Foster Business Library research guides are aimed at University of Washington students, faculty, and
staff, highlighting resources available to them; users not currently affiliated with the university
may be unable to access some of these resources.
Foster Business
Library Databases:
The Foster Business Library offers an extensive collection of over fifty databases on its homepage; see under Databases. For a complete list of Foster databases, see the List of All Business Databases. Access to these databases from off campus requires that you first go to the Off-Campus Access button, in the upper right of all library webpages. These resources may not be accessed from off campus except by those with a valid UW Net ID and password. For more information on Foster business databases, click Databases, A-Z. For information on which Foster business databases to use, see the Database Index.
For information on accessing Foster databases from off campus, see Database Access.
For guidelines on responsible database usage, see Database Usage.
A search in this database for dissertations with Strategic Planning in their title produced
a list of more than
480 theses
and dissertations.
A search for Strategic Planning produced a list of 31 documents.
Web
Resources:
Unlike library databases, Web resources are available wherever you have web access; they do not require that you access them via the Off-Campus Access button, in the upper right of all library webpages. When using web resources, be sure to evaluate the credibility of these resources. For a subject index to web resources, see Business Resources on the Web on the Foster Business Library homepage.
Foster Business
Library
Reference Collection:
The Foster Business Library Reference Collection consists of business handbooks, encyclopedias, dictionaries, and other quick reference tools. It is located behind the Reference Desk in Foster, arranged by call number. Reference materials cannot be checked out; they may only be used in the library.
See Strategic Planning on pages 252 to 256.
See Strategic Planning Failures on pages 875 to 880 and Strategic Planning Tools on pages 880 to 884.
See the Strategic Planning Checklist on pages 484 to 485, and the review of the book, the Rise and Fall of Strategic Planning, on page 949.
See Strategic Planning in volume four, on pages 2012 to 2014.
Foster Business
Library Books:
The Foster Business Library maintains a collection of over 70,000 books on
all business topics. To search for materials on all three campuses of the University of Washington, go to the UW Libraries Catalog, in the upper left corner of the Foster Business Library homepage. Search by keyword, title, author, series, etc.
To limit the results of your search just to materials in the Foster Business Library collection, use the Modify or Limit options at the top of the search results and change the library location to Foster Business Library.
Availablity is indicated on the right of each online catalog record. First, note in which collection, within Foster, your materials are in, since the library has ten different Collections, each in a different location and often with differing arrangements. "Available" indicates that the book should be on the shelves under that call number and available for you to check out. "Due" and a date indicates that the book is already checked out to someone and is due back on the date indicated; you can have the "Request/Place Hold" feature to recall the book for your use.
If the material you want is not in the collections of the University of Washington, you can use the "Search Summit" feature to repeat your search in the combined holdings of over thirty cooperating libraries in Washington and Oregon. Use the "Request This Item" feature in Summit to have books in those library sent here to Foster for you to check out.
The Foster general stacks collection is located south of the main part of the Foster Business Library, through the two pass-throughs into the basement of Balmer. The arrangement is by call number, from A (at the east end, near the Copy Center) to Z (at the far west end).
A subject search for Strategic Planning produced a list of more than 900
records in the UW Libraries, with over 470
records in the Foster Business Library, including:
A keyword search for Strategic Planning, limited to the Foster Business Library, retrieved over 400 records, searching for this term not only as a subject but in titles, subtitles, and notes.
Other relevant subjects include:
Foster Business Library Articles:
Articles in academic journals, magazines, trade periodicals, and newspapers are one of the best sources for any kind of research. While the
Foster Business Library offers a large periodicals print collection, comprising over 800 titles, articles are most easily accessed online,
24/7, in such fulltext article databases as EBSCO Business Source Premier, Factiva, LexisNexis Academic, Newsbank Infoweb, and ProQuest Databases. These article databases are available in the library or from off-campus, and provide access to over 10,000 periodicals and millions of articles.
Library access to most ProQuest databases will terminate at the end of
spring quarter 2008, except for ProQuest NewsStand, ProQuest Dissertations
and Theses, Historical New York Times, and the Historical Wall Street
Journal. For more about this change, see UW Libraries Providing New
Databases. After this change, comprehensive article searches should be performed in EBSCO
Business Source Premier, Newsbank Infoweb, and ProQuest
NewsStand. Also, after this change, links to the articles below will be broken.
This database--actually, a family of over two dozen databases--offers full
text articles for over 10,000 publications, including scholarly journals,
magazines, trade and industry periodicals, newspapers, and reports on a
very wide range of topics. To find articles on specific topics, search by
word or phrase by keying your search phrase into the search box--or search
for your topic in the Topic Guide.
Your search terms will be highlighted in red in each article.
A search, in all databases, for SUB(Strategic planning), produced over 86,000
articles, including almost 11,000 in scholarly journals. This subject, to be found in the
Topic Guide, can also be narrowed with over 500 related terms, from Accounting Firms
to Year 2000. A sampling of such terms includes:
Examples of articles from these searches include:
Help:
See also the Foster Business Library's Business & Economics FAQ, and, in particular, the section for Management.
For research guides on a wide variety of industries,
products, companies, issues and topics, see the Team Librarian Consultation
archives.
This one-volume offers 500 essays (500 to 1,000 words in length) from 180 authorities on
current knowledge and thinking
about the key concepts of
organizational behavior.
Foster Business Library Reference, CALL NUMBER: HD30.15 .B455 1995 v. 6
This
one-volume covers 348 management topics, arranged alphabetically from Activity-Based Costing
to
Zero-Sum Game.
Foster Business Library Reference, CALL NUMBER: HD30.15 E49 2000.
This paperback provides definitions of terms used in strategic management.
Foster Business Library Reference, CALL NUMBER: HD30.28 .K454 2004.
This 2,200-page single volume is "designed to offer a wide range of insights, information, and
practical guidance on every aspect of management" via 2.5 million words of text from 200
contributors, with 700 illustrations and 150 maps, in seven major sections including best
practice, a management library, business thinkers and management giants, a business
dictionary, a world business almanac, and a guide to business sources.
Foster Business Library Reference, CALL NUMBER: HD38.15 .B878 2002.
This five-volume reference work includes 900 essays by scholars,
arranged alphabetically by topic, on all aspects of business ethics.
Foster Business Library Reference, CALL NUMBER: HF5387 .E53 2008.
ProQuest Databases:
SUB(Strategic Planning) and SUB(Benchmarks), over 240 articles;
SUB(Strategic Planning) and SUB(Best Practice), over 60 articles;
SUB(Strategic Planning) and SUB(Building Construction), over 80 articles;
SUB(Strategic Planning) and SUB(Case Studies), over 9,500 articles; and
SUB(Strategic Planning) and SUB(Effectiveness), over 400 articles.
The Foster Business Library Reference Desk is staffed nearly all the hours that the library is
open. The staff at the desk will be happy to help you find research tools on business law (or
any other subject). For e-mail questions, direct your query to balib@u.washington.edu. For assistance by telephone,
dial (206) 543-8012 during library hours.