Career Resources
Foster Business Library research guides are aimed at University of Washington students, faculty, and
staff, highlighting resources available to them; users not currently affiliated with the university
may be unable to access some of these resources.
Foster Databases >>>
Web Resources >>>
Reference Books >>>
Books >>>
Help
Foster Business Library Databases:
The Foster Business Library offers an extensive collection of over fifty databases on its homepage; see under Databases. For a complete list of Foster databases, see the List of All Business Databases. Access to these databases from off campus requires that you first go to the Off-Campus Access button, in the upper right of all library webpages. These resources may not be accessed from off campus except by those with a valid UW Net ID and password. For more information on Foster business databases, click Databases, A-Z. For information on which Foster business databases to use, see the Database Index.
For information on accessing Foster databases from off campus, see Database Access.
For guidelines on responsible database usage, see Database Usage.
Gale Virtual Reference Library:
On the Foster Business Library homepage, listed under List of All Business Databases.
The Gale Virtual Reference Library is a database of encyclopedias, almanacs, and specialized reference sources for multidisciplinary research; go to Business for three major business sources: the Encyclopedia of American Industries (4th ed., 2005), the Encyclopedia of Business and Finance (2001), and the Encyclopedia of Small Business (2nd ed., 2002).
A keyword search for Careers, in the Encyclopedia of Business and Finance, produced articles on careers in
Accounting,
Economics
Finance,
Management, and
Marketing.
Hoovers Online:
Under Business Databases on the Foster Business Library homepage.
Hoovers Online offers information about 25,000 public and
private companies worldwide. Click here for
links to 430 companies in the state of Washington; look in the company fact sheet right for the
number of employees
in each company
and the 1-year employee growth to identify companies that are growing and hiring.
Vault Career Library:
Under Business Databases on the Foster Business Library homepage.
This database provides information and guides for over 3,000 companies, 40 industries, and over fifty career paths, including over ninety career guides, as well as employer profiles, articles, and advice on careers, resumes, and cover letters; and more.
Though not among the list of Foster Business Library databases, this UW Libraries database is useful for those considering the GMAT:
Testing and Education Reference Center:
Test preparation books for the GRE, GMAT, and other standardized tests are in high demand throughout the Libraries. Books are often outdated, lost, or have multiple holds. This database from Gale offers both electronic books and full-length timed practice tests that students can take online. Tests include the SAT, ACT, GRE, GMAT, MCAT, LSAT, TOEFL, and more. Other services include college and graduate school searches. See their GMAT Test Preparation.
Web Resources:
Unlike library databases, Web resources are available wherever you have web access; they do not require that you access them via the Off-Campus Access button, in the upper right of all library webpages. When using web resources, be sure to evaluate the credibility of these resources. For a subject index to web resources, see Business Resources on the Web on the Foster Business Library homepage.
Business Connections
Center:
This UW Business School MBA site provides information for prospective, new and current MBA students; some of the
links are password protected. See especially the Career Management Tools, for resume templates, personal marketing plans, networking letters, responses to job openings, and much more.
Career
Resources:
This Odegaard Undergraduate Library site offers links to information on resumes, cover letters, interviews; industry,
occupation and company research; job databases and career centers; scholarships and financial aid; and more.
Career/MBA Resources:
This Foster Business Library site provides links to more than twenty Job Search Sites and more than a
dozen Career/MBA sites.
Career Voyages:
This U.S. Department of Labor and Department of Education joint site
offers
information about how to choose and industry and view career progress in
that industry; view the occupations in the U.S. with the most growth
opportunities; view fastest-growing occupations by state; and information
for career changers.
Center for Career Services:
This University of Washington site serves students, alumni, employers and others from their location in Mary Gates Hall and via this website. See the section on Web Resources for information on companies and industries, occupations, job listings and internship opportunities. In particular, see their Resume and Curriculum Vitae Resources .
CollegeGrad.Com: This site claims to be the number one internet job search site for college students and recent grads. See their latest lists of Top Intern Employers, Top Entry Level Employers (for college grads), and Top Masters Employers.
Company Lists:
This brief guide provides sources for identifying companies in particular industries, with a Seattle perspective.
There are also links from this page to guides for researching companies and industries.
How To Find a Job in a Jobless Recovery:
This eight-page report, in Adobe Acrobat PDF format, was produced by the outplacement firm Challenger, Gray &
Christmas, Inc., and addresses the problems involved in finding a job in the current economic situation and how to
overcome these problems by focusing on resumes, contacts, obtaining interviews, interviews, and follow up.
Husky Career Advantage:
This University of Washington Alumni site is aimed at UW alumni and students, with Job
Search
Links, a resume posting facility, career connections links, Career Resources,
and employer
services. Some of the site's offerings are limited to UW Alumni Association members.
Job-Hunt.Org:
While there are many websites with
job listings, this site is focused on the other aspects of finding a job, with more than
8,000 links. This site offers
job search
resources by geographic location, by industry or by profession,
resources for employers and annotations, as well as
articles about online job hunting and recommended reading.
MBA Job
Search Guide (Florida State University):
This excellent site serves MBA students at Florida State University with information about
self-assessment,
how to write a
resume,
writing
letters,
interviewing,
offers
and negotiating, and
information
for international students.
NW Jobs:
This link to job ads in the Seattle Times and Seattle Post-Intelligencer allows you to search by type of position or name of company, for positions in the Pacific Northwest. See also the sections on the Job Market and Advice.
Occupational Outlook Handbook:
This Bureau of Labor Statistics' site offers information on 250 occupations, including a brief section
for each
occupation on earnings. A print copy of this publication is also available in the Foster Business
Library reference collection, call number HF5381.A1 O36.
O*Net Online:
This replacement for the Dictionary of Occupational Titles database is an excellent source for information about
more than 1,000 occupations, which can be found by searching by keyword, occupational grouping, or by browsing the
complete list. It is
also possible to search by skills for applicable occupations. For each occupation, the database supplies tasks,
knowledge, skills, abilities, work activities, interests, work values, related occupations, and a link to applicable
state wage and employment information.
Wetfeet Industry Profiles:
This job hunting site offers profiles of 31 industries, with an industry overview, trends, industry organization, job
prospects, what's great and what's to hate in the industry, from the viewpoint of a jobseeker, major companies in the
industry, and example job descriptions and tips on how to get hired in the industry. There are also links to industry
associations and a profile of an individual working in the industry. The amount of industry information makes up for
annoying popups.
Foster Business Library Reference
Collection:
The Foster Business Library Reference Collection consists of business handbooks, encyclopedias, dictionaries, and other quick reference tools. It is located behind the Reference Desk in Foster, arranged by call number. Reference materials cannot be checked out; they may only be used in the library.
This listing is of career books
in the Foster Business Library reference
collection, located behind
the Reference Desk in the center of the library's first floor. Within each category, books are listed in call number
order. Unlike the 70,000 books in the Foster Business Library General Stacks collection, books in the reference
collection may not be checked out; they are available only for use within the library.
General:
Business: the ultimate resource.
See the Personal Development action lists, starting on page 744.
Foster Business Library Reference, CALL NUMBER: HD38.15 .B878 2002.
Insider's guide to finding a job: expert advice from America's top employers and recruiters.
Foster Business Library Reference, CALL NUMBER: HF5382.7 .E54 2005.
The job searcher's handbook.
Foster Business Library Reference, CALL NUMBER: HF5382.75 .U6 .R63 2006.
Technical writing: essentials for the successful professional.
See the chapter on seeking employment, on pages 159 to 177.
Foster Business Library Reference, CALL NUMBER: T11 .I32 2003.
Business schools:
Barron's guide to graduate business schools.
Foster Business Library Reference, CALL NUMBER: HF1131 .B375 1994.
Business Week guide to the best business schools.
Foster Business Library Reference, CALL NUMBER: HF1131 .B95 1997.
(Also available Online)
Guide to doctoral programs in business and management.
Foster Business Library Reference, CALL NUMBER: HF1131 .G85 1992.
The insider's guide to the top ten business schools.
Foster Business Library Reference, CALL NUMBER: HF1131 .I57 1993.
Admissions guide to selective business schools.
Foster Business Library Reference, CALL NUMBER: HF1131 .M3547 1990.
The Guide to the best European business schools.
Foster Business Library Reference, CALL NUMBER: HF1140 .C69 2000.
Career information:
Vault guide to the top 50 management and strategy consulting firms.
Foster Business Library Reference, CALL NUMBER: HD69 .C6 .V37 2006.
Vault guide to the top 25 technology consulting firms.
Foster Business Library Reference, CALL NUMBER: HD69 .C6 .V385 2004.
Vault guide to the top pharmaceuticals and biotech employers.
Foster Business Library Reference, CALL NUMBER: HD9999 .B44 .V38 2005.
Careers in marketing & market research.
Foster Business Library Reference, CALL NUMBER: HF5415.35 .C37 2005.
Careers in accounting.
Foster Business Library Reference, CALL NUMBER: HF5616 .U5 .G39 2006.
Great jobs for accounting majors.
Foster Business Library Reference, CALL NUMBER: HF5616 .U5 .G643 2005.
Vault career guide to accounting.
Foster Business Library Reference, CALL NUMBER: HF5628 .A433 2005.
Careers in focus: Financial services / Ferguson's.
Foster Business Library Reference, CALL NUMBER: HG173 .C285 2006.
Vault guide to the top 50 finance employers.
Foster Business Library Reference, CALL NUMBER: HG173 .P738 2002.
Vault career guide to hedge funds.
Foster Business Library Reference, CALL NUMBER: HG4530 .D385 2004.
Vault career guide to investment banking.
Foster Business Library Reference, CALL NUMBER: HG4534 .P75 2005.
Vault career guide to the top 25 banking employers.
Foster Business Library Reference, CALL NUMBER: HG4534 .V38 2006.
Vault career guide to sales & trading.
Foster Business Library Reference, CALL NUMBER: HG4910 .K4795 2004.
Vault career guide to the top private equity employers.
Foster Business Library Reference, CALL NUMBER: HG4963 .V38 2006.
Vault career guide to venture capital.
Foster Business Library Reference, CALL NUMBER: HG4965 .K34 2005.
Vault career guide to media and entertainment.
Foster Business Library Reference, CALL NUMBER: P91.6 .V38 2003.
Vault guide to the top hospitality & tourism industry employers.
Foster Business Library Reference, CALL NUMBER: TX911.3 .V62 .V38 2006.
International careers:
Doing business internationally: the resource
book to business and social etiquette.
Foster Business Library Reference, CALL NUMBER: HF5389 .D64 1997
American jobs abroad.
Foster Business Library Reference, CALL NUMBER: HF5549.5 .E45 .A446 1994.
International opportunities: a career guide for students.
Foster Business Library Reference, CALL NUMBER: HF5549.5 .E45 .I58 1993.
International jobs: where they are and how to get them.
Foster Business Library Reference, CALL NUMBER: HF5549.5 .E45 .K63 1993.
International careers: an insider's guide : where to find
them, how to build them.
Foster Business Library Reference, CALL NUMBER: HF5549.5 .E45 .W525 1987.
Directory of American firms operating in foreign countries.
Foster Business Library Reference, CALL NUMBER: HG4538 .A1 .D5 2001.
Internships/fellowships:
Guide to local internships. (University of Washington)
Foster Business Library Reference, CALL NUMBER: HD5715.3 .W2 .G85. 1993/1994.
See also the list of books (and, at the end of the list, web links) on Assistantship, Fellowship, and Internship Opportunities in the Suzzallo—Allen Library reference collection.
Interviewing:
Case in point: complete case interview preparation.
Foster Business Library Reference, CALL NUMBER: HD69 .C6 .C674 2001.
Vault guide to the case interview.
Foster Business Library Reference, CALL NUMBER: HD69.C6 .V38 2002.
(Also available Online)
Strategic interviewing: how to hire good people.
Foster Business Library Reference, CALL NUMBER: HF5549.5 .I6 .C354 2001.
(Also available Online)
The interview kit.
Foster Business Library Reference, CALL NUMBER: HF5549.5 .I6 .B387 2000.
The employment interview handbook.
Foster Business Library Reference, CALL NUMBER: HF5549.5 .I6 .E48 1999.
The perfect interview: how to get the job you really want.
Foster Business Library Reference, CALL NUMBER: HF5549.5 .I6 .D74 1997.
96 great interview questions to ask before you hire.
Foster Business Library Reference, CALL NUMBER: HF5549.5 .I6 .F35 1997.
501+ great interview questions for employers and the best answers for prospective employees.
Foster Business Library Reference, CALL NUMBER: HF5549.5 .I6 .P63 2005.
The ultimate interview book: make a great impression and get that job.
Foster Business Library Reference, CALL NUMBER: HF5549.5 .I6 .W55 2005.
Vault guide to finance interviews.
Foster Business Library Reference, CALL NUMBER: HG173 .B479 2005.
Job descriptions:
Job descriptions in human resources.
Foster Business Library Reference, CALL NUMBER: HF5549 .S84135 1985.
More results-oriented job descriptions: 226 models to use or adapt-- with
guidelines for creating your own.
Foster Business Library Reference, CALL NUMBER: HF5549.5 .J613 .P578 1998.
MBA:
The Vault MBA career bible.
Foster Business Library Reference, CALL NUMBER: HD38.25 .U6 .V38 2005.
The Wall Street Journal top business schools.
Foster Business Library Reference, CALL NUMBER: HF1101 .W35 2006.
Which MBA?: a critical guide to the world's best MBAs.
Foster Business Library Reference, CALL NUMBER: HF1111 .B53 2003.
The Business Week guide to the best business schools.
Foster Business Library Reference, CALL NUMBER: HF1131 .B95 2003.
Barron's guide to graduate business schools.
Foster Business Library Reference, CALL NUMBER: HF1131 .B375 2005.
Peterson's MBA programs 2007.
Foster Business Library Reference, CALL NUMBER: HF1131 .P48 2006.
Recruiters:
Hoover's directory of human resources executives.
Foster Business Library Reference, CALL NUMBER: HF5549.2 .U5 .H66 1996.
The directory of executive recruiters.
Foster Business Library Reference, CALL NUMBER: HF5549.5 .R44 .D58 2001.
The global 200 executive recruiters: an essential guide to
the best recruiters in the United States, Europe, Asia, and Latin America.
Foster Business Library Reference, CALL NUMBER: HF5549.5 .R44 .J462 1998.
Cover letters:
The perfect cover letter.
Foster Business Library Reference, CALL NUMBER: HF5383 .B325 1989.
Dynamic cover letters.
Foster Business Library Reference, CALL NUMBER: HF5383 .H278 2001.
Job
search letters that get results.
Foster Business Library Reference, CALL NUMBER: HF5383 .K714 1992.
201 killer cover letters.
Foster Business Library Reference, CALL NUMBER: HF5383 .P63 1996.
(2003 edition also available Online)
Cover letters that knock 'em dead.
Foster Business Library Reference, CALL NUMBER: HF5383 .Y377 1992.
Resumes:
Cyberspace resume kit: how to build and launch an online
resume.
Foster Business Library Reference, CALL NUMBER: HF5382.7 .N45 2001.
175 high-impact resumes.
Foster Business Library Reference, CALL NUMBER: HF5383 .B324 2002.
The resume kit.
Foster Business Library Reference, CALL NUMBER: HF5383 .B33 2003.
(Also available Online)
Perfect phrases for resumes.
Foster Business Library Reference, CALL NUMBER: HF5383 .B437 2005.
101 more best resumes.
Foster Business Library Reference, CALL NUMBER: HF5383 .B535 1999.
Resume writing: a comprehensive how-to-do-it guide.
Foster Business Library Reference, CALL NUMBER: HF5383 .B57 1990.
Wow! Resumes for sales & marketing careers.
Foster Business Library Reference, CALL NUMBER: HF5383 .C623 1998.
Create your ultimate resume, portfolio and writing samples: an employment guide for the technical communicator.
Foster Business Library Reference, CALL NUMBER: HF5383 .C63 1997.
Expert resumes for computer and Web jobs.
Foster Business Library Reference, CALL NUMBER: HF5383 .E47876 2005.
The perfect resume: today's ultimate job search tool.
Foster Business Library Reference, CALL NUMBER: HF5383 .J25 2004.
101 resumes for sure-hire results.
Foster Business Library Reference, CALL NUMBER: HF5383 .K36 1994.
Sure-hire resumes.
Foster Business Library Reference, CALL NUMBER: HF5383 .K37 1990.
Electronic resume revolution: create a winning resume for the new world of job-seeking.
Foster Business Library Reference, CALL NUMBER: HF5383 .K42 1994.
High impact resumes and letters: how to communicate your qualifications to employers.
Foster Business Library Reference, CALL NUMBER: HF5383 .K7 1998.
Just resumes: 200 powerful and proven successful resumes to get that job.
Foster Business Library Reference, CALL NUMBER: HF5383 .M285 1997.
Professional resumes for executives, managers, and other administrators.
Foster Business Library Reference, CALL NUMBER: HF5383 .N623 1998.
Resumes that get jobs.
Foster Business Library Reference, CALL NUMBER: HF5383 .R43 1994.
Resumes for mid-career job changes: with sample cover letters.
Foster Business Library Reference, CALL NUMBER: HF5383 .R445 2006.
Resumes for sales and marketing careers.
Foster Business Library Reference, CALL NUMBER: HF5383 .R45 1991.
The resume handbook: how to write outstanding resumes and cover letters for every situation.
Foster Business Library Reference, CALL NUMBER: HF5383 .R67 1990.
Winning resumes.
Foster Business Library Reference, CALL NUMBER: HF5383 .R934 1997.
The advanced 90-minute resume.
Foster Business Library Reference, CALL NUMBER: HF5383 .S326 1992.
Resumes for business management careers.
Foster Business Library Reference, CALL NUMBER: HF5383 .V46 1991.
Resume power: selling yourself on paper.
Foster Business Library Reference, CALL NUMBER: HF5383 .W316 1990.
Resume magic: trade secrets of a professional resume writer.
Foster Business Library Reference, CALL NUMBER: HF5383 .W46 2007.
Best resumes for accountants and financial professionals.
Foster Business Library Reference, CALL NUMBER: HF5627 .M33 1994
Puget Sound employers:
Puget Sound major employers directory pinpointer.
Foster Business Library Reference, CALL NUMBER: HC107 .W22 .P864 2001/2003.
Puget Sound Business Journal book of lists.
(See the lists of the largest and fastest growing public and private companies in the area
to identify companies that are growing and hiring.)
Foster Business Library Reference, CALL NUMBER: HC108 S77 P83.
Guide to business-related organizations in Puget Sound.
An excellent source for networking and making contacts for job prospects, this small paperback
includes industry-specific organizations, chambers of commerce, community service clubs, ethnic
associations, international business organizations, networking forums, university alumni
associations and women's groups.
Foster Business Library Reference, CALL NUMBER: HF5065 .W2 .G835 2002/2003.
Seattle job source.
This paperback covers the greater Seattle metro area and surrounding counties, with over 4,000
job contacts, organized by industry, with employment help, internships, sample resumes and cover
letters, internet job searching, and largest and fastest growing area companies.
Foster Business Library Reference, CALL NUMBER: HF5382.75 .U62 .S455 2002.
The almanac of American employers, 2002-2003.
This paperback is focused on the 500 fastest-growing companies in the U.S. but includes some
companies
headquartered in the Pacific Northwest (see the index by state starting on page 71). Most of this
book consists of one-page company profiles but the first several dozen pages of the book provide
information on major trends affecting job seekers, seven keys for job seekers, and industry lists
of various sorts.
Foster Business Library Reference, CALL NUMBER: HF5549.5 .C67 .P58 2001.
Foster Business Library Books:
The Foster Business Library maintains a collection of over 70,000 books on
all business topics. To search for materials on all three campuses of the University of Washington, go to the UW Libraries Catalog, in the upper left corner of the Foster Business Library homepage. Search by keyword, title, author, series, etc.
To limit the results of your search just to materials in the Foster Business Library collection, use the Modify or Limit options at the top of the search results and change the library location to Foster Business Library.
Availablity is indicated on the right of each online catalog record. First, note in which collection, within Foster, your materials are in, since the library has ten different Collections, each in a different location and often with differing arrangements. "Available" indicates that the book should be on the shelves under that call number and available for you to check out. "Due" and a date indicates that the book is already checked out to someone and is due back on the date indicated; you can have the "Request/Place Hold" feature to recall the book for your use.
If the material you want is not in the collections of the University of Washington, you can use the "Search Summit" feature to repeat your search in the combined holdings of over thirty cooperating libraries in Washington and Oregon. Use the "Request This Item" feature in Summit to have books in those library sent here to Foster for you to check out.
The Foster general stacks collection is located south of the main part of the Foster Business Library, through the two pass-throughs into the basement of Balmer. The arrangement is by call number, from A (at the east end, near the Copy Center) to Z (at the far west end).
For example, click on the following subjects or keywords for relevant books in the Foster Business
Library collections:
Some examples from the searches above, in the Foster Business Library, include:
Alternatively, take one of the relevant titles in the Foster Reference Collection with you
back to General Stacks and look for books with call numbers similar to the book in hand.
Help:
The Foster Business Library Reference Desk is staffed nearly all the hours that the library is open.
The
staff at the desk will be happy to help you find research tools on any business subject. For
e-mail
questions, direct your query to balib@u.washington.edu.
For
assistance by telephone, dial (206) 543-8012 during library hours.
See also the Foster Business Library's Business & Economics FAQ, and, in particular, the section for General Business.
For research guides on a wide variety of industries,
products, companies, issues and topics, see the Team Librarian Consultation
archives.
9 March 2000; updated
27 March 2008.
Peter Stevens, Business Librarian, stevens@u.washington.edu.