Key Business Resources
Companies >>>
Industries >>>
Countries >>>
Marketing >>>
Stocks >>>
Bonds >>>
Mutual Funds >>>
Help
Company Information:
- Databases:
- Print sources:
- International directory of company histories. CALL NUMBER: HD2721 .I57 (On-Going)
(Also available, since volume 59, in the Gale Virtual Reference Library)
- Directory of foreign firms operating in the United States. CALL NUMBER: HG4057 .A155 (Annual)
- LexisNexis corporate affiliations: who owns whom. CALL NUMBER: HG4057 .A219 (Annual)
- Directory of American firms operating in foreign countries. CALL NUMBER: HG4538 .A1 .D5 (Annual)
- Research guide:
Industry Information:
- Databases:
- Websites:
- Print sources:
-
Encyclopedia of American industries. (Over 1,000 industries) CALL NUMBER: HC102 .E53 2005.
(Also available in the Gale Virtual Reference Library)
- Standard & Poor's industry surveys. (52 industries) CALL NUMBER: HC106.6 .S74 (Updated quarterly)
(Also available in Standard & Poor's NetAdvantage)
- Encyclopedia of global industries. (Over 120 industries) CALL NUMBER: HD2324
.E53 2003.
(Also available in the Gale Virtual Reference Library)
- Plunkett's almanacs.
(In
the Foster Business Library reference
collection, various call numbers, see list)
- Research guide:
Country Information:
- Databases:
- Websites:
- Print source:
- Doing Business Series.
(In
the Foster Business Library reference
collection, various call numbers, see list)
- Research guide:
Marketing Information:
- Databases:
- Print sources:
- International marketing data and statistics.
CALL NUMBER: HA42 .I56 2003.
- European marketing data and
statistics.
CALL NUMBER: HA1107 .E87 2003.
- Market share reporter.
CALL NUMBER: HF5410 .M35 2005.
- U.S. market trends & forecasts.
CALL NUMBER: HF5415.1 .U8 2001.
- Research guide:
Stock Information:
- Databases:
- Website:
- Print sources:
- Mergent's handbook of common stocks.
CALL NUMBER: HG4501 .M59 (Quarterly)
- Standard & Poor's stock reports.
CALL NUMBER: HG4907 .S72 (Quarterly)
(Also available in Standard & Poor's NetAdvantage)
- Mergent dividend record.
HG4028 .D5 .M65 (Twice Weekly)
- Standard & Poor's dividend record.
HG4028 .D5 .S7a (Weekly)
(Also available in Standard & Poor's NetAdvantage)
- Research guide:
Bond Information:
- Databases:
- Print source:
- Mergent bond record.
CALL NUMBER: HG4651 .M662 (Monthly)
- Research guide:
Mutual Fund Information:
- Databases:
- Websites:
- Print sources:
- Morningstar funds 500.
CALL NUMBER: HG4530 .M664 (Annual)
- Morningstar mutual funds.
CALL NUMBER: HG4530 .M676 (Current Biweekly Binder)
- Research guides:
Help:
The Foster Business Library Reference Desk is staffed nearly all the hours that the
library is open. The
staff at the desk will be happy to help you find research tools on any business
subject. For e-mail
questions, direct your query to balib@u.washington.edu. For
assistance by telephone, dial (206) 543-8012 during library hours.
See also the Foster Business Library's Business & Economics FAQ, and, in particular, the section for General Business.
For research guides on a wide variety of industries,
products, companies, issues and topics, see the Team Librarian
Consultation archives.
30 October 2003; updated
5 March 2008.
Peter Stevens, Business Librarian, stevens@u.washington.edu, 206-543-4360.