Foster Business Library research guides are aimed at University of Washington students, faculty, and staff, highlighting resources available to them; users not currently affiliated with the university may be unable to access some of these resources.
Foster Business Library
Databases:
The Foster Business Library offers an extensive collection of over fifty databases on its homepage; see under Databases. For a complete list of Foster databases, see the List of All Business Databases. Access to these databases from off campus requires that you first go to the Off-Campus Access button, in the upper right of all library webpages. These resources may not be accessed from off campus except by those with a valid UW Net ID and password. For more information on Foster business databases, click Databases, A-Z. For information on which Foster business databases to use, see the Database Index.
For information on accessing Foster databases from off campus, see Database Access.
For guidelines on responsible database usage, see Database Usage.
See nonprofit organizations in this database; see also the section at the bottom of the main
menu entitled IRS Data on Nonprofits, a searchable database of nonprofits as categorized by the Internal Revenue Service (but without a link to IRS filings for nonprofits). This database includes over 3,000 nonprofits in Washington state, including over 800 nonprofits in Seattle.
While Hoovers Online is primarily oriented towards profit-making organizations, it does include Charitable Organizations, Membership
Organizations, Cultural
Institutions, and Foundations.
A custom search for SIC code 8399-98, for Non-Profit Organizations, limited to King County, retrieved
a list of over 320 organizations.
A keyword search for Nonprofit produced over 1,000
tables; a search for Nonprofit and Washington retrieved over two dozen tables, while a search for Nonprofit and Seattle produced no tables.
Unlike library databases, Web resources are available wherever you have web access; they do not require that you access them via the Off-Campus Access button, in the upper right of all library webpages. When using web resources, be sure to evaluate the credibility of these resources. For a subject index to web resources, see Business Resources on the Web on the Foster Business Library homepage.
Foster
Business
Library Reference Collection:
The Foster Business Library Reference Collection consists of business handbooks, encyclopedias, dictionaries, and other quick reference tools. It is located behind the Reference Desk in Foster, arranged by call number. Reference materials cannot be checked out; they may only be used in the library.
The yellow pages lack listings for nonprofit organizations per se but they do include a long list
of various kinds of nonprofit organizations, such as associations, charities, clubs, social service
organizations, etc.
See Washington state foundations on pages 2232 to 2271.
See SIC index pages 24 to 25 in the back of the volume for listings of nonprofit social
science organizations, amidst other nonprofits in health, etc. See also the list, on pages
one to three, of the top 100 employers, ranked by number of employees, in King, Pierce, and
Snohomish counties; the list includes such nonprofits as the Port of Seattle, the University
of Washington, a number of hospitals and health care organizations, cities and counties,
schools, etc.
See pages 92 to 95 for the largest nonprofits by annual revenue in this area.
See Public Sector and Nonprofit Management on pages 16-1 to 16-46.
See Plans for Nonprofit Ventures on pages 209 to 224 for parts of six very brief model nonprofit plans (but no financials).
An excellent and easy to use source for local business information, this directory is also a
link to resources often more valuable than web and print resources: people working in
business and industry.
Foster Business Library Reference Desk.
This large directory, plus supplement, issued annually by the Foundation Center, is a comprehensive directory of the larger foundations in the United States, with listings for over 10,000 foundations with assets over $3 million or more than $200,000 in annual giving. Foundations in the directory comprise over 90% of all U.S. foundation assets, awarding more than $17 billion annually. Foundations are nongovernmental nonprofit organizations that make grants to other nonprofit organizations. The directory includes indexes to foundations by state, type of support, subject index, etc.
Foster Business Library Reference, CALL NUMBER: AS911 .A2 F65 2004.
Published by the Greater Seattle Chamber of Commerce, this unique reference work to companies
in King, Pierce, and Snohomish counties covers almost 1,900 major employers in the region
(employers with more than 100 employees), pinpointing them by map location and providing
company addresses, number of employees, telephone numbers, principal products or services, and
four names of contact persons.
Foster Business Library Reference, CALL NUMBER: HC107 .W22 .P864 2001/2003.
This annual publication is an invaluable source of information about public and
private companies in the
Puget Sound area, culled from lists that appeared weekly in the
Puget Sound Business Journal. Besides
lists of the largest and fastest growing public and private companies in the area, this reference work
includes commercial real estate deals, banks and securities firms, contractors, education and employment,
health care, title companies, marketing firms, nonprofits, professional services, executive compensation,
real estate, retailers, software developers, biotech and travel and recreation. There is an index to
companies and topics in the back of this volume.
Foster Business Library Reference, CALL NUMBER: HC108 .S77 .P83 2005.
This thick one-volume handbook comprises 16 sections on important areas of management, written by expert practitioners.
Foster Business Library Reference, CALL NUMBER: HD31 .A418 1994
This paperback encyclopedia includes an overview of the business plan process, over sixty model business plans and guides to sources of information. Business plan examples include plans for retailers, small service firms, small manufacturers, home-based enterprises, research organizations, educational institutions, franchises, nonprofits, and importers/exporters.
Foster Business Library Reference, CALL NUMBER: HD30.28 .C76 1998.
This multi-volume set is a compilation of over 200 actual business plans developed by entrepreneurs seeking small business funding. See the cumulative index in the latest volume to locate business plans by type of business.
Foster Business Library Reference, CALL NUMBER: HD62.7 B865.
The only nonprofits included in this set are for two nonprofit restaurants, in volumes one and two.
See Nonprofit Organizations, Nonprofit Organizations and Human Resources Management, and Nonprofit Organizations and Taxes in volume two, pages 679 to 690.
See index pages 738 to 739 for firms that consult with nonprofit organizations, including about half a dozen in Washington state.
See table 5.8 on page 253 for data on nonprofit organizations in Washington state.
See Nonprofits in volume three, on pages 1512 to 1517.
Foster Business Library Reference Accounting Collection:
The Foster Business Library Reference Accounting Collection is located adjacent to the Reference Collection. Unlike the Reference Collection, which is arranged by call number, the Reference Accounting Collection is arranged largely by issuing body; within those bodies, material is arranged alphabetically by series title. Color coding also helps accounting students navigate this collection, using the guides at the end of each shelving range. This arrangement is designed to facilitate self service access to reference accounting materials since many items in the collection are too narrow to permit easy identification of call numbers--and call numbers would scatter materials that logically belong together. Go to the collection link above and search for Tax to find tax-related publications.
The Reference Accounting collection occupies two shelving ranges. One range and half of another is devoted to AICPA publications, including historical publications, exposure drafts, statements and standards, audit and accounting guides (in four volumes), audit risk alerts, audit guides, checklists, and committee publications. The remaining half range includes FASB, GASB, CICA, IASC, ICA and miscellaneous publications (the latter arranged alphabetically by call number).
The collection's arrangement, with references to relevant nonprofit publications:
The Foster Business Library maintains a collection of over 70,000 books on all business topics. To search for materials on all three campuses of the University of Washington, go to the UW Libraries Catalog, in the upper left corner of the Foster Business Library homepage. Search by keyword, title, author, series, etc.
To limit the results of your search just to materials in the Foster Business Library collection, use the Modify or Limit options at the top of the search results and change the library location to Foster Business Library. Availablity is indicated on the right of each online catalog record. First, note in which collection, within Foster, your materials are in, since the library has ten different Collections, each in a different location and often with differing arrangements. "Available" indicates that the book should be on the shelves under that call number and available for you to check out. "Due" and a date indicates that the book is already checked out to someone and is due back on the date indicated; you can have the "Request/Place Hold" feature to recall the book for your use.
If the material you want is not in the collections of the University of Washington, you can use the "Search Summit" feature to repeat your search in the combined holdings of over thirty cooperating libraries in Washington and Oregon. Use the "Request This Item" feature in Summit to have books in those library sent here to Foster for you to check out.
The Foster general stacks collection is located south of the main part of the Foster Business Library, through the two pass-throughs into the basement of Balmer. The arrangement is by call number, from A (at the east end, near the Copy Center) to Z (at the far west end).
A keyword search for Nonprofit, limited to the location Foster Business
Library, produced a list of over 180
records, including:
The subject heading for this topic is Nonprofit Organizations, with nearly 1,000
records in the UW Libraries, with over 170 records in the Foster Business Library, including many of the titles listed above, plus:
Another way to identify appropriate books in the Foster Business Library general stacks is to browse by call number. The applicable call
numbers for nonprofits include:
Foster Business Library Articles:
Two periodicals on nonprofits are available electronically in the UW Libraries:
Articles in academic journals, magazines, trade periodicals, and newspapers are one of the best sources for any kind of research. While the Foster Business Library offers a large periodicals print collection, comprising over 800 titles, articles are most easily accessed online, 24/7, in such fulltext article databases as EBSCO Business Source Premier, Factiva, LexisNexis Academic, Newsbank Infoweb, and ProQuest Databases. These article databases are available in the library or from off-campus, and provide access to over 10,000 periodicals and millions of articles.
Library access to most ProQuest databases will terminate at the end of spring quarter 2008, except for ProQuest NewsStand, ProQuest Dissertations and Theses, Historical New York Times, and the Historical Wall Street Journal. For more about this change, see UW Libraries Providing New Databases. After this change, comprehensive article searches should be performed in EBSCO Business Source Premier, Newsbank Infoweb, and ProQuest NewsStand. Also, after this change, links to the articles below will be broken.
This database--actually, a family of over two dozen databases--offers full text articles for over 10,000 publications, including scholarly journals, magazines, trade and industry periodicals, newspapers, and reports on a very wide range of topics. To find articles on specific topics, search by word or phrase by keying your search phrase into the search box--or search for your topic in the Topic Guide.
Your search terms will be highlighted in red in each article.
For example, a search in this database for the "Nonprofit Industry" produced a list of over 230 articles.
A subject search in this database for SUB(Nonprofit Organizations), on the other hand, produced a list of over 49,000 articles, including over 3,000 in scholarly journals, over 5,000 magazine articles, over 19,000 articles in trade and industry journals, and over 20,000 newspaper articles. A publication search for the term Nonprofit produced a list of two dozen periodicals with that word in the title (with only three, however, that offered full text).
Some examples include:
A topic search for Nonprofit Organizations produced the same 49,000 articles as well as every topic associated with this topic.
See also the Foster Business Library's Business & Economics FAQ, and, in particular, the section for General Business.
For research guides on a wide variety of industries, products, companies, issues and topics, see the Team Librarian Consultation archives.