Foster Business Library


About LexisNexis Academic



LexisNexis Academic:

    LexisNexis Academic is a database that provides accounting, business, legal, medical, news, and reference information as well as full text articles from over 18,000 sources, including 6,000 general, business and legal news sources (mostly newspapers, both U.S. and international), as well as transcripts and polling information. Unlike other full text article databases, it offers little scholarly journal content except in law and medicine. It is also a good source (among others) for U.S. Securities & Exchange Commission filings.

    Unlike most Foster Business Library databases that have a focus, LexisNexis Academic is much more diffuse, probably due to its beginnings as a legal database (Lexis) and as a news source (Nexis). In the Foster Business Library Database Index, LexisNexis Academic is included under Accounting, Articles (Full Text), Business Law, Company Financials, Newspapers, New York Times, Seattle Newspapers, Tax, and Washington State Newspapers.

    In addition, from the main LexisNexis Academic homepage, there are links to related LexisNexis databases, LexisNexis Congressional (for comprehensive access to U.S. legislative information, including texts of bills, laws and regulations, and information about members of congress and congressional committees) and LexisNexis Statistical, also known as Statistical Universe (an index to statistics published in commercial, international and U.S. government publications, with statistical tables in GIF and, in many cases, Excel, format).

    Access to this database is available from the computers in the Foster Business Library, in other University of Washington libraries, as well as from other computers attached to the campus network--and from off-campus for authorized University of Washington library users, with a valid UW Net Id. The subscription agreement for this database limits its use to students enrolled in a University of Washington degree program, to active instructors, faculty, administrative and research personnel at the University, and for non-commercial purposes only.

LexisNexis Academic Arrangement:
    LexisNexis Academic consists primarily of five major parts, as well as a welcome screen offering quick information: news search, legal case search, and company information:

    • Guided news search, allowing you to search for news content by type of news, including business news, news transcripts, non-English language news (including Dutch, French, French, German, Italian, Portuguese and Spanish), legal news, etc., from such sources as major papers, magazines and journals, newsletters, Time magazine publications, and more, for various time periods including all dates. Unlike the ProQuest databases, you cannot search across all sources; you can only search within categories.
    • Business information, including articles from newspapers, magazines, journals, wires & transcripts, and news from 25 industries; accounting literature, from over two dozen sources; company information (both public and private) from various sources, including S.E.C. filings; and company directory information from four sources.
    • Legal research, including legal news, case law (including searching), federal, state, and tax laws, codes, and regulations; international legal information; patent research; and career information for the legal field.
    • Medical information, including medical and health news; search capabilities for twenty medical journals; and abstracts from Medline.
    • Reference information, including biographical information for politicians, business executives & more; brief country profiles; polling and survey data from the Roper Center for Public Opinion Research; quotations (over 10,000 quotes); brief U.S. state profiles; and a searchable World Almanac.
LexisNexis Guides:



Connect to LexisNexis Academic

(For authorized University of Washington users with a UW Net ID)



9 September 2005; updated 27 August 2007.   Peter Stevens, Business Librarian, stevens@u.washington.edu