![]() |
|
|
![]() |
Foster Business Library research guides are aimed at University of Washington students, faculty, and
staff, highlighting resources available to them; users not currently affiliated with the university
may be unable to access some of these resources.
Foster Business Library
Databases:
The Foster Business Library offers an extensive collection of over fifty databases on its homepage; see under Databases. For a complete list of Foster databases, see the List of All Business Databases. Access to these databases from off campus requires that you first go to the Off-Campus Access button, in the upper right of all library webpages. These resources may not be accessed from off campus except by those with a valid UW Net ID and password. For more information on Foster business databases, click Databases, A-Z. For information on which Foster business databases to use, see the Database Index.
For information on accessing Foster databases from off campus, see Database Access.
For guidelines on responsible database usage, see Database Usage.
See their two reports on the topic of Change Management.
A search in this database for the topic Turnaround* produced over 460 references.
A search for Corporate Turnaround& produced over 1,250 references.
Web Resources:
Unlike library databases, Web resources are available wherever you have web access; they do not require that you access them via the Off-Campus Access button, in the upper right of all library webpages. When using web resources, be sure to evaluate the credibility of these resources. For a subject index to web resources, see Business Resources on the Web on the Foster Business Library homepage.
Foster
Library Reference Collection:
The Foster Business Library Reference Collection consists of business handbooks, encyclopedias, dictionaries, and other quick reference tools. It is located behind the Reference Desk in Foster, arranged by call number. Reference materials cannot be checked out; they may only be used in the library.
Foster Business Library
Books:
The Foster Business Library maintains a collection of over 70,000 books on
all business topics. To search for materials on all three campuses of the University of Washington, go to the UW Libraries Catalog, in the upper left corner of the Foster Business Library homepage. Search by keyword, title, author, series, etc.
To limit the results of your search just to materials in the Foster Business Library collection, use the Modify or Limit options at the top of the search results and change the library location to Foster Business Library.
Availablity is indicated on the right of each online catalog record. First, note in which collection, within Foster, your materials are in, since the library has ten different Collections, each in a different location and often with differing arrangements. "Available" indicates that the book should be on the shelves under that call number and available for you to check out. "Due" and a date indicates that the book is already checked out to someone and is due back on the date indicated; you can have the "Request/Place Hold" feature to recall the book for your use.
If the material you want is not in the collections of the University of Washington, you can use the "Search Summit" feature to repeat your search in the combined holdings of over thirty cooperating libraries in Washington and Oregon. Use the "Request This Item" feature in Summit to have books in those library sent here to Foster for you to check out.
The Foster general stacks collection is located south of the main part of the Foster Business Library, through the two pass-throughs into the basement of Balmer. The arrangement is by call number, from A (at the east end, near the Copy Center) to Z (at the far west end).
A subject search for Corporate Turnarounds, limited to the Foster Business Library, produced a list of over fify records in the UW Libraries, with over
two dozen records in the Foster Business Library, including:
A similar search in Summit, the consortium of over thirty academic libraries in Washington and Oregon, produced over 100 records. A similar search in a larger consortium, OhioLink, produced over 110 records.
Other relevant subjects, and Foster Business Library holdings, and some examples of relevant titles, include:
Foster Business
Library Articles:
Articles in academic journals, magazines, trade periodicals, and newspapers are one of the best sources for any kind of research. While the
Foster Business Library offers a large periodicals print collection, comprising over 800 titles, articles are most easily accessed online,
24/7, in such fulltext article databases as EBSCO Business Source Premier, Factiva, LexisNexis Academic, Newsbank Infoweb, and ProQuest Databases. These article databases are available in the library or from off-campus, and provide access to over 10,000 periodicals and millions of articles.
Library access to most ProQuest databases will terminate at the end of
spring quarter 2008, except for ProQuest NewsStand, ProQuest Dissertations
and Theses, Historical New York Times, and the Historical Wall Street
Journal. For more about this change, see UW Libraries Providing New
Databases. After this change, comprehensive article searches should be performed in EBSCO
Business Source Premier, Newsbank Infoweb, and ProQuest
NewsStand. Also, after this change, links to the articles below will be broken.
This database--actually, a family of over two dozen databases--offers full
text articles for over 10,000 publications, including scholarly journals,
magazines, trade and industry periodicals, newspapers, and reports on a
very wide range of topics. To find articles on specific topics, search by
word or phrase by keying your search phrase into the search box--or search
for your topic in the Topic Guide.
Your search terms will be highlighted in red in each article.
A subject search for SUB(Turnaround Management) produced a list of over 23,000 articles, including over 480 articles in scholarly journals, over 3,500 articles in magazines, over 13,000 articles in trade and industry publications, over 6,600 articles in newspapers, two reports, and just one dissertation.
A subject search for SUB(Turnaround Management) and SUB(Case Studies)
over 3,200 articles, including over 170 articles in scholarly journals, over 1,100 articles in magazines, over 2,30 articles in trade and industry publications, but just one newspaper article. A few examples from this search include:
See also the Journal of Organizational Change Management (01/01/1992 to 1 year ago) in this database.
Help:
The Foster Business Library Reference Desk is staffed nearly all the hours that the
library is
open. The
staff at the desk will be happy to help you find research tools on any business
subject. For
e-mail
questions, direct your query to balib@u.washington.edu. For
assistance by telephone, dial (206) 543-8012 during library hours.
See also the Foster Business Library's Business & Economics FAQ, and, in particular, the section for Company and Industry.
For research guides on a wide variety of industries,
products, companies, issues and topics, see the Team Librarian
Consultation archives.
This one-volume offers 500 essays (500 to 1,000 words in length) from 180 authorities on
current knowledge and thinking
about the key concepts of
strategic management. See Turnaround Strategy on pages 282 to 286.
Foster Business Library Reference, CALL NUMBER: HD30.15 .B455 1995 v. 2.
This one-volume offers 500 essays (500 to 1,000 words in length) from 180 authorities on
current knowledge and thinking
about the key concepts of
organizational behavior. See Turnaround Management on pages 586 to 588.
Foster Business Library Reference, CALL NUMBER: HD30.15 .B455 1995, v. 6.
This 2,200-page single volume is "designed to offer a wide range of insights, information, and
practical guidance on every aspect of management" via 2.5 million words of text from 200
contributors, with 700 illustrations and 150 maps, in seven major sections including best
practice, a management library, business thinkers and management giants, a business
dictionary, a world business almanac, and a guide to business sources.
See Turnaround Strategies on pages 251 to 252.
Foster Business Library Reference, CALL NUMBER: HD38.15 .B878 2002.
This annual two-volume directory, with supplements, profiles over 25,000 firms and individuals, engaged in consulting, for business, industry, and government. This set provides descriptive listings of individual firms, with information about each firm, including founding date, staff, executives, annual revenues, activities, geographic area served, branch offices, etc.; arrangement is not A to Z by firm name but by type of business, with indexes by geography, activities, and firms. See the index to consulting activities in volume two, page 2333 to 2334, for Management Development Issues—-Turnaround Management.
Foster Business Library Reference, CALL NUMBER: HD69 .C6 .W38 2004.
Norms and ratios for many industries and sizes of business, itemized by asset size, and
categorized by four digit SIC code. This source, and the two others that follow, are useful for evaluating firms against metrics for other firms in the same line of business, to identify anomalies and to compare a firm against its competitors.
Foster Business Library Reference, CALL NUMBER: HF5681 .B2 .R6 2004-2005.
Key business ratios for 800 S.I.C industry categories, a publication of
Dun & Bradstreet.
Foster Business Library Reference, CALL NUMBER: HF5681 .R25 .I525 2003-2004.
This annual publication, edited by Leo Troy, offers a different take on
ratios than the title above.
The arrangement of industries is by NAICS code.
Foster Business Library Reference, CALL NUMBER: HF5681. R25. .T68 2004.
This annual volume provides 5,000 rankings of companies, products, services and business activities, with data culled from thousands of sources. This source is useful for identifying the top firms in an industry or line of work.
Foster Business Library Reference, CALL NUMBER: HG4050 .B88 2004.
Statistical data on 3,000 companies in 137 industries, with ranking, key
financial information, operating data and ratios. For public companies, this source is valuable for identifying the top companies in an industry across an array of metrics.
Foster Business Library Reference, CALL NUMBER: HG4961 .M68 (Quarterly)
ProQuest Databases: