Foster Business Library


Full Text Article Databases



Periodical Articles:

    The Foster Business Library subscribes to about 800 business-related periodicals. The Foster Business Library Periodicals Collection is located on the ground floor of the library, at the west end, and is arranged alphabetically by title from A (to the north) to Z (to the south). By clicking on the titles on this list, you can determine which ones have full text available online and for what time periods; most (but not all) Foster periodicals are available in full text. The Libraries also offers access to a long list of Electronic Journals in Business and Economics.

    By comparison to the 800 periodicals in the library's collection, the Foster Business Library's full text periodical article databases offer over 12,000 publications, with over 100 million articles, available in the library, at home, or in your office or favorite coffee café. The main databases are ProQuest Databases and LexisNexis Academic Universe, with Factiva a third choice (but available only in UW Business School buildings, not off-campus). These databases may be found, arranged alphabetically, under Business Databases on the Foster Business Library homepage.

    While there is some overlap in the periodicals offered by these databases, each of them has unique content that makes them essential for some kinds of research. Even when more than one database offers a particular periodical title, the years of coverage can vary among the databases as can the availability of graphs, photos and illustrations. Each of the databases has special strengths and unique features. Each of the databases operates somewhat differently, using different terms for similar things. It can take a little time to learn how to use these databases but most people find one that they prefer over others. With the ProQuest databases, at least, there is a uniform interface.

    To exploit the full text periodical databases, be creative with your search phrases and try out different terms. Each of the databases has help available online.

Full Text Article Databases:

  • ProQuest Databases:   On the Foster Business Library homepage, listed under Databases.   Over 10,000 scholarly journals, magazines, trade and industry publications, newspapers, reports, and dissertations in business, news, medicine, humanities, social sciences, and science and technology; databases include ABI/Inform Dateline, ABI/Inform Global, ABI/Inform Trade & Industry, National Newspapers, ProQuest Medical Library, Research Library Complete, and Washington State Newsstand, among many others. Go to Publications to determine what periodical titles are in this database, and for full text coverage. See the Foster Business Library research guide About ProQuest Databases for search tips.

  • EBSCO Business Source Complete:   On the Foster Business Library homepage, listed under Databases.   This database covers all disciplines of business, including marketing, management, accounting, finance, international business, econometrics and economics, with full text available for thousands of publications (and abstracts available for many more). It also contains company profiles, SWOT analyses, market research reports, and full text for the Harvard Business Review, California Management Review and other important journals and databases. Go to Publications for a list of sources in this database.

  • LexisNexis Academic:   On the Foster Business Library homepage, listed under Business Databases.   Full text for thousands of trade journals, newspapers, newswires, legal and accounting sources as well as many business periodicals. Also contains corporate annual reports, SEC filings, some international company information, and country data. Go to Sources for lists of the publications in this database.

  • Factiva:   On the Foster Business Library homepage, listed under Business Databases.   Factiva is a database of over 8,000 business and news publications, most in full text. Sources are in 22 languages, date back to 1969, and include trade journals, newswires (Dow Jones, Reuters, and others,) media programs, and company and stock reports. This database includes information for more than 22,000 public and private companies, including description, history, current stock quote, financial data, competitors, and the latest news on business activities. Publications may be searched by title, company, industry, geographic location, type, and language.

    Another database, sometimes useful for social sciences and business articles:

  • Expanded Academic ASAP:   On the Foster Business Library homepage, listed under List of All Business Databases.   Provides indexing, abstracts, and full text for over 3,500 scholarly and popular humanities/social science journals.

Accessing These Databases:

    Accessing business databases is very easy in the Foster Business Library where there are over three dozen public workstations with the Foster Business Library website as their homepage. Under Business Databases on this homepage are listed over two dozen of the most commonly used business databases.

    The Libraries' databases are restricted by contract to University of Washington students (currently enrolled) and to University faculty and staff (currently employed). Because most of these databases are expensive, access to them must be restricted in order to keep costs within reasonable limits. To access these databases from off campus, UW users must be authenticated in some way.

    The easiest way to access library databases from off-campus is to go to the Foster Business Library homepage and click on Off-Campus Access in the upper right corner; you will be asked for your UW Net Id. You can also access these licensed Libraries' databases from off campus via the UW Connectivity Kit, also known as UWICK, and the UW Libraries' Proxy Server. Using these tools, UW students, faculty and staff can access many (though not all) library databases from off campus; these tools authenticate library users and allow databases to be accessed without the complications of passwords.

Help:
28 August 2003; updated 31 July 2007.   Peter Stevens, Business Librarian, stevens@u.washington.edu.