Friday Harbor Library


This listing is only of natural sciences related databases. Additional electronic databases and resources covering a variety of topics are available. Consult the UW Libraries Databases page for a complete list.

Remote access to most of these databases is restricted to UW affiliates.


A - F / G - N / O - Z

Complete List of Databases and Catalogs

A - F

ASFA (Aquatic Sciences and Fisheries Abstracts - (CSA) - UW restricted UW restricted
ASFA is the premier index to aquatic science literature. Major areas of coverage include: aquaculture, aquatic organisms, aquatic pollution, conservation, environmental quality, fisheries, marine biotechnology, marine environments, meteorology, oceanography, and wildlife management.
BioOne - - UW restricted UW restricted
Full texts of research journals focused on the biological, ecological, and environmental sciences. Most of BioOne’s titles are published by small societies and other not-for-profit organizational publishers.
BIOSIS Previews - (1969+) - UW restricted UW restricted
The comprehensive source for life sciences and biomedical research from journals, meetings, books and patents; indexes data with over 15.6 million records from 1969 to the present. BIOSIS Previews combines journal content from Biological Abstracts with supplemental, non-journal coverage from Biological Abstracts/RRM (Reports, Reviews, and Meetings).
Current Contents Connect - - UW restricted UW restricted
Contains citations, table of contents and abstracts from the most recently published issues of leading scholarly journals and books in the sciences, social sciences, arts and humanities.
Dissertations and Theses from Proquest - - UW restricted UW restricted
The world's most comprehensive collection of dissertations and theses with over 2.3 million dissertations and theses included from around the world.
Engineering Village 2 - - UW restricted UW restricted
Engineering Village 2 covers the scientific, applied science, technical and engineering disciplines. Coverage is from 1884 to present. Includes Compendex, INSPEC, CRC ENGnetBASE, Esp@cenet, USPTO, Techstreet standards, and Scirus.
Expanded Academic ASAP - - UW restricted UW restricted
Provides indexing, abstracting, full-text articles and images from scholarly journals, magazines, and newspapers. Spans all academic disciplines from arts and humanities to social sciences, science, and technology.


G - N
Geobase - (1980- coverage) - UW restricted UW restricted
Contains bibliographic citations and abstracts for human geography (including urban, political and economic geography), physical geography (ecology, geology, geomechanics), oceanogeography and international and development studies.
GeoRef - - UW restricted UW restricted
Provides access to the geoscience literature of the world. Database contains citations and abstracts to journal articles, books, maps, conference papers, reports, and theses; covers the geology of North America from 1693 to the present and the geology of the rest of the world from 1933 to the present; includes references to all publications of the U.S. Geological Survey.
Journal Citation Reports from ISI - - UW restricted UW restricted
Journal Citation Reports on the Web offers a systematic, objective means to critically evaluate the world's leading journals. It is the only journal evaluation resource that provides statistical information based on citation data.
MEDLINE -
Covers more than 3,900 journals in biomedicine, including citations published in Index medicus, International nursing index, and Index to dental literature, from 1966 to the present.
NTIS - - UW restricted UW restricted
The preeminent resource for accessing the latest U.S. government-sponsored research and worldwide scientific, technical, engineering, and business-related information; includes a broad range of engineering, technology, and scientific subjects: aeronautics & aerodynamics, chemistry, computer sciences, energy, environmental sciences, materials sciences, nuclear science, telecommunications and transportation; 1964 to present, updated biweekly


O - Z

OCLC FirstSearch. WorldCat - - UW restricted UW restricted
Consists of catalog records and holdings information for material owned by libraries around the world
Research Library - - UW restricted UW restricted
Indexing and full text for a basic collection of general-interest, humanities, social science and science periodicals and newspapers
Science Citation Index - (Web of Science) Web of Science includes Science Citation Index Expanded (SCI-EXPANDED), 1955-present; Social Sciences Citation Index (SSCI), 1975-present; and Arts & Humanities Citation Index (A&HCI), 1975-present. - UW restricted UW restricted
A multidisciplinary database, with searchable author abstracts and cited references, covering 5,300 major journals in a wide variety of science fields.
ScienceDirect - (Science Direct) - UW restricted UW restricted
Web database for scientific research that contains abstracts, articles and full text of more than 1000 Elsevier Science journals in the life, physical, medical, technical, and social sciences.
Scirus for Scientific Information Only -
Scirus is a science-specific search engine which searches scientific, technical and medical data on the Web.
Web of Science Citation Databases - - UW restricted UW restricted
Includes Science Citation Index Expanded (SCI-EXPANDED), 1955-present; Social Sciences Citation Index (SSCI), 1975-present; and Arts & Humanities Citation Index (A&HCI), 1975-present
Wildlife & Ecology Studies Worldwide - - UW restricted UW restricted
Bibliographic records on animal and bird species, wildlife management issues, diseases, game and hunting, Central and South American fauna.
Zoological Record - - UW restricted UW restricted
Covers all aspects of animal research including: behavior, biodiversity, conservation, ecology, evolution, genetics, habitat, morphology, nomenclature, physiology, reproduction, taxonomy, and zoogeography. Indexes serials, monographs, newsletters, selected dissertations, and conference proceedings


frihar@u.washington.edu
Last modified: Wednesday February 04, 2009

Libraries Information Gateway | UW Home | FHL Home
© 2003 University of Washington