Company Research
The amount of information available about a company depends on whether the company is public or
private. For
public
companies (companies whose stock is available for sale to the public), a large amount of information may be found in books, annual reports, Securities and Exchange Commission (SEC) filings, and in newspaper and periodical articles. For private companies, much less information is available than for public companies. For private companies, there are no SEC reporting requirements; there may be no annual reports; there may be little or no information in books or in newspaper or journal articles.
Foster Business Library research guides are aimed at University of Washington students, faculty, and
staff, highlighting resources available to them; users not currently affiliated with the university
may be unable to access some of these resources.
Foster Databases >>>
Web Resources >>>
Reference Books >>>
Books >>>
Annual Reports >>>
Articles >>>
Help
Foster Business Library Databases:
The Foster Business Library offers an extensive collection of over fifty databases on its homepage; see under Databases. For a complete list of Foster databases, see the List of All Business Databases. Access to these databases from off campus requires that you first go to the Off-Campus Access button, in the upper right of all library webpages. These resources may not be accessed from off campus except by those with a valid UW Net ID and password. For more information on Foster business databases, click Databases, A-Z. For information on which Foster business databases to use, see the Database Index.
For information on accessing Foster databases from off campus, see Database Access.
For guidelines on responsible database usage, see Database Usage.
- EBSCO Business Source Complete: On the
Foster Business Library homepage, listed under Databases. Full text of over 8,800 magazines, newspapers and journals, including more than 1,100 peer-reviewed journals. Also includes some market research reports, SWOT analyses, and country reports. Datamonitor and other company profiles are accessible via this database.
- Hoovers Online:
Under Business Databases on the Foster Business Library homepage. Hoovers Online offers information
about 40,000 public and private companies worldwide, with links to company homepages and annual reports,
charts, company capsule, competitors, divisions, earnings, financials, etc.
-
Investext:
On the Foster Business Library homepage, listed under Business Databases.
Investext contains indexing and the full text of company and
industry research reports prepared by leading Wall Street firms, as well
as regional and international brokerage and financial firms. All reports are in PDF format.
-
Kompass:
On the Foster Business Library homepage, listed under Business Databases.
Directory information for 1.6 million companies in 72 countries, with indexes for company
products and services, containing 23 million product and service references, and 500,000
trademarks and brand names.
- LexisNexis Academic:
To find company information, go to Business where
you can obtain financial data for companies, Securities and Exchange
Commission reports and filings, annual reports from 1984 to 1995,
information about public, private and foreign companies, mergers, and
bankruptcies. Information is available from twenty different
sources (each of which must be searched separately).
S.E.C. filings, particularly the 10K annual reports, are a particularly
rich source of company information. Use your browser's Find command (or Control-F) to
locate references to particular terms of interest in 10K filings such as trends,
strategy, competitors, industry, etc.
-
Mergent Online:
On the Foster Business Library homepage, listed under Business Databases.
Online access to the print edition of the Mergent Manuals, with extensive information on 11,000 U.S. and 17,000 international companies, including financials, stock, properties, joint ventures, annual reports, subsidiaries, S.E.C. filings, etc.
For search tips, see About Mergent Online.
-
ReferenceUSA:
On the Foster Business Library homepage, listed under Business Databases.
Directory
information for 12 million companies in the
U.S. Companies can be searched for by name, business activity, size and
location; for instance, it is possible to identify all businesses in a particular line of business in a specific zip
code or city and within sizes of business.
- Standard & Poor's NetAdvantage: On the
Foster Business Library homepage, listed under Databases.
Full text for the following S&P publications: Bond Guide; Corporation Records; Dividend Record; Earnings Guide; Industry Surveys; Mutual Fund Reports; The Outlook; Register of Corporations, Directors and Executives; Security Dealers of North America; Stock Guide; and Stock Reports.
Web Resources:
Unlike library databases, Web resources are available wherever
you have web access; they do not require that you access them via the Off-Campus Access button, in the upper right of all library webpages. When using web resources, be sure to evaluate the credibility of these resources. For a subject index to web resources, see Business Resources on the Web on the Foster Business Library homepage.
- Business Filings Databases:
This directory provides access, by state, to state offices that record business information and offer it online. The information is largely directory information only but is useful for research small private companies, along with Reference USA (listed above, in Databases).
- Company Research (Business
Week):
Business Week offers information on 4,000 companies in its Careers section (so some of the information is aimed
at job-seekers), with a Corporate Snapshot, a Vault.Com Scoop, a Wetfeet.Com profile, as well as Business Week
articles about the companies (some of which are available only for subscribers but are also available in the Foster
Business Library database ABI/Inform Global).
- MSN
Money/CNBC Investing:
This site is another good source for information about U.S. companies, with links to company
reports, news, earnings estimates, financials, insider trading, and, in particular, ownership.
-
Seattle Times Northwest 100:
Each year, the Seattle Times profiles the top public companies in the Northwest, with profiles of each
company listed. The site also offers a listing by industry of the
companies.
Click here for
an A to Z list of the
companies and profiles of each of them. The site also offers the ability to compare companies via
spreadsheet.
-
World's Most Respected Companies:
This annual list is compiled by PriceWaterHouseCoopers, by surveying "around 1,000 CEOs from 25 countries were surveyed, along with fund managers, media commentators and non-governmental organizations." See also their list of the Most Respected Business Leaders.
- Yahoo! Finance:
This site is excellent for company and investment
information as well as an excellent source for financial ratio comparisons with industry, sector and S&P
500.
Foster Business
Library Reference Collection:
The Foster Business Library Reference Collection consists of business handbooks, encyclopedias, dictionaries, and other quick reference tools. It is located behind the Reference Desk in Foster, arranged by call number. Reference materials cannot be checked out; they may only be used in the library.
- Standard & Poor's industry surveys.
This three-volume set provides 30-page profiles on 52 industries
with a focus
on the current economic environment, trends, regulation and outlook for
each industry.
Major companies in each industry are profiled, with references to sources
of additional industry information.
Foster Business Library Reference, CALL NUMBER: HC106.6 .S74 (Quarterly)
- Puget Sound major employers directory pinpointer.
Published by the Greater Seattle Chamber of Commerce, this unique reference work to companies
in King, Pierce, and Snohomish counties covers almost 1,900 major employers in the region
(employers with more than 100 employees),
pinpointing them by map location and providing company addresses, number of employees,
telephone numbers, principal products or services, and four names of contact persons. There
is also an SIC code index.
Foster Business Library Reference, CALL NUMBER: HC107 .W22 .P864 (Annual)
- Puget Sound Business Journal book of lists.
This annual publication is an invaluable source of information about public and
private companies in the
Puget Sound area, culled from lists that appeared weekly in the
Puget Sound Business Journal. Besides
lists of the largest and fastest growing public and private companies in the area, this reference work
includes commercial real estate deals, banks and securities firms, contractors, education and employment,
health care, title companies, marketing firms, nonprofits, professional services, executive compensation,
real estate, retailers, software developers, biotech and travel and recreation. There is an index to
companies and topics in the back of this volume.
Foster Business Library Reference, CALL NUMBER: HC108 .S77 .P83 (Annual)
- Organization charts: structures of 200
business and nonprofit organizations.
Actual organization charts for active companies and organizations
worldwide, public and private, profit and nonprofit, global and local,
large and small. See the index in the back of the 1996 2nd edition to
find out what companies and organizations are included in each edition.
Foster Business Library Reference, CALL NUMBER: HD 58.65 O74 1992 (1st ed)
Foster Business Library Reference, CALL NUMBER: HD 58.65 O74 1996 (2nd ed)
- International directory of company
histories.
This
set of over 50 volumes offers histories of more than 4,000 companies, worldwide, with each
history running just two to four pages; check the company index in the most recently published volume
to locate a specific company history or update as well as any other
references to that company in other company histories.
Foster Business Library Reference, CALL NUMBER: HD2721 .I57 (Regularly updated)
-
The Conference Board chart collection.
Organization charts for about 500 companies
in a range of industries in a looseleaf format for regular
updating; arranged alphabetically within industries.
There is an index in the front of volume one with an index by
industry and by company name to the entire set.
Volume 1 includes Retail and wholesale, Banks and other
finance, Insurance; volume 2 includes Food,
Manufacturing: transportation equipment; Manufacturing: machinery and
metals; volume 3 includes
Chemicals and pharmaceuticals; Petroleum and
gas; Communications; Transportation; volume 4 includes
Utilities; Services: consultants and executive search; Services: other;
volume 5 includes Non-durables; Diversified
operations; Manufacturing: miscellaneous.)
Foster Business Library Reference, CALL NUMBER: HD2741 .C645 1997.
- Plunkett's almanacs.
These almanacs offer information about major industry trends, industry
statistics, industry information, major companies in the industry, with
indexes by state, country, region, etc. The major part of each almanac
provides one-page profiles of companies in the industry, with directory
information, growth plans and special features, contacts, brief
financials, brief salary and benefits data, and women officer-director and
advancement information. Click here for the current list of Plunkett's almanacs.
- Washington state international trade directory.
This annual directory provides brief profiles of Washington state companies involved in importing and
exporting. There are indexes by product, by industry code and a geographic index by country, as well as
support service listings
for attorneys, consultants, translators, and transportation.
Foster Business Library Reference, CALL NUMBER: HF5065 .W2 .W37 (Annual)
- Market share reporter.
Annual two-volume compilation of U.S. and world market share data for companies, products and
services, arranged by SIC code, and with indexes by product, company and
topic.
Foster Business Library Reference, CALL NUMBER: HF5410 .M35 2005.
- LexisNexis corporate affiliations: who
owns whom.
This set of eight volumes covers over fifty thousand U.S. and international companies and their subsidiaries, with a master index in volumes one and two; U.S. public companies in volumes three and four; U.S. private companies in volumes five and six; and international public and private companies in volumes seven and eight.
Foster Business Library Reference, CALL NUMBER: HG4057 .A219 2005.
- Standard & Poor's standard corporate descriptions.
This semi-monthly service provides descriptions of thousands of public companies, including
information about outstanding shares, long term debt, corporate background, subsidiaries,
capital expenditures, research and development expenditures, number of employees,
company founding and name changes, directors, recent dividend information, contact
information, ADR information, annual report financial data, and a consolidated balance sheet.
Foster Business Library Reference, CALL NUMBER: HG4501 .S76636 (Annual)
- Capital changes reporter.
This CCH publication is a seven-volume looseleaf set in a black ring binder that provides
a detailed chronology of company capital changes, from incorporation, to name changes, to merger or bankruptcy.
This constantly updated source covers changes in corporate capital or debt and the effects of such changes on the
income taxes of share holders. See the
Alphabetical Listing of Companies in this set.
Foster Business Library Reference, CALL NUMBER: KF1428 .A6 .C65. (Updated regularly)
Foster Business
Library Books:
The Foster Business Library maintains a collection of over 70,000 books on
all business topics. To search for materials on all three campuses of the University of Washington, go to the UW Libraries Catalog, in the upper left corner of the Foster Business Library homepage. Search by keyword, title, author, series, etc.
To limit the results of your search just to materials in the Foster Business Library collection, use the Modify or Limit options at the top of the search results and change the library location to Foster Business Library.
Availablity is indicated on the right of each online catalog record. First, note in which collection, within Foster, your materials are in, since the library has ten different Collections, each in a different location and often with differing arrangements. "Available" indicates that the book should be on the shelves under that call number and available for you to check out. "Due" and a date indicates that the book is already checked out to someone and is due back on the date indicated; you can have the "Request/Place Hold" feature to recall the book for your use.
If the material you want is not in the collections of the University of Washington, you can use the "Search Summit" feature to repeat your search in the combined holdings of over thirty cooperating libraries in Washington and Oregon. Use the "Request This Item" feature in Summit to have books in those library sent here to Foster for you to check out.
The Foster general stacks collection is located south of the main part of the Foster Business Library, through the two pass-throughs into the basement of Balmer. The arrangement is by call number, from A (at the east end, near the Copy Center) to Z (at the far west end).
Keyword searches for company names will retrieve not only books about companies but chapters about companies in books about many companies. Examples of books about companies or books with chapters on companies, in the Foster Business Library, include:
It's also possible to search for companies as subjects. A subject search for the Boeing Company produced over sixty records in the UW Libraries, including nine records in the Foster Business Library's collections (none newer than 1997).
Foster Business
Library Corporate Annual Reports:
The Foster Business Library maintains a collection of several thousand
annual reports for hundreds of U.S. and foreign companies. These reports are
filed in lateral filing cabinets near the Foster Reference desk under the sign Corporate Annual Reports. Annual reports for companies in an industry can be a valuable source of information about the industry itself. For a list of all the companies in the collection, see the library's Corporate Annual Reports Collection.
For an index to corporate annual reports in the collection by industry sector, see the Annual Reports Industry Sector Index. For an index to companies in the collection with headquarters outside the U.S., see Corporate Annual Reports Headquarters Index.
Foster Business Library Articles:
In addition to the 800 journals in the Foster Business Library Periodicals
Collection, the Foster Business Library offers access to over 100 million full text articles in over 10,000 periodicals through its full text article
databases such as EBSCO Business Source Premier, Factiva, LexisNexis
Academic, and ProQuest Databases.
These article databases may be found on the Foster Business Library homepage, listed under
Databases.
All four of these databases are available from any computer on the campus
network as well as from home (via the UW
Connectivity Kit or the Libraries' Off-Campus Access link, using your UW Net ID and password). The easiest of these databases to use is ProQuest Databases. For more information about accessing Foster Business Library databases from off
campus, see Database Access.
For more
information about business databases, see the research guide entitled Databases, A to Z.
-
ProQuest Databases:
This database--actually, a family of over two dozen databases--offers full text articles for over 10,000 publications, including scholarly journals, magazines, trade and industry periodicals, newspapers, and reports on a very wide range of topics. To find articles on specific topics, search by word or phrase by keying your search phrase into the search box--or search for your topic in the
Topic Guide. Article full text is often available in several formats, including text, text plus graphics, and PDF. This database also offers a very useful subject structure, to narrow search results, as well as article citation information.
Your search terms will be highlighted in red in each article. For tips on searching this database, see About ProQuest Databases.
While it's possible to do a basic search in this database, by company name, a company search usually produces more relevant results. As an example, a search for CO(Boeing Co) produced over 70,000 articles, including over 200 articles in scholarly journals, over 1,400 magazine articles, over 12,000 articles in trade and industry periodicals, and over 45,000 newspaper articles.
Examples of articles, from the searches above, include:
- "Reversal of fortunes" (Knight Ridder Tribune Business News. Washington: Jun 25, 2006. pg. 1)
- "Boeing steps up rollout of 787s " (Seattle Times. Seattle, Wash.: Jun 24, 2006. pg. C.1)
- "How can EADS pull out of this tailspin?;" (The Times. London (UK): Jun 24, 2006. pg. 56)
- "Success not going to the head of Boeing boss" (Knight Ridder Tribune News Service. Washington: Jun 23, 2006. pg. 1)
- "The lean journey at the Boeing company" (ASQ World Conference on Quality and Improvement Proceedings. Milwaukee: 2005. Vol. 59 pg. 263, 9 pgs)
- "Boeing Probe Intensifies" (Information Management Journal. Lemexa: Jul/Aug 2004. Vol. 38, Iss. 4; pg. 18)
- "Chasing success in China: Lessons from Microsoft, Motorola, Airbus and Boeing" (Strategic Direction. Bradford: Sep 2003. Vol. 19, Iss. 9; pg. 11, 4 pgs )
- "Boeing vs Airbus: competing for the future" (Competitiveness Review. Indiana: 2003. Vol. 13, Iss. 2; pg. 28)
Help:
The Foster Business Library Reference Desk is staffed
nearly all of the hours that the library is open.
The
staff at the desk
will be happy to help you find business research tools and resources, exploit business databases to the fullest or
advise on research strategies.
See also the Foster Business Library's Business & Economics FAQ, and, in particular, the section for Company and Industry.
For research guides on a wide variety of industries,
products, companies, issues and topics, see the Team Librarian
Consultation archives.
9 September 2003; updated
4 March 2008.
Peter Stevens, Business Librarian, stevens@u.washington.edu.