Foster Business Library


Top Forty Business Journals



This list is designed in the form of a virtual reading room for the Foster Business Library's top academic business journals, with links to online full text for each title. This list of the top forty scholarly business journals represents titles identified by the Financial Times and by Business Week in their separate ratings of business school faculty productivity; these two sources have somewhat different lists of titles. For the combined lists of these forty-three journals, see Top Forty Business Academic Journals (by title) or Top Forty Business Academic Journals (by discipline).

On this list, click on the cover image for a link to UW Libraries' holdings for hard copy issues, as well as for more extensive online full text information. Date ranges indicate availability of full-text online. Abstracts alone may be available for early years, in some cases. Some titles have multiple year ranges available from different sources. Off-campus access to full text articles from this webpage is limited to library users with a valid UW Net ID.

For each of these titles, it is possible to set up email alerts for articles on specific subject areas, usually by setting up a personal account with the provider. Click on "TOC alert available" under the journal listing to set up alerts. For more information on email alert services, see Alert Services Available through the UW Libraries.

See also the Foster Business Library's Current Periodicals Subscriptions and Complete Periodicals Collection.


A - E      H - J      M - S




Academy of Management Journal
Academy of Management Perspectives
Academy of Management Review
Accounting, Organization & Society
Accounting Review
Academy of Management Journal
1963-current
EBSCO Business Source Complete
TOC alert available

Academy of Management Perspectives/Executive
1987-current
EBSCO Business Source Complete
TOC alert available

Academy of Management Review
1976-current
EBSCO Business Source Complete
TOC alert available

Accounting, Organizations
and Society

1995-current
ScienceDirect
TOC alert available
Accounting Review
2001-current
Expanded Academic ASAP
1922-one year ago
EBSCO Business Source Complete
TOC alert available
Administrative Science Quarterly
American Economic Review
California Management Review
Econometrica
Entrepreneurship theory & practice
Administrative Science Quarterly
1956-current
EBSCO Business Source Complete
TOC alert available
American Economic Review
2002-current
IngentaConnect
1911-2004
JSTOR
TOC alert available
California Management Review
1958-current
EBSCO Business Source Complete
TOC alert available
Econometrica
Last calendar year-current
Blackwell-Synergy
1933-Nov 2004
JSTOR
1994-current
Proquest
TOC alert available
Entrepreneurship Theory & Practice
2002-current
Blackwell-Synergy
TOC alert available
Harvard Business Review
Human Resource Management
Information Systems Research
International Journal of Human Resource Management
Journal of Accounting and Economics
Harvard Business Review
1922-current
EBSCO Business Source Complete
TOC alert available
Human Resource Management
1997-current
Wiley Interscience
Win 1986-Fall 1998
ProQuest
TOC alert available

Information Systems
Research

2001-current
InFORMS PubOnLine
1990-one year ago
EBSCO Business Source Complete
TOC alert available

International Journal of Human Resource Management
1997-current
IngentaConnect
1990-one year ago
EBSCO Business Source Complete
TOC alert available

Journal of Accounting & Economics
1995-current
ScienceDirect
TOC alert available
Journal of Accounting Research
Journal of Applied Psychology
Journal of Business Ethics
Journal of Business Logistics
Journal of Business Venturing

Journal of Accounting Research
Jun 2001-current
Blackwell-Synergy
Spring 1963-2001
JSTOR
TOC alert available

Journal of Applied Psychology
1985-current
Journals@Ovid
Feb 2003-one year ago
EBSCO Business Source Complete
TOC alert available
Journal of Business Ethics
1997-current
Springer-Verlag LINK
1987-current
1986-1987
1982-1985
ProQuest Databases
TOC alert available
Journal of Business Logistics
Mar 1978-current
EBSCO Business Source Complete
1982-1985
ProQuest Databases
TOC alert available

Journal of Business Venturing
1995-current
ScienceDirect
TOC alert available

 Journal of Consumer Research
 Journal of Finance
 Journal of Financial and Quantitative Analysis
 Journal of International Business Studies

Journal of Consumer Research
Jun 1997-current
University of Chicago
Aug 1946-2003
JSTOR
TOC alert available

Journal of Finance
Feb 1998-current
Blackwell-Synergy
Jun 1974-2001
JSTOR
TOC alert available

Journal of Financial & Quantitative Analysis
Mar 1966-current
EBSCO Business Source Complete
Mar 1966-2002
JSTOR
TOC alert available

Journal of Financial Economics
1995-current
ScienceDirect
TOC alert available

Journal of International Business Studies
Mar 1970-current
Palgrave Macmillan
TOC alert available
 Journal of Marketing
 Journal of Marketing Research
 Journal of Operations Management
 Journal of Political Economy
Journal of the American Statistical Association

Journal of Marketing
Jul 1936-current
EBSCO Business Source Complete
TOC alert available

Journal of Marketing Research
Feb 1964-current
EBSCO Business Source Complete
TOC alert available

Journal of Operations Management
1995-current
ScienceDirect
TOC alert available

Journal of Political Economy
Apr 1997-current
University of Chicago Press
Feb 1965-one year ago
EBSCO Business Source Complete
Dec 1892-2001
JSTOR
TOC alert available

Journal of the American Statistical Association
2001-current
IngentaConnect
Mar 1992-2005
ProQuest
Mar 1922-2001
JSTOR
TOC alert available
Management International Review
Management Science
Marketing Science
MIS Quarterly
MIT Sloan Management Review

Management International Review
1987-current
ProQuest
TOC alert available

Management Science
2000-current
Atypon Link
Oct 1954-2002
JSTOR
TOC alert available

Marketing Science
2000-current
Atypon Link
Win 1982-Fall 2002
JSTOR
TOC alert available

MIS Quarterly
03/01/1977 to current
EBSCO Business Source Complete
TOC alert available

MIT Sloan Management Review
1977-current
MIT Sloan Management Review
1988-current
ProQuest
TOC alert available
Operations Research
 Organization Science
Organizational Behavior & Human Decision Processes
Personnel Psychology
Production & Operations Management

Operations Research
2000-current
Atypon Link
Feb 1956-2002
JSTOR
TOC alert available

Organization Science
2000-current
Atypon Link
1990-2002
JSTOR
TOC alert available

Organizational Behavior & Human Decision Processes
1995-current
ScienceDirect
TOC alert available

Personnel Psychology
Mar 1997-current
Blackwell-Synergy
Mar 1965-one year ago
EBSCO Business Source Complete
TOC alert available

Production & Operations Management
1992-current
Atypon Link
Mar 1999-one year ago
ProQuest
TOC alert available

Rand Journal of Economics
Review of Financial Studies
 Strategic Management Journal

Rand Journal of Economics
Apr 1987-current
ProQuest
Spr 1984-Win 2004
JSTOR
TOC alert available

Review of Financial Studies
1988-current
Oxford Journals Online
1988-2003
JSTOR
TOC alert available

Strategic Management Journal
1997-current
Wiley Interscience
1980-2001
JSTOR
TOC alert available

 



Based on a webpage designed by Maureen Nolan, for her Friday Harbor Library Electronic Journal Collection, included in the American Library Association's Association of College and Research Libraries' Effective Practices Clearinghouse.
31 January 2007; updated 7 May 2008.   Peter Stevens, Business Librarian, stevens@u.washington.edu