![]() |
|
|
![]() |
Foster Business Library research guides are aimed at University of Washington students, faculty, and
staff, highlighting resources available to them; users not currently affiliated with the university
may be unable to access some of these resources.
Foster Business Library Databases:
As an example, a search for the term Entrepreneurial Marketing produced nearly a dozen reports.
A general search for Entrepreneurial and Marketing produced over 90 citations.
To limit the results of your search just to materials in the Foster Business Library collection, use the Modify or Limit options at the top of the search results and change the library location to Foster Business Library. Availablity is indicated on the right of each online catalog record. First, note in which collection, within Foster, your materials are in, since the library has ten different Collections, each in a different location and often with differing arrangements. "Available" indicates that the book should be on the shelves under that call number and available for you to check out. "Due" and a date indicates that the book is already checked out to someone and is due back on the date indicated; you can have the "Request/Place Hold" feature to recall the book for your use.
If the material you want is not in the collections of the University of Washington, you can use the "Search Summit" feature to repeat your search in the combined holdings of over thirty cooperating libraries in Washington and Oregon. Use the "Request This Item" feature in Summit to have books in those library sent here to Foster for you to check out.
The Foster general stacks collection is located south of the main part of the Foster Business Library, through the two pass-throughs into the basement of Balmer. The arrangement is by call number, from A (at the east end, near the Copy Center) to Z (at the far west end).
A keyword search for the term Entrepreneurial Marketing retrieved just two titles, both in the Foster Business Library:
See also:
Repeating this search in Summit produced a list of over
50 records. Limiting this Summit search just to the University of Washington produced over 20 titles (some of them not actually in the University of Washington Libraries' collections). Titles not at the University of Washington relevant to this topic include:
Other relevant subjects include (with results limited to the Foster Business Library's collections):
Foster Business Library Articles:
All four of these databases are available from any computer on the campus
network as well as from home (via the UW
Connectivity Kit or the Libraries' Off-Campus Access link, using your UW Net ID and password). The easiest of these databases to use is ProQuest Databases. For more information about accessing Foster Business Library databases from off
campus, see Database Access.
For more
information about business databases, see the research guide entitled Databases, A to Z.
This database--actually, a family of over two dozen databases--offers full text articles for over 10,000 publications, including scholarly journals, magazines, trade and industry periodicals, newspapers, and reports on a very wide range of topics. To find articles on specific topics, search by word or phrase by keying your search phrase into the search box--or search for your topic in the
Topic Guide. Article full text is often available in several formats, including text, text plus graphics, and PDF. This database also offers a very useful subject structure, to narrow search results, as well as article citation information.
Your search terms will be highlighted in red in each article. For tips on searching this database, see About ProQuest Databases.
A basic search for Entrepreneurial Marketing produced over sixty articles, including:
A subject search for SUB(Entrepreneurs) and SUB(Marketing) produced over 2,300 articles; for SUB(Entrepreneurs) and SUB(Market Strategy), over 1,700 articles.
The Foster Business Library Reference Desk is staffed most of the hours that the library is open.
The staff at the desk will be happy to help you find research tools on any business subject.
For more in-depth assistance, see the Team
Librarian Consultation Archives.
For e-mail questions, direct your query to balib@u.washington.edu.
For assistance by telephone, dial (206) 543-8012 during library hours.
See also the Foster Business Library's Business & Economics FAQ, and, in particular, the section for Marketing and Advertising.
For research guides on a wide variety of industries,
products, companies, issues and topics, see the Team Librarian Consultation
archives.
In addition to the 800 journals in the Foster Business Library Periodicals
Collection, the Foster Business Library offers access to over 100 million full text articles in over 10,000 periodicals through its full text article
databases such as EBSCO Business Source Premier, Factiva, LexisNexis
Academic, and ProQuest Databases.
These article databases may be found on the Foster Business Library homepage, listed under
Databases.
Help: