Import Export Resources
Foster Business Library research guides are aimed at University of Washington students, faculty, and
staff, highlighting resources available to them; users not currently affiliated with the university
may be unable to access some of these resources.
Foster Databases >>>
Web Resources >>>
Reference Books >>>
Books >>>
Articles >>>
Help
Foster Business
Library Databases:
The Foster Business Library offers an extensive collection of over fifty databases on its homepage; see under Databases. For a complete list of Foster databases, see the List of All Business Databases. Access to these databases from off campus requires that you first go to the Off-Campus Access button, in the upper right of all library webpages. These resources may not be accessed from off campus except by those with a valid UW Net ID and password. For more information on Foster business databases, click Databases, A-Z. For information on which Foster business databases to use, see the Database Index.
For information on accessing Foster databases from off campus, see Database Access.
For guidelines on responsible database usage, see Database Usage.
EIU Online:
One of the world's top sources for country intelligence, the EIU (Economist
Intelligence Unit) employs
500 analysts who research almost 200 nations. The Foster Business
Library provides access to their Country Profiles, Country Reports,
Country Commerce, and Country Finance in print editions and this
database provides online access to these publications, often in both
HTML and PDF formats.
Search by country in Viewswires, in Country Background, for import and export data for the past five years, principal
exports and the main destinations of those exports, as well as principal imports and the main origins of those
imports. See the Country Reports for more detailed foreign trade information.
Source OECD:
Source OECD is the online library of the Organization for Economic Co-operation and
Development, with twenty OECD book collections by theme, including all of the organization's
monographs and reports published since 1998; twenty OECD periodicals; some OECD reference
titles; and the OECD
databases. The OECD has 30
member countries and relationships with 70 other countries. Its site tends to be a bit slow to load.
The OECD maintains copious and detailed statistics on international trade, including International
Trade in Goods Statistics--Data.
Stat-USA:
On the Foster Business Library homepage, listed under Business Databases.
Web based access to business, economic and trade statistics and
data from the U.S. Department of Commerce and other Federal government
agencies, including the National Trade Data Bank.
See the categories for international trade leads from a variety of sources, sector analysis reports, best market
reports, U.S. international trade statistics, and much more.
Statistical Universe:
Under Business Databases on the Foster Business Library homepage.
Statistical Universe is an index to statistical data in commercial, international and U.S.
government publications. Try the Power Tables for quick access to tables of data in GIF format.
(Available from off-campus.)
Keyword searches for Imports or Exports each produced over 1,000
tables. For Imports, use subjects such as Agricultural exports and imports,
Balance of payments,
Chemicals exports and imports (International),
Coal exports and imports,
Dumping,
East-West trade,
Electric power exports and imports (International),
Electronics exports and imports (International),
Energy exports and imports,
Foreign trade,
Machinery exports and imports (International),
Minerals and metals exports and imports (International),
Motor vehicle exports and imports,
Natural gas exports and imports,
Petroleum exports and imports,
Tariffs and foreign trade controls,
Terms of trade (International),
Textile exports and imports (International), or
Transportation equipment exports and imports (International).
For Exports, use subject searches for Agricultural exports and imports,
Balance of payments,
Chemicals exports and imports (International),
Coal exports and imports,
Common markets and free trade areas,
Dumping,
East-West trade,
Electric power exports and imports (International),
Electronics exports and imports (International),
Energy exports and imports,
Export financing (International),
Export processing zones,
Foreign trade,
Generalized System of Preferences (International),
Machinery exports and imports (International),
Minerals and metals exports and imports (International),
Motor vehicle exports and imports,
Natural gas exports and imports,
Petroleum exports and imports,
Tariffs and foreign trade controls,
Textile exports and imports (International), or
Transportation equipment exports and imports (International).
Web Resources:
Unlike library databases, Web resources are available wherever you have web access; they do not require that you access them via the Off-Campus Access button, in the upper right of all library webpages. When using web resources, be sure to evaluate the credibility of these resources. For a subject index to web resources, see Business Resources on the Web on the Foster Business Library homepage.
Export Assistance and Exporter
Information:
This site, with information provided by the Minnesota District Export Council, provides export tools, export
information and resources on Minnesota exporting. The export tools section includes a how-to area, export
documentation (with generic documents, NAFTA documents, shippers export declarations), and examples. Export
information includes explanations of HS schedules and tariff rates, international market research, how to find export
statistics, and service export resources.
Federation of International Trade Associations:
The Federation of International Trade Associations was founded in 1984 and "fosters international trade by
strengthening
the role of local, regional, and national associations throughout the United States, Mexico and Canada that have an
international mission." This organization includes over 450 "independent international associations."
Its website seeks to "provide the most content-rich international trade site" and
"provide a comprehensive global trade shop featuring goods and services needed by those involved in international
trade." See their Trade Leads and Global Trade Shop.
Foreign
Trade
Statistics:
This U.S. Census Bureau site is a good starting point for accessing current and
Historical Foreign Trade
Statistics, balance of trade information, top trading partners, as well as
general foreign trade information including requirements for forwarding, U.S. export
regulations, various foreign trade regulations, etc.
Massachusetts Institute for
Social and Economic Research:
This University of Massachusetts site, called MISER, provides "export and import statistics to clients located across
the U.S.
and around the world. Each quarter MISER produces its state export data series. MISER also provides monthly exports
and imports by detailed Harmonized System commodity code." Some of their statistical products are restricted to
members (this library is not a member) but some of it is free. See their Foreign Trade Database, and Foreign Trade Database
Export Data and, in particular, January 2003 year-to-date
U.S. Exports by State.
National Customs Brokers & Forwarders Association:
This organization, more than 100 years old, includes 600 customs brokers and freight forwarders in the United States.
See their list of Useful Links.
Small Business Exporters Association:
This organization is a council of the larger National Small Business United, consisting of 65,000 companies engaged in
exporting from the United States. See their Classifying Your Products for Export, Starting an Export Company, Incoterms: Rules for Trade
Logistics, and Foreign Trade Zones: U.S.
Customs Procedures & Requirements.
Statistical Resources on the Web:
This University of Michigan Library site, provided by their Government Documents Center, offers links to statistics on
an enormous number of topics. See their Foreign Trade
statistical sources links.
Trade Data Online:
This Canadian government site provides a resource for trade data by trade type, by U.S. or Canada or province, by time
period, by trading partner, by value and by product, with data from the U.S. Census Bureau and Statistics Canada.
See also their guide to Exporting
resources.
Trade Development Alliance of Greater
Seattle:
"The Trade Development Alliance of Greater Seattle is a collaboration of the Port of Seattle, Port of Tacoma,
Metropolitan King County Government, Snohomish County Government, City of Seattle, City of Everett, Greater Seattle
Chamber of Commerce and union leadership to promote the trade interests of this region in domestic and international
markets." "The mission of the Trade Alliance is to promote Greater Seattle, including King, Snohomish and Pierce
Counties, as one of North America's premier international gateways and commercial centers." See their Trade Stats & Information for top state export
customers, Trade Opportunities & Leads, and
Directory of International Trade Organizations in
Washington State.
TradePort:
This organization, funded by the U.S. Department of Commerce Economic Development Administration, with significant
assistance from the U.S. Commercial Service, the California Trade and Commerce Agency, and other sponsors, provides
information on Getting
Started, Researching
Markets, Rules of Trade and Financing Exports,
and more.
Especially valuable is their Market
Research Library.
U.S. Customs Service:
This website provides an overview of Import and Export issues
related to the U.S. Customs Service. You will find links with information on duty rates, HTS,
rulings and regulations, small importer, publications and forms. There is also a link
to Washington State Ports of Entry.
U.S. International Trade
Administration:
This agency, part of the U.S. Commerce Department, assists the U.S. business community in selling its products and
services abroad, in all areas of export management including trade agreements and trade opportunities.
See the export information at their Trade Information Center, including
their Export
Programs Guide, and the links to their Washington
State Trade Office and to the U.S.
Export Assistance Center office in Seattle. See also their export Trends Tables, Office of Trade and Industry Information , and State
Exports to Countries and Regions (including Washington
State, with 4 PDF pages
of
year 2000 data). For trade statistics, see their TradeStats Express.
For imports, see their Import Administration for laws and
regulations, statistics, document library, and glossary of terms and phrases.
This agency also publishes the periodical Export America which is
available in the Foster Business Library Periodicals Collection
as well as online.
U.S.
Tariff Information Center:
This U.S. International Trade Commission site provides tariff and trade data for specific products. For interactive trade data, go to their Interactive Tariff Database. See also the Commission's Harmonized Tariff Schedule of the United States, Annotated. See also their Publications.
Washington Council on International Trade:
This Seattle-based organization is a nonprofit association of businesses, consular
groups, universities and private parties
interested in international trade. See their Imports,
Publications (mostly available online, in PDF
format), and their Resources sections.
Washington State International Trade & Economic Development Division:
This Washington state office assists companies in international trade. See their Publications and Tools & Resources.
Wikipedia:
This free online user-created and maintained encyclopedia, Wikipedia, can be a good starting point for an orientation to a topic. See their entry for Export and their List of Countries by Exports and similar list for Imports.
World Trade Organization:
The World Trade Organization, with 145 member nations, "is the only global international organization dealing with the
rules of trade
between nations. At its heart are the WTO agreements, negotiated and signed by the bulk of the world's trading nations
and ratified in their parliaments. The goal is to help producers of goods and services, exporters, and importers to
do their business."
See their Regional Trade Agreements and Import Licensing sections.
World Trade Centers Association:
"The World Trade Centers Association ... is a not-for-profit, non-political association that fosters the WTC concept
and develops inter-WTC cooperative programs. WTCA membership includes nearly 300 WTCs in almost 100 countries. Over
750,000 companies are affiliated with WTCA members worldwide." See their online World Trade Library for links to international trade-related websites
on the Internet.
Foster Business
Library Reference Collection:
The Foster Business Library Reference Collection consists of business handbooks, encyclopedias, dictionaries, and other quick reference tools. It is located behind the Reference Desk in Foster, arranged by call number. Reference materials cannot be checked out; they may only be used in the library.
International marketing data and statistics.
Demographic trends and forecasts, economic indicators, labor force, trade,
energy, environment, consumer expenditures and market size, and retailing
information for the Americas, Asia, Africa and Oceania; companion volume
to European marketing data and statistics. See External Trade on pages 249 to 298.
Foster Business Library Reference, CALL NUMBER: HA42 .I56. 2003.
Datapedia of the United States, 1790-2005.
This one-volume work covers United States population, vital statistics and health, migration,
labor, national income and wealth, consumer income and expenditures, social statistics,
land--water--climate, agriculture, forestry--fisheries, minerals, construction--housing,
manufacturing, transportation, communications, energy, distribution--services, international
trade, business enterprises, productivity--technological development, financial
markets--institutions, and government. See the chapter on International Transactions and Foreign Commerce on pages 408 to 430.
Foster Business Library Reference, CALL NUMBER: HA202 .K87 2001.
Statistical abstract of the United States.
This annual volume offers a wealth of demographic information for both the U.S. and other countries;
check the index at the back of the volume for references to tables. The sources for each table are
often a valuable source of additional information.
See the chapter for Foreign Commerce and Aid.
Foster Business Library Reference, CALL NUMBER: HA202 .U56 (Annual)
European marketing data and
statistics.
Demographic trends and forecasts, economic indicators, labor force, trade,
energy, environment, consumer expenditures and market size, and retailing
information for European countries.
See the chapter on External Trade.
Foster Business Library Reference, CALL NUMBER: HA1107 .E87 2003.
World development indicators.
This World Bank volume contains a large number of tables listing each country and key
data about its people, environment, economy, markets, employment, poverty, etc.
See chapter four for data on merchandise and services imports and exports.
Foster Business Library Reference, CALL NUMBER: HC59.15 .W656 (Annual)
Encyclopedia of global industries.
Twelve-page descriptions of 125 global industries, with background and
development
information, current conditions, industry leaders and further reading.
See index page 1212 for Exports, with many references to products, and index pages 1220 and 1221 for Imports, also with many references to specific products.
Foster Business Library Reference, CALL NUMBER: HD2324 .E53 2003.
Inside Washington.
Subtitled Government Resources for International Business, this book provides guidance through the
maze of U.S. government agencies involved in international business.
See chapter five, on pages 155 to 180, on Export Financing; see also chapter three, pages 84
to 113, on Regulations and Requirements, including export license assistance, and chapter
seven, page 228, on Export Insurance.
Foster Business Library Reference, CALL NUMBER: HD2785 .D385 1998.
International trade statistics yearbook.
This two-volume annual work, published by the United Nations, provides statistics for international trade, volume one arranged by country, volume two by commodity.
Foster Business Library Reference, CALL NUMBER: HF91 .Y4 (Annual)
International trade reporter: export reference manual.
This regularly updated manual is in three large ring-binders and provides U.S. export information and information about foreign import regulations. It is arranged alphabetically by country.
For each country, the entry provides brief background information, import and exchange controls, marketing, distribution and procurement (including electronic commerce), documentary requirements, mail shipments, standards, labelling and packing, customs and entry, and business travel. Binder number three includes a section on export controls, agreements, a and codes.
Foster Business Library Reference, CALL NUMBER: HF1010 .I53 (Updated Regularly)
Dictionary of international trade.
This 600-page dictionary covers all terms used in the global trade community, with nearly twenty appendices including an international dialing guide and codes, world currencies, maps, guides to ocean freight and air freight containers, Incoterms, letters of credit, computer terms, resources for international trade, web resources, a guide to trade documents, key words in eight languages, and world airports.
Foster Business Library Reference, CALL NUMBER: HF1373 .H55 2002.
Export-import basics.
Also known as the ICC Guide to Export-Import Basics, this 230-page paperback, published by the International Chamber of Commerce, details the legal, financial, and transport aspects of international trade, including international contracts, resolving disputes, agency, distributorship and franchising contracts, international payment options, and international electronic commerce.
Foster Business Library Reference, CALL NUMBER: HF1379 .J35 1997.
Managing exports: navigating the complex rules, controls, barriers, and laws.
This book covers the whole export process, export control, the export product, export channels, marketing, pricing, terms of sale, insurance, contracts, invoices, purchase orders, transportation, documentation, export credit, and keeping current about exporting.
Foster Business Library Reference, CALL NUMBER: HF1414.4 .R49 2003.
The ultimate guide to export management.
This hardcover publication from the American Management Association discusses the risks of international trade, gaining entry into world markets, meeting customer sales and service demands, freight and logistics issues, export documentation and procedures, what exporters should know about importing, trade finance, banking and letters of credit, cargo loss control, EDI and electronic commerce, managing critical areas of the world, personnel deployment, obtaining export assistance, and free trade zones and bonded warehouses.
Foster Business Library Reference, CALL NUMBER: HF1416 .C665 2001.
Import/export: how to get started in international trade.
This paperback covers how to write a business plan, choose a product, make trade contacts, finance import or export transactions, protect patents and trademarks, navigate customs and import duties, avoid risk, and trade in the European Union.
Foster Business Library Reference, CALL NUMBER: HF1416 .N45 2000.
Exporting and importing: a basic how-to guide to help you get started in international trade.
This short succinct paperback, put out by the Washington state Department of Community, Trade, and Economic Development, covers exporting and importing in detail and in fewer than 90 pages.
Foster Business Library Reference, CALL NUMBER: HF1416 .R87 1997.
A basic guide to exporting.
This slim paperback from the U.S. Department of Commerce, discusses what decisions need to be made and where to obtain the knowledge to make correct decisions, with information about costs, export regulation, customs benefits, and tax incentives.
Foster Business Library Reference, CALL NUMBER: HF1416.5 .B37 2000.
Export/import: procedures and documentation.
This comprehensive hardcover publication from the American Management Association covers sales and other documentation for exporting and purchase documentation for importing, with a chapter on specialized exporting and importing, and numerous appendices.
Foster Business Library Reference, CALL NUMBER: HF1416.5 .J64 2002.
Directory of United States exporters.
Geographic listing of U.S. exporters, with an alphabetic list of exporters, an alphabetic product listing, a list of products by harmonized code, and by SIC code, and a list by state, plus an overview of exporting and sections on exporting strategy, market research, trade contacts, consulates, banks, and world ports.
Foster Business Library Reference, CALL NUMBER: HF3011 .D63 2003.
Directory of United States importers.
Geographic listing of U.S. importers, with an alphabetic list of importers, an alphabetic product listing, a list of
products by harmonized code, and by SIC code, and a list by state, plus an overview of importing and sections on importing strategy, market research, trade contacts, consulates, banks, and world ports.
Foster Business Library Reference, CALL NUMBER: HF3012 .D533 2003.
Washington state international trade directory.
This annual directory provides brief profiles of Washington state companies involved in importing and exporting. There are indexes by product, by industry code and a geographic index by country, as well as support service listings for attorneys, consultants, translators, and transportation.
Foster Business Library Reference, CALL NUMBER: HF5065 .W2 .W37 2004/2005.
Export documentation and shipping.
This spiral-bound paperback covers parties to the international transaction, international trade terms, how to obtain
country information, the international freight quotation and cover letter, methods of payment, buy/sell agreements, freight forwarding, shipping documentation, U.S. government regulations, and marine insurance.
Foster Business Library Reference, CALL NUMBER: HF5761 .E94 2002.
International financial statistics yearbook.
Published annually by the International Monetary Fund, this compendium of statistics for every country provides information on population, GDP, producer, wholesale and consumer prices, wages, labor force,
unemployment, volume and value of imports and exports, and many other categories. Statistics cover each year of the past 30 years, where
data is available.
Foster Business Library Reference, CALL NUMBER: HG3881 .I6263.
The export control and embargo handbook.
This hefty hardcover offers information on such sensitive topics as dual use goods, software and technology; defense
articles and services; embargo, transaction and currency controls; nuclear commodities and technologies; Export Administration Regulations; and traffic in arms.
Foster Business Library Reference, CALL NUMBER: KF1987 .H57 2000.
U.S. Customs House guide: ports of entry and U.S. import regulations.
A directory of U.S., Canadian and Mexican ports of entry (with Seattle on pages PR2 176 to PR2 179, and Tacoma on page PR2 182), plus U.S. customs regulations, with an index to those regulations.
Foster Business Library Reference, CALL NUMBER: KF6652 .O353 2001.
U.S. Customs House guide: U.S. harmonized tariff schedule.
The latest U.S. tariff schedules and customs duties, with an alphabetic index to locate products in the schedule and a numeric index to foreign ports.
Foster Business Library Reference, CALL NUMBER: KF6652 .O354 2001.
U.S. Customs House guide: trade services directory & guide.
A directory of air, rail and ocean carriers; how-to guides to importing and exporting; documentation for importing and exporting; embassies and consulates; U.S. federal and state agencies; and legal services.
Foster Business Library Reference, CALL NUMBER: KF6652 .O355 2001.
Harmonized tariff schedule of the United States.
Two large white ring-binders with the latest tariff schedules plus annotations.
Foster Business Library Reference, CALL NUMBER: KF6654.599 .U55 (latest edition)
.(Also available online)
Foster Business
Library Books:
The Foster Business Library maintains a collection of over 70,000 books on
all business topics. To search for materials on all three campuses of the University of Washington, go to the UW Libraries Catalog, in the upper left corner of the Foster Business Library homepage. Search by keyword, title, author, series, etc.
To limit the results of your search just to materials in the Foster Business Library collection, use the Modify or Limit options at the top of the search results and change the library location to Foster Business Library.
Availablity is indicated on the right of each online catalog record. First, note in which collection, within Foster, your materials are in, since the library has ten different Collections, each in a different location and often with differing arrangements. "Available" indicates that the book should be on the shelves under that call number and available for you to check out. "Due" and a date indicates that the book is already checked out to someone and is due back on the date indicated; you can have the "Request/Place Hold" feature to recall the book for your use.
If the material you want is not in the collections of the University of Washington, you can use the "Search Summit" feature to repeat your search in the combined holdings of over thirty cooperating libraries in Washington and Oregon. Use the "Request This Item" feature in Summit to have books in those library sent here to Foster for you to check out.
The Foster general stacks collection is located south of the main part of the Foster Business Library, through the two pass-throughs into the basement of Balmer. The arrangement is by call number, from A (at the east end, near the Copy Center) to Z (at the far west end).
See Foster Business Library books with subjects such as:
Examples of Foster Business Library titles from these searches include:
Foster Business
Library Articles:
Articles in academic journals, magazines, trade periodicals, and newspapers are one of the best sources for any kind of research. While the
Foster Business Library offers a large periodicals print collection, comprising over 800 titles, articles are most easily accessed online,
24/7, in such fulltext article databases as EBSCO Business Source Premier, Factiva, LexisNexis Academic, Newsbank Infoweb, and ProQuest Databases. These article databases are available in the library or from off-campus, and provide access to over 10,000 periodicals and millions of articles.
Library access to most ProQuest databases will terminate at the end of
spring quarter 2008, except for ProQuest NewsStand, ProQuest Dissertations
and Theses, Historical New York Times, and the Historical Wall Street
Journal. For more about this change, see UW Libraries Providing New
Databases. After this change, comprehensive article searches should be performed in EBSCO
Business Source Premier, Newsbank Infoweb, and ProQuest
NewsStand. Also, after this change, links to the articles below will be broken.
This database--actually, a family of over two dozen databases--offers full
text articles for over 10,000 publications, including scholarly journals,
magazines, trade and industry periodicals, newspapers, and reports on a
very wide range of topics. To find articles on specific topics, search by
word or phrase by keying your search phrase into the search box--or search
for your topic in the Topic Guide.
Your search terms will be highlighted in red in each article.
As an example, a search in this database, in all databases, for the phrase Exports
and United States, retrieved over 8,600 articles. A similar search for
Imports and United States retrieved over 8,500 articles. To focus your
search, go to Topic Guide and look up the subject Exports use the Narrow
feature to look at 178 related subjects or terms, from Advantages to
World Trade Organization. For
Imports, there are 81 narrowing terms or subjects, from Asia to
Wines.
Examples of articles, from the searches above, include:
Foster Business Library
Help:
The Foster Business Library Reference Desk is staffed
most of the hours that the library is open. The
staff at the desk
will be happy to help find information about any business topic.
The telephone number for the reference desk is (206) 543-8012.
Questions are also welcome via e-mail to balib@u.washington.edu.
See also the Foster Business Library's Business & Economics FAQ, and, in particular, the section for International Business.
For research guides on a wide variety of industries,
products, companies, issues and topics, see the Team Librarian
Consultation
archives.
11 March 2003; updated
17 January 2007.
Peter Stevens, Business Librarian, stevens@u.washington.edu.