Outsourcing Resources
Foster Business Library research guides are aimed at University of Washington students, faculty, and
staff, highlighting resources available to them; users not currently affiliated with the university
may be unable to access some of these resources.
Foster Databases >>>
Web Resources >>>
Reference Books >>>
Books >>>
Articles >>>
Help
Foster Business Library
Databases:
The Foster Business Library offers an extensive collection of over fifty databases on its homepage; see under Databases. For a complete list of Foster databases, see the List of All Business Databases. Access to these databases from off campus requires that you first go to the Off-Campus Access button, in the upper right of all library webpages. These resources may not be accessed from off campus except by those with a valid UW Net ID and password. For more information on Foster business databases, click Databases, A-Z. For information on which Foster business databases to use, see the Database Index.
For information on accessing Foster databases from off campus, see Database Access.
For guidelines on responsible database usage, see Database Usage.
EconLit:
Included under Business Databases on
the Foster Business Library homepage.
Produced by the American Economic Association, EconLit is the fundamental
research tool in economics. The database
provides bibliographic citations, with selected abstracts, to the
international literature on economics since 1969.
Econ Lit corresponds to the Journal of Economic Literature and the Index
of Economic Articles, covering journal
articles, books, and dissertations, as well as articles in collective
works, such as conference proceedings and
collected essay volumes.
A search for Outsourcing
retrieved over 330
references.
EIU Online:
One of the world's top sources for country intelligence, the EIU (Economist
Intelligence Unit) employs
500 analysts who research almost 200 nations. The Foster Business
Library provides access to their Country Profiles, Country Reports,
Country Commerce, and Country Finance in print editions and this
database provides online access to these publications, often in both
HTML and PDF formats.
An advanced search in Viewswires, for
Outsourcing, retrieved a list of over 1,100
articles.
Forrester
Research:
Under Business Databases on the Foster Business Library homepage.
Forrester Research provides access to reports and briefings on the effects of
technology
change on businesses, consumers, and society, and analyzes such technology
areas as new media, computing, software, networking, telecommunications, and the
Internet.
To use this database, UW
users must establish a personal account from a UW IP address.
(Available from off-campus.)
A search in this database for Outsourcing produced more than 580 reports.
Gale Virtual Reference Library:
On the Foster Business Library homepage, listed under List of All Business Databases.
The Gale Virtual Reference Library is a database of encyclopedias, almanacs, and specialized reference sources for multidisciplinary research; go to Business for three major business sources: the Encyclopedia of American Industries (4th ed., 2005), the Encyclopedia of Business and Finance (2001), and the Encyclopedia of Small Business (2nd ed., 2002).
See Outsourcing in the Business Environment, in the Encyclopedia of Business and Finance.
Gartner Research:
Under Business Databases on the Foster Business Library homepage. The Gartner Research database provides in-depth analysis and market intelligence for the information technology industry. It covers the full range of products and technologies associated with computer hardware, software, communications products, outsourcing, financial services, electronic business, and healthcare application software worldwide. Ten industries are covered in depth: banking, education, energy, government, healthcare providers, insurance, investment services, manufacturing, media, and retail. Access to this database, on campus or off, requires a valid UW Net ID.
A search for Outsourcing produced over
1,900 references.
InfoTech Trends:
On the Foster Business Library homepage, listed under Business Databases.
This database indexes statistics and forecasts published in computer and
telecommunications trade publications and offers this information in chart format (also available in
Microsoft Excel format).
A search in this database, in articles published since the beginning of 2002, for Outsourcing, produced more than 120 tables.
Investext:
On the Foster Business Library homepage, listed under Business Databases.
Investext contains indexing and the full text of company and
industry research reports prepared by leading Wall Street firms, as well
as regional and international brokerage and financial firms. All reports are in PDF
format.
(This database is available widely on campus and may be
accessed from home via the U.W. connectivity kit or via the Libraries'
proxy server.)
A keyword search for Outsourcing produced a list of over 700 reports.
JSTOR:
This database may be found under Electronic Journals, which may be found by going to Reference Tools in the left menu, under Find It.
JSTOR is a subject searchable index of 360 journals, with
full-text
backfiles of scholarly journals, some of which date back to the 1800's. Among the
collections of scholarly journals on this site are ones for Business and for
Economics, encompassing 72 journals.
A search, in Economics and Business, for Outsourcing, produced a list of more than 200 articles.
Public Affairs Information Service (PAIS):
This database, to be found under List of All Business Databases, at
the bottom of the list of business databases on the Foster Business
Library homepage, indexes articles from over 1,400 journals along with
thousands of government documents, statistical directories, reports,
pamphlets, conference proceedings and books in the broad field of public
and social policy issues, dating back to 1980.
A search for Outsourcing produced over
80 references.
Social Sciences Citation Index: Included in
Business Databases on
the Foster Business Library homepage.
This database "is a multidisciplinary index, with searchable author
abstracts, covering the
journal literature of the social sciences. It indexes more than 1,725
journals spanning 50
disciplines, as well as
covering individually selected, relevant items from over 3,300 of the
world's leading
scientific and technical
journals. It "provides access to current information and retrospective
data from 1956
forward."
A topic search for Outsourcing retrieved
over 630 documents.
Web Resources:
Unlike library databases, Web resources are available wherever you have web access; they do not require that you access them via the Off-Campus Access button, in the upper right of all library webpages. When using web resources, be sure to evaluate the credibility of these resources. For a subject index to web resources, see Business Resources on the Web on the Foster Business Library homepage.
AFL-CIO:
This federation of sixty American labor unions includes over 13 million
workers. See their Job Tracker, an
online database with information on more than 200,000 U.S. jobs that have
been outsourced, as well as information
about this database.
Booz Allen
Hamilton:
This worldwide consulting firm, with 13,000 employees, has been in
business since 1914, with technology one of its areas of focus. Unlike
some consulting companies, this one makes a fair amount of information
about its studies available in downloadable PDF reports.
A search of this site for Outsourcing
produced a list of more than 80 documents and articles, including
Business
Process Outsourcing and Offshoring (17 pages
in PDF format) and Profits or Perils? The Bottom Line on Outsourcing.
Business Updates:
According to Robert Berkman, "This portal collects timely headlines from online news sites and a selection of blogs via the use of RSS feed technology. Business Updates currently provides news headlines on more than a dozen popular, narrowly defined business topics as well as news about and from 15 large
corporations." Among the topics covered is Outsourcing.
National Bureau of
Economic Research:
"Founded in 1920, the National Bureau of Economic Research is a private,
nonprofit, nonpartisan research organization dedicated to promoting a
greater understanding of how the economy works. The NBER is committed to
undertaking and disseminating unbiased economic research among public
policymakers, business professionals, and the academic community." A site
search, for Outsourcing, produced a list of over 460
documents.
Organization for International Investment:
The Organization for International Investment is a "business association in Washington D.C. representing the U.S. subsidiaries of international companies. OFII's member companies range from medium-sized enterprises to some of the largest firms in the United States." See their list of several hundred Members, non-U.S. companies with significant operations or subsidiaries in the United States. These companies represent "insourcing," moving jobs into the U.S.; see their Insourcing Statistics.
OutsourcingCenter:
"OutsourcingCenter is the world's most prominent Internet portal for
authoritative information on methods for creating and sustaining a
competitive advantage..." "The Center hosts a wealth of free research,
case studies, database directories, market intelligence, and
ever-expanding content targeted to the information organizational
decision-makers seek on emerging trends and best practices in outsourcing
as a strategic business solution. The Center also hosts the monthly online
Outsourcing Journal and BPO Outsourcing Journal, with more than 40,000
subscribers." See their Topics area for Logistics, Supply Chain
Management,
Trade and
Transportation, and more.
Peterson Institute for International Economics:
"The Institute for International Economics is a private, nonprofit,
nonpartisan research institution devoted to the study of international
economic policy. Since 1981 the Institute has provided timely, objective
analysis and concrete solutions to key international economic problems."
See their Policy Brief entitled Globalization of IT Services and White Collar Jobs (13 pages, in PDF format) and their Outsourcing in the New Economy.
Public Citizen's Global Trade Watch:
This organization claims that it "promotes democracy by challenging corporate globalization, arguing that the current globalization model is neither a random inevitability nor 'free trade.'" See their Offshoring website.
U.S. Department of Labor:
This U.S. government agency has been notably silent about the impact of outsourcing on labor and employment in the United States. See their June 10, 2004 news release entitled Extended Mass Layoffs Associated With Domestic and Overseas Relocations, part of their Mass Layoff Statistics section at the Bureau of Labor Statistics. There are no listings in their A to Z Index of Topics for either outsourcing or offshoring.
U.S. Government Accountability Office:
Formerly the Government Accounting Office, this agency acts as an
"investigative arm of Congress or the congressional watchdog, is
independent and nonpartisan. It studies how the federal government spends
taxpayer dollars. GAO advises Congress and the heads of executive agencies
(such as Environmental Protection Agency, EPA, Department of Defense, DOD,
and Health and Human Services, HHS) about ways to make government more
effective and responsive." See their Reports and Testimony for International Trade:
Current Government Data Provide Limited Insight into Offshoring of
Services (80 PDF pages), dated 22 September 2004. See other documents on the topic of Offshoring.
WashTech:
The Washington Alliance of Technology Workers is an organization of
high-technology workers,
a local affiliate of the Communications Workers of America (part of the AFL-CIO union), active locally
on the issue of information technology outsourcing to India and other
countries. See their main webpage for frequent outsourcing-related reports. See their Reports for more on outsourcing as an IT worker issue.
Wikipedia:
This free online user-created and maintained encyclopedia can be a good starting point for an orientation to a topic. See their extensive entry for 0utsourcing.
Wipro
Technologies:
This company is the IT consulting subsidiary of one of India's largest
firms. Business process outsourcing is, with IT services, one of its
major activities. A search for Outsourcing at this site retrieved
over
700
references. See also their Business Process
Outsourcing section.
Zinnov:
This company is an "offshore research and consulting" firm, based in India, with U.S. offices in Texas and California. See their White Papers & Articles on Offshoring and Outsourcing.
Foster Business
Library Reference Collection:
The Foster Business Library Reference Collection consists of business handbooks, encyclopedias, dictionaries, and other quick reference tools. It is located behind the Reference Desk in Foster, arranged by call number. Reference materials cannot be checked out; they may only be used in the library.
Standard & Poor's industry surveys.
This three-volume set provides 30-page profiles on 52 industries
with a focus
on the current economic environment, trends, regulation and outlook for
each industry.
Major companies in each industry are profiled, with references to sources
of additional industry information.
Foster Business Library Reference, CALL NUMBER: HC106.6 .S74 (Quarterly)
See the industry profile for Computers: Commercial Services in volume one,
with references to Outsourcing.
The encyclopedia of management.
This
one-volume covers 348 management topics, arranged alphabetically from Activity-Based Costing
to
Zero-Sum Game.
Foster Business Library Reference, CALL NUMBER: HD30.15 E49 2000.
See Employment Agencies and Outsourcing, with references to Outsourcing on pages 262 and 268 (with other references on pages 521 to 522).
Business: the ultimate resource.
This 2,200-page single volume is "designed to offer a wide range of insights, information, and
practical guidance on every aspect of management" via 2.5 million words of text from 200
contributors, with 700 illustrations and 150 maps, in seven major sections including best
practice, a management library, business thinkers and management giants, a business
dictionary, a world business almanac, and a guide to business sources. See the World Business
Almanac section, on pages 1368 to 1767, for brief reports on 150 countries.
Foster Business Library Reference, CALL NUMBER: HD38.15 .B878 2002.
See Outsourcing, on pages 89 to 90, and Deciding Whether To
Outsource, on pages 490 to 491.
Encyclopedia of global industries.
Twelve-page descriptions of 125 global industries, with background and
development
information, current conditions, industry leaders and further reading.
Foster Business Library Reference, CALL NUMBER: HD2324 .E53 2003.
See the chapter on Data Processing Services, with references to Outsourcing on pages 154 to 156 and on page 159.
Encyclopedia of emerging industries.
Five page descriptions of over 100 new industries, with an industry snapshot,
organization and structure, background and development, pioneers in the field, current
conditions, industry leaders and references to further reading.
Foster Business Library Reference, CALL NUMBER: HD2324 .E528 2001.
See the chapter on IT Consulting, with references to Outsourcing on pages 375 to 381.
Plunkett's outsourcing & offshoring industry almanac.
This almanac describes itself as the "only complete guide to the outsourcing and offshoring industry," with profiles of the top 250 firms in this industry, and recent industry statistics and trends.
Foster Business Library Reference, CALL NUMBER: HD2365 .P5 2005.
Encyclopedia of business ethics and society.
This five-volume reference work includes 900 essays by scholars,
arranged alphabetically by topic, on all aspects of business ethics.
Foster Business Library Reference, CALL NUMBER: HF5387 .E53 2008.
See Outsourcing in volume four, on pages 1555 to 1558.
Directory of foreign firms operating in
the United States.
This one-volume annual publication lists 2,800 companies,
headquartered outside the U.S., from 79 countries, accounting for over
7,200 businesses owned by these foreign firms. Part
one lists the countries in alphabetic order, detailing the companies
operating in the U.S., with an alphabetical listing of companies in part
two; part three is a list of American affiliates, in
alphabetical order.
Foster Business Library Reference, CALL NUMBER: HG4057 .A155 (Annual)
A good source for listings of companies with significant operations in the U.S.
Directory of American firms operating in
foreign countries.
This three-volume annual publication lists 2,600 U.S. companies with
35,000 branches, subsidiaries, and affiliates in 190 countries. Volume
one lists the firms in alphabetic order, detailing the countries in which
the companies operate; following the companies section are listings by
country, with Albania to Egypt in volume one, El Salvador to Mauritius in
volume two, and Mexico to Zimbabwe in volume three.
Foster Business
Library Reference, CALL NUMBER: HG4538 .A1 .D5 (Annual)
The main source for listings of American companies with significant operations outside the U.S.
Foster Business Library
Books:
The Foster Business Library maintains a collection of over 70,000 books on
all business topics. To search for materials on all three campuses of the University of Washington, go to the UW Libraries Catalog, in the upper left corner of the Foster Business Library homepage. Search by keyword, title, author, series, etc.
To limit the results of your search just to materials in the Foster Business Library collection, use the Modify or Limit options at the top of the search results and change the library location to Foster Business Library.
Availablity is indicated on the right of each online catalog record. First, note in which collection, within Foster, your materials are in, since the library has ten different Collections, each in a different location and often with differing arrangements. "Available" indicates that the book should be on the shelves under that call number and available for you to check out. "Due" and a date indicates that the book is already checked out to someone and is due back on the date indicated; you can have the "Request/Place Hold" feature to recall the book for your use.
If the material you want is not in the collections of the University of Washington, you can use the "Search Summit" feature to repeat your search in the combined holdings of over thirty cooperating libraries in Washington and Oregon. Use the "Request This Item" feature in Summit to have books in those library sent here to Foster for you to check out.
The Foster general stacks collection is located south of the main part of the Foster Business Library, through the two pass-throughs into the basement of Balmer. The arrangement is by call number, from A (at the east end, near the Copy Center) to Z (at the far west end).
A search for the keyword Outsourcing produced a list of over 160 records in the UW Libraries, including over forty records
in the Foster Business Library. A subject search for Offshore Outsourcing produced over a dozen records.
The relevant subject term is Contracting Out, which covers a broader area than outsourcing outside the U.S. A subject search for Contracting Out produced a list of more than 740 records in the UW Libraries, including over fifty records in the Foster Business Library.
Examples of titles in Foster from these searches include:
Foster Business
Library Articles:
Articles in academic journals, magazines, trade periodicals, and newspapers are one of the best sources for any kind of research. While the
Foster Business Library offers a large periodicals print collection, comprising over 800 titles, articles are most easily accessed online,
24/7, in such fulltext article databases as EBSCO Business Source Premier, Factiva, LexisNexis Academic, Newsbank Infoweb, and ProQuest Databases. These article databases are available in the library or from off-campus, and provide access to over 10,000 periodicals and millions of articles.
Library access to most ProQuest databases will terminate at the end of
spring quarter 2008, except for ProQuest NewsStand, ProQuest Dissertations
and Theses, Historical New York Times, and the Historical Wall Street
Journal. For more about this change, see UW Libraries Providing New
Databases. After this change, comprehensive article searches should be performed in EBSCO
Business Source Premier, Newsbank Infoweb, and ProQuest
NewsStand. Also, after this change, links to the articles below will be broken.
This database--actually, a family of over two dozen databases--offers full
text articles for over 10,000 publications, including scholarly journals,
magazines, trade and industry periodicals, newspapers, and reports on a
very wide range of topics. To find articles on specific topics, search by
word or phrase by keying your search phrase into the search box--or search
for your topic in the Topic Guide.
Your search terms will be highlighted in red in each article.
For example, a basic search for Outsourcing, in multiple databases, produced a list of over 33,000 articles, including over 1,200 articles in scholarly journals, over 1,700 articles in magazines, over 21,000 articles in trade and industry publications, and over 6,700 newspaper articles. A similar search for Offshoring produced a list of over 450 articles, including two articles in scholarly journals, over 25 articles in magazines, over 170 articles in trade and industry publications, and over 180 newspaper articles.
Go to Topic Guide to do more targeted searches by company, subject, country, etc. A search for the subject SUB(Outsourcing) produced over
19,000 articles, with more than 380 related narrowing terms, including:
SUB(Outsourcing) and SUB(Advantages), over 1,100
articles;
SUB(Outsourcing) and SUB(Benefit Cost Analysis), just 25
articles;
SUB(Outsourcing) and SUB(Business Forecasts), over 120
articles;
SUB(Outsourcing) and SUB(Case Studies), over 890
articles;
SUB(Outsourcing) and SUB(Competitive Advantage), over 110
articles;
SUB(Outsourcing) and SUB(Corporate Profiles), over 400
articles;
SUB(Outsourcing) and SUB(Costs), over 1,400
articles;
SUB(Outsourcing) and SUB(Disadvantages), over 180
articles;
SUB(Outsourcing) and SUB(Economic Impact), 80
articles;
SUB(Outsourcing) and SUB(Employees), over 480
articles;
SUB(Outsourcing) and SUB(Forecasts), over 180
articles;
SUB(Outsourcing) and SUB(Statistical Data), over 320
articles;
SUB(Outsourcing) and SUB(Studies), over 180
articles;
SUB(Outsourcing) and SUB(Success), over 1,400
articles;
Examples of articles from these searches include:
- "Scuttling scut work" (Fast Company. Boston: Feb 2008, Iss. 122; pg. 42, 3 pgs)
- "China Makes, the World Takes" (The Atlantic Monthly. Boston: Jul/Aug 2007. Vol. 300, Iss. 1; pg. 48, 16 pgs)
- "Outsourcing life itself: what India teaches us" (Maclean's. Toronto: Jul 2, 2007. Vol. 120, Iss. 25; pg. 4, 1 pgs)
- "U.S. Shortage of Engineers-Myth or Reality?" (Design Firm Management & Administration Report. New York: Jul 2007. Vol. 7, Iss. 7; pg. 1, 5 pgs)
- "The outsourcerer; Face value" (The Economist. London: Jun 23, 2007. Vol. 383, Iss. 8534; pg. 84)
- "A Lesson That Thomas Could Teach" (New York Times. (Late Edition (East Coast)). New York, N.Y.: Jun 20, 2007. pg. C.1)
- "When to Outsource IT" (PC Magazine. New York: May 22, 2007. Vol. 26, Iss. 11; pg. 1)
- "Composites bring Boeing's buyers, engineers and parts suppliers closer" (Purchasing. Boston: Mar 1, 2007. Vol. 136, Iss. 3; pg. 32B9)
- "Offshoring IT Services" (Journal of Global Information Technology Management. Marietta: 2007. Vol. 10, Iss. 1; pg. 70, 2 pgs)
Help:
The Foster Business Library Reference Desk is staffed nearly all the hours that the
library is open. The
staff at the desk will be happy to help you find research tools on any business
subject. For e-mail
questions, direct your query to balib@u.washington.edu. For
assistance by telephone, dial (206) 543-8012 during library hours.
See also the Foster Business Library's Business & Economics FAQ, and, in particular, the section for International Business.
For research guides on a wide variety of industries,
products, companies, issues and topics, see the Team Librarian
Consultation archives.
13 May 2005; updated
29 May 2008.
Peter Stevens, Business Librarian, stevens@u.washington.edu