![]() |
|
|
![]() |
Looking for a specific article in a specific publication? Here are some examples of ways to find such an article quickly and simply. You can perform these searches anywhere on the campus network—or from off-campus by using the UW Connectivity Kit or Libraries Proxy Server (to authenticate you as University of Washington-affiliated); for more on authentication, go to Connecting From Home.
The Foster Business Library subscribes to over 800 business periodicals; see our Periodicals Collection, arranged by title. Clicking on a periodical title on this list will also indicate if the periodical is available online, and, if so, where. Often you can click from that record to access the file of online issues. If you know the volume, number or issue and page number, this route is often the fastest way to obtain an article electronically.
In addition to the 800 journals in the Foster Business Library Periodicals Collection, the Foster Business Library offers access to over 10,000 full text periodical articles through its full text article databases such as Factiva, and Lexis-Nexis Academic, and ProQuest Databases. These article databases may be found on the Foster Business Library homepage, listed alphabetically under Business Databases.
Of these three main sources, all but Factiva are available from any computer on the campus network (as well as from home) via the UW Connectivity Kit or via the Libraries' Off-Campus Access link (using your UW Net ID and password). The easiest of these databases to use is ProQuest Databases. For more information about accessing Foster Business Library databases from off campus, see Database Access. For more information about business databases, see Databases, A to Z.
This database--actually, a family of over two dozen databases--offers full text articles for over 10,000 publications, including scholarly journals, magazines, trade and industry peridicals, newspapers, and reports on a very wide range of topics. To find articles on specific topics, search by word or phrase by keying your search phrase into the search box--or search for your topic in the Topic Guide.
Your search terms will be highlighted in red in each article. For tips on searching this database, see the Foster Business Library research guide About ProQuest.
Some examples follow, each from a specific class assignment.
Go to Publication Search and key in Demographics; American Demographics should appear, with an indication that it is available in full text. Click on American Demographics; at the next display, click on Search Within Publication and key in Golf. A total of 17 articles should appear, the more recent of them available in both full text plus graphics and in PDF format, for your printing, reading, or e-mailing. An example:
Enter the title of your article in the basic search box in quotes, as in "holy grail of internet advertising" and hit send. You don't need to key in the entire article title, just enough to make it distinctive. Here is your article:
Alternatively:
Add to your search phrase, the one in quotes, an identifier for the source in which the article was published, using the prefix SO for source, as in:
"holy grail of internet advertising" and SO(New York Times)
This method should take you to the New York Times article above.
Example 3:
Enter your search phrase in the basic search box, such as Point of Purchase Promotions and add the name of the journal (or source) that you want to search, such as the Journal of Marketing, as in Point of Purchase Promotions and SO(Journal of Marketing)--and you should find a half dozen articles, including:
Alternatively:
Search for the phrase "Point of Purchase Promotion" to find over 300 articles on this topic. Click then on the Scholarly Journals option to limit your search just to those publications (about 22 articles) and look for the journals on the instructor's list.
Example 4:
Enter the title of your article in the basic search box in quotes, as in "Profiting from the Long Tail" and hit send. Here is the abstract of your article:
Unfortunately, ProQuest Databases offers only abstracts, not article full text, for the Harvard Business Review. The "Find a Copy" option appears when a database, such as ProQuest, has an abstract for an article but not article full-text online. Clicking on the "Find a Copy" option takes you to a followup page; on this page, chose "Check for UW Holdings" next to a purple UW Holdings box.
Clicking on "Check for UW Holdings" launches a search for full text in other UW online databases. If full text is found, article links are provided. If there is no full text online, you will be informed that "No direct links to the full text of the item were found." If so, chose "Search for the ISSN" to launch a search for hard copy of the periodical in which the article appears, in the UW collection.
In this instance, the system reports:
Need help? These methods still don't work for you? See a librarian at the Foster Business Library reference desk, call us at 206-543-8012, or e-mail us at balib@u.washington.edu.
See also the Foster Business Library's Business & Economics FAQ, and, in particular, the section for Business Databases or Publications.