Foster Business Library
Databases:
The Foster Business Library offers an extensive collection of over fifty databases on its homepage; see under Databases. For a complete list of Foster databases, see the List of All Business Databases. Access to these databases from off campus requires that you first go to the Off-Campus Access button, in the upper right of all library webpages. These resources may not be accessed from off campus except by those with a valid UW Net ID and password. For more information on Foster business databases, click Databases, A-Z. For information on which Foster business databases to use, see the Database Index.
For information on accessing Foster databases from off campus, see Database Access.
For guidelines on responsible database usage, see Database Usage.
See Sporting and Athletic Goods, in the Encyclopedia of American Industries, and Toys and Sporting Goods, in the Encyclopedia of Global Industries.
See the brief industry information for Sporting Goods & Equipment, including Web Resources and Selected Companies.
A search for Sporting Goods produced over three hundred and sixty reports.
This database is a rich source for sports participation data; see Other Sports for their section on Footwear.
See Industry Surveys for Apparel & Footwear and Retailing, Specialty.
Unlike library databases, Web resources are available wherever you have web access; they do not require that you access them via the Off-Campus Access button, in the upper right of all library webpages. When using web resources, be sure to evaluate the credibility of these resources. For a subject index to web resources, see Business Resources on the Web on the Foster Business Library homepage.
Foster
Business
Library Reference Collection:
The Foster Business Library Reference Collection consists of business handbooks, encyclopedias, dictionaries, and other quick reference tools. It is located behind the Reference Desk in Foster, arranged by call number. Reference materials cannot be checked out; they may only be used in the library.
See pages seven to nineteen, for Major Trends in the Sports Industry and pages nineteen to thirty, for Sports Industry Statistics.
See tables 1019 (on page 652), 1020 (on page 653), 1223 (on page 764), 1224 (also on page 764), and 1279 (on page 804), for Sporting Goods.
See volume two, pages 553 to 558, for Sporting Goods and page 676 for Sporting Goods Dealers.
See the lifestyle demographics for various sports activities under Sports, Fitness, and Health, including bicycling, golf, physical fitness/exercise, running/jogging, snow skiing, tennis, and walking.
See index page 408 for references to Sporting Goods, Sports Apparel, Sports Footwear, and Sports Participation.
Foster Business Library
Books:
The Foster Business Library maintains a collection of over 70,000 books on
all business topics. To search for materials on all three campuses of the University of Washington, go to the UW Libraries Catalog, in the upper left corner of the Foster Business Library homepage. Search by keyword, title, author, series, etc.
To limit the results of your search just to materials in the Foster Business Library collection, use the Modify or Limit options at the top of the search results and change the library location to Foster Business Library.
Availablity is indicated on the right of each online catalog record. First, note in which collection, within Foster, your materials are in, since the library has ten different Collections, each in a different location and often with differing arrangements. "Available" indicates that the book should be on the shelves under that call number and available for you to check out. "Due" and a date indicates that the book is already checked out to someone and is due back on the date indicated; you can have the "Request/Place Hold" feature to recall the book for your use.
If the material you want is not in the collections of the University of Washington, you can use the "Search Summit" feature to repeat your search in the combined holdings of over thirty cooperating libraries in Washington and Oregon. Use the "Request This Item" feature in Summit to have books in those library sent here to Foster for you to check out.
The Foster general stacks collection is located south of the main part of the Foster Business Library, through the two pass-throughs into the basement of Balmer. The arrangement is by call number, from A (at the east end, near the Copy Center) to Z (at the far west end).
A keyword search for Sporting Goods Industry, limited to the Foster Business Library, produced just nine records.
A search for the subject Sporting Goods Industry retrieved over sixty records in the UW Libraries, including
ten records in the Foster Business Libraries' collections.
A similar search for the Sports Clothes Industry produced just four records in the UW Libraries, including just one record in the Foster Business Library (from 1997).
On the more general topic of sports, see these Foster Business Library titles:
For up-to-date news of the sporting goods industry, see:
Foster Business Library Articles:
Articles in academic journals, magazines, trade periodicals, and newspapers are one of the best sources for any kind of research. While the
Foster Business Library offers a large periodicals print collection, comprising over 800 titles, articles are most easily accessed online,
24/7, in such fulltext article databases as EBSCO Business Source Premier, Factiva, LexisNexis Academic, Newsbank Infoweb, and ProQuest Databases. These article databases are available in the library or from off-campus, and provide access to over 10,000 periodicals and millions of articles.
Library access to most ProQuest databases will terminate at the end of
spring quarter 2008, except for ProQuest NewsStand, ProQuest Dissertations
and Theses, Historical New York Times, and the Historical Wall Street
Journal. For more about this change, see UW Libraries Providing New
Databases. After this change, comprehensive article searches should be performed in EBSCO
Business Source Premier, Newsbank Infoweb, and ProQuest
NewsStand. Also, after this change, links to the articles below will be broken.
This database--actually, a family of over two dozen databases--offers full
text articles for over 10,000 publications, including scholarly journals,
magazines, trade and industry periodicals, newspapers, and reports on a
very wide range of topics. To find articles on specific topics, search by
word or phrase by keying your search phrase into the search box--or search
for your topic in the Topic Guide.
Your search terms will be highlighted in red in each article.
A subject search for the SUB(Sporting Goods Industry) produced over three thousand articles, including ten articles in scholarly journals, over one hundred and eighty magazine articles, over sixteen hundred articles in trade and industry periodicals, over a thousand newspaper articles, and eighty reports.
A broader subject search for SUB(Sporting Goods) produced over twenty thousand articles while a narrower search, for SUB(Sporting Goods Stores) produced over twenty-eight hundred articles.
Combining subjects, or subjects and companies, is a good way to focus a search, such as:
Examples of articles, from some of the searches above, include:
For research guides on a wide variety of industries, products, companies, issues and topics, see the Team Librarian Consultation archives.
This large paperback provides statistics, overview, and trend information and data about this industry, along with profiles of the top 350 companies and organizations in the industry.
Foster Business Library Reference, CALL NUMBER: GV716 .P58 2005.
Information about many industries as well as demographic information;
check index for references to tables. The sources for each table are
often a valuable source of additional information.
Foster Business Library Reference, CALL NUMBER: HA202 .U56 2008.
Two-volume annual compilation of market share data on U.S. and international companies, products and
services, arranged by SIC code and with indexes by product, company and
topic.
Foster Business Library Reference, CALL NUMBER: HF5410 .M35 2008.
Market analysis information including demographic, geographic and lifestyle
information to identify who customers are, where they live, how they spend their
time and money and how to reach them.
Foster Business Library Reference, CALL NUMBER: HF5415.33 .U6 .L54 2007.
This volume collects marketing research data from over 1,000 market research reports on a very wide variety of topics, including advertising and marketing, age groups, demographics, apparel, spending, entertainment, food and beverages, health, internet, sports, etc.
Foster Business Library Reference, CALL NUMBER: HF5415.33 .U6 .R47 2006.
ProQuest Databases:
The Foster Business Library Reference Desk is staffed nearly all of the hours that the library is open. The
staff at the desk will be happy to help you find business research tools and resources, exploit business databases to the fullest or advise on research strategies.
For e-mail questions, direct your query to balib@u.washington.edu. For
assistance by telephone, dial (206) 543-8012 during library hours.