Sarbanes-Oxley Act of 2002
Sarbanes-Oxley Act of 2002
Foster Business Library research guides are aimed at University of Washington students, faculty, and staff, highlighting resources available to them; users not currently affiliated with the university may be unable to access some of these resources.
Foster Databases >>> Web Resources >>> Reference Books >>> Books >>> Articles >>> Help
Foster Business Library Databases:
The Foster Business Library offers an extensive collection of over fifty databases on its homepage; see under Databases. For a complete list of Foster databases, see the List of All Business Databases. Access to these databases from off campus requires that you first go to the Off-Campus Access button, in the upper right of all library webpages. These resources may not be accessed from off campus except by those with a valid UW Net ID and password. For more information on Foster business databases, click Databases, A-Z. For information on which Foster business databases to use, see the Database Index. For information on accessing Foster databases from off campus, see Database Access. For guidelines on responsible database usage, see Database Usage.
For instance, a search for Sarbanes-Oxley, in the publication Accountant's Liability, produced eleven references; in the Journal of Accountancy, over 190 references; in John Wiley accounting publications, over 35 references.
A search for Sarbanes-Oxley in the publication Accountant's Liability, produced over 25 references.
A search for Sarbanes-Oxley produced over seventy references.
Web Resources:
Unlike library databases, Web resources are available wherever you have web access; they do not require that you access them via the Off-Campus Access button, in the upper right of all library webpages. When using web resources, be sure to evaluate the credibility of these resources. For a subject index to web resources, see Business Resources on the Web on the Foster Business Library homepage.
Foster Business Library Reference Collection:
The Foster Business Library Reference Collection consists of business handbooks, encyclopedias, dictionaries, and other quick reference tools. It is located behind the Reference Desk in Foster, arranged by call number. Reference materials cannot be checked out; they may only be used in the library.
This five-volume reference work includes 900 essays by scholars, arranged alphabetically by topic, on all aspects of business ethics.
Foster Business Library Reference, CALL NUMBER: HF5387 .E53 2008.
See Sarbanes-Oxley Act in volume four, on pages 1851 to 1855.
This major reference work covers the stock market bubble and Enron, full disclosure and accountants, corporate governance, full disclosure, and recovery and reform.
Foster Business Library Reference, CALL NUMBER: HV6769 .M37 2006.
This CCH paperback is aimed at board members and management of their personal dutires and responsibilities as imposed by federal securities laws, and the acts that spell out those responsibilities. See topical index page 409 for over two dozen references to the Sarbanes-Oxley Act of 2002.
Foster Business Library Reference, CALL NUMBER: KF1423 .Z9 .R47 2002/2003.
This CCH paperback provides an overview of the act and of the Accounting Oversight Board, chapters on auditor independence, corporate governance, issuer and management disclosure, conflicts of interest, S.E.C. resources and authority, studies and reports, penalties, and the full text of the act itself, along with a topical index.
Foster Business Library Reference, CALL NUMBER: KF1423 .Z9 .S27 2002.
This CCH paperback includes a number of chapters about the Sarbanes-Oxley Act, particularly in part one, chapter two, and in part two, on the CEO/CFO certification aspects of the act.
Foster Business Library Reference, CALL NUMBER: KF1446 .A37 .H36 2004.
This CCH paperback "contains a detailed examination and discussion of the blizzard of SEC rulemaking that filled in the statutory framework, as well as SEC and judicial interpretations of specific provisions of the Act."
Foster Business Library Reference, CALL NUMBER: KF1446 .H36 2003.
Foster Business Library Books:
The Foster Business Library maintains a collection of over 70,000 books on all business topics. To search for materials on all three campuses of the University of Washington, go to the UW Libraries Catalog, in the upper left corner of the Foster Business Library homepage. Search by keyword, title, author, series, etc.
To limit the results of your search just to materials in the Foster Business Library collection, use the Modify or Limit options at the top of the search results and change the library location to Foster Business Library. Availablity is indicated on the right of each online catalog record. First, note in which collection, within Foster, your materials are in, since the library has ten different Collections, each in a different location and often with differing arrangements. "Available" indicates that the book should be on the shelves under that call number and available for you to check out. "Due" and a date indicates that the book is already checked out to someone and is due back on the date indicated; you can have the "Request/Place Hold" feature to recall the book for your use.
If the material you want is not in the collections of the University of Washington, you can use the "Search Summit" feature to repeat your search in the combined holdings of over thirty cooperating libraries in Washington and Oregon. Use the "Request This Item" feature in Summit to have books in those library sent here to Foster for you to check out.
The Foster general stacks collection is located south of the main part of the Foster Business Library, through the two pass-throughs into the basement of Balmer. The arrangement is by call number, from A (at the east end, near the Copy Center) to Z (at the far west end).
A keyword search for Sarbanes-Oxley produced twenty records in the UW Libraries; limiting this search to the location Foster Business Library, produced a list of over a dozen records, including:
- Beyond Sarbanes-Oxley compliance: effective enterprise risk management (2005)
- Sarbanes-Oxley and the board of directors: techniques and best practices for corporate governance (2005)
- Sarbanes-Oxley for nonprofits (2005)
- Sarbanes-Oxley and the new internal auditing rules (2004)
- What is Sarbanes-Oxley? (2004)
- How to comply with Sarbanes-Oxley section 404 (2004)
- SEC corporate disclosure reforms : CEO/CFO certification (2002)
The subject heading for this topic is United States. Sarbanes-Oxley Act of 2002, with over a dozen records in the UW Libraries, including eight records in the Foster Business Library.
Foster Business Library Articles:
Articles in academic journals, magazines, trade periodicals, and newspapers are one of the best sources for any kind of research. While the Foster Business Library offers a large periodicals print collection, comprising over 800 titles, articles are most easily accessed online, 24/7, in such fulltext article databases as EBSCO Business Source Premier, Factiva, LexisNexis Academic, Newsbank Infoweb, and ProQuest Databases. These article databases are available in the library or from off-campus, and provide access to over 10,000 periodicals and millions of articles.
Library access to most ProQuest databases will terminate at the end of spring quarter 2008, except for ProQuest NewsStand, ProQuest Dissertations and Theses, Historical New York Times, and the Historical Wall Street Journal. For more about this change, see UW Libraries Providing New Databases. After this change, comprehensive article searches should be performed in EBSCO Business Source Premier, Newsbank Infoweb, and ProQuest NewsStand. Also, after this change, links to the articles below will be broken.
ProQuest Databases:
This database--actually, a family of over two dozen databases--offers full text articles for over 10,000 publications, including scholarly journals, magazines, trade and industry periodicals, newspapers, and reports on a very wide range of topics. To find articles on specific topics, search by word or phrase by keying your search phrase into the search box--or search for your topic in the Topic Guide.
Your search terms will be highlighted in red in each article.
For example, a search in this database for the "Sarbanes-Oxley Act of 2002" produced a list of over 1,400 articles, including over 140 in scholarly journals, forty magazine articles, over 600 articles in trade and industry journals, and over 150 newspaper articles. A publication search for the term Nonprofit produced a list of two dozen periodicals with that word in the title (with only three, however, that offered full text).
Some examples include:
- "How Sarbox is making small businesses sweat" (Financial Times. London (UK): Jun 11, 2007. pg. 22)
- "Architect of corporate reform law says it has had impact" (Newhouse News Service. Washington: Apr 13, 2007. pg. 1)
- "Trusting Bosses Not to Cheat" (New York Times. (Late Edition (East Coast)). New York, N.Y.: Jun 23, 2006. pg. C.1)
- "Sarboxed-in?" (The New Yorker, Dec 12, 2005. Vol. 81, Iss. 39; pg. 46)
- "More Talk, More Action" (Journal of Accountancy, May 2005. Vol. 199, Iss. 5; pg. 67, 5 pgs)
- "Sarbanes-Oxley: the Insurance Company Perspective" (Risk Management, Apr 2005. Vol. 52, Iss. 4; pg. 14, 5 pgs)
- "Beyond GAAP: Issues Involving the Sarbanes-Oxley Certification Language" (The CPA Journal, Apr 2005. Vol. 75, Iss. 4; pg. 18, 2 pgs)
- "Integrating Sarbanes-Oxley, Leadership, and Ethics" (The CPA Journal, Apr 2005. Vol. 75, Iss. 4; pg. 13, 3 pgs)
- "The Limitations of the Sarbanes-Oxley Act" (USA Today, Mar 2005. Vol. 133, Iss. 2718; pg. 66, 3 pgs)
- "Business as usual: talk of the town" (The New Yorker, Aug 4, 2003. Vol. 79, Iss. 21; pg. 021)
Help
The Foster Business Library Reference Desk is staffed nearly all of the hours that the library is open. The staff at the desk will be happy to help you find business research tools and resources, exploit business databases to the fullest or advise on research strategies. For e-mail questions, direct your query to balib@u.washington.edu. For assistance by telephone, dial (206) 543-8012 during library hours.
- Team Consultation Course/Program Index
- Team Consultation Industry Index
- Team Consultation Quarter Index
- Team Consultation Title Index
- Team Consultation and Research Guide Index (Accounting Resources) (Corporate Governance)
- In print:
Sarbanes-Oxley Act of 2002, Pub. L. No. 107-204, 116 Stat. 745 (codified as amended in scattered sections of 15 U.S.C.). - Online:
When an act is available in a traditional print sources, you should cite to that instead of the Internet source. Only cite Internet sources if it will "substantially improve access." In that case, follow the above citation with ", available at [url]."
See also the Foster Business Library's Business & Economics FAQ, and, in particular, the section for Taxation and Accounting.
For research guides on a wide variety of industries, products, companies, issues and topics, see the Team Librarian Consultation archives.
Citing the Sarbanes-Oxley Act:
-
The APA Style Guide requires legal materials to be cited in Bluebook format. Some examples are included in Appendix D of the Publication Manual of the American Psychological Association, but to ensure that your citation is accurate, consult The Bluebook: A Uniform System of Citation (18th ed., 2005).
If you need to cite the Sarbanes-Oxley Act as it was passed (not previous draft versions), here is the format:
If you need to cite the Act in another form, for example a previous draft, allow enough time to navigate the complex rules of the Bluebook.
Peter Stevens, Business Librarian


