Real Estate Resources
Foster Business Library research guides are aimed at University of Washington students, faculty, and
staff, highlighting resources available to them; users not currently affiliated with the university
may be unable to access some of these resources.
Foster Databases >>>
Web Resources >>>
Reference Books >>>
Books >>>
Annual Reports >>>
Periodicals >>>
Articles >>>
Help
Foster Business Library
Databases:
The Foster Business Library offers an extensive collection of over fifty databases on its homepage; see under Databases. For a complete list of Foster databases, see the List of All Business Databases. Access to these databases from off campus requires that you first go to the Off-Campus Access button, in the upper right of all library webpages. These resources may not be accessed from off campus except by those with a valid UW Net ID and password. For more information on Foster business databases, click Databases, A-Z. For information on which Foster business databases to use, see the Database Index.
For information on accessing Foster databases from off campus, see Database Access.
For guidelines on responsible database usage, see Database Usage.
Gale Virtual Reference Library:
On the Foster Business Library homepage, listed under List of All Business Databases.
The Gale Virtual Reference Library is a database of encyclopedias, almanacs, and specialized reference sources for multidisciplinary research; go to Business for three major business sources: the Encyclopedia of American Industries (4th ed., 2005), the Encyclopedia of Business and Finance (2001), and the Encyclopedia of Small Business (2nd ed., 2002).
See Real Estate Industry in the 2003 Dictionary of American History, and SIC 6531: Real Estate Agents and Managers in the 2005 Encyclopedia of American Industries.
Global Financial Data:
On the Foster Business Library homepage, under Other Business Databases. This database
provides access to over 20,000 series of long-term global financial and economic data, both current
and historic, gathered from original sources and historic archives, for more than 200 countries. Data
is in ASCII or Microsoft Excel format.
See this database's Real Estate Market Data for eighteen countries, including the United States.
Hoovers Online:
Under Business Databases on the Foster Business Library homepage. Hoovers Online offers information
about 14,000 public and private companies worldwide, with links to company homepages and annual reports,
charts, company capsule, competitors, divisions, earnings, financials, Fortune and Forbes rankings,
history, industry information, insider trading, mission statements, news links, press releases, officers,
patents, products, SEC filings, splits, subsidiaries, etc.
See the Industry Overview for Real Estate and
the long list of companies,
in the Hoovers Online database, in this industry. See also Hoovers' Web Resources
for the real estate industry, and their segmenting, news, and SIC codes for the Real Estate
Industry.
Lexis-Nexis Academic Universe:
To find company information, go to Business and then to Company
Financial where
you can obtain financial and other data by for companies.
Information is available from twenty different
sources (each of which must be searched separately).
S.E.C. filings, particularly company 10K annual reports, are a particularly
rich source of company as well as industry information. Use your browser's Find command (or Control-F) to
locate references to particular terms of interest in 10K filings such as trends,
strategy, competitors, industry, etc. (This database is available widely on campus and may be
accessed from home via the U.W. connectivity kit or via the Libraries'
proxy server.)
Real Estate is one of the industries about which news can be searched in Industry & Market News in the
Business section of this database.
Investext:
On the Foster Business Library homepage, listed under Business Databases.
Investext contains indexing and the full text of company and
industry research reports prepared by leading Wall Street firms, as well
as regional and international brokerage and financial firms. All reports are in PDF format.
(This database is available widely on campus and may be
accessed from home via the U.W. connectivity kit or via the Libraries'
proxy server.)
Real Estate is one of the major industries in this database, with over 28,000
reports included, with the most recent reports first.
MarketResearch.com Academic: This database contains
comprehensive full-text market research reports covering a broad range of markets, industries, and
companies from reputable market intelligence sources such as Packaged Facts, Icon Group, and others, for U.S. and global markets, covering over 2,000 industries and
products.
As an example, a search for the term Real Estate produced over 270 reports.
ReferenceUSA:
On the Foster Business Library homepage.
Directory
information for 12 million companies in the
U.S. Companies can be searched for by name, business activity, size and
location. With this database, it is possible to identify businesses by geographic area and type of business, as well
as by number of employees and gross annual sales.
(This database is available widely on campus and may be
accessed from home via the U.W. connectivity kit or via the Libraries'
proxy server.)
A Yellow Page Heading custom search for Real Estate retrieved a long list of applicable SIC codes in this
database. For real estate brokerages, for instance, see SIC code 6531 or NAICS code 531210.
Statistical Universe:
Under Business Databases on the Foster Business Library homepage.
Statistical Universe is an index to statistical data in commercial, international and U.S.
government publications.
This database has over 1,000 tables of statistical data on Real Estate; use the Subject List function to narrow
your search.
Web Resources:
Unlike library databases, Web resources are available wherever you have web access; they do not require that you access them via the Off-Campus Access button, in the upper right of all library webpages. When using web resources, be sure to evaluate the credibility of these resources. For a subject index to web resources, see Business Resources on the Web on the Foster Business Library homepage.
Definitions:
Real Estate and Mortgage Glossary & Definitions:
Short definitions of terms in real estate and mortgage transactions.
Resource Guides:
Real Estate (University of
Wisconsin, Madison):
This library research guide, from the Business Library at the University of
Wisconsin, Madison, provides information
on resources for this topic, including key
journals, articles, government sources, and websites.
Real Estate (University of
Pennsylvania):
This library research guide, from the Lippincott Library at the Wharton School at the
University of
Pennsylvania, also provides information
on resources for this topic, including general works, market profiles, cost/expense guides,
government reports, taxation and regulation, directories, periodicals, and websites.
Real Estate (Columbia University):
This library research guide, from the Watson Business & Economics Library at Columbia
University, also provides information
on resources for this topic, including directories, background information, handbooks, general
periodicals, indexes and abstracts, and internet resources.
Real Estate (University of California, Berkeley):
This library research guide, from the Long Business & Economics Library at the
University of California, Berkeley, also provides information
on resources for this topic, including directories and listings,
indexes, market surveys and analysis, statistical data sources, reference sources, and
California resources.
Real Estate (University of New Mexico):
This library research guide, from the Parish Memorial Business & Economics Library at the
University of New Mexico, provides information
on resources for this topic, including books, databases and indexes, articles, and websites.
Real Estate (Chicago Public Library):
This library research guide, from the Chicago Public Library, also provides information
on resources for this topic, for both commercial and residential real estate, on the internet.
Real Estate Web Links (New York University):
This library research guide, from the Brause Library, at the Real Estate Institute at New York
University, provides web links for this topic, for both commercial and residential real estate,
on the internet.
Real Estate Sites (American Real Estate Society):
This collection of real estate website links is provided by the American Real Estate
Society,
"a society of and for high-level practicing professionals and real estate professors at colleges and universities
throughout the United States and the world." The links include real estate associations, investment advisors,
commercial real estate information, and journals in the field.
Runstad Center for Real Estate Studies (University of Washington):
"The University of Washington's Runstad Center for Real Estate Studies is the focal point
for real estate activities
on
campus. This initiative consists of two major components: the academic program, and the research /service program.
The
Runstad Center is based in the Department of Urban Design and Planning in the College of Architecture and Urban
Planning. It is a self-sustaining, interdisciplinary operation drawing from, collaborating with, and serving, other
colleges and departments across the campus." See their Publications, Real Estate Links, and Research.
Center for Real Estate Research (Washington State University):
See their Real Estate Links section, including Market Data and Research Summaries.
Legal Information Institute (Cornell University):
The "Law About" section of this organization's homepage organizes the law
about a great many topics into an alphabetic sequence by topic, from
administrative law through workplace safety. See their Real Estate Transactions: an Overview.
Real Estate Links (BOMA):
This collection of real estate-related links has a local orientation, since it is provided by the Building Owners and
Managers Association of Seattle and King County, a "professional trade association whose several hundred members from
250
firms either own or manage commercial real estate or provide goods and services to the industry. Established in 1908,
BOMA is the voice of the office building and commercial real estate industry."
National Research Bureau:
This site bills itself as the "premier provider of retail real estate information in the United
States," supplying information about the shopping center industry for more than 45 years. Much of
the information on this site consists of products for sale, including its database of over 40,000
U.S. shopping centers. See Industry Info for their Shopping Center
Directions Newsletter, Top
Ten Shopping Centers By State, 2002
Shopping Center Census, and Monthly
Top Ten Owners of Shopping Centers.
Gary Price's List of Lists:
This site, developed by a librarian, is devoted to lists of the largest or top or leading companies
or individuals in a wide variety of industries, culled from an enormous number of magazines. See
the list for Real
Estate Rental & Leasing.
Trade Associations:
International Council of
Shopping Centers:
Trade and industry associations are often excellent sources for information about their
industries, with statistical data and research that is more detailed and comprehensive than in
governmental sources. This association represents 40,000 shopping centers in the United
States. Some information, the most valuable and useful, is restricted to members only.
See Scope USA, the
latest EconStats
for the U.S. (a two-page PDF report), and many other statistical reports.
See also the Location Reports where data such as
demographics, businesses, consumer spending, purchase potential, shopping centers, traffic
volumes, projections, etc. can be purchased.
National Association of Realtors:
"Working on behalf of America's property owners, the National Association of Realtors provides a facility for
professional development, research and exchange of information among its members and to the public and government for
the purpose of preserving the free enterprise system and the right to own, use, and transfer real property." See
their Research and Industry News webpages.
National Association of Real Estate Investment Trusts:
"NAREIT is the national trade association for real estate companies. Members are real estate investment trusts (REITs)
and other businesses that own, operate and finance income-producing real estate, as well as those firms and
individuals who advise, study and service these businesses." See their News
and Data Library sections; some
items are available to members only (where you see the padlock icon).
National Association of Industrial and Office Properties:
This organization "is a national association with 10,000+ members and an extensive network of 48 chapters that
represent the interests of
developers and owners of industrial, office and related commercial real estate throughout North America. NAIOP
provides communication, networking and business opportunities for all real estate related professionals; provides a
forum for continuing education; and promotes effective public policy, through its grassroots network, to create,
protect and enhance property values." See their Industry
Resources page for links to information about
fifteen topics in this field.
Real Estate Market:
Real Estate Section (New York Times): Free registration is required to access this section, with a collection of recent New York Times articles and news on this topic, often oriented towards the New York city area, with slide shows and a Real Estate Blog called The Walk-Through.
Regional Economic Conditions:
This extensive collection of reports and tables, updated eight times a year
or quarterly, depending on the data,
is provided by the Federal Deposit Insurance Corporation. This data "was originally
designed
to assist the FDIC in the examination
process by providing economic information at the state, MSA (Metropolitan Statistical Area), and
county levels." This site allows anyone with internet access to drill down to any state,
MSA, or county to view
standard graphs, tables, and maps depicting economic conditions and how they have changed over
time.
Economic data is arranged by geography. Start by choosing a state, such as Washington, from the
dropdown menu on the
left-hand side of the screen. Data includes industry activity, employment and income, real estate
activity, selected commodity prices, and more. For a quick state summary, see the Washington State Profile.
U.S. Market Data (Cushman & Wakefield):
This worldwide real estate firm offers useful brief quarterly reports on the U.S. office and industrial real
estate market,
for many municipalities. The reports are in Adobe Acrobat PDF format and usually just one page in length.
OfficeSpace.Com:
This company "researches, compiles, and publishes basic building information (size, year built,
number of floors, address and
leasing company) and detailed information regarding specific spaces available (floor, size, asking rate, and comments)
on all major buildings in a particular market without charge."
"CSO currently tracks approximately 15,000 buildings totaling over 865 million square feet
of office, retail and industrial space in the market areas of Cincinnati, Columbus, Denver, Minneapolis/St. Paul,
Portland and Seattle."
See their Office Space in Seattle and their
Property Search - Seattle Region.
Dupre + Scott Apartment Advisors:
This firm provides research and advises public and private clients on apartment
investment and housing market issues in the Puget Sound region. While much of their
research is limited to clients and subscribers, some of it is available to the public.
Commercial Brokers Association:
This Kirkland, Washington based organization is a "member owned cooperative which has
provided commercial multiple listing services to its members since 1977.
Currently CBA has over 600 member offices with more than 2,600 commercial real estate
agents, plus 65 associate member offices participating in our commercial multiple
listing organization which serves the Northwest." Their website is set up to enable
searches by area and other parameters for properties and businesses for sale or for
lease. See also their Links.
Northwest Real Estate:
This site, maintained by the Northwest Multiple Listing Service, provides assistance to homebuyers in the Pacific Northwest, with tips on buying and selling real estate, a roster of listing service members, local Real Estate News, and realtor associations. It also provides valuable local Marketing & Statistics data on area real estate listings and sales.
EconStats:
This site offers a gigantic amount of economic data, for the U.S. and the world, plus forecasts, stock markets and exchange rates, culled from a huge number of sources. The site includes a Real Estate section under its Data category in the upper left menu area, with REIT's in the U.S., property value by city, prices of farm land by state, mortgage fund flows, European property value by city, with the same for selected cities in Asia.
EconoMagic:
This free website offers economic data, with more than 200,000 time series for which data and custom charts can be produced; included are employment, GDP, stock market and exchange data, real estate, economic forecasts, and more.
Real Estate News:
Business Full Coverage (Yahoo! Daily News):
Yahoo! Daily News for business includes Business Full
Coverage webpages for four dozen important business topics of high
interest, including many industries. These full coverage reports collect articles, webpages, and links to relevant organizations, audio, video, and recent news stories. See their Business Full Coverage page for Real Estate and Housing.
Real Estate (Seattle Post-Intelligencer):
This Seattle Post-Intelligencer section covers real estate news in the Northwest, with a link to blogs on this topic. See also John Cook's Venture Blog.
Real Estate (Seattle Times):
This Seattle Times section also covers real estate news in the Northwest, with a link to Elizabeth Rhodes'Home Forum blog.
Retail Traffic: This webpage is the online site for the magazine Retail Traffic, formerly known as Shopping Center World. The site offers information, news and trends, demographics, consumer behavior, retail real estate development, and more, much of it readily available and free. See the
tabs for news, design, finance, research, retailing, and development for collections of articles on these topics, from sources beyond Retail Traffic itself.
Government:
Kirkland Prospector:
This innovative City of Kirkland, Washington site, from the Kirkland Economic Partnership, permits searching for commercial properties for lease or sale in the city, with information as well about area demographics and businesses.
HUD in Washington:
The U.S. Department of Housing and Urban Development has a regional office in Seattle, which offers information on
housing in the state and city. See their Consumer
Information, Community Information, and Resources.
Real Estate Program (Washington State Department of Licensing):
This is "the website for the Real Estate program of the Business and Professions
Division of
the Department of Licensing. The Real Estate program, in conjunction with the
Washington Real Estate Commission, provides public protection in the real estate
marketplace through the education and licensure of real estate brokers and
salespersons." See the requirements for Real Estate Salespersons
License.
Electronic Business:
A sampling of just a few of the many firms in this line of business, particularly in the Seattle or Washington state area:
BrokerDirectMLS.Com:
This site, operated by HomeWorks Real Estate, Inc., offers flat fee MLS listing services. See their Washington State office.
LuxuryRealEstate.Com:
This Seattle-based site specializes in the luxury market worldwide, with some free market reports. As an example of their listings, see their listing for the highest condo in Germany (not price, but altitude).
MLS4owners.Com:
This firm, operating out of University Place, Washington, is "a licensed brokerage in the State of Washington, a member of the Northwest Multiple Listing Service, RMLS, SAR, Seattle-King County Association of REALTORS and the National Association of REALTORS" and claims "$100 million in annual property sales since 2001, despite employing no real estate agents."
Progressive HomeSellers:
This Seattle-based firm claims it is "at the very forefront of the discount real estate revolution," with its realtors charged to "keep their expenses low by conducting all business remotely. In fact, chances are you will never meet your agent face to face; all communication is done by phone, fax and email." Instead of the traditional 4% to 6% commission fee, charged for most real estate sales, this firm charges a $1500 flat fee.
Redfin.Com:
"Redfin is a Seattle-based company that makes it easy for people to find, price and buy a home. The company has been the first to offer technology that combines aerial photography, property listings, and data about prior home sales. Our customer is the home-buying consumer, not the real estate agent. Our mission is to make the home-buying process more open and informed, less costly, and more fun."
Zillow.Com:
Launched in February 2006, "Zillow.com is an online real estate service dedicated to helping you get an edge in real estate by providing you with valuable tools and information." The company claims it offers "free, unbiased valuations on more than 40 million homes across the United States, with data on an additional 20 million homes. This includes most homes in the country, not just those for sale. All consumers need to do is enter an address."
Foster Business
Library Reference Collection:
The Foster Business Library Reference Collection consists of business handbooks, encyclopedias, dictionaries, and other quick reference tools. It is located behind the Reference Desk in Foster, arranged by call number. Reference materials cannot be checked out; they may only be used in the library.
Gale encyclopedia of U.S. economic history.
This two-volume encyclopedia covers major events in American economic history in chronological order; there is an
index
at the end of volume one to companies, issues and individuals.
Foster Business Library Reference, CALL NUMBER: HC102 .G35 1999.
See First Major U.S. Shopping Center Opens, in volume I, page 380, and First Two-Story, Fully Enclosed
Shopping Mall Opens, in volume III, page 1,070.
Standard & Poor's industry surveys.
This three-volume set provides 30-page profiles on 52 industries
with a focus
on the current economic environment, trends, regulation and outlook for
each industry.
Major companies in each industry are profiled, with references to sources
of additional industry information.
Foster Business Library Reference, CALL NUMBER: HC106.6 .S74
See Real Estate Investment Trusts in the monthly reports section.
Puget Sound Business Journal book of lists.
This annual publication is an invaluable source of information about public and
private companies in the
Puget Sound area, culled from lists that appeared weekly in the
Puget Sound Business Journal. Besides
lists of the largest and fastest growing public and private companies in the area, this reference work
includes commercial real estate deals, banks and securities firms, contractors, education and employment,
health care, title companies, marketing firms, nonprofits, professional services, executive compensation,
real estate, retailers, software developers, biotech and travel and recreation. There is an index to
companies and topics in the back of this volume.
Foster Business Library Reference, CALL NUMBER: HC108 .S77 .P83 (Annual)
See the sections on Commercial Real Estate and Residential Real
Estate.
Plunkett's real estate & construction industry almanac.
This almanac offers information about major industry trends, industry statistics, industry information, major companies in the industry, with indexes by state, country, region, etc. Also included are one-page profiles of companies in the industry, with directory information, growth plans and special features, contacts, brief financials, brief salary and benefits data, and women officer-director and advancement information.
Foster Business Library Reference, CALL NUMBER: HD251 .P85 2005.
The encyclopedia of real estate terms.
This large one-volume dictionary covers terms used in American and English practice, with terms from the civil law, Scot, and French law.
Foster Business Library Reference, CALL NUMBER: HD1365 .A23 2000.
The complete real estate encyclopedia.
This paperback encyclopedia covers everything in real estate "from AAA tenant to zoning variance," including online sources for forms, formulas, and more.
Foster Business Library Reference, CALL NUMBER: HD1365 .E83 2007.
The glossary of real estate management terms.
This small paperback offers definitions of over 2,000 words and phrases used by real estate managers.
Foster Business Library Reference, CALL NUMBER: HD1365 .G58 2003.
The illustrated real estate dictionary.
This older but illustrated dictionary provides a glossary of real estate terms, with
amortization and remaining balance tables, as well as an explanation of real estate
abbreviations.
Foster Business Library Reference, CALL NUMBER: HD1365 .T46 1988.
Barrons real estate handbook.
This thick handbook provides information for both home buyers and home sellers, real estate investment trusts, how to read appraisal reports, federal real estate legislation, real estate career information, a real estate glossary, real estate reference tables, and a short index.
Foster Business Library Reference, CALL NUMBER: HD1375 .H349 2001.
Real estate appraisal terminology.
Even older is this dictionary of terms used in real estate appraisal, issued by the American
Institute of Real Estate Appraisers, including the measure of hay in stacks, the capacity of
round silos, roof types, depreciation methods and linear regression.
Foster Business Library Reference, CALL NUMBER: HD1387 .B69 1981.
Dictionary of real estate appraisal.
Published by the Appraisal Institute, this new 448-page dictionary covers real property valuation,
the real
estate business, and real property.
Foster Business Library Reference, CALL NUMBER: HD1387 .D435 2002.
The uniform residential appraisal report handbook.
This slim paperback, issued by the National Association of Real Estate Appraisers,
provides an explanation of the uniform residential appraisal report form and how to complete
it.
Foster Business Library Reference, CALL NUMBER: HD1387 .U54 1988.
Encyclopedia of global industries.
Twelve-page descriptions of 125 global industries, with background and
development
information, current conditions, industry leaders and further reading.
Foster Business Library Reference, CALL NUMBER: HD2324 .E53 2003.
See Real Estate on pages 369 to 377.
International directory of company histories.
This
set of more than seventy volumes covers over 5,000 company histories worldwide, with each
history running just two to four pages; check the company index in the latest volume
to locate a specific company history or update as well as any other
references to that company in other company histories. Companies with a minimum of $25 million in annual sales
are candidates for inclusion in this set. There is also
an index by industry.
Foster Business Library Reference, CALL NUMBER: HD2721 .I57
See the Industry Index in the latest volume in the set for Real Estate, with company history information for many companies in this industry.
Market share reporter.
Annual two-volume compilation of market share data on companies, products and
services, arranged by SIC code and with indexes by product, company and
topic.
Foster Business Library Reference, CALL NUMBER: HF5410 .M35 (annual)
See the Real Estate chapter.
The lifestyle market analyst.
Market analysis information including demographic, geographic and lifestyle
information to identify who customers are, where they live, how they spend their
time and money and how to reach them.
Foster Business Library Reference, CALL NUMBER: HF5415.33 .U6 .L54 (annual)
See the lifestyle profile for Real Estate Investments.
Dollars & cents of shopping centers.
This somewhat outdated publication from the Urban Land Institute is a study of receipts and expenses for nearly 1,000
shopping
center operations in the United States and Canada, published every other year, though this edition is the newest in
the Foster collection.
It offers numerous tables but no index. The Architecture/Urban
Planning Library has later editions of this title than does the Foster Business Library.
Foster Business Library Reference, CALL NUMBER: HF5430.3 .U75a 1997.
Shopping center information is aggregated by groupings; there is no information for
individual shopping centers (except to association members).
Top Washington 2003.
Like the Puget Sound Business Journal book of lists, this annual publication lists the top
public and private companies in the state, the best to work for, highest paid CEOs, top
venture capital firms, thrifts, industrial parks, law firms, software companies, golf courses,
etc., but for the entire state, not just Puget Sound.
Foster Business Library Reference, CALL NUMBER: HG38.25 .U6 .W36 2002.
See the chapter on Real Estate on pages 38 to 45.
The St. James encyclopedia of mortgage & real estate
finance.
This A to Z dictionary provides almost 600 pages of explanations (and some illustrations) of
terms in real estate finance.
Foster Business Library Reference, CALL NUMBER: HG2040 .N48 1991.
Mergent industry review.
Statistical data on 3,000 companies in 137 industries, with ranking, key
financial information, operating data and ratios.
Foster Business Library Reference, CALL NUMBER: HG4961 .M68
This source covers both Real Estate (with 44 companies) and Real Estate Investment Trusts (with 137
companies and trusts).
See also, in the Reference Serials collection:
Central Puget
Sound real estate research report.
This semiannual publication, from the Central Puget Sound Real Estate
Research Committee, is
primarily oriented towards real estate sales and trends in King, Pierce, and Snohomish
Counties in Washington state, covering single family housing, income property, and building
activity.
Foster Business Library Reference Serials, CALL NUMBER: HD 266 .W22 .K58.
Foster Business Library
Books:
The Foster Business Library maintains a collection of over 70,000 books on
all business topics. To search for materials on all three campuses of the University of Washington, go to the UW Libraries Catalog, in the upper left corner of the Foster Business Library homepage. Search by keyword, title, author, series, etc.
To limit the results of your search just to materials in the Foster Business Library collection, use the Modify or Limit options at the top of the search results and change the library location to Foster Business Library.
Availablity is indicated on the right of each online catalog record. First, note in which collection, within Foster, your materials are in, since the library has ten different Collections, each in a different location and often with differing arrangements. "Available" indicates that the book should be on the shelves under that call number and available for you to check out. "Due" and a date indicates that the book is already checked out to someone and is due back on the date indicated; you can have the "Request/Place Hold" feature to recall the book for your use.
If the material you want is not in the collections of the University of Washington, you can use the "Search Summit" feature to repeat your search in the combined holdings of over thirty cooperating libraries in Washington and Oregon. Use the "Request This Item" feature in Summit to have books in those library sent here to Foster for you to check out.
The Foster general stacks collection is located south of the main part of the Foster Business Library, through the two pass-throughs into the basement of Balmer. The arrangement is by call number, from A (at the east end, near the Copy Center) to Z (at the far west end).
A keyword search for Real Estate retrieved over 2,000
records, systemwide; limiting this search to the Foster Business Library produced a list
of just over 300
records.
Relevant subject terms include:
Examples of related titles in the Foster Business Library include:
Foster Business
Library Corporate Annual Reports:
The Foster Business Library maintains a collection of several thousand
annual reports for hundreds of U.S. and foreign companies. These reports are
filed in lateral filing cabinets near the Foster Reference desk under the sign Corporate Annual Reports. Annual reports for companies in an industry can be a valuable source of information about the industry itself. For a list of all the companies in the collection, see the library's Corporate Annual Reports Collection.
For an index to corporate annual reports in the collection by industry sector, see the Annual Reports Industry Sector Index. For an index to companies in the collection with headquarters outside the U.S., see Corporate Annual Reports Headquarters Index.
The Corporate Annual Reports collection includes few companies in the Real
Estate sector.
Foster Business
Library Periodicals:
The Foster Business Library maintains a collection of about 800
periodicals, arranged alphabetically by title at the west end of the
library. A list of the titles in this collection is available on the
Foster homepage under
Periodical Lists; click on
Periodicals
in the Foster Business
Library.
The Foster Business Library Periodical Collection consists of over 800 magazines, newspapers
and journals, arranged
alphabetically by title, and located in the northwest corner of the ground floor of the
library. Click here for a list of the
titles in this collection.
Real estate-related titles in the Foster Business Library collection include:
The UW Libraries also subscribe to electronic journals, some of them in the area of business
and economics. Access
to these electronic journals is limited to authenticated UW users. For a list
of these journals, click here.
Real estate-related titles in this collection include (all of them UW Restricted):
Foster Business
Library Articles:
Articles in academic journals, magazines, trade periodicals, and newspapers are one of the best sources for any kind of research. While the
Foster Business Library offers a large periodicals print collection, comprising over 800 titles, articles are most easily accessed online,
24/7, in such fulltext article databases as EBSCO Business Source Premier, Factiva, LexisNexis Academic, Newsbank Infoweb, and ProQuest Databases. These article databases are available in the library or from off-campus, and provide access to over 10,000 periodicals and millions of articles.
Library access to most ProQuest databases will terminate at the end of
spring quarter 2008, except for ProQuest NewsStand, ProQuest Dissertations
and Theses, Historical New York Times, and the Historical Wall Street
Journal. For more about this change, see UW Libraries Providing New
Databases. After this change, comprehensive article searches should be performed in EBSCO
Business Source Premier, Newsbank Infoweb, and ProQuest
NewsStand. Also, after this change, links to the articles below will be broken.
This database--actually, a family of over two dozen databases--offers full
text articles for over 10,000 publications, including scholarly journals,
magazines, trade and industry periodicals, newspapers, and reports on a
very wide range of topics. To find articles on specific topics, search by
word or phrase by keying your search phrase into the search box--or search
for your topic in the Topic Guide.
Your search terms will be highlighted in red in each article.
This database includes about two dozen periodicals on real estate, for which full text is available.
For example, a search in this database, in all databases (which includes major Washington
state newspapers), for Real Estate, produced a list of over 10,000 articles.
Going to Topic Guide and searching for the subject Real Estate also retrieved a list
of over 10,000 articles. There are also subject searches available for other real
estate subjects such as Real Estate Agents & Brokers, Real Estate Appraisal, Real Estate
Closings, Real Estate Companies, Real Estate Developments, Real Estate Financing, Real Estate
Sales, and Real Estate Syndication.
In addition, there are related subject terms:
Mortgage Backed Securities, Mortgage Banks, Mortgage Bonds, Mortgage Brokers, Mortgage
Companies, Mortgage Insurance, Mortgage Rates, Mortgage Servicing, and Mortgages.
All of these subjects (and many others) can be combined to target article searches, as for example
SUB(Commercial Real Estate) and SUB(Mortgage Backed Securities) which produced a list of over 2,000 articles. A search for SUB(Commercial Real
Estate) and SUB(Mortgage Backed Securities) and Seattle produced a list of just four
articles.
As examples of articles on real estate, see:
- "The Last Stand of the 6-Percenters?" (New York Times. (Late Edition (East Coast)). New York, N.Y.: Sep 3, 2006. pg. 3.1)
- "Buy a house without leaving home: independent-minded buyers find success, save money online" (Seattle Post - Intelligencer. Seattle, Wash.: Jun 24, 2006. pg. A.1)
- "2 Web Sites Push Further Into Services Real Estate Agents Offer " (New York Times. (Late Edition (East Coast)). New York, N.Y.: Feb 8, 2006. pg. C.3)
- "A new player in real estate market" (Seattle Post - Intelligencer. Seattle, Wash.: Dec 15, 2005. pg. A.)
- "The 6 percent solution" (New York Times. (Late Edition (East Coast)). New York, N.Y.: Sep 17, 2005. pg. C.1)
- "Homeowners' Repeat-Sale Gains, Dual Agency and Repeated Use of the Same Agent " (The Journal of Real Estate Research. Sacramento: Jul-Sep 2005. Vol. 27, Iss. 3; pg. 267, 26 pgs)
- "Should You Cash Out While You Can? " (Money. New York: Aug 2005. Vol. 34, Iss. 8; pg. 51, 3 pgs)
- "Buy low, sell high…pay taxes" (Newsweek. New York: Jun 20, 2005. Vol. 145, Iss. 25; pg. 70, 1 pgs)
- "America's house party" (Time. New York: Jun 13, 2005. Vol. 165, Iss. 24; pg. 16, 8 pgs)
- "The Cost of All Those McMansions" (Business Week. New York: Jun 6, 2005. , Iss. 3936; pg. 44)
Help:
The Foster Business Library Reference Desk is staffed nearly all the hours that the library is open. The
staff at the desk will be happy to help you find research tools on any business subject. For e-mail
questions, direct your query to balib@u.washington.edu. For
assistance by telephone, dial (206) 543-8012 during library hours.
See also the Foster Business Library's Business & Economics FAQ, and, in particular, the section for General Business.
For research guides on a wide variety of industries,
products, companies, issues and topics, see the Team Librarian Consultation archives.
Many of the UW Libraries' books and other materials on real estate are in the Architecture--Urban
Planning Library on the Seattle campus. See also the Runstad Center for
Real Estate Studies, at UW Seattle, "the focal point for real estate activities on campus."
3 January 2003; updated
26 February 2008.
Peter Stevens, Business Librarian, stevens@u.washington.edu