Foster Business Library Databases:
The Foster Business Library offers an extensive collection of over fifty databases on its homepage; see under Databases. For a complete list of Foster databases, see the List of All Business Databases. Access to these databases from off campus requires that you first go to the Off-Campus Access button, in the upper right of all library webpages. These resources may not be accessed from off campus except by those with a valid UW Net ID and password. For more information on Foster business databases, click Databases, A-Z. For information on which Foster business databases to use, see the Database Index.
For information on accessing Foster databases from off campus, see Database Access.
For guidelines on responsible database usage, see Database Usage.
A search for Retailing produced over 140 industry profiles, for various types of retailing, in
various countries.
A search in this database for Retailing produced more than 400 references.
A search in Viewswires for Retailing produced over 1,800 articles.
See the Retailing Industry, in the 2003 Dictionary of American History; Retailing, in the 2005 Encyclopedia of Clothing and Fashion; SIC 5999: Miscellaneous Retail Stores, in the 2005 Encyclopedia of American Industries; Retailers, in the 2001 Encyclopedia of Business and Finance.
See the Hoovers Online factsheet for the Retail industry.
An industry search for Retailing produced a list of over 29,000
reports, with the most recent reports listed at the top. This database also includes all public companies in the retail industry.
Searching in business journals for Retailing produced more than 200 articles, searching for this term in full text; searching for this term in abstracts cut the list to 36 articles.
A search in this database for Retail retrieved over 1,000
Tables, as did a search for Retail Trade. A search for Department Stores produced over 300 tables.
As an example, a search for the term Retail produced over 7,000
reports.
An advanced search for companies in one of the many SIC codes for retail, code 5942 (for retail book stores), produced a list of 16 public companies, in the United States, Germany, Japan, Canada, Malaysia, Brazil, Indonesia, the United Kingdom, and Australia.
A search for Retailing produced a list of almost 700 citations.
A search in this database for Retailing produced over 250 references.
There are numerous SIC codes for Retail as there are NAICS codes for Retail Trade. With this database, however, you can identify all of the firms in, for instance, SIC code 5921-03, Wines—Retail, in the city of Seattle: 23 companies.
A search in this database for Consumer Behavior produced more than 1,000 references.
Web resources:
Unlike library databases, Web resources are available wherever you have web access; they do not require that you access them via the Off-Campus Access button, in the upper right of all library webpages. When using web resources, be sure to evaluate the credibility of these resources. For a subject index to web resources, see Business Resources on the Web on the Foster Business Library homepage.
Foster Business Library Reference Collection:
The Foster Business Library Reference Collection consists of business handbooks, encyclopedias, dictionaries, and other quick reference tools. It is located behind the Reference Desk in Foster, arranged by call number. Reference materials cannot be checked out; they may only be used in the library.
See section eleven on Retail Distribution, starting on page 423, as well as subsequent chapters on consumer market sizes, consumer prices, household characteristics, etc.
See section 22 on Retail Trade.
See section eleven on Retail Distribution, starting on page 273, as well as subsequent chapters on consumer market sizes, consumer prices, household characteristics, etc.
See the industry surveys, in volume three, for Retailing--General and Retailing—-Specialty. There are separate industry surveys for industries such as Autos and Auto Parts and Supermarkets and Drugstores.
See Retailing on pages 1882 to 1884, and Managing Retailer Marketing Programs, on pages 740 to 741.
See the cumulative index in the latest volume to locate business plans by type of business.
See the chapters on Retail and Wholesale Trade, starting on page 904, with chapters on automobile dealers, catalog and mail-order services, grocery stores, passenger car rental, restaurants, retail department stores, and wholesalers.
See section nine for Retail Sales by Store Group, and section 12 for Consumer Buying Power.
See Retailing for market share information on various types of retailing.
See Retailing on pages 444 to 461.
See Major Trends Affecting the Retail Industry on pages 7 to 16 and Retail Industry Statistics on pages 18 to 32.
This set includes campaigns for many companies in the Retail Industry.
See Retail Industry on pages 616 to 625.
See Retail—Department Stores, Retail—Discount & Variety Stores, Retail—Drug Stores, and Retail—Specialty.
Foster Business Library
Books:
The Foster Business Library maintains a collection of over 70,000 books on
all business topics. To search for materials on all three campuses of the University of Washington, go to the UW Libraries Catalog, in the upper left corner of the Foster Business Library homepage. Search by keyword, title, author, series, etc.
To limit the results of your search just to materials in the Foster Business Library collection, use the Modify or Limit options at the top of the search results and change the library location to Foster Business Library.
Availablity is indicated on the right of each online catalog record. First, note in which collection, within Foster, your materials are in, since the library has ten different Collections, each in a different location and often with differing arrangements. "Available" indicates that the book should be on the shelves under that call number and available for you to check out. "Due" and a date indicates that the book is already checked out to someone and is due back on the date indicated; you can have the "Request/Place Hold" feature to recall the book for your use.
If the material you want is not in the collections of the University of Washington, you can use the "Search Summit" feature to repeat your search in the combined holdings of over thirty cooperating libraries in Washington and Oregon. Use the "Request This Item" feature in Summit to have books in those library sent here to Foster for you to check out.
The Foster general stacks collection is located south of the main part of the Foster Business Library, through the two pass-throughs into the basement of Balmer. The arrangement is by call number, from A (at the east end, near the Copy Center) to Z (at the far west end).
A keyword search for the term Retailing retrieved over 360 records in the UW Libraries, including more than 100 records in the Foster Business Library.
Relevant subjects suggested by these searches include (with results limited to the Foster Business Library's
collections):
Examples of Foster Business Library titles from the searches above include:
Foster Business
Library Corporate Annual Reports:
The Foster Business Library maintains a collection of several thousand
annual reports for hundreds of U.S. and foreign companies. These reports are
filed in lateral filing cabinets near the Foster Reference desk under the sign Corporate Annual Reports. Annual reports for companies in an industry can be a valuable source of information about the industry itself. For a list of all the companies in the collection, see the library's Corporate Annual Reports Collection.
For an index to corporate annual reports in the collection by industry sector, see the Annual Reports Industry Sector Index. For an index to companies in the collection with headquarters outside the U.S., see Corporate Annual Reports Headquarters Index.
The collection includes annual reports for many companies in the Retail Industry.
Foster Business Library Periodicals:
Relevant titles include:
In addition to
hard copy periodicals, the Foster
Business Library also offers links to many Electronic Journals in business
and economics. Most of these electronic journals are UW Restricted and may be limited in some cases to
the last six months or to shorter time spans.
Click here for a list of the UW Libraries' electronic journals in marketing.
Articles in academic journals, magazines, trade periodicals, and newspapers are one of the best sources for any kind of research. While the
Foster Business Library offers a large periodicals print collection, comprising over 800 titles, articles are most easily accessed online,
24/7, in such fulltext article databases as EBSCO Business Source Premier, Factiva, LexisNexis Academic, Newsbank Infoweb, and ProQuest Databases. These article databases are available in the library or from off-campus, and provide access to over 10,000 periodicals and millions of articles.
Library access to most ProQuest databases will terminate at the end of
spring quarter 2008, except for ProQuest NewsStand, ProQuest Dissertations
and Theses, Historical New York Times, and the Historical Wall Street
Journal. For more about this change, see UW Libraries Providing New
Databases. After this change, comprehensive article searches should be performed in EBSCO
Business Source Premier, Newsbank Infoweb, and ProQuest
NewsStand. Also, after this change, links to the articles below will be broken.
This database--actually, a family of over two dozen databases--offers full
text articles for over 10,000 publications, including scholarly journals,
magazines, trade and industry periodicals, newspapers, and reports on a
very wide range of topics. To find articles on specific topics, search by
word or phrase by keying your search phrase into the search box--or search
for your topic in the Topic Guide.
Your search terms will be highlighted in red in each article.
A basic search for Retailing produced a list of more than 189,000 articles, including over 6,000 articles in scholarly journals, over 7,800 articles in magazines, over 68,000 articles in industry and trade publications, and over 85,000 newspaper articles.
A subject search for SUB(Retailing) produced a list of over 56,000 articles,
with links to over 150 associated narrowing terms. Examples include:
A subject search for SUB(Retailing Industry) produced over 83,000 articles; for SUB(Retailing Industry) and SUB(Trends), over 3,500 articles; for SUB(Retailing Industry) and SUB(Regulation), over 690 articles.
Examples of articles from these searches include:
Help:
The Foster Business Library Reference Desk is staffed most of the hours that the library is open.
The staff at the desk will be happy to help you find research tools on any business subject.
For more in-depth assistance, see the Team
Librarian Consultation Archives.
For e-mail questions, direct your query to balib@u.washington.edu.
For assistance by telephone, dial (206) 543-8012 during library hours.
See also the Foster Business Library's Business & Economics FAQ, and, in particular, the section for Marketing and Advertising.
For research guides on a wide variety of industries,
products, companies, issues and topics, see the Team Librarian Consultation
archives.
Demographic trends and forecasts, economic indicators, labor force, trade,
energy, environment, consumer expenditures and market size, and retailing
information for the Americas, Asia, Africa and Oceania; companion volume
to European marketing data and statistics.
Foster Business Library Reference, CALL NUMBER: HA42 .I56 2003.
Information about many industries as well as demographic and marketing information;
check index for references to tables. The sources for each table are
often a valuable source of additional information. See index page 954 for Consumer Expenditure tables.
Foster Business Library Reference, CALL NUMBER: HA202 .U56 (Annual)
Demographic trends and forecasts, economic indicators, labor force, trade,
energy, environment, consumer expenditures and market size, and retailing
information for European countries.
Foster Business Library Reference, CALL NUMBER: HA1107 .E87 2003.
This three-volume set provides 30-page profiles on 52 industries
with a focus
on the current economic environment, trends, regulation and outlook for
each industry.
Major companies in each industry are profiled, with references to sources
of additional industry information.
Foster Business Library Reference, CALL NUMBER: HC106.6 .S74 (Quarterly)
This 2,200-page single volume is "designed to offer a wide range of insights, information, and
practical guidance on every aspect of management" via 2.5 million words of text from 200
contributors, with 700 illustrations and 150 maps, in seven major sections including best
practice, a management library, business thinkers and management giants, a business
dictionary, a world business almanac, and a guide to business sources.
Foster Business Library Reference, CALL NUMBER: HD38.15 .B878 2002.
This multi-volume set is a compilation of over 200 actual business plans developed by entrepreneurs seeking small
business funding.
Foster Business Library Reference, CALL NUMBER: HD62.7 B865.
Twelve-page descriptions of 125 global industries, with background and
development
information, current conditions, industry leaders and further reading.
Foster Business Library Reference, CALL NUMBER: HD2324 .E53 2003.
This large paperback provides in-depth demographics, for people, races, households, and businesses, for U.S. states, cities, and counties, with consumer and buying power data. Also included is retail sales and employment data.
Foster Business Library Reference, CALL NUMBER: HF3007 .S96 (Annual)
(See also Demographics USA: zip edition, call number HF5415.3 .D463)
Annual two-volume compilation of market share data on companies, products and
services, arranged by SIC code and with indexes by product, company and
topic.
Foster Business Library Reference, CALL NUMBER: HF5410 .M35 (Annual)
This volume includes twelve-page essays on about five dozen topics, under such headings as marketing management, the
marketing mix, marketing in practice, and special topics.
Foster Business Library Reference, CALL NUMBER: HF5412 .I32 1999.
Market analysis information including demographic, geographic and lifestyle
information to identify who customers are, where they live, how they spend their
time and money and how to reach them.
Foster Business Library Reference, CALL NUMBER: HF5415.33 .U6 .L54 (Annual)
This volume collects marketing research data from over 1,000 market research reports on a very wide
variety of topics, including advertising and marketing, age groups, demographics, apparel, spending,
entertainment, food and beverages, health, internet, sports, etc.
Foster Business Library Reference, CALL NUMBER: HF5415.33 .U6 .R47 2006.
This small paperback is subtitled "hundreds of tools, techniques, and scripts for handling any situation," covering the basics of customer service and how to deal with sixty specific customer situations.
Foster Business Library Reference, CALL NUMBER: HF5415.5 .B23 2005.
This almanac offers information about major industry trends, industry statistics, industry information, major companies in the industry, with indexes by state, country, region, etc. The major part of each almanac provides one-page profiles of companies in the industry, with directory information, growth plans and special features, contacts, brief financials, brief salary and benefits data, and women officer-director and advancement information.
Foster Business Library Reference, CALL NUMBER: HF5428 .P558 2003.
Comprehensive survey of retail sales activity in each county and city in the state, with historical sales trends in over 300 individual market areas, based on activity in 65,000 retail outlets.
Foster Business Library Reference, CALL NUMBER: HF5429.4 .W2 .W37 2007.
This massive two-volume illustrated reference work profiles nearly
1,000 notable advertising and marketing campaigns of the twentieth and twenty-first centuries,
covering television and print campaigns. Arrangement is by company name and, if the company name is
that of a person, by their first name. For each campaign, there is an overview, historical content,
target market, competition, market strategy and outcome, as well as suggestions for further reading.
Foster Business Library Reference, CALL NUMBER: HF5837 .E53 2000-2007.
This annual volume provides 5,000 rankings of companies, products, services and business activities, with data culled from thousands of sources.
Foster Business Library Reference, CALL NUMBER: HG4050 .B88 2004.
Statistical data on 3,000 companies in 137 industries, with rankings, key
financial information, operating data and ratios, etc.
Foster Business Library Reference, CALL NUMBER: HG4961 .M68.
The Foster Business Library maintains a collection of 800 periodicals, arranged
alphabetically by title, at the west end of the library. A list of the titles in this collection is
available on the Foster homepage under Research; look for Periodical
Lists and click on
Periodicals in the Foster Business Library.
Foster Business Library Articles:
ProQuest Databases: