Foster Business Library Databases:
The Foster Business Library offers an extensive collection of over fifty databases on its homepage; see under Databases. For a complete list of Foster databases, see the List of All Business Databases. Access to these databases from off campus requires that you first go to the Off-Campus Access button, in the upper right of all library webpages. These resources may not be accessed from off campus except by those with a valid UW Net ID and password. For more information on Foster business databases, click Databases, A-Z. For information on which Foster business databases to use, see the Database Index. For information on accessing Foster databases from off campus, see Database Access. For guidelines on responsible database usage, see Database Usage.
See the industry factsheet for Multimedia, Graphics & Publishing Software and the list of Companies in this industry (in this database). For more information about companies in this industry, see, for example, the company factsheet for RealNetworks, as well as its Company Overview and Competitive Landscape.
For instance, a search for 10-K filings for the local firm Loudeye retrieved over 20
filings (or parts of filings) for the company.
A search in the year 2000 10-K filing for
Loudeye
included a number of references to the digital media industry:
"The Emergence of Digital Media
We believe the continued development of digital media technologies and
improved access to broadband connections will increase the quality and
reliability of digital media delivery and increase the demand for audio and
video content on the Internet and other digital distribution platforms.
Challenges to the Growth of Digital Media
Before companies can deliver traditional media over the Internet and new
digital distribution platforms, they must overcome several limitations of the
current Internet infrastructure. Digital media distribution over the Internet
is a highly fragmented process with a variety of evolving and competing
digital media formats. For example, there are a wide and growing number of
download technologies such as AAC, AVI, QuickTime and MPEG 1--n that are used
to transfer and play files from personal computers. Digital content is also
delivered in streaming formats developed by Microsoft, RealNetworks, Apple and
others, that must support a number of speeds, or bit rates. In most cases,
these formats are incompatible with one another and technology developers are
dedicated to the preservation of their own proprietary format. In order to
maximize their addressable audience and take full advantage of the compelling
experience that digital distribution of media can provide, distributors of
audio and video content must be able to distribute their content in a manner
optimized for each of these variables and must be able to respond as the
underlying technologies evolve.
The most recent 10-K filing for Loudeye includes references to the digitial
media industry and key trends in the industry over the past five years.
l Internet usage and access speeds are
increasing. The potential audience
for digital media continues to grow. According to Nielsen/NetRatings, as
of December 2000, more than 158 million people in the United States had
access to the Internet. In addition, average Internet access speeds in
the home continue to increase. Nielsen/NetRatings estimates home users
in the United States with 56Kbps or greater Internet access speeds
reached approximately 69.6 million at the end of 2000, or 71% of the
total number of home users. This is a 95% increase over the
approximately 35.6 million home users in the United States that
Nielsen/NetRatings estimates had 56Kbps or greater access at the end of
1999. Nielsen/NetRatings estimates broadband Internet access in U.S.
homes increased in 2000 by 148%, to a total of approximately 11.7
million U.S. home users in 2000 compared to approximately 4.7 million in
1999.
l Digital media players have high levels of penetration on
home PCs in the
United States. Technology that enables the consumption of digital media
using personal computers and other connected devices was widely adopted
by users in the United States in 2000. For example, Media Metrix
estimates that as of September 2000 media player applications are
installed on approximately 99 percent of home personal computers in the
United States, enabling the consumption of streaming and downloadable
digital audio and video content. In addition, media player technology is
being widely utilized by such users. According to Media Metrix, in
November 2000, approximately 47 percent of home computer users in the
United States used a media player, and approximately 40 percent used a
streaming media player.
l The online music industry is a large and growing market.
The market for
online media is large and growing. For example, Jupiter Research
estimates the domestic online music market in 2000, which includes the
domestic sale of CDs online as well as digital distribution of music,
equaled approximately $800 million. Jupiter Research estimates that the
domestic online music market will increase to approximately $5.4 billion
in 2005, with sales of digitally distributed music, including the sale
of digital downloads and music subscriptions services, representing
approximately 28% of the market in 2005.
Companies must internally develop the ability to deliver, or hire outside
firms to migrate, their existing and newly created audio and video content
onto the Internet and other digital platforms."
The Forrester thesaurus does not include the term Digital Media Industry; instead, Forrester suggests searches for Digital Marketing, Media,, and Site Design. As an example, a search for Streaming Media retrieved over 290 reports. A search for Internet Users retrieved over 800 reports; for Broadband Users, over 300 reports. A search in this database, instead, for companies in the industry such as RealNetworks, retrieved over 30 reports or briefs; for Loudeye retrieved just two reports.
A keyword search for Digital Media retrieved a list of over 150 reports. A keyword search for Streaming Media retrieved just three reports. A company search for RealNetworks produced a list of more than 500 reports about the company from sources such as Merrill Lynch, Salomon Smith Barney, Lehman Brothers, and Morgan Stanley. A search for Loudeye retrieved over 60 reports for Loudeye Technologies and 10 reports for Loudeye Corporation.
An AND search for Digital Media in 2002, 2003, and 2004 publications, retrieved just five tables; a similar search for Streaming Media, just nine tables; for Internet Users, over 400 tables; for Broadband Users, over 60 tables.
Where do you find companies outside the U.S. in the field of digital media, in over 70 countries? One good source is Kompass. A product and services search for Digital Media produced a list of over 200 companies with digital or media in their name or categorization. Because digital media is not one in Kompass's list of products and services, look for a U.S. company in this industry, such as Loudeye, and note the products and services names and codes used to categorize Loudeye, using these categories to find similar companies outside the U.S.
As examples, see RealNetworks and Loudeye. A search in this database for NAICS code 541511, Custom Computer Programming Services, produced a list of over 350 companies.
Searching by type of business, in this database, is not very detailed, especially for computer companies. A search in this database for the NAICS code 511210, for Software Publishers, in Washington state, produced a list of 37 companies. A Quick Search for Real Networks, two words, produced six listings, including that for RealNetworks' headquarters in Seattle. A Quick Search for Loudeye produced three listings, including Loudeye Corporation's headquarters in Seattle. Loudeye's listing included an SIC code for Digital Media Production, 7311-13. A search for this SIC code, throughout the U.S., retrieved just 34 companies.
RealNetworks is included in this database, in the Internet industry; Loudeye is not included in this database (like many smaller companies).
CD-ROM database:
For Digital Media, search by such CorpTech codes as SOF-CS-C, Video Communication Systems Software (742 companies), SOF-CS-I, Real-Time Audio Internet Software (632 companies), and SOF-ME-S, Audio Editing Software (50 companies).
Unlike library databases, Web resources are available wherever you have web access; they do not require that you access them via the Off-Campus Access button, in the upper right of all library webpages. When using web resources, be sure to evaluate the credibility of these resources. For a subject index to web resources, see Business Resources on the Web on the Foster Business Library homepage.
Foster Business Library Reference Collection:
The Foster Business Library Reference Collection consists of business handbooks, encyclopedias, dictionaries, and other quick reference tools. It is located behind the Reference Desk in Foster, arranged by call number. Reference materials cannot be checked out; they may only be used in the library.
See Home Computers on pages 442 and 482.
See index pages 983 for references to computers, computer use, computer equipment, etc. See also Section 24 on Information and Communications, for tables on information and communications industry revenues, consumer spending, employment, and data for various media.
See Home Computers on pages 322 and 341.
See Personal Computers in the Information Age section on pages 316 to 319.
See the United States on page 206.
See volume one for Computers: Consumer Services & the Internet, with references to RealNetworks in the Comparative Company Analysis at the end of the survey.
See RealNetworks on pages 132 and 154 and Loudeye on pages 30, 136, 140, and 156.
Three Media Producers are listed in the cumulative index in volume nine, all of them in volume two. The cumulative index also lists such businesses as an audio production service (volume four), a business consultant (volume one), a computer matchmaking service (volume three), a display technology company (volume seven), an electronic document security company (volume nine), an internet bid clearinghouse (volume five), an internet service provider (volume nine), two internet consultants (volume five), an internet software company (volume nine), magazine publisher (volume one), two newsletter publishers (both in volume two), an online consultant (volume one), an online publisher (volume nine), etc.
See references to Digital Technology on index page 1207.
See Direct Broadcast Satellite Television, starting on page 159.
See RealNetworks on page 494, with references to what this publication calls the "infotech industry" on pages 10 to 30.
See Pre-Packaged Software on pages 290 to 292.
See RealNetworks in volume four, page 4-611, for a profile of the company and a listing of the technology codes assigned to the company. Use those codes in the Who Makes What index to identify other companies in the same industries/technologies.
See the section on Computers - Services, on pages 116 to 133, for RealNetworks and Loudeye (and many other companies).
See index page 538 for topics such as Demographics and Digital production/distribution technologies. Foster Business Library Books:
The Foster Business Library maintains a collection of over 70,000 books on all business topics. To search for materials on all three campuses of the University of Washington, go to the UW Libraries Catalog, in the upper left corner of the Foster Business Library homepage. Search by keyword, title, author, series, etc.
To limit the results of your search just to materials in the Foster Business Library collection, use the Modify or Limit options at the top of the search results and change the library location to Foster Business Library. Availablity is indicated on the right of each online catalog record. First, note in which collection, within Foster, your materials are in, since the library has ten different Collections, each in a different location and often with differing arrangements. "Available" indicates that the book should be on the shelves under that call number and available for you to check out. "Due" and a date indicates that the book is already checked out to someone and is due back on the date indicated; you can have the "Request/Place Hold" feature to recall the book for your use.
If the material you want is not in the collections of the University of Washington, you can use the "Search Summit" feature to repeat your search in the combined holdings of over thirty cooperating libraries in Washington and Oregon. Use the "Request This Item" feature in Summit to have books in those library sent here to Foster for you to check out.
The Foster general stacks collection is located south of the main part of the Foster Business Library, through the two pass-throughs into the basement of Balmer. The arrangement is by call number, from A (at the east end, near the Copy Center) to Z (at the far west end).
A keyword search for Digital Media retrieved a list of over 50
records, with only four
records
in the Foster Business Library (all for different years' editions of the
Industry
Directory of the Washington Software Alliance).
A search for the subject Digital Media retrieved over 30 records in the UW Libraries, with none
in the Foster Business Library.
Related subjects include Digital Communications, with over 240 records in the
UW Libraries, including four
records in the Foster Business Library; Digital Television, with over 50
records in
the UW Libraries, including just one
record in the Foster Business Library; Digital Video, with over 65
records in the
UW Libraries, including just one in the Foster Business Library (same record as in previous
search); and Electronic Publications, with over 20 records in the UW
Libraries, but none in the Foster Business Library.
A keyword search for RealNetworks
produced just one
record,
for the company's annual reports; there were no records found in a keyword search for
Loudeye.
There is also a chapter about RealNetworks in E-Video: producing Internet
video as broadband technologies converge (chapter five).
A keyword search for Streaming Media
produced just one record,
Video compression demystified, in the Engineering Library.
A subject search for Multimedia
Systems retrieved over 400
records; limiting this search to
the Foster Business Library produced a list of just three
records. Another possible source for materials would be the subject Mass
Media--Economic Aspects, with over 60
records in the UW Libraries, including two
books in the Foster Business Library. One particularly comprehensive title on this subject
is Global Media Economics :
Commercialization, Concentration, and Integration
of World Media Markets, which includes a chapter
by T. Y. Lau.
Another related subject is Journalism—Economic Aspects, with 12 records in the UW Libraries (but none in the Foster Business Library).
The Foster Business Library maintains a collection of several thousand annual reports for hundreds of U.S. and foreign companies. These reports are filed in lateral filing cabinets near the Foster Reference desk under the sign Corporate Annual Reports. Annual reports for companies in an industry can be a valuable source of information about the industry itself. For a list of all the companies in the collection, see the library's Corporate Annual Reports Collection. For an index to corporate annual reports in the collection by industry sector, see the Annual Reports Industry Sector Index. For an index to companies in the collection with headquarters outside the U.S., see Corporate Annual Reports Headquarters Index.
This collection includes RealNetworks but not Loudeye. The collection also includes other digital media companies such as Intel, Microsoft, and SGI, as well as other companies in the Computer and Media industries.
Foster Business Library Articles:
Articles in academic journals, magazines, trade periodicals, and newspapers are one of the best sources for any kind of research. While the Foster Business Library offers a large periodicals print collection, comprising over 800 titles, articles are most easily accessed online, 24/7, in such fulltext article databases as EBSCO Business Source Premier, Factiva, LexisNexis Academic, Newsbank Infoweb, and ProQuest Databases. These article databases are available in the library or from off-campus, and provide access to over 10,000 periodicals and millions of articles.
Library access to most ProQuest databases will terminate at the end of spring quarter 2008, except for ProQuest NewsStand, ProQuest Dissertations and Theses, Historical New York Times, and the Historical Wall Street Journal. For more about this change, see UW Libraries Providing New Databases. After this change, comprehensive article searches should be performed in EBSCO Business Source Premier, Newsbank Infoweb, and ProQuest NewsStand. Also, after this change, links to the articles below will be broken.
This database--actually, a family of over two dozen databases--offers full text articles for over 10,000 publications, including scholarly journals, magazines, trade and industry periodicals, newspapers, and reports on a very wide range of topics. To find articles on specific topics, search by word or phrase by keying your search phrase into the search box--or search for your topic in the Topic Guide.
Your search terms will be highlighted in red in each article.
As an example, a search in all databases for Digital Media Industry produced a list of more
than 4,500 articles, including 60 articles in scholarly journals, over 230
magazine articles, over 2,400 articles in trade and industry publications, and over
1,300 newspaper
articles.
A more limited search, for "Digital Media Industry," as a phrase, produced just 18 articles; for Digital w/2 Media w/2 Industry, over 25 articles, searching in citations and abstracts, and over 200 articles, searching throughout the full text of all articles.
A search for Streaming Media produced a list of over 2,000 articles; for Loudeye, over 200 articles;
for
RealNetworks, over 2,600 articles, including this recent article about RealNetworks and Click and Clack, `Car Talk' tells it to hit the road: rough road for RealNetworks.
This is also a good source of information for student projects for Spring Quarter 2004. For instance, a search for the topic Comic Books produced a list of over 4,000 articles, with this topic search associated with over sixty narrowing terms, from Actors to Young Adults' Literature and including terms such as Publishing Industry (over 100 articles). As an example of an article with good industry information, see U.S. Manga Sales Pegged at $100 Million.
The Foster Business Library Reference Desk is staffed for many of the hours that the library is open. The staff at the desk will be happy to help you find research tools on any business subject. For e-mail questions, direct your query to balib@u.washington.edu. For assistance by telephone, dial (206) 543-8012 during library hours.
See also Foster Business Library Research Guides for:
For research guides on a wide variety of industries, products, companies, issues and topics, see the Team Librarian Consultation archives.