Foster Business Library


Business News Online



Foster Business Library research guides are aimed at University of Washington students, faculty, and staff, highlighting resources available to them; users not currently affiliated with the university may be unable to access some of these resources.
See also selected RSS Business News

Today's Stock Market:      AG Edwards      Bloomberg      MarketWatch      Reuters      Standard & Poor's DB      Value Line      Wescorp      Yahoo! Finance

Web Resources      Foster Databases      Help

Web Resources:

Foster Business Library Databases:

    The Foster Business Library offers an extensive collection of business databases on its homepage; see under Business Databases. For more information on the three dozen Foster business databases, click here.   For more information about which of the three dozen Foster business databases to use, click here.   For more information on accessing Foster databases from off campus, click here. For answers to some frequently-asked questions about connecting to UW library databases from off-campus, click here.

  • Factiva:   Click on the tab News Pages at the top of the menu for the latest headlines and top stories in Top Newspapers:  the Wall Street Journal, New York Times, Washington Post, Chicago Tribune, Los Angeles Times, Newsweek, Business Week, Barrons, Forbes, and Fortune.

  • ProQuest Newspapers:   Full text and indexing for over 600 newspapers, including the Chicago Tribune, Los Angeles Times, Oregonian, New York Times, Wall Street Journal, and other major U.S. national newspapers, international English-language newspapers, and selected regional/state newspapers. Included as part of this database are:

    • National Newspapers:   This database provides indexing and full text for 27 major national newspapers, including, among other titles, the Atlanta Constitution, Atlanta Journal, Boston Globe, Christian Science Monitor, Los Angeles Times, New York Times, USA Today, Wall Street Journal and Washington Post. Clicking on Search Methods in the top menu allows you to search by publication title or to list publications in the database; if you click on a particular newspaper, you can gain access to the current issue. This database may be accessed anywhere on campus (and from home via the UW Connectivity kit or UW Libraries' proxy server). You can access this database (also known as ProQuest) from home via many local public libraries such as the Seattle Public Library and the King County Library System, using your public library card number.

    • Washington State Newstand:   This database includes full-text coverage of major Washington newspapers including the daily newspapers from Pasco, Seattle, Tacoma, Spokane, Vancouver, and Yakima, plus selected coverage of other regional sources. Clicking on Search Methods in the top menu allows you to search by publication title or to list publications in the database; if you click on a particular newspaper, you can gain access to the current issue. This database may be accessed anywhere on campus (and from home via the UW Connectivity kit or UW Libraries' proxy server). You can access this database (also known as ProQuest) from home via many local public libraries such as the Seattle Public Library and the King County Library System, using your public library card number.

  • Standard & Poor's NetAdvantage:   On the Foster Business Library homepage, listed under Databases. Full text for the following S&P publications, Bond Guide; Corporation Records; Dividend Record; Earnings Guide; Industry Surveys; Mutual Fund Reports; The Outlook; Register of Corporations, Directors and Executives; Security Dealers of North America; Stock Guide; and Stock Reports, as well as daily stock market updates and other investment publications.

Help:
2 September 2003; updated 1 April 2008.   Peter Stevens, Business Librarian, stevens@u.washington.edu