Multicultural Marketing
Selected resources for Multicultural Marketing and Urban Enterprise Development, Marketing 445.
Foster Business Library Databases:
Business Source Complete (EBSCO) - Full text of over 8,800 magazines, newspapers and journals, including more than 1,100 peer-reviewed journals. Also includes some market research reports, SWOT analyses, and country reports.
ProQuest Newspapers - Full-text of major national and Washington state nespapers. Includes the New York Times, Wall Street Journal, Los Angeles Times and Washington Post.
Access World News - Includes complete electronic editions of hundreds of large and small U.S. newspapers and titles worldwide. Features an intuitive, map-based interface and the ability to search single or multiple titles by headline, name, topic, keyword, date and author.
ReferenceUSA - Directory information for 12 million companies in the U.S. Companies can be searched for by name, business activity, size and location. With this database, it is possible to identify businesses by geographic area (city, county, state, street, zip code, area code, but not neighborhood) and type of business, as well as by number of employees and gross annual sales.
Hoovers Online - Hoovers Online offers information on over 40,000 public and private companies worldwide, with links to company homepages and annual reports, charts, company capsule, competitors, divisions, earnings, financials, Fortune and Forbes rankings, history, industry information, insider trading, mission statements, news links, press releases, officers, patents, products, SEC filings, splits, subsidiaries, etc.
Simply Map - This web-based mapping application enables users to develop interactive thematic maps and reports using thousands of demographic, business, and marketing data variables. Look at these tutorials for help on using SimplyMap.
MarketResearch.com Academic - This database contains comprehensive full-text market research reports covering a broad range of markets, industries, and companies from reputable market intelligence sources such as Packaged Facts, Icon Group, and many others, for U.S. and global markets, covering over 2,000 industries and products.
Gale Virtual Reference Library - The Gale Virtual Reference Library is a database of encyclopedias, almanacs, and specialized reference sources for multidisciplinary research; go to Business for such major business sources as the Encyclopedia of American Industries, the Encyclopedia of Business and Finance, the Encyclopedia of Small Business, the Encyclopedia of Global Industries, as well as all thirteen volumes of the Business Plans Handbook.
Web Resources:
Demographics:
American Factfinder - This U.S. Census Bureau site allows you to obtain demographic information from the year 2000 census on states, counties, cities, metropolitan statistical areas, census-designated places, and zip codes—but not neighborhoods.
Census 2000 Results for Washington - This site, from the Washington State Office of Financial Management, is a good source for Washington information from the 2000 U.S. Census, with links to other information products at both the Office of Financial Management and the U.S. Census Bureau. See the section entitled Race and Minority Data. See also the County and City Data, which allows you to narrow down your search to neighborhoods, in some cases.
City of Seattle Office of Economic Development - This City of Seattle office provides links to information about economic conditions in the city of Seattle, economic and community development, funding resources, and small business assistance.
Consumer Expenditure Surveys - This Bureau of Labor Statistics site provides a wealth of data about consumer spending in the United States. Demographic information such as average number in consumer unit, percent male and female, education level, age and income groups, is detailed along with average annual expenditures consisting of fourteen main categories: food, alcoholic beverages, housing, apparel and services, transportation, health care, entertainment, personal care products and services, reading, education, tobacco products and smoking supplies, miscellaneous, cash contributions, and personal insurance and pensions. Data is available back to 1984 and is sorted by metropolitan statistical areas, regions and other groupings. For Seattle consumer expenditure data by product category, for 2003-2004, click here.
Data (Puget Sound Regional Council) - The Puget Sound Regional Council is a regional data center that provides a wide variety of economic, demographic, geographic, and transportation data to its member cities, counties, businesses, and other interested parties. Data is available on a wide variety of demographic information, in spreadsheet formats, on race, income, housing, building permits, employment, transportation, etc. plus links to labor force, per capita income, population and regional CPI information.
King County Profile - This 2001 PDF report, in 43 pages, is from the Washington State Employment Security Department, and offers a demographic profile of King County's population, labor force, industries and personal income. Similar profiles are available for other counties in the state of Washington here. County.
Population Reference Bureau - This site offers U.S. population tables, articles and data from a variety of their publications in HTML, presentation, and PDF formats. Topics include the 2000 U.S. Census, children, education, estimates and projections, fertility, foreign-born, income/poverty, labor/employment, marriage/family, migration, mortality, older population, political arithmetic, and race/ethnicity (with over twenty articles related to this topic).
Regional Economic Conditions (FDIC) - This site, from the U.S. Federal Deposit Insurance Corporation, provides data, graphs, and maps for every county and MSA in the country, including Washington state, for industry activity, employment and income, real estate activity, selected commodity prices, unemployment, bankruptcy filings, etc. This site also includes data for every county in Washington state as well as the state's metropolitan statistical areas of Bellingham, Bremerton, Olympia, Portland-Vancouver, Richland-Kennewick-Pasco, Seattle-Bellevue-Everett, Spokane, Tacoma, and Yakima.
Washington State Annual Demographic Information - This site, from the Washington State Employment Security Department, Offers a demographic profile of Washington state population, labor force, Industries and personal income. A lot of the data at this site dates from the 1990's.
Small Business
Community Capital Development - "Community Capital Development (CCD) is a private, non-profit 501(c)(3) community and economic development organization. CCD was formed in 1997 as consortium of three not-for-profit economic development organizations to create, sustain, and grow entrepreneurial opportunities and livable-wage jobs in Seattle and Western Washington, primarily for disadvantaged populations (low-income individuals, women, and minorities) that have historically experienced difficulties in accessing business financing and economic development services."
Doing Business in Washington - This site, from Washington State Government, offers links to information on starting a business in this state, licenses and permits, business taxes, business resources, doing business with government, business technologies, employees and employers, and state resources.
Greater Seattle Chamber of Commerce - This Greater Seattle Chamber of Commerce site provides information on relocating a business to the Seattle area and a directory of its member firms and their products and services.
Minority Business Development Agency - This agency is part of the U.S. Department of Commerce and provides information on capital trends, demographic trends, industry and export trends, and significant minority enterprise small business information. Among the research reports is the agency's report on Minority purchasing power, 2000 to 2045 (a 12-page report in PDF format).
The National Black Chamber of Commerce - This ten-year old organization "represents 64,000 Black owned businesses and provides an advocacy that reaches all 640,000 Black owned businesses." It has 190 affiliated chapters, including one in Washington state (based in Tacoma). "Throughout the 1990's, African American businesses in the U.S. posted sales of more than $80 billion annually. In general, African Americans represent an annual spending base of over $500 billion. NBCC has harnessed much of the power of these dollars and provides unique opportunities for corporations and African American businesses to partner in creating greater opportunity for all people."
National Center for American Indian Enterprise Development - The National Center for American Indian Enterprise Development is "a non-profit organization, founded and directed by American Indians. The National Center is the first national organization solely dedicated to developing American Indian economic self-sufficiency through business ownership." This organization has a Northwest Regional Office in Seattle.
Northwest Minority Business Council - This council is the state branch of the National Minority Supplier Development Council, "chartered in 1972 to provide increased procurement and business opportunities for minority businesses of all sizes. The NMSDC Network includes a National Office in New York and 39 regional councils across the country. There are 3,500 corporate members throughout the network, including most of America's largest publicly-owned, privately-owned and foreign-owned companies, as well as universities, hospitals and other buying institutions. The regional councils certify and match more than 15,000 minority owned businesses (Asian, Black, Hispanic and Native American) with member corporations which want to purchase goods and services." See the local list of Corporate Members and Governmental Agencies.
Seattle Office, Small Business Administration This site offers a wealth of free resources for starting, financing and expanding a business. See their 2006 PDF Small Business Resource Guide in 43 pages. See also their local Business Development section. The Office of Economic Research, at the SBA's Office of Advocacy, also includes statistics on minorities and women in business and as business owners.
Small and Disadvantaged Business Utilization - This U.S. Department of Housing and Urban Development agency's mission is "to ensure that small businesses, small disadvantaged businesses and women-owned businesses are treated fairly and that they have an opportunity to compete and be selected for a fair amount of the agency's contract dollars. The Department of Housing and Urban Development (HUD) is committed to ensuring that small businesses, small disadvantaged businesses and women-owned businesses participate fully in HUD direct contracting as well as in contracting opportunities generated by HUD grant funds." See their Small Business Policies.
Soy Empresario.Com - "This site is a business portal in Spanish which includes some of the articles found at Entreworld.org, translated into Spanish. Its target audience is Hispanic entrepreneurs in the United States and Latin America. You'll find business news, business opportunities in Puerto Rico and Latin America, shareware code, clip art, discussion forums and business-to-business directories here, plus advice on how to start your own business and links to financial advice and resources on the Web."
The United States Hispanic Chamber of Commerce - This twenty-five year old organization "has worked towards bringing the issues and concerns of the nation's more than 1.2 million Hispanic-owned businesses to the forefront of the national economic agenda...through the network of nearly 200 Hispanic Chambers of Commerce and Hispanic business organizations." This organization has three chapters in Washington state. See their Links to Hispanic Organizations and Resources.
Washington State Hispanic Chamber of Commerce - "The Washington State Hispanic Chamber of Commerce ... is a membership network of businesses, professional associations, corporations and individuals working for the advancement of Hispanic businesses and the surrounding business community through education, training, advocacy and networking. Economic development, prosperity and community stewardship are the primary goals of the chamber." This site offers a membership directory, a newsletter, events listing, job information, and links for entrepreneurs, business advocacy organizations, and other hispanic chambers of commerce.
Washington State Office of Minority and Women's Business Enterprises - This agency's mission is to ensure an equitable public contracting and procurement environment in Washington state in which all qualified businesses owned and controlled by socially and economically disadvantaged individuals, including minorities and women, may participate. This site includes bid lists and contracting opportunities, a directory of nearly 3,000 minority firms in the state, and a frequently-asked questions area (among other resources).
Foster Business Library Collection
Rand McNally commercial atlas & marketing guide
This oversized two-volume annual publication provides population, economic, and geographic data for over 129,000 places in the United States as well as information about the largest U.S. corporations and state, county, and city data.
Foster Business Library Reference, CALL NUMBER: G1046 .Q1 .R35 2005. (in atlas/dictionary stand)
2002 county and city extra
This annual reference work provides extensive data on U.S. states, counties, and cities in a wide variety of categories, including population, households, vital statistics, health, crime, education, labor force and employment, trade, federal funds, etc.
Foster Business Library General Stacks, CALL NUMBER: HA203 .C68 2002.
State trends
This paperback provides data on all fifty states for those who wish to measure quality of life and to compare states. Data is provided in the areas of education, energy, highways, prisons and corrections, public health, and state government spending.
Foster Business Library Reference, CALL NUMBER: HA203 .S735 2006.
MSA profile: metropolitan area projections to 2025
Population, employment, earnings, personal and household income and retail sales data and projections for the years 1970, 1980, 1990, 1996, 1999, 2000, 2001, 2002, 2005, 2010, 2015, 2020 and 2025 for states, regions and metropolitan areas. Data includes white, black, other, and hispanic populations.
Foster Business Library Reference, CALL NUMBER: HC106.8 .M77 2005.
Key indicators of county growth, 1970 - 2025
This source covers households, population by age, income (per capita, per household and earnings per job) and employment for U.S. counties as
far back as 1970, with projections in each category through 2025.
Foster Business Library Reference, CALL NUMBER: HC106.82 .K48 1998.
Washington state almanac: an economic and demographic overview of counties and cities
Two-page profiles of the state as a whole and of each county, with information on population, population change, personal income, taxable retail sales, registered business, new businesses, property assessments, employment by industry sector and unemployment.
Foster Business Library Reference, CALL NUMBER: HC107 .W2 .E25 2004-2005.
Washington minority small business survey
This pamphlet, authored by three UW Business School professors, provides data and information on minority small business in Washington state, including ownership, industry distribution, customers, employment, and more.
Foster Business Library Reference, CALL NUMBER: HD2358.5 .U62 .W22 2007.
Demographics USA: county edition
This large paperback provides in-depth demographics, for people, races, households, and businesses, for U.S. states, cities, and counties, with consumer and buying power data. Also included is retail sales and employment data.
Foster Business Library Reference, CALL NUMBER: HF3007 .S96 (Annual)
Demographics USA: zip edition
This large paperback provides in-depth demographics, for both people and businesses, for U.S. zip codes.
Foster Business Library Reference, CALL NUMBER: HF5415.3 .D463 (Annual)
The lifestyle market analyst
Market analysis information including demographic, geographic and lifestyle information to identify who customers are, where they live, how they spend their time and money and how to reach them.
Foster Business Library Reference, CALL NUMBER: HF5415.33 .U6 .L54 (Annual)
Washington state retail survey
Comprehensive survey of retail sales activity in each county and city in the state, with historical sales trends in over 300 individual market areas, based on activity in 65,000 retail outlets.
Foster Business Library Reference, CALL NUMBER: HF5429.4 .W2 .W37 2007.
Industry information
Puget Sound major employers directory pinpointer
Published by the Greater Seattle Chamber of Commerce, this unique reference work to companies in King, Pierce, and Snohomish counties covers almost 1,900 major employers in the region (employers with more than 100 employees), pinpointing them by map location and providing company addresses, number of employees, telephone numbers, principal products or services, and four names of contact persons. There is also an SIC code index.
Foster Business Library Reference, CALL NUMBER: HC107 .W22 .P864 2001/2003.
Puget Sound Business Journal book of lists.
This annual publication is an invaluable source of information about public and private companies in the Puget Sound area, culled from lists that appeared weekly in the Puget Sound Business Journal. Besides lists of the largest and fastest growing public and private companies in the area, this reference work includes commercial real estate deals, banks and securities firms, contractors, education and employment, health care, title companies, marketing firms, nonprofits, professional services, executive compensation, real estate, retailers, software developers, biotech and travel and recreation. There is an index to companies and topics in the back of this volume.
Foster Business Library Reference, CALL NUMBER: HC108 .S77 .P83 (Annual)
The multicultural economy: minority buying power in the new century
This 200-page paperback covers the multicultural economy in all states, with introductory sections on black, native American, Asian, and Hispanic buying power, following by detailed data for each state on buying power by race, residence, changes over time, etc.
Foster Business Library Reference, CALL NUMBER: HC110 .C6 .M85 2005.
Financial studies of the small business
This annual ring-bound compilation covers small businesses under one million dollars in capitalization, in retail, wholesale, services, contracting, professional services and manufacturing. Data is available for total assets, sales volume, 25% most profitable and five year trends.
Foster Business Library Reference, CALL NUMBER: HD2346 .U5 .F55a (Annual)
Encyclopedia of African American business
This two-volume A to Z encyclopedia offers essays on a wide variety of aspects African American business, as well as biographical essays of notable businesspeople.
Foster Business Library Reference, CALL NUMBER: HD2358.5 .U6 .E53 2006.
Encyclopedia of business ethics and society
This five-volume reference work includes 900 essays by scholars, arranged alphabetically by topic, on all aspects of business ethics.
Foster Business Library Reference, CALL NUMBER: HF5387 .E53 2008.
Help
The Foster Business Library Reference Desk is staffed nearly all of the hours that the library is open. The staff at the desk will be happy to help you find business research tools and resources, exploit business databases to the fullest or advise on research strategies. You can also contact us if you have any questions about accouting research or finding acounting related resources.
See also the Foster Business Library's Business & Economics FAQ, and, in particular, the section for Marketing and Advertising.
