![]() |
|
|
![]() |
Go to the UW Business School Blackboard site at: http://uwbs.blackboard.com
Username: Your UW Net ID
(Do not add @u.washington.edu)
Password: Your student ID number (including any leading zeros)
After you have logged in, you should change your password. To change your password, click on the Personal Information link on the left hand side of the screen. Click Change Password and enter a new password; click submit.
If you still cannot log on to Blackboard, e-mail bacshelp@u.washington.edu or phone 206-543-8003.
The library's subscription to the Value Line database was cancelled in February 2006, due to a huge and unsustainable price increase. The library cancelled its print subscription a few years before that.
General stock information can be found in the Foster Buiness Library database Standard & Poor's NetAdvantage; select the publication Stock Reports.
See also the website for Yahoo! Finance and its Analyst Opinion section for companies. For a wealth of research reports from brokerage houses on companies and industries, see the Foster Business Library database Investext (also available from home and from many public library systems). See also print resources in the Foster Business Library reference collection, such as:
Standard & Poor's The Outlook. (Weekly, in a black binder)
Foster Business Library Reference, Call number: HG4501 .O88.
Overall market viewpoint, with a small number of stocks highlighted.
(Also available in the database Standard & Poor's NetAdvantage)
Standard & Poor's stock reports. (Bimonthly)
Foster Business Library Reference, Call number: HG4907 .S72
For brief company reports and investment analysis.
(Also available in the database Standard & Poor's NetAdvantage)
Standard & Poor's stock market encyclopedia. (Quarterly)
Foster Business Library Reference, Call number: HG4921 .S685
The first few pages in each issue include a list of growth selections, contrarian selections, income selections, stock group performances, winners and losers, etc. The rest of the volume comprises an A to Z list of S&P 500 stocks and S&P's recommendations, from Strong Buy to Sell.
Mergent's handbook of common stock. (Quarterly)
Foster Business Library Reference, Call number: HG4961 .M59.
See the analysis of stock price movements by company in the beginning of the volume. Also offers brief company reports and investment analysis.
Mergent industry review. (Twice yearly)
Foster Business Library Reference, Call number: HG4961 .M68.
Industry-oriented analysis of companies.
See also the Foster Business Library research guide entitled Investing Resources.
The Seattle Public Library and the King County Library System subscribe to the print editions of Value Line; you can find SPL's copy in their Reference-Investment area, at the central library. King County Library System has multiple copies of this subscription, in various larger branches, also in Reference-Investment.
Try:
Daily stock price record.
Foster Business Library Reference, Call number: HG4915 .I23
(Quarterly) for the NYSE, back to 1972;
Foster Business Library Reference,Call number: HG4915. I22
(Quarterly) for the ASE, back to 1972;
Foster Business Library Reference, Call number: HG4915. I24
(Quarterly) for the NASDAQ, back to 1993.
For earlier daily stock prices, see:
ISL daily stock price index.
Foster Business Library Reference Serials, Call number: HG4915 .I23
(Quarterly) for the NYSE, from 1961 to 1972;
Foster Business Library Reference Serials, Call number: HG4915. I22
(Quarterly) for the ASE, from 1962 to 1972;
Daily stock price index, over-the-counter.
Foster Business Library Reference Serials, Call number: HG4915. I24
(Quarterly), from 1972 to 1992.
ISL daily stock price index, over-the-counter.
Foster Business Library Reference Serials, Call number: HG4915. I24
(Quarterly), from 1968 to 1972.
See also the most recent edition in the Foster Business Library reference collection of the monthly:
Standard & Poor's stock reports
Foster Business Library Reference, Call number: HG4907 .S72.
Companies are listed alphabetically by company name in this two- or three-volume report, with Beta listed under Key Stock Statistics, right under the chart for the company's stock. For historical beta, consult older editions of this title. The Foster Business Library reference collection is located right behind the reference desk in the center of the first floor under a sign that says Reference.
Another source for beta is the Foster Business Library database Factiva. Go to Companies/Markets and search for a company by company name or ticket symbol; scroll down to Reports and then to Financial Snapshot; look for Beta (36 month and 60 month) under Price Change. Beta can also be found, under Reports, in the Comparison Report, under Price Action (for 36 months), along with the beta for the industry in which the company operates.
For more companies' beta and to find historical beta online, the Foster Business Library database Bloomberg is a good source; click here for more information about the Bloomberg terminal (U.W. restricted). To find historical beta on Bloomberg, key in the ticker symbol of the company; Function Key 8 (Equity) and BETA. For instance, for the beta for Washington Mutual:
WM [F8 key, Equity] BETA
For more about calculating industry beta, see the latest Stocks, Bonds, Bills, and Inflation, Valuation Yearbook, in the Foster Business Library reference collection, call number HG4905 .S76.
The internet marketing plan: a practical handbook for creating, implementing and assessing your online presence.
Foster Business Library Reference, Call number: HF5415.1265 1997.
Marketing plans: how to prepare them, how to use them.
This newer title, in its fifth edition, provides information about the marketing process, the marketing audit, the communication and pricing plans, and marketing planning, as well as the nuts and bolts of how to prepare and use a marketing plan.
Foster Business Library Reference, CALL NUMBER: HF5415.13 .M369183 2002.
How to write a successful marketing plan: a disciplined and comprehensive approach.
Foster Business Library Reference, Call number: HF5415.13 .H52 1996.
Most business plans include a marketing plan so a good business plan reference work should offer examples of marketing plans; in particular, see this compendium:
Business plans handbook: a compilation of over 200 actual business plans developed by small
business throughout North America.
In ten volumes, with an index by type of business at the back of
volume ten.
Foster Business Library Reference, Call number: HD62.7 .B865.
For ten sample marketing plans online, try MPlans.Com and look for the notation View Plan Online.
For more than 20 books in the Foster Business Library collection on Marketing Plans, click here. For a list of recent books in the Foster Business Library on marketing plans, click here.
For more about marketing, see the Foster Business Library research guide Marketing Resources.
For historical perspective, see the now out-of-date:
The 100 best companies to work for in America.
Foster Business Library Reference, Call number: HF5549.2 .U5 .L38 1993.
For other "best companies," consider companies who are members of the organization Business for Social Responsibility, which "has helped companies of all sizes and sectors to achieve success in ways that demonstrate respect for ethical values, people, communities and the environment." See their Illustrative Member List.
For historical perspective, see the now out-of-date:
The job seeker's guide to socially responsible companies.
Foster Business Library Reference, Call number: HF5382.75 .U6 .J36 1995.
Many other "best company lists" exist; as an example, see Working Mother Magazine's 100 Best Companies for Working Mothers.
Market share reporter.
This two-volume annual publication includes the U.S., Canada, and Mexico, as well as globally.
Foster Business Library Reference, Call number: HF5410 .M35 (Annual)
For newer market share information or for market share information not in the volumes above, try full text article searches for market share in a Foster Business Library database such as ProQuest Database.
For more about marketing, see the Foster Business Library research guide Marketing Resources.
The Foster Business Library has, in its General Stacks collection, various collections of Harvard Business School case studies that have been collected and republished by HBS. Click here for a list of more than 60 titles, collected via a keyword search for Harvard and Business and Case, limited to the location Foster Business Library.
The Foster Business Library has over 1,400 books in its General Stacks collection, with case studies in them. To find them, go to UW Libraries Catalog on the Foster homepage and do a keyword search for Case Studies, limited to the Location Foster Business Library. Click here to launch such a search. You can also use Cases as your search term, limited to the Foster Business Library location, which will retrieve over 400 books in the Foster collections.
Another source for case studies is periodical articles. Go to the Foster Business Library database ABI/Inform Global, click Select Multiple Databases, and then Select All Databases. Enter a subject search for SUB(Case Studies) to produce over 170,000 articles on this topic; combine this subject with another term to obtain case studies about an industry, company, or concept, as in SUB(Case Studies) and SUB(Nonprofit Organizations).
Alternatively, try this print resource in the Foster Business Library reference collection (behind the reference desk):
The sourcebook of zip code demographics.
Foster Business Library Reference, Call number: HA203 .S66
(Annual)
See Washington state zip codes on pages 348-A to 354-D, in the 2002
edition.
For zip codes, go to the U.S. Postal Service Zip Code Lookup or to the Foster Business Library database ReferenceUSA. For a map of Seattle zip codes, see page 42 in the Seattle area yellow pages, available at the Foster Business Library reference desk.
For more demographics information, see the Foster Business Library research guide, Demographics Resources.