Foster Business Library
Databases:
The Foster Business Library offers an extensive collection of over fifty databases on its homepage; see under Databases. For a complete list of Foster databases, see the List of All Business Databases. Access to these databases from off campus requires that you first go to the Off-Campus Access button, in the upper right of all library webpages. These resources may not be accessed from off campus except by those with a valid UW Net ID and password. For more information on Foster business databases, click Databases, A-Z. For information on which Foster business databases to use, see the Database Index.
For information on accessing Foster databases from off campus, see Database Access.
For guidelines on responsible database usage, see Database Usage.
- Gale Virtual Reference Library: On the Foster Business Library homepage, listed under List of All Business Databases.
The Gale Virtual Reference Library is a database of encyclopedias, almanacs, and specialized reference sources for multidisciplinary research; go to Business for such major business sources as: the Encyclopedia of American Industries (4th ed., 2005), the Encyclopedia of Business and Finance (2001), and the Encyclopedia of Small Business (2nd ed., 2002).
A search for Climate Change in this database retrieved over twenty references. Among the online sources in this database are the five-volume 2002 Encyclopedia of Global Environmental Change and the tw0-volume 2003 Environmental Encyclopedia. As an example, see Projection of Future Changes in Climate, in the Encyclopedia of Global Environmental Change.
Investext:
On the Foster Business Library homepage, listed under Databases.
Investext contains indexing and the full text of company and
industry research reports prepared by leading Wall Street firms, as well
as regional and international brokerage and financial firms. All reports are in PDF
format.
A keyword search for Climate and Change retrieved nineteen reports; Carbon and Trading, fourteen reports; Emissions and Trading, 35 reports.
JSTOR:
This database may be found under List of All Business Databases.
JSTOR is a subject searchable index of 360 journals, with
full-text
backfiles of scholarly journals, some of which date back to the 1800's. Among the
collections of scholarly journals on this site are ones for Business and for
Economics, encompassing 72 journals.
An advanced search in abstracts for Climate Change and Business produced just fourteen articles.
Social Sciences Citation Index: Included under Business Databases on the Foster Business Library homepage.
This database "is a multidisciplinary index, with searchable author
abstracts, covering the journal literature of the social sciences. It indexes more than 1,725 journals spanning 50 disciplines, as well as covering individually selected, relevant items from over 3,300 of the world's leading
scientific and technical journals. It "provides access to current information and retrospective data from 1956 forward."
A search in this database for Climate Change and Business produced over one hundred references.
Separate, stand-alone workstation:
Bloomberg:
Bloomberg is an online database available only on a dedicated
Bloomberg workstation, providing 24-hour current and historical
financial quotes, commodity market and economic statistics, business
newswires, and descriptive information, research and statistics on over
52,000 companies worldwide. In the Foster Business Library, the
Bloomberg workstation is located in the Electronic Reference
Area on Public PC #20; it may be identified by the red card on top of
the monitor. Use of this workstation is limited to current
University of Washington students, faculty and staff.
A 17-page guide to using Bloomberg is available, adjacent to
the workstation, in a black binder with Bloomberg on the spine.
For more about Bloomberg, click here.
For emission prices and environmental indexes, key in ENVI; for environmental news, key in PTOP; for global carbon dioxide emissions, EMDA; for emissions and green markets, EMIS; for the Chicago Climate Exchange, CCLX; for electricity exchanges, NRGE.
Web Resources:
Unlike library databases, Web resources are available wherever
you have web access; they do not require that you access them via the Off-Campus Access button, in the upper right of all library webpages. When using web resources, be sure to evaluate the credibility of these resources. For a subject index to web resources, see Business Resources on the Web on the Foster Business Library homepage.
-
Beyond Gray Pinstripes:
"Beyond Grey Pinstripes is a research survey and alternative ranking of business schools that spotlights innovative full-time MBA programs leading the way in the integration of issues concerning social and environmental stewardship in to the curriculum. These schools are preparing students for the reality of tomorrow's markets by equipping them with the social, environmental and economic perspectives required for business success in a competitive and fast changing world." The site also provides a "searchable database of environmental and social impact management coverage in MBA programs at 100 leading business schools around the world. The database includes information on more than 1000 courses, 800 extracurricular activities, 150 institutes and 700 articles from academic journals." It also provides rankings of MBA programs, worldwide, "that are integrating issues of social and environmental stewardship into curricula and research." The University of Washington is not on its list of Participating Schools (though Western Washington University and Washington State University are members). See their Global 100 ranking of MBA programs. See also their Trends and Facts.
- Carbon Disclosure Project: This organization "is an independent not-for-profit organisation aiming to create a lasting relationship between shareholders and corporations regarding the implications for shareholder value and commercial operations presented by climate change. Its goal is to facilitate a dialogue, supported by quality information, from which a rational response to climate change will emerge." See their Responding Companies and Reports.
- Carbon Footprint: "Carbon Footprint's mission is to educate and inform how we can all make the right choices both at home and at work, save on waste and make sure that future generations will inherit a world we can be proud of." See this British site's carbon footprint Calculator.
- Carbonfund.org:
"Carbonfund.org is a nonprofit organization that educates the public about the dangers of climate change and makes it easy and affordable for individuals, businesses and organizations to reduce their climate impact."
See their Why Offset Carbon, Offset Projects, Links, and their list of Partners.
- The CarbonNeutral Company Limited: This U.K.-based company "created some of the tools which are have now been widely adopted: legal contracts for carbon credits; carbon calculators which enabled audiences to measure their contribution to climate change; positive, benefit-led messaging rather than trying to catalyse action through bleak scare tactics; the 'measure, reduce, offset' mantra." See their Client Case Studies and their Network of Companies.
- Ceres: "Ceres (pronounced "series") is a national network of investors, environmental organizations and other public interest groups working with companies and investors to address sustainability challenges such as global climate change." It established "the Global Reporting Initiative (GRI), now the de-facto international standard (used by over 850 companies) for corporate reporting on environmental, social and economic performance." See their Reports.
- The Chicago Climate Exchange:
This organization claims to be "North America’s only, and the world’s first, greenhouse gas (GHG) emission registry, reduction and trading system for all six greenhouse gases (GHGs). CCX is a self-regulatory, rules based exchange designed and governed by CCX Members." See their Key Features, Offset Projects, Publications, and Market Data.
- Climate Counts: "Climate Counts is a collaborative effort to bring consumers and companies together in the fight against global climate change. We are a nonprofit organization funded by Stonyfield Farm, Inc. and launched in collaboration with Clean Air-Cool Planet." See their Scorecard Overview and, as an example, climate scores for Food Services. See also their 2008 Climate Counts Pocket Guide (in one PDF page).
- The Climate Trust: "The sole mission of The Climate Trust is to promote climate change solutions by providing high quality greenhouse gas offset projects and advancing sound offset policy."
See their About Offsets and Offset Projects.
- ClimateBiz.com:
This site describes itself as "a free, Web-based resource to help companies of all sizes and sectors understand and address climate change in a way that aligns environmental responsibility with business success. Our mission is to provide hands-on tools, action steps, and other resources companies can use to understand the underlying issues, assess their climate footprint, and devise and implement a plan to significantly reduce their climate impacts throughout their operations and supply chains." See their Backgrounders, (including ones on Emissions Trading and Carbon Offsets), Best Practices, and Transportation.
- David Suzuki Foundation: " Since 1990, the David Suzuki Foundation has worked to find ways for society to live in balance with the natural world that sustains us. Focusing on four program areas – oceans and sustainable fishing, climate change and clean energy, sustainability, and the Nature Challenge - the Foundation uses science and education to promote solutions that conserve nature and help achieve sustainability within a generation." See their Climate Change section, and Using Carbon Offsets to Neutralize Your Emissions.
- Eco-BusinessLinks: This environmental directory offers 7,000 links to resources on this topic. See their Carbon Emissions Offset.
- Environmental Defense:
Founded in 1967 as the Environmental Defense Fund, this nonprofit organization of 500,000 members links "science, economics and law to create innovative, equitable and cost-effective solutions to society's most urgent environmental problems." See their Corporate Partnerships.
- European Climate Exchange: This organization claims its offers "the most liquid, pan-European platform for carbon emissions trading, attracting over 80% of the exchange-traded volume in the market." See their sections on emissions trading and market data.
- Global Climate Change Briefing Book: This webpage is from the U.S. Congressional Research Service, and is redistributed as a service of the National Library for the Environment. It offers links to the latest resources on this topic.
- Global Climate Coalition:
Though this group disbanded in 2002, this retrospective, from the Center for Media & Democracy, illustrates how business and industry can respond to threats
against their interests.
- Global Roundtable on Climate Change: "The Global Roundtable on Climate Change brings together high-level, critical stakeholders from all regions of the world — including senior executives from the private sector and leaders of international governmental and non-governmental organizations — to discuss and explore areas of potential consensus regarding core scientific, technological, and economic issues critical to shaping sound public policies on climate change." See their Participants and Projects.
- Green Biz: This CNN Money special section offers links to weekly news stories, blogs, commentaries, photo galleries, and media about green business.
- Green Business: This New York Times special section provides articles from the Times on business, energy, and climate change. See also their related special report on the Energy Challenge.
- Intergovernmental Panel on Climate Change: This organization was established in 1988 by the World Meteorological Organization (WMO) and the United Nations Environment Programme "to assess scientific, technical and socio- economic information relevant for the understanding of climate change, its potential impacts and options for adaptation and mitigation."
See their Publications and Graphics.
- NativeEnergy: This organization "is a privately held Native American energy company. In August 2005, the Intertribal Council On Utility Policy (COUP) acquired a majority ownership interest in NativeEnergy on behalf of its member tribes, marking another significant step in the Great Plains tribes’ historic effort to power America with Native wind." See their tips on reducing the Carbon Footprint and their Partners and Case Studies.
- Pew Center on Global Climate Change: "The Pew Center on Global Climate Change brings together business leaders, policy makers, scientists, and other experts to bring a new approach to a complex and often controversial issue. Our approach is based on sound science, straight talk, and a belief that we can work together to protect the climate while sustaining economic growth." See their numerous Business Reports, Businesses Leading the Way and their October 2006 report Getting Ahead of the Curve: Corporate Strategies That Address Climate Change.
- RealClimate: "RealClimate is a commentary site on climate science by working climate scientists for the interested public and journalists. We aim to provide a quick response to developing stories and provide the context sometimes missing in mainstream commentary. The discussion here is restricted to scientific topics and will not get involved in any political or economic implications of the science."
- Seattle Climate Partnership: This organization is a "voluntary pact among Seattle-area employers to take action to reduce their own emissions, and to work together to help meet the community-wide goal." See What You Can Do, and their Partners Roster.
- United Nations Gateway to Climate Change: This portal brings together all of the United Nations' efforts to deal with climate change. See their Background Information.
- United States Climate Action Partnership: "USCAP is an expanding alliance of major businesses and leading climate and environmental groups that have come together to call on the federal government to enact legislation requiring significant reductions of greenhouse gas emissions." See their list of Member Companies and
Policy Statements.
- United States Environmental Protection Agency: Climate Change: "EPA's Climate Change Site offers comprehensive information on the issue of climate change in a way that is accessible and meaningful to all parts of society – communities, individuals, business, states and localities, and governments." See their Climate Leaders and Partner Goals.
-
Wikipedia:
This free online user-created and maintained encyclopedia can be a good starting point for an orientation to a topic though caution must be exercised with this resource; see What About Wikipedia from the UW-Tacoma Library. See the Wikipedia entries for Climate Change, Emissions Trading, Carbon Credits,
Economics of Global Warming, Mitigation of Global Warming, etc.
-
World Bank Carbon Finance Unit:
"The World Bank Carbon Finance Unit (CFU) uses money contributed by governments and companies in OECD countries to purchase project-based greenhouse gas emission reductions in developing countries and countries with economies in transition. The emission reductions are purchased through one of the CFU's carbon funds on behalf of the contributor, and within the framework of the Kyoto Protocol's Clean Development Mechanism (CDM) or Joint Implementation." See their State and Trends of the Carbon Market, 2007 (in 52 PDF pages).
- Yahoo! News Full Coverage: Climate Change: Yahoo! News collects articles, news, websites, audio and video, from many sources as part of its full coverage for many topics.
Foster
Business
Library Reference Collection:
The Foster Business Library Reference Collection consists of business handbooks, encyclopedias, dictionaries, and other quick reference tools. It is located behind the Reference Desk in Foster, arranged by call number. Reference materials cannot be checked out; they may only be used in the library.
- Encyclopedia of business ethics and society.
This five-volume reference work includes 900 essays by scholars, arranged alphabetically by topic, on all aspects of business ethics.
Foster Business Library Reference, CALL NUMBER: HF5387 .E53 2008.
See the index at the end of volume five for such essays as those on global warming, the greenhouse effect, the climate leaders program, etc.
Foster Business Library
Books:
The Foster Business Library maintains a collection of over 70,000 books on
all business topics. To search for materials on all three campuses of the University of Washington, go to the UW Libraries Catalog, in the upper left corner of the Foster Business Library homepage. Search by keyword, title, author, series, etc.
To limit the results of your search just to materials in the Foster Business Library collection, use the Modify or Limit options at the top of the search results and change the library location to Foster Business Library.
Availablity is indicated on the right of each online catalog record. First, note in which collection, within Foster, your materials are in, since the library has ten different Collections, each in a different location and often with differing arrangements. "Available" indicates that the book should be on the shelves under that call number and available for you to check out. "Due" and a date indicates that the book is already checked out to someone and is due back on the date indicated; you can have the "Request/Place Hold" feature to recall the book for your use.
If the material you want is not in the collections of the University of Washington, you can use the "Search Summit" feature to repeat your search in the combined holdings of over thirty cooperating libraries in Washington and Oregon. Use the "Request This Item" feature in Summit to have books in those library sent here to Foster for you to check out.
The Foster general stacks collection is located south of the main part of the Foster Business Library, through the two pass-throughs into the basement of Balmer. The arrangement is by call number, from A (at the east end, near the Copy Center) to Z (at the far west end).
A keyword search for Climate Change in the UW Libraries produced over 1,400 records; limited to the Foster Business Library, just four records
A considerable majority of books on climate change in the University of Washington Libraries are not in the Foster Business Library. Try searches for subjects such as those below, for Foster titles:
Examples of Foster Business Library titles from these searches include:
Foster Business Library Articles:
In addition to the 800 journals in the Foster Business Library Periodicals
Collection, the Foster Business Library offers access to over 100 million full text articles in over 10,000 periodicals through its full text article
databases such as EBSCO Business Source Premier, Factiva, LexisNexis
Academic, and ProQuest Databases.
These article databases may be found on the Foster Business Library homepage, listed under
Databases.
All four of these databases are available from any computer on the campus
network as well as from home (via the UW
Connectivity Kit or the Libraries' Off-Campus Access link, using your UW Net ID and password). The easiest of these databases to use is ProQuest Databases. For more information about accessing Foster Business Library databases from off
campus, see Database Access.
For more
information about business databases, see the research guide entitled Databases, A to Z.
-
ProQuest Databases:
This database--actually, a family of over two dozen databases--offers full text articles for over 10,000 publications, including scholarly journals, magazines, trade and industry periodicals, newspapers, and reports on a very wide range of topics. To find articles on specific topics, search by word or phrase by keying your search phrase into the search box--or search for your topic in the
Topic Guide. Article full text is often available in several formats, including text, text plus graphics, and PDF. This database also offers a very useful subject structure, to narrow search results, as well as article citation information.
Your search terms will be highlighted in red in each article. For tips on searching this database, see About ProQuest Databases.
A subject search for
SUB(Climate Change) and Business produced over 640 articles, including over ninety articles in scholarly journals, over a hundred magazine articles, over three hundred articles in trade and industry periodicals, and over one hundred newspaper articles.
Examples of articles, from the searches above, include:
- "Scientists offered cash to dispute climate study" (The Guardian. London (UK): Feb 2, 2007. pg. 1)
- "A Threat So Big, Academics Try Collaboration " (New York Times. (New York Times. (Late Edition (East Coast)). New York, N.Y.: Dec 25, 2007. pg. C)
- "Save The Planet: Vote Smart" (New York Times. (Late Edition (East Coast)). New York, N.Y.: Oct 21, 2007. pg. 4.14)
- "Effort to Get Companies To Disclose Climate" (New York Times. (Late Edition (East Coast)). New York, N.Y.: Sep 18, 2007. pg. C.4)
- "In the Green Marathon, Which Stocks Will Be the Winners?" (New York Times. (Late Edition (East Coast)). New York, N.Y.: Sep 9, 2007. pg. 3.6)
- "Carbon Emissions Management" (Risk Management. New York: Aug 2007. Vol. 54, Iss. 8; pg. 42, 6 pgs)
- "Business Roundtable Urges Firms to 'Take Action' on Climate Policy" (Chemical Week. New York: Jul 25, 2007. Vol. 169, Iss. 25; pg. 35, 1 pgs)
- "Betting on Biotech" (National Journal. Washington: Jul 7, 2007. Vol. 39, Iss. 27; pg. 19, 3 pgs)
- "Another Inconvenient Truth; Behind the feel-good hype of carbon offsets, some of the deals don't deliver" (Business Week. New York: Mar 26, 2007. , Iss. 4027; pg. 96)
- "Climate Disclosure: Room for Improvement" (Business and the Environment. New York: Jul 2007. Vol. 18, Iss. 7; pg. 7, 2 pgs)
- "In Battle for U.S. Carbon Caps, Eyes and Efforts Focus on China" (The Washington Post. Washington, D.C.: Jun 6, 2007. pg. D.1)
- "Climate Change Threatens National Security" (Business and the Environment. New York: Jun 2007. Vol. 18, Iss. 6; pg. 13, 2 pgs)
- "Global Warming's Bottom Line" (Chief Executive. New York: Jun 2007. , Iss. 226; pg. 30, 4 pgs)
- "A cloudy forecast" (Public Utilities Fortnightly. Arlington: Jan 2007. Vol. 145, Iss. 1; pg. 32, 6 pgs)
- "Wall Street's gradual green revolution" (Nature. London: May 26, 2005. Vol. 435, Iss. 7041; pg. 410)
- "Climate change and the future of air travel" (Aircraft Engineering and Aerospace Technology. Bradford: 2005. Vol. 77, Iss. 3; pg. 253, 1 pgs)
Note the number of articles from the publication Business and the Environment, with full text articles in this database from January 2005.
EBSCO Business Source Premier:
This database covers all disciplines of business, including marketing, management, accounting, finance, international business, econometrics and economics. It also contains company profiles, SWOT analyses, market research reports, and full text for the Harvard Business Review, California Management Review and other important journals and databases.
A search for the subject Climatic Changes — Economic Aspects produced over eighty articles; for Global Warming — Economic Aspects, over seventy articles.
Examples of articles from this search include:
- "Companies Improve Scores In Climate-Change Ranking" (New York Times. (Late Edition (East Coast)). New York, N.Y.: May 7, 2008. pg. C.8)
- "No Joke, Bulb Change Is Challenge for U.S.
" (New York Times. (Late Edition (East Coast)). New York, N.Y.: Dec 22, 2007. pg. C.1)
- "A Strategic Approach to Climate" (Harvard Business Review; Oct2007, Vol. 85 Issue 10, p22-26, 3p, 1c)
- "If You're Not at the Table, You're on the Menu" (Harvard Business Review; Oct2007, Vol. 85 Issue 10, p34-35, 2p, 1c)
- "Competitive advantage on a warming planet" (Harvard Business Review, 00178012, Mar2007, Vol. 85, Issue 3)
- "Skiing, is it going downhill fast?" (Travel Weekly (UK); 2/16/2007, p38-39, 2p, 1 chart, 1c)
- "What Every Executive Needs to Know About Global Warming " (Harvard Business Review; Jul/Aug2000, Vol. 78 Issue 4, p129-135, 7p, 1c)
Note that much of the October 2007 issue of the Harvard Business Review is about climate change and business.
Help:
The Foster Business Library Reference Desk is staffed nearly all of the hours that the library is open. The
staff at the desk will be happy to help you find business research tools and resources, exploit business databases to the fullest or advise on research strategies.
For e-mail questions, direct your query to balib@u.washington.edu. For
assistance by telephone, dial (206) 543-8012 during library hours.
For research guides on a wide variety of industries, products, companies, issues and topics, see the Team Librarian Consultation archives.
See also: