![]() |
|
|
![]() |
Foster Business Library Databases:
As an example, a search for the term Electronic Commerce produced over sixty reports.
Background Information:
Governmental Sources:
News Sources:
Other Sources:
Statistics:
Look for tables on Electronic Commerce in the index, at the end of the volume.
See section 5.10 for Information Age for data on internet hosts, personal computers, etc., for many countries.
See pages 16, 38 to 39, 44, 45, and 49 (among others) for Electronic Commerce.
For information about electronic commerce, consult volume one of this set, under Computers: Consumer Services And The Internet.
See E-Commerce on index page 1208.
See a series of chapters on various forms of Electronic Commerce on pages 165 to 208.
See Electronic Commerce in volume two, on pages 668 to 673.
See the index in volume two for Electronic Commerce.
To limit the results of your search just to materials in the Foster Business Library collection, use the Modify or Limit options at the top of the search results and change the library location to Foster Business Library. Availablity is indicated on the right of each online catalog record. First, note in which collection, within Foster, your materials are in, since the library has ten different Collections, each in a different location and often with differing arrangements. "Available" indicates that the book should be on the shelves under that call number and available for you to check out. "Due" and a date indicates that the book is already checked out to someone and is due back on the date indicated; you can have the "Request/Place Hold" feature to recall the book for your use.
If the material you want is not in the collections of the University of Washington, you can use the "Search Summit" feature to repeat your search in the combined holdings of over thirty cooperating libraries in Washington and Oregon. Use the "Request This Item" feature in Summit to have books in those library sent here to Foster for you to check out.
The Foster general stacks collection is located south of the main part of the Foster Business Library, through the two pass-throughs into the basement of Balmer. The arrangement is by call number, from A (at the east end, near the Copy Center) to Z (at the far west end).
A subject search in the UW Libraries Catalog for Electronic Commerce produced a list of over
870 records
throughout the UW libraries, with over 145
records in the Foster Business Library. Examples of such records include:
See also related subjects, with Foster Business Library holdings, such as:
All four of these databases are available from any computer on the campus network as well as from home (via the UW Connectivity Kit or the Libraries' Off-Campus Access link, using your UW Net ID and password). The easiest of these databases to use is ProQuest Databases. For more information about accessing Foster Business Library databases from off campus, see Database Access. For more information about business databases, see the research guide entitled Databases, A to Z.
This database--actually, a family of over two dozen databases--offers full text articles for over 10,000 publications, including scholarly journals, magazines, trade and industry periodicals, newspapers, and reports on a very wide range of topics. To find articles on specific topics, search by word or phrase by keying your search phrase into the search box--or search for your topic in the Topic Guide. Article full text is often available in several formats, including text, text plus graphics, and PDF. This database also offers a very useful subject structure, to narrow search results, as well as article citation information.
Your search terms will be highlighted in red in each article. For tips on searching this database, see About ProQuest Databases.
As an example, a search in this database for the
subject SUB(Electronic Commerce) retrieved over 77,000
articles. Narrowing this search to
SUB(Electronic Commerce) and SUB(Automobile Industry) reduced the number of articles to 670.
Limiting this search further, as an example, to
SUB(Electronic commerce) and SUB(Automobile Industry) and
SUB(Supply Chains), cut the number of articles to about fifty.
Examples of articles from these searches include:
See also the Foster Business Library's Business & Economics FAQ, and, in particular, the section for Company and Industry.
For research guides on a wide variety of industries, products, companies, issues and topics, see the Team Librarian Consultation archives.