![]() |
|
|
![]() |
Foster Business Library research guides are aimed at University of Washington students, faculty, and
staff, highlighting resources available to them; users not currently affiliated with the university
may be unable to access some of these resources.
Foster Business Library Databases:
See their 21 reports on the topic Ethics & Compliance.
See Business Ethics, in the Encyclopedia of Science, Technology, and Ethics.
A search in this database for Business Ethics produced over 1,100 references, from a wide variety of sources.
A search for Business Ethics produced over 38,000 articles.
Web resources:
Finally, see this list of related sites, from the International Association for Business and Society:
Foster Business Library Reference Collection:
To limit the results of your search just to materials in the Foster Business Library collection, use the Modify or Limit options at the top of the search results and change the library location to Foster Business Library.
Availablity is indicated on the right of each online catalog record. First, note in which collection, within Foster, your materials are in, since the library has ten different Collections, each in a different location and often with differing arrangements. "Available" indicates that the book should be on the shelves under that call number and available for you to check out. "Due" and a date indicates that the book is already checked out to someone and is due back on the date indicated; you can have the "Request/Place Hold" feature to recall the book for your use.
If the material you want is not in the collections of the University of Washington, you can use the "Search Summit" feature to repeat your search in the combined holdings of over thirty cooperating libraries in Washington and Oregon. Use the "Request This Item" feature in Summit to have books in those library sent here to Foster for you to check out.
The Foster general stacks collection is located south of the main part of the Foster Business Library, through the two pass-throughs into the basement of Balmer. The arrangement is by call number, from A (at the east end, near the Copy Center) to Z (at the far west end).
A keyword search for the term Business Ethics retrieved a list of over 500
records throughout the UW Libraries; modifying this search to limit to the Foster Business
Library produced a list of over 250
records.
Examples of titles in the Foster Business Library, from the search above, include:
Some subject headings for books on the topic of Business Ethics are
listed below; just click on a
subject heading to launch a search.
Another way to locate books useful for your research is to go to the shelves in the Foster
Business Library General Stacks and browse among the books clustered around relevant call
numbers. For instance, about five shelves of books on Business Ethics
may be found in the Foster Business Library General Stacks, starting with the call number
HF5387.
There are four main periodicals in the Foster Business Library collection with
Ethics in the title or as part of
their mission:
In addition to
hard copy periodicals, the Foster
Business Library also offers links to many electronic journals in business
and economics, including:
All four of these databases are available from any computer on the campus
network as well as from home (via the UW
Connectivity Kit or the Libraries' Off-Campus Access link, using your UW Net ID and password). The easiest of these databases to use is ProQuest Databases. For more information about accessing Foster Business Library databases from off
campus, see Database Access.
For more
information about business databases, see the research guide entitled Databases, A to Z.
This database--actually, a family of over two dozen databases--offers full text articles for over 10,000 publications, including scholarly journals, magazines, trade and industry periodicals, newspapers, and reports on a very wide range of topics. To find articles on specific topics, search by word or phrase by keying your search phrase into the search box--or search for your topic in the
Topic Guide. Article full text is often available in several formats, including text, text plus graphics, and PDF. This database also offers a very useful subject structure, to narrow search results, as well as article citation information.
Your search terms will be highlighted in red in each article. For tips on searching this database, see About ProQuest Databases.
This database includes among its publications Business and Professional Ethics Journal
(citations and abstracts only), Business Ethics
Quarterly (citations and abstracts only)
and the Journal of Business Ethics (full text and page image), along with a number of other ethics journals in
criminal justice, law,
medicine and religion.
This database includes a total of 167 publications with Business Ethics in the title. Many other journals, of course, offer articles about business ethics.
As an example, a search in this database for Ford and Firestone produced a
list of 3,300 articles, searching in all databases.
Using Topic Guide, it's also possible to search in this database by such
subjects as
Business Ethics (over 12,000 articles), Professional Ethics (also
over 12,000 articles), and
Conflicts of Interest (over 16,000 articles). These subject terms are also
associated with narrowing
terms; for instance, for Business Ethics, there are over 100 narrowing
terms, from Accounting Procedures to White Collar Crime.
Examples of pertinent articles:
The Foster Business Library Reference Desk is staffed nearly all the hours that the
library is open. The
staff at the desk will be happy to help you find research tools on any business
subject. For e-mail
questions, direct your query to balib@u.washington.edu. For
assistance by telephone, dial (206) 543-8012 during library hours.
See also the Foster Business Library's Business & Economics FAQ, and, in particular, the section for Company and Industry.
For research guides on a wide variety of industries,
products, companies, issues and topics, see the Team Librarian
Consultation archives.
Unlike library databases, Web resources are available wherever
you have web access; they do not require that you access them via the Off-Campus Access button, in the upper right of all library webpages. When using web resources, be sure to evaluate the credibility of these resources. For a subject index to web resources, see Business Resources on the Web on the Foster Business Library homepage.
The Foster Business Library Reference Collection consists of business handbooks, encyclopedias, dictionaries, and other quick reference tools. It is located behind the Reference Desk in Foster, arranged by call number. Reference materials cannot be checked out; they may only be used in the library.
Foster Business Library
Books:
Arranged alphabetically by topic from Accounting Ethics to Worker Safety, with an
extensive
index at the back of this 700-page book. Each of about 300 topics in business ethics is explained in a
page or two, with a bibliography at the end of every topic. Interestingly, this volume in the
twelve-volume Blackwell encyclopedia of management is the thickest.
Foster Business Library Reference, CALL NUMBER: HD30.15 .B455 1995, v. 11.
This
one-volume covers 348 management topics, arranged alphabetically from Activity-Based Costing to
Zero-Sum Game.
See the five-page essay on Ethics in business, starting on page 281.
Foster Business Library Reference, CALL NUMBER: HD30.15 .E49 2000.
This thick
one-volume handbook comprises 16 sections on important areas of management, written by expert
practitioners.
See Managing ethics in the corporation, section one, pages 1-32 to 1-35.
Foster Business Library Reference, CALL NUMBER: HD31 .A418 1994.
This 2,200-page single volume is "designed to offer a wide range of insights, information, and
practical guidance on every aspect of management" via 2.5 million words of text from 200
contributors, with 700 illustrations and 150 maps, in seven major sections including best
practice, a management library, business thinkers and management giants, a business
dictionary, a world business almanac, and a guide to business sources.
See Business ethics, starting on page 231.
Foster Business Library Reference, CALL NUMBER: HD38.15 .B878 2002.
Over 400 pages of information about business ethics and their application to consumers, advertising, corporations,
employees, the environment; also includes information about codes of ethics, a business ethics glossary, and relevant
cases, statutes and agencies.
Foster Business Library Reference, CALL NUMBER: HF5387 .D54 1998
(also in Foster Business General Stacks, CALL NUMBER: HF5387 .D54 1998)
This five-volume reference work includes 900 essays by scholars, arranged alphabetically by topic, on all aspects of business ethics.
Foster Business Library Reference, CALL NUMBER: HF5387 .E53 2008.
This small paperback provides ethics statements for 80 corporations including such companies as Boeing,
Hewlett Packard, Starbucks and Tom's of Maine. Appendices at the end of the volume provide indexes to
values statements, codes of ethics, a values index, and an index by industry.
Foster Business Library Reference, CALL NUMBER: HF5387 .M876 1998.
This oversized 1,400-page handbook covers all aspects of human resources and is aimed at human resources
managers and practitioners, with long essays on each topic and references for further reading.
See Ethics training, pages 977 to 985.
Foster Business Library Reference, CALL NUMBER: HF5549.5 .M3 .H85 1994.
This major reference work covers the stock market bubble and Enron, full disclosure and accountants, corporate governance, and recovery and reform.
Foster Business Library Reference, CALL NUMBER: HV6769 .M37 2006.
This annual publication, published by Transparency International, usually focuses, each year, on a theme, such as corruption and health in the 2006 issue, with reports on this issue in many countries in part one. Part two consists of country reports from nations with corruption problems, with over forty countries included in the 2006 issue (including the U.S.).
Foster Business Library Reference, CALL NUMBER: JF1081 .G56 2006.
The Foster Business Library maintains a collection of over 70,000 books on
all business topics. To search for materials on all three campuses of the University of Washington, go to the UW Libraries Catalog, in the upper left corner of the Foster Business Library homepage. Search by keyword, title, author, series, etc.
Foster Business Library
Periodicals:
The Foster Business Library maintains a collection of 800 periodicals, arranged
alphabetically by title, at the west end of the library. A list of the titles in this collection is
available on the Foster homepage under Research; look for Periodical
Lists and click on
Periodicals in the Foster Business Library. Use Control-F to locate titles in the periodicals
collection with the word Ethics in the title.
Foster Business Library
Periodical Articles:
In addition to the 800 journals in the Foster Business Library Periodicals
Collection, the Foster Business Library offers access to over 100 million full text articles in over 10,000 periodicals through its full text article
databases such as EBSCO Business Source Premier, Factiva, LexisNexis
Academic, and ProQuest Databases.
These article databases may be found on the Foster Business Library homepage, listed under
Databases.
Help: