![]() |
|
|
![]() |
Morningstar Principia:
This database is an online version of Morningstar Mutual Funds, an advisory service providing profiles and performance measures for selected mutual funds. Since the early 1980's, Morningstar has provided comprehensive data and information about the mutual fund industry, in print and in online forms. Morningstar Principia provides information on over
14,000 mutual funds, including over 150 data items
for each fund, allowing user ranking by a wide variety of criteria. About
1,700 funds in this database offer a special Morningstar page with historical
information.
Because CD-ROMs are issued quarterly, the data is not up-to-date but some of the
data is for the past decade.
This database was formerly available only on PC #19; it is now networked within the Foster Business Library and available on all public and Access Plus computers (in the Foster Business Library only); this database is not accessible from off-campus.
Click here to access this database.
Use File/Print to print pages (either to the Pharos station self-service printer in the Foster Business Library electronic reference area or to the Balmer Copy Center, at the southeast corner of the library). Use the magnifying glass icon and the % magnification to identify what you wish to print. To save data, go to Export (with data saved in Excel format).
Morningstar In Print:
Morningstar Access Elsewhere:
Morningstar describes its product as "one of the most widely used resources in the financial planning industry. With a powerful research database that includes mutual funds, stocks, variable annuities, closed-end funds, and separate accounts, advisors can conduct advanced research and analysis, monitor portfolios, and propose investment strategies."
Using Morningstar:
To locate individual funds, use the magnifying glass icon near the top of the display, under the word Features, to enter the fund name. Be sure to use the navigation symbol, at the lower right corner of the screen, to scroll to the right of these very long fund lines to view rankings, annual returns, load, returns after tax, cost ratios, risk, and Morningstar ratings. Click on individual funds to view four pages of Morningstar analytics on each fund, in the format used in the Morningstar print sources (itemized below), using the page numbers at the bottom of the screen to move to other pages.
More about Morningstar:
This large annual red paperback covers the top 500 mutual funds (in a universe of over 12,000 funds). A variety of categories are included in these 500 funds, selected annually by Morningstar analysts, with detailed analyst commentary for each fund, copious fund data including fund returns and portfolios, articles, ratings of funds and categories, analysts' picks, and profiles of the top portfolio managers.
Foster Business Library Reference, CALL NUMBER: HG4530 .M664 (Annual)
This heavy hard plastic loose-leaf black binder includes over 1,600 pages of mutual fund information, analysis, and data, issued biweekly, with a focus on individual mutual funds in each issue. Inside the front cover is a Resource Guide, with a mutual fund glossary of terms used by Morningstar, as well as guidance on how to exploit this resource.
Foster Business Library Reference, CALL NUMBER: HG4530 .M676 (Current Weekly Binder)
The King County Library System offers online access to the web version of Morningstar in their libraries or remotely (for KCLS users, via their card number and password). Go to KCLS's list of Databases for Morningstar, with "investing data and reports on 16000+ mutual funds and 7000+ stocks as well as investment choice and portfolio management tools."
See Also: