![]() |
|
|
![]() |
Foster Business Library
Databases:
A search for Private Equity in this database produced over 150 references.
See the Hoovers' factsheet for the Investment Firm industry, including information on many private equity companies, including, for example, public company Blackstone and private company Carlyle.
A keyword search for Private Equity produced over 190 reports.
A advanced abstracts search for Private Equity produced over 100 references.
An advanced title search in this citation database for Private Equity produced a list of over sixty references.
See the latest guide to the Top Private Equity Employers.
For instance, a search in this database for companies, in Washington state, involved in venture-related deals, produced over 600 companies.
See Washington state on page 1483.
See Washington on pages A262 to A263 and the Northwest on page 371.
The Foster Business Library offers an extensive collection of over fifty databases on its homepage; see under Databases. For a complete list of Foster databases, see the List of All Business Databases. Access to these databases from off campus requires that you first go to the Off-Campus Access button, in the upper right of all library webpages. These resources may not be accessed from off campus except by those with a valid UW Net ID and password. For more information on Foster business databases, click Databases, A-Z. For information on which Foster business databases to use, see the Database Index.
For information on accessing Foster databases from off campus, see Database Access.
For guidelines on responsible database usage, see Database Usage.
Unlike library databases, Web resources are available wherever
you have web access; they do not require that you access them via the Off-Campus Access button, in the upper right of all library webpages. When using web resources, be sure to evaluate the credibility of these resources. For a subject index to web resources, see Business Resources on the Web on the Foster Business Library homepage.
Foster
Business
Library Reference Collection:
The Foster Business Library Reference Collection consists of business handbooks, encyclopedias, dictionaries, and other quick reference tools. It is located behind the Reference Desk in Foster, arranged by call number. Reference materials cannot be checked out; they may only be used in the library.
This reference work, formerly Pratt's Guide to Venture Capital Sources, starts with over 120 pages of information about the venture capital industry, with essays on the background of private equity, how to raise it, sources for business development financing, and other topics.
The major part of this reference is a directory of U.S. and
non-U.S. private equity firms (arranged by state), with indexes by individual, industry and stage
preferences, and by company name.
Foster Business Library Reference, CALL NUMBER: HG64 .P73 2004.
This large paperback is a guide to major capital investment sources, including venture capital, both in the U.S. and internationally.
Foster Business Library Reference, CALL NUMBER: HG4057 .A1565 2003.
This handbook covers hedge funds, commodity and managed futures, private equity, credit derivatives, and corporate governance.
Foster Business Library Reference, CALL NUMBER: HG4530 .A57 2002.
(Also available online)
See section III, chapters 14 to 19, for Private Equity, on pages 259 to 405.
See executives associated with the University of Washington on pages 839 and 840, and firms located in the state of Washington on pages 942 and 943.
Foster Business Library Books:
To limit the results of your search just to materials in the Foster Business Library collection, use the Modify or Limit options at the top of the search results and change the library location to Foster Business Library. Availablity is indicated on the right of each online catalog record. First, note in which collection, within Foster, your materials are in, since the library has ten different Collections, each in a different location and often with differing arrangements. "Available" indicates that the book should be on the shelves under that call number and available for you to check out. "Due" and a date indicates that the book is already checked out to someone and is due back on the date indicated; you can have the "Request/Place Hold" feature to recall the book for your use.
If the material you want is not in the collections of the University of Washington, you can use the "Search Summit" feature to repeat your search in the combined holdings of over thirty cooperating libraries in Washington and Oregon. Use the "Request This Item" feature in Summit to have books in those library sent here to Foster for you to check out.
The Foster general stacks collection is located south of the main part of the Foster Business Library, through the two pass-throughs into the basement of Balmer. The arrangement is by call number, from A (at the east end, near the Copy Center) to Z (at the far west end).
A title search for Private Equity retrieved just nine records in the UW Libraries. A subject search for the same term produced just eight records in the UW Libraries. A keyword search for this term produced over thirty records.
Foster Business Library titles from these searches include:
Foster Business Library Periodicals:
The Foster Business Library Periodical Collection consists of over 800 magazines, newspapers and journals, arranged alphabetically by title, and located in the northwest corner of the ground floor of the library. Click here for a list of the titles in this collection.
Private equity-related titles in this collection include:
The UW Libraries also subscribe to electronic journals, some of them in the area of business and economics. Access to these electronic journals is limited to authenticated UW users. For a list of these journals, click here.
Private equity-related titles in this collection include (all of them UW Restricted):
Foster Business Library Articles:
All four of these databases are available from any computer on the campus network as well as from home (via the UW Connectivity Kit or the Libraries' Off-Campus Access link, using your UW Net ID and password). The easiest of these databases to use is ProQuest Databases. For more information about accessing Foster Business Library databases from off campus, see Database Access. For more information about business databases, see the research guide entitled Databases, A to Z.
This database--actually, a family of over two dozen databases--offers full text articles for over 10,000 publications, including scholarly journals, magazines, trade and industry periodicals, newspapers, and reports on a very wide range of topics. To find articles on specific topics, search by word or phrase by keying your search phrase into the search box--or search for your topic in the Topic Guide. Article full text is often available in several formats, including text, text plus graphics, and PDF. This database also offers a very useful subject structure, to narrow search results, as well as article citation information.
Your search terms will be highlighted in red in each article. For tips on searching this database, see About ProQuest Databases.
A subject search for
SUB(Private Equity) produced over two thousand articles, including over sixty articles in scholarly journals, over 160 magazine articles, over a thousand articles in trade and industry periodicals, and over six hundred newspaper articles.
Examples of articles, from the searches above, include:
For research guides on a wide variety of industries, products, companies, issues and topics, see the Team Librarian Consultation archives.
See also:
Other business libraries' guides: