![]() |
|
|
![]() |
Foster Business Library research guides are aimed at University of Washington students, faculty, and
staff, highlighting resources available to them; users not currently affiliated with the university
may be unable to access some of these resources.
Foster Business Library Databases:
The Foster Business Library offers an extensive collection of over fifty databases on its homepage; see under Databases. For a complete list of Foster databases, see the List of All Business Databases. Access to these databases from off campus requires that you first go to the Off-Campus Access button, in the upper right of all library webpages. These resources may not be accessed from off campus except by those with a valid UW Net ID and password. For more information on Foster business databases, click Databases, A-Z. For information on which Foster business databases to use, see the Database Index. For information on accessing Foster databases from off campus, see Database Access. For guidelines on responsible database usage, see Database Usage.
CD-ROM databases:
Web Resources:
Unlike library databases, Web resources are available wherever you have web access; they do not require that you access them via the Off-Campus Access button, in the upper right of all library webpages. When using web resources, be sure to evaluate the credibility of these resources. For a subject index to web resources, see Business Resources on the Web on the Foster Business Library homepage.
Foster
Business
Library Reference Collection:
The Foster Business Library Reference Collection consists of business handbooks, encyclopedias, dictionaries, and other quick reference tools. It is located behind the Reference Desk in Foster, arranged by call number. Reference materials cannot be checked out; they may only be used in the library.
Foster Business Library
Books:
The Foster Business Library maintains a collection of over 70,000 books on
all business topics. To search for materials on all three campuses of the University of Washington, go to the UW Libraries Catalog, in the upper left corner of the Foster Business Library homepage. Search by keyword, title, author, series, etc.
To limit the results of your search just to materials in the Foster Business Library collection, use the Modify or Limit options at the top of the search results and change the library location to Foster Business Library.
Availablity is indicated on the right of each online catalog record. First, note in which collection, within Foster, your materials are in, since the library has ten different Collections, each in a different location and often with differing arrangements. "Available" indicates that the book should be on the shelves under that call number and available for you to check out. "Due" and a date indicates that the book is already checked out to someone and is due back on the date indicated; you can have the "Request/Place Hold" feature to recall the book for your use.
If the material you want is not in the collections of the University of Washington, you can use the "Search Summit" feature to repeat your search in the combined holdings of over thirty cooperating libraries in Washington and Oregon. Use the "Request This Item" feature in Summit to have books in those library sent here to Foster for you to check out.
The Foster general stacks collection is located south of the main part of the Foster Business Library, through the two pass-throughs into the basement of Balmer. The arrangement is by call number, from A (at the east end, near the Copy Center) to Z (at the far west end).
A search for the keyword Demographics, limited to the Foster Business Library,
produced a list of 25
titles. A similar search for the keyword Demography, limited to Foster,
retrieves a list of 17
records. Many books on demographics topics, however, append the term Statistics and include a wealth of
demographic information.
As examples, see these Foster Business Library titles:
Foster Business
Library Articles:
Articles in academic journals, magazines, trade periodicals, and newspapers are one of the best sources for any kind of research. While the
Foster Business Library offers a large periodicals print collection, comprising over 800 titles, articles are most easily accessed online,
24/7, in such fulltext article databases as EBSCO Business Source Premier, Factiva, LexisNexis Academic, Newsbank Infoweb, and ProQuest Databases. These article databases are available in the library or from off-campus, and provide access to over 10,000 periodicals and millions of articles.
Library access to most ProQuest databases will terminate at the end of
spring quarter 2008, except for ProQuest NewsStand, ProQuest Dissertations
and Theses, Historical New York Times, and the Historical Wall Street
Journal. For more about this change, see UW Libraries Providing New
Databases. After this change, comprehensive article searches should be performed in EBSCO
Business Source Premier, Newsbank Infoweb, and ProQuest
NewsStand. Also, after this change, links to the articles below will be broken.
This database--actually, a family of over two dozen databases--offers full
text articles for over 10,000 publications, including scholarly journals,
magazines, trade and industry periodicals, newspapers, and reports on a
very wide range of topics. To find articles on specific topics, search by
word or phrase by keying your search phrase into the search box--or search
for your topic in the Topic Guide.
Your search terms will be highlighted in red in each article.
This database includes among its subjects Demographics. A search for
SUB(Demographics) and a search term will retrieve articles with recent demographic information. For instance, a search for
SUB(Demographics) and Seattle in this database
retrieved a list of over 100 articles.
Help:
The Foster Business Library Reference Desk is staffed most of the hours that the library is open.
The staff at the desk will be happy to help you find research tools on any business subject.
For e-mail questions, direct your query to balib@u.washington.edu.
For assistance by telephone, dial (206) 543-8012 during library hours.
See also the Foster Business Library's Business & Economics FAQ, and, in particular, the section for Statistics.
For research guides on a wide variety of industries,
products, companies, issues and topics, see the Team Librarian
Consultation archives.
This large paperback covers how consumers use their leisure time, key players in the entertainment, media, and advertising industries, with profiles of major companies in each industry as well as rankings. There are also chapters on branding, including top brands; on direct marketing and outdoor advertising; on sponsorships and licensing, including sports, plus naming rights; on entertainment marketing, on television and TV advertising and programming; on TV stations, cable, pay per view, satellite, video on demand, film and video, film studios, recorded music, radio, satellite and internet radio, and print media; sports; and a series of chapters on the demographics of various markets, from children to seniors, to ethnic markets.
Foster Business Library Reference, CALL NUMBER: GV174 .E58 2004.
Demographic trends and forecasts, economic indicators, labor force, trade,
energy, environment, consumer expenditures and market size, and retailing
information for the Americas, Asia, Africa and Oceania; companion volume
to European marketing data and statistics.
Foster Business Library Reference, CALL NUMBER: HA42 .I56 2003.
This one-volume work covers United States population, vital statistics and health, migration,
labor, national income and wealth, consumer income and expenditures, social statistics,
land--water--climate, agriculture, forestry--fisheries, minerals, construction--housing,
manufacturing, transportation, communications, energy, distribution--services, international
trade, business enterprises, productivity--technological development, financial
markets--institutions, and government.
Foster Business Library Reference, CALL NUMBER: HA202 .D378 2007.
This annual volume offers a wealth of demographic information for both the U.S. and other countries;
check the index at the back of the volume for references to tables. The sources for each table are
often a valuable source of additional information.
Foster Business Library Reference, CALL NUMBER: HA202 .U56. (Annual)
This reference book furnishes annual metro, city, and county data for the United States, with
statistics on land,
population, households, vital statistics, health, crime, education, construction and housing,
labor force and employment, agriculture, manufacturing and other industries, arts and
entertainment, health care, accommodation and food services, federal funds and grants,
government finances and employment, election results, climate, etc.
Foster Business Library Reference, CALL NUMBER: HA203 .C68 (Annual)
This thick paperback provides up-to-date demographic information, by zip code, for every
residential and non-residential zip code location in the U.S., with population, households,
ethnicity, age, income, spending potential on financial services, home, entertainment,
and personal, dominant lifestyle segmentation, business data including number of
businesses and
dominant industry, forecasts, etc. See Washington state on pages 348-A to 354-C; for Seattle,
see zip codes 98001 to 99403 on pages 506 to 508, and pages 653 to 655.
Foster Business Library Reference, CALL NUMBER: HA203 .S66 (Annual)
This one-volume work covers population characteristics, living arrangements, education,
health, labor force and job characteristics, income, wealth and poverty, housing, crime,
voting, leisure, environment and government for the U.S. as a whole.
Foster Business Library Reference, CALL NUMBER: HA203 .S74 2002.
This paperback provides data on all fifty states for those who wish to measure quality of life and to compare states. Data is provided in the areas of education, energy, highways, prisons and corrections, public health, and state government spending.
Foster Business Library Reference, CALL NUMBER: HA203 .S735 2006.
Demographic trends and forecasts, economic indicators, labor force, trade,
energy, environment, consumer expenditures and market size, and retailing
information for European countries.
Foster Business Library Reference, CALL NUMBER: HA1107 .E87 2003.
This hefty World Bank volume contains a large number of tables listing each country and key
data about its people, environment, economy, markets, employment, poverty, etc.
Also available, in part, online at http://www.worldbank.org/data/wdi/home.html.
Foster Business Library Reference, CALL NUMBER: HC59.15 .W656 2005.
This annual World Bank publication includes selected world development indicators, with 22
tables of data, some of which are demographic: growth of private consumption per capita for
all countries, national populations and some age data, income distribution, etc.
Also available online at http://www.worldbank.org/wdr/index.htm.
Foster Business Library Reference, CALL NUMBER: HC59.7 .W659 (Annual)
Using data from the U.S. Bureau of Labor Statistics, this volume indicates who the best and biggest customers are, for 300 specific products and services, with an analysis of household spending by age, income, race, region, etc.
Foster Business Library Reference, CALL NUMBER: HC79 .C6 .B45 2006.
This Euromonitor publication provides global coverage of comparable income distribution data, over time and across countries, for 71 major countries, divided into socio-economic parameters, cross country comparisons, and snapshots for over seventy countries.
Foster Business Library Reference, CALL NUMBER: HC79 .I5 .W675 2003.
Population, employment, earnings, personal and household income and retail sales data and
projections for
the years 1970, 1980, 1990, 1996, 1999, 2000, 2001, 2005, 2010, 2015 and 2020 for states,
regions and metropolitan areas. In the 2000 edition, see pages 238 to 239 for Washington
state, pages 276-277 for the Seattle-Tacoma-Bremerton area, and pages 812 to 813 for the
Seattle-Bellevue-Everett area.
Foster Business Library Reference, CALL NUMBER: HC106.8 .M77 (Annual)
This source covers households, population by age, income (per capita, per household and
earnings per job) and employment for U.S. counties as
far back as 1970, with projections in each category through 2025. For King County, see page
496.
Foster Business Library Reference, CALL NUMBER: HC106.82 .K48 1998.
Two-page profiles of the state as a whole and of each county, with information on
population, population change, personal income, taxable retail sales, registered business,
new businesses, property assessments, employment by industry sector and unemployment.
Foster Business Library Reference, CALL NUMBER: HC107 .W2 .E25 (Annual)
Trend data on U.S. population, marital and housing status, education, employment, income,
residence location, race and ethnicity, food and beverage, shopping, personal care, health
and health care expenditures, internet usage, sports and fitness, leisure time, travel,
automotive,
financial and alcohol and tobacco.
Foster Business Library Reference, CALL NUMBER: HC110 .C6 .C562 2000.
This publication, part of the New
Strategist series, details American spending in 2000 by various
demographic categories as
well as on apparel, financial products and services, food and drink,
gifts, health care, housing, personal care, reading, education, tobacco
and transportation.
Foster Business Library Reference, CALL NUMBER: HC110 .C6 .H59 2003.
This publication, part of the New
Strategist series, describes how American generations differ on
attitudes, education, health, income, labor force, population, spending
and wealth.
Foster Business Library Reference, CALL NUMBER: HC110 .C6 .M545 2005.
This compilation of data from the
Bureau of Labor Statistics is the first to use the NAICS codes for
employment data, for the U.S., the fifty states, and the country's largest
metropolitan areas. See Washington state, and Seattle, Spokane, and
Tacoma, on pages 1099 to 1118.
Foster Business Library Reference, CALL NUMBER: HD5723 .A26 2005.
The Who's Buying Series provides data on American spending in a variety of product categories such as beverages, restaurants, entertainment, pets, groceries, etc.
Foster Business Library Reference, CALL NUMBER: (Various call numbers)
This large paperback provides in-depth demographics, for people, races, households, and businesses, for U.S. states, cities, and counties, with consumer and buying power data. Also included is retail sales and employment data.
Foster Business Library Reference, CALL NUMBER: HF3007 .S96 (Annual)
(See also Demographics USA: zip edition, call number HF5415.3 .D463)
This publication provides information on geographic markets for cities with daily newspapers, with demographic data
and projections, with market rankings and U.S. and Canadian newspaper market surveys. See Washington state
newspapers on pages
II-436 to II-444; Washington state population, age and ethnicity on pages III-102 to III-103; Washington state
housing, income, and education on pages IV-102 to IV-103; and Washington state retail sales on pages V-137 to
V-138.
Foster Business Library Reference, CALL NUMBER: HF5410 .E33 (Annual)
This large paperback provides in-depth demographics, for both people and businesses, for U.S. zip codes.
Foster Business Library Reference, CALL NUMBER: HF5415.3 .D463 (Annual)
(See also Demographics USA: county edition, call number HF3007 .S96)
This publication, also part of the New
Strategist series, describes American
attitudes, education, health, income, labor force, population, spending
and wealth information for those born between 1965 and 1976.
Foster Business Library Reference, CALL NUMBER: HF5415.33 .U6 .F462 2004.
Market analysis information including demographic, geographic and lifestyle
information to identify who customers are, where they live, how they spend their
time and money and how to reach them.
Foster Business Library Reference, CALL NUMBER: HF5415.33 .U6 .L54 (Annual)
This publication, also part of the New
Strategist series, describes the attitudes, education, health, income, labor force, population, spending
and wealth information for those born between 1977 and 1994.
Foster Business Library Reference, CALL NUMBER: HF5415.33 .U6 .M558 2004.
This volume collects marketing research data from over 1,000 market research reports on a very wide variety of topics, including advertising and marketing, age groups, demographics, apparel, spending, entertainment, food and beverages, health, internet, sports, etc.
Foster Business Library Reference, CALL NUMBER: HF5415.33 .U6 .R47 2006.
This publication, also part of the New
Strategist series, describes the attitudes, education, health, income, labor force, population, spending
and wealth information for those born between 1946 and 1964.
Foster Business Library Reference, CALL NUMBER: HF5415.33 .U6 .R877 2004.
This small paperback was formerly entitled Mediaweek's Guide to Media. It provides information on media trends, media rates, and demographics, for
Broadcast television, syndicated television, cable television, radio, and out-of-home media (such as billboards, outdoor advertising and posters), teens, promotion media, custom publishing, magazines, newspapers, Hispanic markets and media, and media and marketing software.
Foster Business Library Reference, CALL NUMBER: HF5826.5 .M45 2004.
Attitudes, education, health, income, labor force and other data on Americans over 55 years of age.
Foster Business Library Reference, CALL NUMBER: HQ1064 .U5 .O43 2004.
ProQuest Databases: