Foster Business Library


Top Ten IBUS 300 Resources



Foster Business Library research guides are aimed at University of Washington students, faculty, and staff, highlighting resources available to them; users not currently affiliated with the university may be unable to access some of these resources.
Foster Databases  >>>  Web Resources  >>>  Reference Books  >>>  Help

This webpage is the greatly condensed version of the longer research guide International Business Research.

Foster Business Library Databases:

    #1.   EIU Online:   On the Foster Business Library homepage, listed under Business Databases. This database, provided by the Economist Intelligence Unit, provides online access to:

    #1 (tie).   Euromonitor:   On the Foster Business Library homepage, listed under Databases. Produced by Euromonitor, Inc., this database provides global consumer market information, with demographics, trends and developments, market background, market sizes and forecasts, market shares, key players, and company profiles, for a relatively small number of major countries.

    #2.   STAT-USA:   On the Foster Business Library homepage, listed under Business Databases. Go to:

    #3.   Europa World:   On the Foster Business Library homepage, listed under List of All Business Databases. This database mirrors the Europa World Year Book in the Foster Business Library, with profiles for 250 countries as well as a variety of regions and international organizations, with statistical, historical, political, and economic information and data, as well as a comparison feature, and directory information.

Web Resources:

    #4.   NationMaster.Com:   This Australian site uses data from the CIA World Factbook and many other sources to provide graphic rankings, lists and interactive comparisons for countries' crime, economy, education, energy, environment, geography, government, health, media, military, people, religion, sports, and transportation, for 251 countries. This site also enables viewing of individual country profiles, with maps and flags, and of regions and groupings.

    #5.   U.S. Embassies:   The U.S.State Department has embassies and consulates in 140 countries, with their individual websites often providing valuable local information for business, usually under the heading of the U.S. Commercial Service. The Commercial Service provides information for U.S. businesses interested in exporting to the country as well as information for companies in the country where the embassy is located about doing business with the U.S.

    #6.   American Chambers of Commerce Abroad:   The American Chambers of Commerce Abroad "advance the interests of American business overseas. They are voluntary associations of American companies and individuals doing business in a particular country, as well as firms and individuals of that country who operate in the United States. " There are currently 94 American chambers of commerce in 82 countries, affiliated with the U.S. Chamber of Commerce.

    #7.   CIA World Factbook:   These brief country profiles, prepared by the Central Intelligence Agency, offer information about government, economy, GDP, CPI, labor force, unemployment rate, budget, industries, agriculture, export, import, telecommunications, debt, foreign aid for more than two hundred and fifty countries.

Foster Business Library Reference Collection: Help:
22 September 2005; updated 20 June 2006.   Peter Stevens, Business Librarian, stevens@u.washington.edu.