Foreign Direct Investment
Foster Business Library research guides are aimed at University of Washington students, faculty, and
staff, highlighting resources available to them; users not currently affiliated with the university
may be unable to access some of these resources.
Foster Databases >>>
Web Resources >>>
Reference Books >>>
Books >>>
Articles >>>
Help
Foster Business Library
Databases:
The Foster Business Library offers an extensive collection of over fifty databases on its homepage; see under Databases. For a complete list of Foster databases, see the List of All Business Databases. Access to these databases from off campus requires that you first go to the Off-Campus Access button, in the upper right of all library webpages. These resources may not be accessed from off campus except by those with a valid UW Net ID and password. For more information on Foster business databases, click Databases, A-Z. For information on which Foster business databases to use, see the Database Index.
For information on accessing Foster databases from off campus, see Database Access.
For guidelines on responsible database usage, see Database Usage.
Datastream:
This database provides daily historical pricing information for U.S.
and
international securities (debt and equity) and market indices. The
database also includes macroeconomic information from a variety of sources
including national governments, International Monetary Fund and OECD.
Data may be printed or downloaded.
Datastream is available in the Foster Business Library only
on Public PC
#019 on Tuesdays, from 8AM to noon, and on Thursdays, from noon to 5PM; it is not networkable.
A separate menu line for Datastream codes is available for access
whenever
the Foster Business Library is open.
Datastream is shared with and also available, with assistance
provided, at The Center for Social
Science Computation and Research, in the basement of Savery Hall.
This database is not designed for the non-expert; for more about this
database and guides for its use, go to About
Datastream.
This database covers hundreds of countries, with data on direct investment
abroad as well as direct investment within the host country, all
downloadable into spreadsheet programs.
Digital Dissertations:
Available under List of All Business Databases
on
the Foster Business Library homepage.
This database provides indexing and abstracts for doctoral dissertations
and masters theses from over 1,000
Universities and Colleges in the U.S. from 1861 to the present. The
citations to dissertations are long and 24-page
previews of the dissertations are available online for free.
A search in this database for the keywords Foreign Direct Investment
produced a list of over 700 dissertations, including Foreign direct investment and wage inequality across and within nations: An empirical analysis (China). A more specific search for Foreign Direct Investment and India produced just 22 dissertations.
EconLit:
Produced by the American Economic Association, EconLit is the fundamental
research tool in economics. The database provides bibliographic citations, with selected abstracts, to the international literature on economics since 1969.
Econ Lit corresponds to the Journal of Economic Literature and the Index
of Economic Articles, covering journal articles, books, and dissertations, as well as articles in collective works, such as conference proceedings and
collected essay volumes.
A search for Foreign Direct Investment produced over 2,500 citations; for Foreign Direct Investment and India, over 50 citations; for Foreign Direct Investment and China, over 250 citations.
EIU Online:
One of the world's top sources for country intelligence, the Economist Intelligence Unit (EIU) employs 500 analysts who research almost 200 nations. The Foster Business Library provides access to their Country Profiles, Country Reports, Country Commerce, and Country Finance in print editions and this
database provides online access to these publications, often in both
HTML and PDF formats.
For Foreign Direct Investment data, go to the Country Report for a country and to Economic Structure for Capital Flows. For more narrative information on this topic, go to Country Profiles for your country, and then to External Sector: Capital Flows and Foreign Debt. See also Country Commerce (if there is one for your country), and, in particular, Key Commercial Indicators for Investing: Foreign Investment Indicators; see also the Foreign Direct Investment section. Finally, be sure as well to check Viewswire; a search for Foreign Direct Investment retrieved over 14,000 references; a search for Foreign Direct Investment and India, for instance, netting over 900 articles.
Europa World:
On the Foster Business Library homepage, listed under List of All Business Databases. Political, social and economic information about countries. Includes country maps and a directory of political and business organizations in each country.
For FDI information for a country, go to the Finance data for the country, then to the Balance of Payments section and Direct Investment (Net).
Gale Virtual Reference Library:
On the Foster Business Library homepage, listed under List of All Business Databases.
The Gale Virtual Reference Library is a database of encyclopedias, almanacs, and specialized reference sources for multidisciplinary research; go to Business for three major business sources: the Encyclopedia of American Industries (4th ed., 2005), the Encyclopedia of Business and Finance (2001), and the Encyclopedia of Small Business (2nd ed., 2002).
See International Investment, in the Encyclopedia of Business and Finance.
JSTOR: JSTOR is a subject searchable index of 360 journals, with full-text backfiles of scholarly journals, some of which date back to the 1800's. Among the collections of scholarly journals on this site are ones for Business and for Economics, encompassing 72 journals.
A search, in Economics and Business, for Foreign Direct Investment, produced a list of more than 200 articles; for
Foreign Direct Investment and India, just three articles; for Foreign Direct Investment and China, just seven articles.
Public Affairs Information Service (PAIS): This database, to be found under List of All Business Database on the Foster Business Library homepage, indexes articles from over 1,400 journals along with thousands of government documents, statistical directories, reports, pamphlets, conference proceedings and books in the broad field of public and social policy issues, dating back to 1980.
A search for the phrase Foreign Direct Investmen produced a list
of more than 600 references, from magazines, government agencies,
banks, books, etc.
Social Sciences Citation Index: This database "is a multidisciplinary index, with searchable author abstracts, covering the journal literature of the social sciences. It indexes more than 1,725 journals spanning 50 disciplines, as well as covering individually selected, relevant items from over 3,300 of the
world's leading scientific and technical journals. It "provides access to current information and retrospective data from 1956 forward."
A topic search for Foreign Direct Investment retrieved over
1,300 documents; for Foreign Direct Investment and India,
15 documents.
Source OECD:
Source OECD is the online library of the Organisation for Economic Co-operation and Development, with twenty OECD book collections by theme, including all of the organization's monographs and reports published since 1998; twenty OECD periodicals; some OECD reference titles; and the OECD databases. The OECD has 30 member countries and relationships with 70 other countries.
See their FDI Flows and Stocks page.
STAT-USA:
On the
Foster Business Library homepage, listed under Databases.
In this database are business, economic, and trade statistics and data
from the U.S. Department of Commerce and other Federal government sources. To access international information, go to Country Commercial Guides. These guides contain information on
the business and economic situation of foreign counties and the political
climate as it affects U.S. business. They are produced annually by U.S.
Embassy staff including the Department of State, the Department of
Commerce and the Department of Agriculture.
See the Investment Climate Statement for each country for information about Foreign Direct Investment.
WDI Online: This World Bank database, World Development Indicators Online, "contains statistical data for
over 550 development indicators and time series data from 1960-2000 for over 200 countries and 18 country groups. Data includes social, economic, financial, natural resources, and environmental indicators. Data selection screens are intuitive and easy to use. Results can be scaled, indexed against a particular year, viewed by percentage change, and charted. These features plus data export options in standard formats like Excel make WDI Online the most useful tool
yet for researching developmental data." See also the related GDF Online, for Global Development Finance Online, with "a comprehensive set of tables with statistical data for 136 countries that report debt under the World Bank Debtor Reporting System, as well as summary data for regions and income groups. It contains data on total external debt stocks and flows, aggregates, and key debt ratios, and provides a detailed, country-by-country picture of debt."
This database, after you choose a country or countries, then allows you to pick one or more of a large number of categories, four of which are for Foreign Direct Investment: net (balance of payments, current $U.S., new inflows (% of GDP, net inflows (% of gross capital formation), and balance of payments, current $U.S.).
Web Resources:
Unlike library databases, Web resources are available wherever you have web access; they do not require that you access them via the Off-Campus Access button, in the upper right of all library webpages. When using web resources, be sure to evaluate the credibility of these resources. For a subject index to web resources, see Business Resources on the Web on the Foster Business Library homepage.
Bank for International Settlements:
This international organization, founded in 1930, fosters international monetary and financial cooperation and serves as a central bank for national central banks. A search for Foreign Direct Investment at this site produced a list of over 2,500 working papers, reports, etc., many in PDF format.
Country Background Notes:
The U.S. Department of State provides these Country Background Notes for
over 180 countries. These notes provide brief information about each nation's geography, people and history, government, political conditions, economy, foreign relations, relations with the United States, and travel and business information. See the Foreign Investment section for each country for information about Foreign Direct Investment.
Direct Investment (Bureau of Economic Analysis):
This U.S. Department of Commerce agency "produces economic accounts statistics that enable government and business decision-makers, researchers, and the American public to follow and understand the performance of the Nation's economy. To do this, BEA collects source data, conducts research and analysis, develops and implements estimation methodologies, and disseminates statistics to the public." See U.S. Direct Investment Abroad and Foreign Direct Investment in the U.S. See also their articles about International Investment, some of which are about Foreign Direct Investment. For more articles and data on this topic, go to the International Investment
Division of the Bureau. See also the Bureau's Survey
of Current Business and, specifically, the July issue, which covers the International Investment Position of the United States at Year end and Direct Investment Positions: Country and Industry Detail.
Fed in Print:
This site allows you to search the index to Federal Reserve economic research.
A search for Foreign Direct Investment produced over documents.
Finance & Development:
This joint World Bank and International Monetary Fund publication is
devoted in large part to issues that include Foreign Direct Investment.
Finance &
Development is also available in print in the Foster Business Library
Periodicals
Collection. A search of the archive of this publication for Foreign Direct
Investment produced a list of over 160 articles.
Institute for International Economics:
"The Institute for International Economics is a private, nonprofit,
nonpartisan research institution devoted to the study of international
economic policy. Since 1981 the Institute has provided timely, objective
analysis and concrete solutions to key international economic problems."
Among the research areas of interest to the institute is International Trade and Investment.
In this section, see Foreign Direct Investment for policy briefs, working papers, books, as well as speeches and testimony.
International Monetary Fund: "The IMF is an international organization of 184 member countries. It was established to promote international monetary cooperation, exchange stability, and orderly exchange arrangements; to foster economic growth and high levels of employment; and to provide temporary financial assistance to countries to help ease balance of payments adjustment." See their Balance of Payments and International Investment Position Statistics. A site search for Foreign Direct Investment produced over 3,000 documents.
NationMaster.Com:
This Australian site uses data from numerous sources to provide graphic rankings, lists and interactive comparisons for countries' crime, economy, education, energy, environment, geography, government, health, media, military, people, religion, sports, and transportation, for 251 countries. This site also enables viewing of individual country profiles, with maps and flags, and of regions and groupings. See Top 130 Net Foreign Investment, By Country for Foreign Direct Investment.
UNCTAD Foreign Direct Investment Database:
This United Nations database, from UNCTAD's Division on Investment, Technology and Enterprise Development, provides detailed information about foreign direct investment in a country, with detailed statistics on flows, stocks and the operations of transnational corporations, itemized by components, industry and investor/recipient country. Over 190 countries are included in this database. See also their
Foreign Direct Investment Country Links and Inward FDI Indices.
Wikipedia:
This free online user-created and maintained encyclopedia can be a good starting point for an orientation to a topic. See their entry for Foreign Direct Investment.
World Bank Country Profiles: Country profiles prepared by World Bank staff, with Country Briefs and IFC Country Profiles available for over 150 nations. Some of the reports attached to each nation are in PDF format. A search for Foreign Direct Investment produced a list of over
900 documents; for Foreign Direct Investment and India, 1,000 documents.
World Economic Forum: The World Economic Forum is
"an independent international organization incorporated as a Swiss not-for-profit foundation and has NGO consultative status with the Economic and Social Council of the United Nations." A site search for Foreign Direct Investment produced over 170 records.
Foster
Business
Library Reference Collection:
The Foster Business Library Reference Collection consists of business handbooks, encyclopedias, dictionaries, and other quick reference tools. It is located behind the Reference Desk in Foster, arranged by call number. Reference materials cannot be checked out; they may only be used in the library.
Index of economic freedom.
This annual paperback, jointly issued by the Heritage Foundation and Wall
Street Journal, ranks 156 countries in terms of foreign investment
friendliness, taxes, tariffs, banking regulations, monetary policy, black
markets, net foreign direct investment, etc. Arrangement is
alphabetical by country.
Foster Business Library Reference, CALL NUMBER: HB95 .I48 2002.
See chapter four for Property Rights Ambiguity and the Effect of Foreign Investment Decisions on Firm Value; see also each country's profile for Foreign Investment and Foreign Direct Investment.
Principles of economics.
This college textbook, by Gregory Mankiw, covers all aspects of economics, for undergraduate students in economics courses.
Foster Business Library Reference, CALL NUMBER: HB171.5 .M264 2004.
See pages 547 to 549 and pages 678 and 679 for Foreign Direct Investment.
World development indicators.
This World Bank volume contains a large number of tables listing each country and key
data about its people, environment, economy, markets, employment, poverty, etc.
For data about personal computers, internet hosts, secure servers, etc., see section 5.10 for Information Age.
Foster Business Library Reference, CALL NUMBER: HC59.15 .W656 (Annual)
Also available, in part, online at http://www.worldbank.org/data/wdi/home.html.
See section 6.1 for Foreign Direct Investment, Gross, as Share of PPP GDP; section 5.2 for Foreign Direct Investment, as share of GDP and of Gross Capital Formation; and section 6.7 for total Foreign Direct Investment.
Business: the ultimate resource.
This 2,200-page single volume is "designed to offer a wide range of insights, information, and
practical guidance on every aspect of management" via 2.5 million words of text from 200
contributors, with 700 illustrations and 150 maps, in seven major sections including best
practice, a management library, business thinkers and management giants, a business
dictionary, a world business almanac, and a guide to business sources. See the World Business
Almanac section, on pages 1368 to 1767, for brief reports on 150 countries.
Foster Business Library Reference, CALL NUMBER: HD38.15 .B878 2002.
For Foreign Direct Investment, see pages 1428 to 1431.
The IMD world competitiveness yearbook.
This yearbook, published by the International Institute for Management
Development
in Switzerland, provides ranking information in many competitiveness categories for 46 major
countries. Among the many categories are international trade, employment, prices,
business legislation, labor markets, management practices, impact of globalization,
corruption. There is an index to criteria on pages 704 to 717.
Foster Business Library Reference, CALL NUMBER: HF1414 .W67 (Annual)
For Foreign Direct Investment, see the sections on International Investment and on Foreign Investment.
Encyclopedia of business ethics and society.
This five-volume reference work includes 900 essays by scholars,
arranged alphabetically by topic, on all aspects of business ethics.
Foster Business Library Reference, CALL NUMBER: HF5387 .E53 2008.
See Foreign Direct Investment in volume two, on pages 927 to 931.
International financial statistics yearbook.
Published annually by the International Monetary Fund, this compendium of
statistics for every country provides information on population, GDP,
producer, wholesale and consumer prices, wages, labor force,
unemployment, volume and value of imports and exports, and many other
categories. Statistics cover each year of the past 30 years, where
data is available. The monthly versions of this
yearbook are available in the
Foster Business Library Reference, with the call
number HG3881 .I626
Foster Business Library Reference, CALL NUMBER: HG3881 .I6263 (Annual)
For Foreign Direct Investment, see Financial Account on the second page of each country's section; see the two listings for Direct Investment Abroad.
The following eight unannotated titles were published by the
U.S. Dept. of Commerce, Bureau of Economic Analysis, and are a good source for older published data and statistics; they are listed, roughly, from oldest data or date of publication to latest:
- Selected data on foreign direct investment in the United States,
1950-79.
Foster Business Library Reference, CALL NUMBER: HG4910 .S395 1984.
- Foreign direct investment in the United States: balance of
payments and direct investment position estimates, 1980-86.
Foster Business Library Reference, CALL NUMBER: HG4910 .F613 1990.
- U.S. direct investment abroad: balance of payments and direct investment position estimates, 1982-1988.
Foster Business Library Reference, CALL NUMBER: HG4910 .U57 1995.
- Foreign direct investment in the United States:
1987 Benchmark survey, final results.
Foster Business Library Reference, CALL NUMBER: HG4910 .F6 1990.
- Foreign direct investment and transnational corporations in
services.
Foster Business Library Reference, CALL NUMBER: HG4538 .F6192 1989.
- Foreign direct investment in the United
States: establishment data.
Foster Business Library Reference, CALL NUMBER: HG4501 .F674 1991-1992.
- Foreign direct investment in the United States:
1992 Benchmark survey, final results.
Foster Business Library Reference, CALL NUMBER: HG4910 .F617 1995.
- Foreign direct investment in the United States: operations of
U.S. affiliates.
Foster Business Library Reference, CALL NUMBER: HG4910 .F65 1995.
Global financial stability report.
This paperback, from the International Monetary Fund, is
part of its World Economic and Financial Surveys series, and covers
financial market developments and issues. The first issue in this series
appeared in March 2002. The series provides a regular assessment of
global financial markets, with many tables and figures.
Foster Business Library Reference, CALL NUMBER: HG4523 .G56 September
2003. (Earlier editions are in the Foster Business Library General Stacks)
Foreign Direct Investment is mentioned in many places in this
report.
World investment report.
This paperback, from the United Nations Conference on Trade and Development, is devoted to global trends in foreign direct investment, benchmarking in this area, regional trends, the largest transnational corporations, promotion of export-oriented foreign direct investment, and many tables and figures on these topics. The reference collection also includes the 1992 and 1995 editions of this title.
Foster Business Library Reference, CALL NUMBER: HG4538 .W67 1992, 1995, 2002, 2003, 2004.
See, in particular, the copious data on Foreign Direct Investment in the two annexes appended to the text.
Probe directory of foreign direct investment in the United States.
This hefty older title, in its sixth edition, lists U.S corporations, in alphabetic order, that were the recipients of completed foreign direct investment in manufacturing, with the overseas company name and type of business. At the end of the volume is an index of foreign investors by country.
Foster Business Library Reference, CALL NUMBER: HG4907 .P74 1989.
The Europa world year book.
Two-volume work arranged alphabetically by country, with 24-page reviews of each country's
recent history, its government and economy, social welfare and education; a statistical
summary of vital statistics,
employment, agriculture, industry, finance and trade; and summaries of governmental and
political organizations, trade associations, media, etc.
Foster Business Library Reference, CALL NUMBER: JN1 .E85 (Annual)
For Foreign Direct Investment, see the Payments section and Direct Investment Abroad for each country, under Balance of Payments.
In addition to titles in the Foster Business Library reference collection, there are also important relevant reference titles elsewhere in the UW Libraries, such as:
- Balance of payments statistics yearbook.
Published by the International Monetary Fund, in two parts, with Foreign Direct Investment information, by country, in part one.
UW Bothell Library Reference, CALL NUMBER HG3882 .B37 v.49- (1998- )
Government Publications Stacks, CALL NUMBER: HG3882 .B37 v.32-45, 47-52 (1981-1994, 1996-2001)
- International direct investment statistics yearbook.
Published by the Organisation for Economic Co-operation and Development.
Government Publications Reference Desk, CALL NUMBER: HG4583 .I58 1992/2003.
Foster Business Library
Books:
The Foster Business Library maintains a collection of over 70,000 books on
all business topics. To search for materials on all three campuses of the University of Washington, go to the UW Libraries Catalog, in the upper left corner of the Foster Business Library homepage. Search by keyword, title, author, series, etc.
To limit the results of your search just to materials in the Foster Business Library collection, use the Modify or Limit options at the top of the search results and change the library location to Foster Business Library.
Availablity is indicated on the right of each online catalog record. First, note in which collection, within Foster, your materials are in, since the library has ten different Collections, each in a different location and often with differing arrangements. "Available" indicates that the book should be on the shelves under that call number and available for you to check out. "Due" and a date indicates that the book is already checked out to someone and is due back on the date indicated; you can have the "Request/Place Hold" feature to recall the book for your use.
If the material you want is not in the collections of the University of Washington, you can use the "Search Summit" feature to repeat your search in the combined holdings of over thirty cooperating libraries in Washington and Oregon. Use the "Request This Item" feature in Summit to have books in those library sent here to Foster for you to check out.
The Foster general stacks collection is located south of the main part of the Foster Business Library, through the two pass-throughs into the basement of Balmer. The arrangement is by call number, from A (at the east end, near the Copy Center) to Z (at the far west end).
A keyword search for the phrase Foreign Direct Investment produced a list of over 400 records in the UW Libraries, including over eighty records in the Foster Business Library. Examples include:
The subject term for Foreign Direct Investment is Investments, Foreign; there are over 3,500 records in the UW Libraries on this subject, including about
1000 records in the Foster Business Library. Examples include:
This subject search can be further subdivided by country. A subject search for Investments, Foreign – India, for instance, produced a list of over ninety records in the UW Libraries, including eighteen records in the Foster Business Library.
Foster Business Library
Articles:
Articles in academic journals, magazines, trade periodicals, and newspapers are one of the best sources for any kind of research. While the
Foster Business Library offers a large periodicals print collection, comprising over 800 titles, articles are most easily accessed online,
24/7, in such fulltext article databases as EBSCO Business Source Premier, Factiva, LexisNexis Academic, Newsbank Infoweb, and ProQuest Databases. These article databases are available in the library or from off-campus, and provide access to over 10,000 periodicals and millions of articles.
Library access to most ProQuest databases will terminate at the end of
spring quarter 2008, except for ProQuest NewsStand, ProQuest Dissertations
and Theses, Historical New York Times, and the Historical Wall Street
Journal. For more about this change, see UW Libraries Providing New
Databases. After this change, comprehensive article searches should be performed in EBSCO
Business Source Premier, Newsbank Infoweb, and ProQuest
NewsStand. Also, after this change, links to the articles below will be broken.
This database--actually, a family of over two dozen databases--offers full
text articles for over 10,000 publications, including scholarly journals,
magazines, trade and industry periodicals, newspapers, and reports on a
very wide range of topics. To find articles on specific topics, search by
word or phrase by keying your search phrase into the search box--or search
for your topic in the Topic Guide.
Your search terms will be highlighted in red in each article.
A basic search for the phrase "Foreign Direct Investment" produced over 18,000 articles, including over 2,700 scholarly articles, over 600 magazine articles, over 3,600 articles in trade publications, and over 6,000 newspaper articles. One of the periodicals included in this databse, by the way, is Foreign Direct Investment, with full text from 1975.
The subject term for Foreign Direct Investment, in this database, is Foreign Investment; there are over 82,000 articles in this database on this subject (over 72,0000 articles in full text), with over 300 narrowing terms (subjects, places, companies, etc.) associated with this subject.
Examples of articles from these searches include:
- "Does Foreign Direct Investment Promote Development?" (Journal of Economic Issues. Lincoln: Dec 2006. Vol. 40, Iss. 4; pg. 1174, 3 pgs)
- "Foreign direct investment: an activity to assess country risk" (Teaching Business & Economics. Hassocks: Autumn 2006. Vol. 10, Iss. 3; pg. 13, 4 pgs)
- "Determinants of foreign direct investment at the regional level in China" (Journal of Technology Management in China. Bradford: 2006. Vol. 1, Iss. 3; pg. 262)
- "Going Global: The Changing Pattern of U.S. Investment Abroad" (Economic Review - Federal Reserve Bank of Kansas City. Kansas City: Third Quarter 2006. Vol. 91, Iss. 3; pg. 5, 26 pgs)
- "Eagle Eye On FDI; Concerned about national security, the Centre plans a law to make foreign investment terror-proof" (India Today. New Delhi: Sep 25, 2006. pg. 58)
- "U.S. Needs Chinese Investment" (National Journal. Washington: Jun 3, 2006. Vol. 38, Iss. 22; pg. 56, 2 pgs)
- "'India Everywhere' in the Alps" (New York Times. (Late Edition (East Coast)). New York, N.Y.: Jan 26, 2006. pg. C.3)
Help:
The Foster Business Library Reference Desk is staffed most of the hours that the
library is open.
The staff at the desk will be happy to help you find research tools on any business
subject.
For more in-depth assistance, see the Team
Librarian Consultation Archives.
For e-mail questions, direct your query to balib@u.washington.edu.
For assistance by telephone, dial (206) 543-8012 during library hours.
See also the Foster Business Library's Business & Economics FAQ, and, in particular, the section for International Business.
For research guides on a wide variety of industries,
products, companies, issues and topics, see the Team Librarian
Consultation archives.
2 December 2003; updated
8 May 2008.
Peter Stevens, Business Librarian, stevens@u.washington.edu