, in all
databases, produced over 16,000 articles, including over 2,800 scholarly
articles, over 270 magazine articles, over 5,000 articles in trade and industry periodicals, and over 2,600 newspaper articles.
A similar search for Best Practices produced over 57,000 articles, including over 4,400 scholarly
articles, over 1,200 magazine articles, over 16,000 articles in trade and industry periodicals, and over 10,000 newspaper articles.
Go to Topic Guide in this database to search by subjects and narrowing terms.
The subject term used in this database for benchmarking is SUB(Benchmarks). A subject search
for this term produced a list of more than 7,000 articles. This search can be
narrowed by one or more of eighty terms, from Acquisitions & Mergers to
Best Practice to Case Studies to
Volatility. For instance, a search for SUB(Benchmarks) and SUB(Case Studies) produced over 230 articles.
Examples of articles from these searches include:
See also the Foster Business Library's Business & Economics FAQ, and, in particular, the section for Management.
For research guides on a wide variety of industries,
products, companies, issues and topics, see the Team Librarian Consultation
archives.
The Foster Business Library offers an extensive collection of over fifty databases on its homepage; see under Databases. For a complete list of Foster databases, see the List of All Business Databases. Access to these databases from off campus requires that you first go to the Off-Campus Access button, in the upper right of all library webpages. These resources may not be accessed from off campus except by those with a valid UW Net ID and password. For more information on Foster business databases, click Databases, A-Z. For information on which Foster business databases to use, see the Database Index.
For information on accessing Foster databases from off campus, see Database Access.
For guidelines on responsible database usage, see Database Usage.
Web Resources:
Unlike library databases, Web resources are available wherever
you have web access; they do not require that you access them via the Off-Campus Access button, in the upper right of all library webpages. When using web resources, be sure to evaluate the credibility of these resources. For a subject index to web resources, see Business Resources on the Web on the Foster Business Library homepage.
The Foster Business Library Reference Collection consists of business handbooks, encyclopedias, dictionaries, and other quick reference tools. It is located behind the Reference Desk in Foster, arranged by call number. Reference materials cannot be checked out; they may only be used in the library.
This one-volume offers 500 essays (500 to 1,000 words in length) from 180 authorities on
current knowledge and thinking
about the key concepts of
organizational behavior.
Foster Business Library Reference, CALL NUMBER: HD30.15 .B455 1995 v. 6.
This volume comprises 600 essays on all aspects of human resource management, written by 225
experts.
Foster Business Library Reference, CALL NUMBER: HD30.15 .B455 1995 v. 9.
This slim volume covers topics in operations management in an A to Z arrangement of essays,
some very short and some of them much longer.
Foster Business Library Reference, CALL NUMBER: HD30.15 .B455 1995 v. 10.
This
one-volume covers 348 management topics, arranged alphabetically from Activity-Based Costing
to
Zero-Sum Game.
Foster Business Library Reference, CALL NUMBER: HD30.15 .E49 2000.
This 2,200-page single volume is "designed to offer a wide range of insights, information, and
practical guidance on every aspect of management" via 2.5 million words of text from 200
contributors, with 700 illustrations and 150 maps, in seven major sections including best
practice, a management library, business thinkers and management giants, a business
dictionary, a world business almanac, and a guide to business sources.
Foster Business Library Reference, CALL NUMBER: HD38.15 .B878 2002.
This new reference work includes 23 essays by major scholars on various aspects of
organizational culture
and climate research.
Foster Business Library Reference, CALL NUMBER: HD58.7 .H363 2000.
This volume covers human resource management, global dimensions of the topic, focal policy
areas in this
field, industrial and labor relations and biographies of key individuals in the field.
Foster Business Library Reference, CALL NUMBER: HF5549.17 .I33 1998.
This oversized 1,400-page handbook covers all aspects of human resources and is aimed at human
resources managers and
practitioners, with long essays on each topic and references for further reading.
Foster Business Library Reference, CALL NUMBER: HF5549.5 .M3 .H85 1994.
The Foster Business Library maintains a collection of over 70,000 books on
all business topics. To search for materials on all three campuses of the University of Washington, go to the UW Libraries Catalog, in the upper left corner of the Foster Business Library homepage. Search by keyword, title, author, series, etc.
In addition to the 800 journals in the Foster Business Library Periodicals
Collection, the Foster Business Library offers access to over 100 million full text articles in over 10,000 periodicals through its full text article
databases such as EBSCO Business Source Premier, Factiva, LexisNexis
Academic, and ProQuest Databases.
These article databases may be found on the Foster Business Library homepage, listed under
Databases.
Help:
The Foster Business Library Reference Desk is staffed
nearly all of the hours
that the library is open.
The
staff at the desk
will be happy to help you find business research tools and resources, exploit business
databases to the fullest, or
advise on research strategies.
For
e-mail
questions, direct your query to balib@u.washington.edu. For
assistance by telephone, dial (206) 543-8012 during library hours.