Foster Business Library
Databases:
The Foster Business Library offers an extensive collection of over fifty databases on its homepage; see under Databases. For a complete list of Foster databases, see the List of All Business Databases. Access to these databases from off campus requires that you first go to the Off-Campus Access button, in the upper right of all library webpages. These resources may not be accessed from off campus except by those with a valid UW Net ID and password. For more information on Foster business databases, click Databases, A-Z. For information on which Foster business databases to use, see the Database Index.
For information on accessing Foster databases from off campus, see Database Access.
For guidelines on responsible database usage, see Database Usage.
See their research under the topic of Compensation. See also their Annual Studies section, one of which covers Executive Compensation, with data on Top Executive Compensation, for the "five highest-paid executives
in over 2,800 companies in 14 major industry sectors" for more than five years, as well as for director compensation.
U.S. companies in Hoovers Online with a company overview include extensive listings of top company
officers and their salaries and bonuses; look in the People category. As an example, see the People section for Starbucks.
Not all companies in this database have company
overviews, however, and most non-U.S. companies do not have salary information.
A search for
"Executive Compensation" produced a list of over 2,000 references.
Go to Business and then to Company Profiles; search by company name and the
word Compensation to obtain compensation data on company officers and board members, from the U.S. Executive Compensation Database. Another source for compensation information is proxy statements. Go to SEC Filings, then to the SEC 10-K Reports pulldown
menu to access SEC Filings - Proxy Statements;
look for the Executive Compensation section.
A search in this database for Executive Compensation produced over eighty references, from a wide variety of sources.
Unlike library databases, Web resources are available wherever you have web access; they do not require that you access them via the Off-Campus Access button, in the upper right of all library webpages. When using web resources, be sure to evaluate the credibility of these resources. For a subject index to web resources, see Business Resources on the Web on the Foster Business Library homepage.
The Foster Business Library Reference Collection consists of business handbooks, encyclopedias, dictionaries, and other quick reference tools. It is located behind the Reference Desk in Foster, arranged by call number. Reference materials cannot be checked out; they may only be used in the library.
See the chapter 32 on Executive Compensation Plans.
See Executive Compensation in volume two, on pages 825 to 830.
See the chapters in this volume on Executive Compensation Strategy, Executive Compensation Systems, and more.
Foster Business Library
Books:
The Foster Business Library maintains a collection of over 70,000 books on
all business topics. To search for materials on all three campuses of the University of Washington, go to the UW Libraries Catalog, in the upper left corner of the Foster Business Library homepage. Search by keyword, title, author, series, etc.
To limit the results of your search just to materials in the Foster Business Library collection, use the Modify or Limit options at the top of the search results and change the library location to Foster Business Library.
Availablity is indicated on the right of each online catalog record. First, note in which collection, within Foster, your materials are in, since the library has ten different Collections, each in a different location and often with differing arrangements. "Available" indicates that the book should be on the shelves under that call number and available for you to check out. "Due" and a date indicates that the book is already checked out to someone and is due back on the date indicated; you can have the "Request/Place Hold" feature to recall the book for your use.
If the material you want is not in the collections of the University of Washington, you can use the "Search Summit" feature to repeat your search in the combined holdings of over thirty cooperating libraries in Washington and Oregon. Use the "Request This Item" feature in Summit to have books in those library sent here to Foster for you to check out.
The Foster general stacks collection is located south of the main part of the Foster Business Library, through the two pass-throughs into the basement of Balmer. The arrangement is by call number, from A (at the east end, near the Copy Center) to Z (at the far west end).
A keyword search in the UW Libraries Catalog for Executive Compensation produced a list of seventy records in the UW Libraries, with over
forty records in the Foster Business Library.
Because executive compensation is also now an important part of securities law, it's also worth checking the holdings of the Gallagher Law Library, a short walk from the Foster Business Library. A keyword search in the Law Library Catalog for Executive Compensation produced a list of over forty records, including many titles not available elsewhere in the UW Libraries.
A subject search for Chief Executive Officers -– Salaries, Etc produced just fifteen records in the UW Libraries, including six records in the Foster Business Library (most of them published prior to 2000). A subject search for Executives -- Salaries, etc = produced over 35 records in the UW Libraries, including 33 records in the Foster Business Library.
Examples of selected relevant subject headings, with holdings in the Foster Business Library, include:
Foster titles from these searches include:
Foster Business Library Articles:
Articles in academic journals, magazines, trade periodicals, and newspapers are one of the best sources for any kind of research. While the
Foster Business Library offers a large periodicals print collection, comprising over 800 titles, articles are most easily accessed online,
24/7, in such fulltext article databases as EBSCO Business Source Premier, Factiva, LexisNexis Academic, Newsbank Infoweb, and ProQuest Databases. These article databases are available in the library or from off-campus, and provide access to over 10,000 periodicals and millions of articles.
Library access to most ProQuest databases will terminate at the end of
spring quarter 2008, except for ProQuest NewsStand, ProQuest Dissertations
and Theses, Historical New York Times, and the Historical Wall Street
Journal. For more about this change, see UW Libraries Providing New
Databases. After this change, comprehensive article searches should be performed in EBSCO
Business Source Premier, Newsbank Infoweb, and ProQuest
NewsStand. Also, after this change, links to the articles below will be broken.
This database--actually, a family of over two dozen databases--offers full
text articles for over 10,000 publications, including scholarly journals,
magazines, trade and industry periodicals, newspapers, and reports on a
very wide range of topics. To find articles on specific topics, search by
word or phrase by keying your search phrase into the search box--or search
for your topic in the Topic Guide.
Your search terms will be highlighted in red in each article.
A keyword search for "Executive Compensation" produced over 29,000 articles in this database, including over 1,700 articles in scholarly journals, over 1,400 magazine articles, over 9,700 articles in trade and industry periodicals, and over 14,000 newspaper articles.
A more targeted subject search for SUB(Executive Compensation) produced over 21,000 articles in this database, including over 1,500 articles in scholarly journals, over 1,200 magazine articles, over 8,600 articles in trade and industry periodicals, and over 10,000 newspaper articles.
This search can be narrowed by combining it with other subjects, such as:
Examples of articles, from the searches above, include:
This database covers all disciplines of business, including marketing, management, accounting, finance, international business, econometrics and economics. It also contains company profiles, SWOT analyses, market research reports, and full text for the Harvard Business Review, California Management Review and other important journals and databases.
A subject search for Executive Compensation produced over 230 articles, including over fifty articles in scholarly journals, sixty articles in trade publications, and over eighty magazine articles. Examples of articles from these searches include:
See also the Foster Business Library's Business & Economics FAQ, for over nine hundred frequently asked questions and answers.
For research guides on a wide variety of industries, products, companies, issues and topics, see the Team Librarian Consultation archives.
This handbook explains benefit plans that work best for both employers and employees. Important changes and additions to this sixth edition include new material on behavioral/mental health-care benefits, disease management, alternative medicine, and elder care. In addition, executive compensation plans in a pay-for-performance environment are covered for the first time, as are important changes in benefits following September 11, 2001.
Foster Business Library Reference, CALL NUMBER: HD4928.N62 U6353 2005.
This five-volume reference work includes 900 essays by scholars,
arranged alphabetically by topic, on all aspects of business ethics.
Foster Business Library Reference, CALL NUMBER: HF5387 .E53 2008.
Written by 56 compensation specialists, this large guide covers current and future compensation issues from surveys,
to work-life issues, to global compensation in 46 essays of about 20 pages each. There is also an excellent index.
Foster Business Library Reference, CALL NUMBER: HF5549.5 .C67 .H36 2000.
ProQuest Databases:
The Foster Business Library Reference Desk is staffed many of the hours that the library is open. The
staff at the desk will be happy to help you find business research tools and resources, exploit business databases to the fullest or advise on research strategies.
For e-mail questions, direct your query to buslib@u.washington.edu. For
assistance by telephone, dial (206) 543-8012 during library hours.