World WeatherDisc
World WeatherDisc contains meteorological data on the climate of the Earth both recently and during the past several hundred years. The data is acquired from the National Climatic Data Center and the National Center for Atmospheric Research, the two main depositories of weather information in the United States. World WeatherDisc can be searched in all the science units of the UW Libraries and several other branch libraries.
|
| ||
|
|
|
|
|
|
|
|
World WeatherDisc is divided into seven data sets:
|
|
|
|
|
1. World Monthly Surface Station Climatology |
Data for 3,293 stations from around the globe. |
Includes time series of monthly mean temperature and precipitation, sea level pressure and station pressure. Since many of the stations go back at least a century, this would be a good data set to determine how the climate has changed over an extended period of time for a particular location. |
|
2. World Airfield Climatological Summaries |
Data for 5717 airport locations worldwide. |
Monthly summaries about weather and climate at locations around the world including temperature, precipitation, thunderstorms, wind and humidity. |
|
3. U.S. Monthly Normals |
Data for 6663 stations throughout the United States |
Includes temperature and precipitation information. The mean values in this database are based on the period from 1951 through 1980. |
|
4. U.S. Monthly Climatic Summaries |
Data for 1,862 stations throughout the United States |
Includes monthly means and extremes of temperatures and precipitation for the period between 1951-1980. |
|
5. U.S. Local Climatological Summaries |
Data for 286 primary stations throughout the United States |
Parameters include temperature, precipitation, wind, relative humidity, and clear/cloudy days. |
|
6. U.S. Monthly Climatic Division Data |
Covers 350 divisions of the United States |
Contains monthly-averaged temperature, precipitation and four Palmer drought indices from 1895-1992. |
|
7. U.S. Daily Weather Observations |
Data for 222 stations throughout the United States |
The database contains daily values of maximum and minimum temperature, total daily precipitation and snowfall. States are arranged alphabetically. Note: Hawaii and Alaska are at the end of the list. After selecting station, select month and year to review. |
Data can be displayed in various formats depending on the data set and type of information provided. For example, data can be displayed in graphs or numerically. The information can also be displayed annually or month by month. The screen will prompt you with the available displays for each data set.
Only Data Sets 1, 6 and 7 have downloading capability:
1. World Monthly Surface Station Climatology.
6. United States Monthly Climatic Division Data.
7. United States Daily Weather Data .
July 1997