Foster Business Library
Databases:
The Foster Business Library offers an extensive collection of over fifty databases on its homepage; see under Databases. For a complete list of Foster databases, see the List of All Business Databases. Access to these databases from off campus requires that you first go to the Off-Campus Access button, in the upper right of all library webpages. These resources may not be accessed from off campus except by those with a valid UW Net ID and password. For more information on Foster business databases, click Databases, A-Z. For information on which Foster business databases to use, see the Database Index.
For information on accessing Foster databases from off campus, see Database Access.
For guidelines on responsible database usage, see Database Usage.
See Just In Time Systems in Inventory Control andManufacturing, in the Encyclopedia of Business and Finance.
A search in this database for JIT produced over 80 references; searches for Just AND In AND Time and for Just In Time produced no relevant results.
A advanced search, limited to business journals, for the phrase Just In Time, produced a list of more than 900 articles. Relevancy ratings peaked at 18%.
Unlike library databases, Web resources are available wherever you have web access; they do not require that you access them via the Off-Campus Access button, in the upper right of all library webpages. When using web resources, be sure to evaluate the credibility of these resources. For a subject index to web resources, see Business Resources on the Web on the Foster Business Library homepage.
Foster
Business
Library Reference Collection:
The Foster Business Library Reference Collection consists of business handbooks, encyclopedias, dictionaries, and other quick reference tools. It is located behind the Reference Desk in Foster, arranged by call number. Reference materials cannot be checked out; they may only be used in the library.
See Just-In-Time on pages 143 to 146.
See Just In Time Production on pages 465 to 469 and Just In Time Purchasing on page 795.
See Just In Time on page 93.
See index page I-15 for four references to Just In Time.
See Just-In-Time on pages 173 to 174, 953, 1031, and on pages 2016 to 2017.
See Just In Time on pages 437, 494, 608, and 610.
See Just In Time Management on pages 526, 531, and 533 to 534.
See Just-In-Time Philosophy on pages 3592 to 3605, in volume four, with more references on index pages 7046 and 7047, in volume eight.
See Just-In-Time on pages 315 to 323 and on pages 325 to 335.
See Just-In-Time Ordering on pages 80 and 81.
See Just-In-Time Training on pages 165 to 166, and Just-In-Time Inventory Control on page 655.
Foster Business Library
Books:
The Foster Business Library maintains a collection of over 70,000 books on
all business topics. To search for materials on all three campuses of the University of Washington, go to the UW Libraries Catalog, in the upper left corner of the Foster Business Library homepage. Search by keyword, title, author, series, etc.
To limit the results of your search just to materials in the Foster Business Library collection, use the Modify or Limit options at the top of the search results and change the library location to Foster Business Library.
Availablity is indicated on the right of each online catalog record. First, note in which collection, within Foster, your materials are in, since the library has ten different Collections, each in a different location and often with differing arrangements. "Available" indicates that the book should be on the shelves under that call number and available for you to check out. "Due" and a date indicates that the book is already checked out to someone and is due back on the date indicated; you can have the "Request/Place Hold" feature to recall the book for your use.
If the material you want is not in the collections of the University of Washington, you can use the "Search Summit" feature to repeat your search in the combined holdings of over thirty cooperating libraries in Washington and Oregon. Use the "Request This Item" feature in Summit to have books in those library sent here to Foster for you to check out.
The Foster general stacks collection is located south of the main part of the Foster Business Library, through the two pass-throughs into the basement of Balmer. The arrangement is by call number, from A (at the east end, near the Copy Center) to Z (at the far west end).
A keyword search for Just-In-Time produced a list of over 100 records, only some of which were relevant. Titles in the Foster Business Library accounted for about two dozen records, with none newer than 1999, including:
A subject search for Just-In-Time Systems produced over fifty records in the UW Libraries, with just seventeen records in the Foster Business Library (none more recent than 1999). Expanding this search to Summit produced over 120 records.
A keyword search for JIT, limited to the Foster Business Library, produced just four records, the newest dated 1997; a similar search, limited to the Engineering Library, also produced just four records.
Foster Business Library Articles:
Articles in academic journals, magazines, trade periodicals, and newspapers are one of the best sources for any kind of research. While the
Foster Business Library offers a large periodicals print collection, comprising over 800 titles, articles are most easily accessed online,
24/7, in such fulltext article databases as EBSCO Business Source Premier, Factiva, LexisNexis Academic, Newsbank Infoweb, and ProQuest Databases. These article databases are available in the library or from off-campus, and provide access to over 10,000 periodicals and millions of articles.
Library access to most ProQuest databases will terminate at the end of
spring quarter 2008, except for ProQuest NewsStand, ProQuest Dissertations
and Theses, Historical New York Times, and the Historical Wall Street
Journal. For more about this change, see UW Libraries Providing New
Databases. After this change, comprehensive article searches should be performed in EBSCO
Business Source Premier, Newsbank Infoweb, and ProQuest
NewsStand. Also, after this change, links to the articles below will be broken.
This database--actually, a family of over two dozen databases--offers full
text articles for over 10,000 publications, including scholarly journals,
magazines, trade and industry periodicals, newspapers, and reports on a
very wide range of topics. To find articles on specific topics, search by
word or phrase by keying your search phrase into the search box--or search
for your topic in the Topic Guide.
Your search terms will be highlighted in red in each article.
A search for "Just-In-Time" produced a whopping 46,000 articles, including over 1,800 articles in scholarly journals, over 800 magazine articles, over 5,000 articles in trade journals, and over 35,000 newspaper articles. Because this term is a fairly common one, many of the results of this search were not relevant.
A topic search for SUB(Just In Time) produced a more relevant collection of 3,000 articles, including over 1,200 articles in scholarly journals, over 100 magazine articles, over 1,700 articles in trade journals, and over sixty newspaper articles. This subject term can also be combined with other subject terms for more focused collections of articles, such as:
A search for JIT produced over 5,000 articles, including over 860 articles in scholarly journals, over 80 magazine articles, over 1,300 articles in industry publications, and over 2,300 newspaper articles; not all articles appeared to be relevant.
See also the Foster Business Library's Business & Economics FAQ, and, in particular, the section for Management.
For research guides on a wide variety of industries, products, companies, issues and topics, see the Team Librarian Consultation archives.
This one-volume offers 500 essays, from 500 to 1,000 words in length, from 180 authorities on current knowledge and thinking about the key concepts of
strategic management.
Foster Business Library Reference, CALL NUMBER: HD30.15 .B455 1995 v. 2.
This
one-volume covers 348 management topics, arranged alphabetically from Activity-Based Costing
to
Zero-Sum Game.
Foster Business Library Reference, CALL NUMBER: HD30.15 .E49 2000.
This slim paperback provides definitions of terms used in strategic management.
Foster Business Library Reference, CALL NUMBER: HD30.28 .K454 2004.
This thick
one-volume handbook comprises 16 sections on important areas of management, written by expert
practitioners.
See Managing ethics in the corporation, section one, pages 1-32 to 1-35.
Foster Business Library Reference, CALL NUMBER: HD31 .A418 1994.
This 2,200-page single volume is "designed to offer a wide range of insights, information, and practical guidance on every aspect of management" via 2.5 million words of text from 200 contributors, with 700 illustrations and 150 maps, in seven major sections including best practice, a management library, business thinkers and management giants, a business dictionary, a world business almanac, and a guide to business sources.
Foster Business Library Reference, CALL NUMBER: HD38.15 .B878 2002.
This handbook, part of the International Encyclopedia of Business and Management series, provides five to six-page profiles, in an A to Z arrangement, of more than 130 major thinkers in management, from Sun Tzu to fairly modern times, with recommendations for further reading.
Foster Business Library Reference, CALL NUMBER: HD38.15 .I33 1998.
This one-volume work covers a large variety of topics in organizational behavior, arranged alphabetically by topic,
with essays ten to twelve pages long.
Foster Business Library Reference, CALL NUMBER: HD58.7 .I35 1997.
This seven-volume set (plus an index volume) consists of 750 essays on a wide variety of topics, arranged alphabetically, from Accounting to Zimbabwe, Management In.
Foster Business Library Reference, CALL NUMBER: HF1001 .I53 2002.
This one volume work offers about one hundred essays on important concepts and practices, with another 1000 shorter pieces on concepts, practices, and principles, in an A to Z arrangement.
Foster Business Library Reference, CALL NUMBER: TS9 .E53 2000.
Aimed at production managers and executives, this volume provides mathematical information for planning, forecasting, analyzing, and testing the procedures used in the operation of production facilities. Some knowledge of fundamental mathematics is essential to use of this handbook.
Foster Business Library Reference, CALL NUMBER: TS155 .M644 1987.
Subtitled "a complete guide for green belts, black belts, and managers at all levels," this 800-plus page handbook is a user manual, with comprehensive guidance for implementing Six Sigma principles.
Foster Business Library Reference, CALL NUMBER: TS155 .P799 2003.
ProQuest Databases:
The Foster Business Library Reference Desk is staffed nearly all of the hours that the library is open. The
staff at the desk will be happy to help you find business research tools and resources, exploit business databases to the fullest or advise on research strategies.
For e-mail questions, direct your query to balib@u.washington.edu. For
assistance by telephone, dial (206) 543-8012 during library hours.