![]() |
|
|
![]() |
Foster Business Library research guides are aimed at University of Washington students, faculty, and
staff, highlighting resources available to them; users not currently affiliated with the university
may be unable to access some of these resources.
Foster Business Library Databases:
For instance, a search in Viewswires for the term Globalization OR Globalisation retrieved a list of over 1,200 references.
See Global Economy, in the Encyclopedia of Business and Finance.
Company Overviews, in this database, frequently indicate in what countries a company operates as well as what proportion of its sales come from various regions of the world. As an example, see the Company Overview for Microsoft Corporation and, in particular, the Products/Operations section.
A keyword search for Globalization in this database produced a list of 36 reports.
U.S. public companies SEC 10-K reports often provide extensive information about a company's international operations. For instance, Microsoft discloses that "As of June 30, 2002, the Company employed approximately 50,500 people on a full-time basis, 34,600 in the United States and 15,900 internationally" and "The Company leases many sites internationally totaling approximately 4.1 million square feet, including the Company's European Operations Center and localization division which leases a 382,000 square-foot campus in Dublin, Ireland, a 45,000 square-foot disk duplication facility in Humacao, Puerto Rico and a 36,000 square-foot facility in Singapore for the Company's Asia Pacific Operations Center. Leased office building space includes the following locations: Tokyo, Japan 343,000 square feet; Unterschleissheim, Germany 253,000 square feet; United Kingdom campus 242,000 square feet; Les Ulis, France 229,000 square feet; and Beijing, China 115,000 square feet."
Look up companies in this database for extensive lists of subsidiaries around the world, joint ventures, properties owned, etc.
An advanced search in all four disciplines, in titles, for Globalization or Globalisation produced 24 books and 144 chapters; a keyword search for Globalization produced 36 books and 156 chapters.
Guides:
Governmental:
Multinational Organizations:
Institutes and Centers:
Associations:
Periodicals:
Foster Business Library Reference Collection:
See their essay definition of Globalization on pages 108 to 110.
See chapter five, on the Globalization of Labor in the April 2007 issue, on pages 161 to 192; this publication is also available online. See also the October 2007 edition, devoted to the topic of globalization and inequality (also available online.)
See Redefining What It Means to Manage Globally on pages 27 and 28, and Globalization and Business Strategy, on 97 and 98.
See Perspectives on Globalization, Big Business and the Emerging Countries in volume three, Emerging Countries, pages 26 to 37.
See Globalization in volume two, on pages 1011 to 1020.
See Cultural Imperialism in volume one, pages 428 to 430.
See pages 261 to 264 for Corporations, International and page 493 for Location of Industry, International.
See Global Investing in chapter 21, pages 299 to 322, for an essay on the advantages of investing internationally, for American companies.
To limit the results of your search just to materials in the Foster Business Library collection, use the Modify or Limit options at the top of the search results and change the library location to Foster Business Library. Availablity is indicated on the right of each online catalog record. First, note in which collection, within Foster, your materials are in, since the library has ten different Collections, each in a different location and often with differing arrangements. "Available" indicates that the book should be on the shelves under that call number and available for you to check out. "Due" and a date indicates that the book is already checked out to someone and is due back on the date indicated; you can have the "Request/Place Hold" feature to recall the book for your use.
If the material you want is not in the collections of the University of Washington, you can use the "Search Summit" feature to repeat your search in the combined holdings of over thirty cooperating libraries in Washington and Oregon. Use the "Request This Item" feature in Summit to have books in those library sent here to Foster for you to check out.
The Foster general stacks collection is located south of the main part of the Foster Business Library, through the two pass-throughs into the basement of Balmer. The arrangement is by call number, from A (at the east end, near the Copy Center) to Z (at the far west end).
A keyword search for Globalization produced a list of over 2,700
records, with over 150 records in the Foster Business Library's collections. With the vagaries of spelling this term, a keyword
search for Globalisation produced over 320
records (including over ten records in the Foster Business Library). As examples of such searches, see:
See also the results for searches for terms often associated with globalization, such as transnational corporations. A search for this term, limited to the Foster Business Library, produced a list of over 75 records. The subject term for transnational corporations is International Business Enterprises; a search for this subject, limited to the Foster Business Library, produced over 1,800 records. As examples of such searches, see:
Subject searches are also a good way to identify relevant books and other materials.
See books on related subjects such as:
The Foster Business Library maintains a collection of several thousand annual reports for hundreds of U.S. and foreign companies. These reports are filed in lateral filing cabinets near the Foster Reference desk under the sign Corporate Annual Reports. Annual reports for companies in an industry can be a valuable source of information about the industry itself. For a list of all the companies in the collection, see the library's Corporate Annual Reports Collection. For an index to corporate annual reports in the collection by industry sector, see the Annual Reports Industry Sector Index. For an index to companies in the collection with headquarters outside the U.S., see Corporate Annual Reports Headquarters Index.
Some companies detail their activities in the area of social and environmental responsibility in their annual reports--or issue separate annual reports on those topics.
Foster Business Library Articles:
All four of these databases are available from any computer on the campus network as well as from home (via the UW Connectivity Kit or the Libraries' Off-Campus Access link, using your UW Net ID and password). The easiest of these databases to use is ProQuest Databases. For more information about accessing Foster Business Library databases from off campus, see Database Access. For more information about business databases, see the research guide entitled Databases, A to Z.
This database--actually, a family of over two dozen databases--offers full text articles for over 10,000 publications, including scholarly journals, magazines, trade and industry periodicals, newspapers, and reports on a very wide range of topics. To find articles on specific topics, search by word or phrase by keying your search phrase into the search box--or search for your topic in the Topic Guide. Article full text is often available in several formats, including text, text plus graphics, and PDF. This database also offers a very useful subject structure, to narrow search results, as well as article citation information.
Your search terms will be highlighted in red in each article. For tips on searching this database, see About ProQuest Databases.
For example, a search in this database, in all databases, for
Globalization, produced over
79,000 articles, including over 15,000 articles in scholarly journals, over 5,400 magazine articles, over 15,000 articles in trade publications, and over 30,000 newspaper articles.
A topic search often provides more focus for a search.
Go to the Topic Guide to search for companies, people, and subjects. A subject search for SUB(Globalization) retrieved over 29,000 articles. It is also possible to narrow this subject search through more than twenty
pages of additional terms. Examples of narrowing terms include:
It's also possible to combine searches for subjects, such as globalization, with company names.
Examples of articles, from some of the searches, above include:
The Foster Business Library Reference Desk is staffed nearly all the hours that the library is open. The staff at the desk will be happy to help you find research tools on any business subject. For e-mail questions, direct your query to balib@u.washington.edu. For assistance by telephone, dial (206) 543-8012 during library hours.
See also the Foster Business Library's Business & Economics FAQ, and, in particular, the section for International Business.
For research guides on a wide variety of industries, products, companies, issues and topics, see the Team Librarian Consultation archives.