![]() |
|
|
![]() |
Foster Business Library
Databases:
A search in this database for Microfinance produced more than 300 references, including over 120 references in journals, over 90 references in peer-reviewed journals, forty references in books, and two book reviews.
See Grameen Bank, in the 2002 Encyclopedia of Modern Asia.
A search for Microfinance, limited to full text documents, produced
a list of over 100 references, including reviews of books on this topic.
A search in this database for Microfinance produced over 100 references, from a wide variety of sources.
General:
Agencies and Organizations:
Foster Business Library
Books:
To limit the results of your search just to materials in the Foster Business Library collection, use the Modify or Limit options at the top of the search results and change the library location to Foster Business Library.
Availablity is indicated on the right of each online catalog record. First, note in which collection, within Foster, your materials are in, since the library has ten different Collections, each in a different location and often with differing arrangements. "Available" indicates that the book should be on the shelves under that call number and available for you to check out. "Due" and a date indicates that the book is already checked out to someone and is due back on the date indicated; you can have the "Request/Place Hold" feature to recall the book for your use.
If the material you want is not in the collections of the University of Washington, you can use the "Search Summit" feature to repeat your search in the combined holdings of over thirty cooperating libraries in Washington and Oregon. Use the "Request This Item" feature in Summit to have books in those library sent here to Foster for you to check out.
The Foster general stacks collection is located south of the main part of the Foster Business Library, through the two pass-throughs into the basement of Balmer. The arrangement is by call number, from A (at the east end, near the Copy Center) to Z (at the far west end).
A keyword search for Microfinance produced over 170 records in the UW Libraries, but just three records in the Foster Business Library:
Because this topic falls in the field of economics, rather than business, there are more books on this topic in the Suzzallo/Allen Library, where most of the economics material on campus is housed. Examples include:
Foster Business Library Articles:
All four of these databases are available from any computer on the campus
network as well as from home (via the UW
Connectivity Kit or the Libraries' Off-Campus Access link, using your UW Net ID and password). The easiest of these databases to use is ProQuest Databases. For more information about accessing Foster Business Library databases from off
campus, see Database Access.
For more
information about business databases, see the research guide entitled Databases, A to Z.
This database--actually, a family of over two dozen databases--offers full text articles for over 10,000 publications, including scholarly journals, magazines, trade and industry periodicals, newspapers, and reports on a very wide range of topics. To find articles on specific topics, search by word or phrase by keying your search phrase into the search box--or search for your topic in the
Topic Guide. Article full text is often available in several formats, including text, text plus graphics, and PDF. This database also offers a very useful subject structure, to narrow search results, as well as article citation information.
Your search terms will be highlighted in red in each article. For tips on searching this database, see About ProQuest Databases.
A subject search for SUB(Microfinance) produced over 290 articles, including over seventy articles in scholarly journals, over seventy magazine articles, over fifty articles in trade and industry periodicals, and over a hundred newspaper articles. A search for PER(Yunus, Muhammad) produced over three hundred articles.
Searches can be narrowed by combining subjects, such as:
Examples of articles, from the searches above, include:
See also the special issue on Microfinance in the Economist magazine issue of November 5, 2005:
For research guides on a wide variety of industries, products, companies, issues and topics, see the Team Librarian Consultation archives.
The Foster Business Library offers an extensive collection of over fifty databases on its homepage; see under Databases. For a complete list of Foster databases, see the List of All Business Databases. Access to these databases from off campus requires that you first go to the Off-Campus Access button, in the upper right of all library webpages. These resources may not be accessed from off campus except by those with a valid UW Net ID and password. For more information on Foster business databases, click Databases, A-Z. For information on which Foster business databases to use, see the Database Index.
For information on accessing Foster databases from off campus, see Database Access.
For guidelines on responsible database usage, see Database Usage.
Unlike library databases, Web resources are available wherever
you have web access; they do not require that you access them via the Off-Campus Access button, in the upper right of all library webpages. When using web resources, be sure to evaluate the credibility of these resources. For a subject index to web resources, see Business Resources on the Web on the Foster Business Library homepage.
The Foster Business Library maintains a collection of over 70,000 books on
all business topics. To search for materials on all three campuses of the University of Washington, go to the UW Libraries Catalog, in the upper left corner of the Foster Business Library homepage. Search by keyword, title, author, series, etc.
In addition to the 800 journals in the Foster Business Library Periodicals
Collection, the Foster Business Library offers access to over 100 million full text articles in over 10,000 periodicals through its full text article
databases such as EBSCO Business Source Premier, Factiva, LexisNexis
Academic, and ProQuest Databases.
These article databases may be found on the Foster Business Library homepage, listed under
Databases.
Help:
The Foster Business Library Reference Desk is staffed nearly all of the hours that the library is open. The
staff at the desk will be happy to help you find business research tools and resources, exploit business databases to the fullest or advise on research strategies.
For e-mail questions, direct your query to balib@u.washington.edu. For
assistance by telephone, dial (206) 543-8012 during library hours.