Finding Articles

Major research databases for finding articles on preservation and conservation of cultural materials.

AATA Online: Abstracts of International Conservation Literature - A comprehensive database of 100,000 abstracts of literature related to the preservation and conservation of material cultural heritage in all of its forms.

BCIN (Bibliographic Database of the Conservation Information Network) - Provides access to over 190,000 bibliographic citations for conservation literature. BCIN includes citations from the Art and Archaeology Technical Abstracts (AATA) prior to 1998, technical reports, conference proceedings, journal articles, books, audiovisual, and unpublished materials.

BMUSE (Museology Bibliography) - Includes holdings from many international sources, including the UNESCO-ICOM Museum Information Centre, the Library of the Canadian Conservation Institute, and the Library of the Direction des musees de France. Referenced material includes over 25,000 journals, journal articles, books, and reports published from 1900 to the present.

ERIC (EBSCO) or ERIC (CSA)- ERIC indexes journal articles, documents and books in the field of education.
UW Restricted

Library and Information Science Abstracts (LISA) - Indexes articles from library and information science journals, with an emphasis on journals published in the United Kingdom and countries other than the United States. Covers 1969 to the present.
UW Restricted

Library, Information Science & Technology Abstracts - Coverage includes library science, classification, cataloging, bibliometrics, online information retrieval, information management, and more. Coverage in the database extends back as far as the mid-1960s.
UW Restricted

Library Literature & Information Science - Covers more than 200 library and information-science journals, and more than 600 books per year, from December 1984 to the present. Emphasis is on journals published in the United States.
UW Restricted

MarciveWeb DOCS - Catalog of U.S. government publications, July 1976-present.
UW Restricted

PaperChem - Focused on pulp and paper technology. Coverage is from 1967 to present.
UW Restricted

Web of Science Citation Databases - Includes Science Citation Index Expanded (SCI-EXPANDED), 1900-present; Social Sciences Citation Index (SSCI), 1975-present; and Arts & Humanities Citation Index (A&HCI), 1975-present
UW Restricted

NOTE: There are hardcopy versions of many of these resources that may include earlier years. For some technical topics sources like Biological Abstracts and Chemical Abstracts and their online equivalents may be useful.