![]() |
|
|
![]() |
Foster Business Library Databases:
A search for Internet produced over five thousand reports.
A search for Internet produced over sixteen hundred reports.
A search in this database, for all quarters in 2007, for
Internet, retrieved over a thousand tables.
A keyword search for Internet produced over a thousand tables; for Internet Users, over five hundred tables.
Web resources:
See these free sites:
See index page 966 for data tables for a variety of internet categories.
A search in the topical index for Internet, retrieved tables on internet phone service, internet service providers, and internet sites.
All four of these databases are available from any computer on the campus
network as well as from home (via the UW
Connectivity Kit or the Libraries' Off-Campus Access link, using
your UW Net ID and password). The easiest of these databases to use is ProQuest Databases. For more
information about accessing Foster Business Library databases from off
campus, see Database Access. For more
information about business databases, see the research guide entitled Databases, A to Z.
This database--actually, a family of over two dozen databases--offers full text articles for over
10,000 publications, including scholarly journals, magazines, trade and industry periodicals,
newspapers, and reports on a very wide range of topics. To find articles on specific topics, search
by word or phrase by keying your search phrase into the search box--or search for your topic in the
Topic Guide.
Your search terms will be highlighted in red in each
article. For tips on searching this database, see About ProQuest Databases.
A subject search for SUB(Internet) and SUB(Polls & Surveys) produced nearly four thousand articles; for SUB(Internet) and SUB(Statistical Data), over a thousand articles; for SUB(Internet) and SUB(Market Data), over six hundred articles.
See also the Foster Business Library's Business & Economics FAQ, with answers to over nine hundred frequently-asked questions.
For research guides on a wide variety of industries, products, companies, issues and topics, see the Team Librarian Consultation archives.
The Foster Business Library offers an extensive collection of over fifty databases on its homepage; see under Databases. For a complete list of Foster databases, see the List of All Business Databases. Access to these databases from off campus requires that you first go to the Off-Campus Access button, in the upper right of all library webpages. These resources may not be accessed from off campus except by those with a valid UW Net ID and password. For more information on Foster business databases, click Databases, A-Z. For information on which Foster business databases to use, see the Database Index.
For information on accessing Foster databases from off campus, see Database Access.
For guidelines on responsible database usage, see Database Usage.
Unlike library databases, Web resources are available wherever
you have web access; they do not require that you access them via the Off-Campus Access button, in the upper right of all library webpages. When using web resources, be sure to evaluate the credibility of these resources. For a subject index to web resources, see Business Resources on the Web on the Foster Business Library homepage.
Foster Business Library Reference Collection:
The Foster Business Library Reference Collection consists of business handbooks, encyclopedias, dictionaries, and other quick reference tools. It is located behind the Reference Desk in Foster, arranged by call number. Reference materials cannot be checked out; they may only be used in the library.
Foster Business Library Articles:
Information about many industries as well as demographic information;
check index for references to tables. The sources for each table are
often a valuable source of additional information.
Foster Business Library Reference, CALL NUMBER: HA202 .U56 2008.
Annual two-volume compilation of U.S. and world market share data for companies, products and
services, arranged by SIC code, and with indexes by product, company and
topic.
Foster Business Library Reference, CALL NUMBER: HF5410 .M35 2008.
In addition to the 800 journals in the Foster Business Library Periodicals
Collection, the Foster Business Library offers access to over 100 million full text articles in
over 10,000 periodicals through its full text article
databases such as EBSCO
Business Source Premier, Factiva, LexisNexis
Academic, and ProQuest
Databases.
These article databases may be found on the Foster Business Library homepage, listed under
Databases.
Help:
The Foster Business Library Reference Desk is staffed many of the hours that the library is open. The
staff at the desk will be happy to help you find business research tools and resources, exploit business databases to the fullest or advise on research strategies.
For e-mail questions, direct your query to buslib@u.washington.edu. For
assistance by telephone, dial (206) 543-8012 during library hours.