Skip to content



Indexes: Finding Articles

Use the following tools to identify articles in journals. Some of these databases include the full text of articles, others provide only citations. If you do not find the full text of the article you are seeking, use the UW Libraries Catalog to determine if the particular journal and volume you need are available in the libraries' collection.

 

  19th century masterfile - Series I and V only - UW restricted
Resource for pre-1920 studies
 

American periodicals series online, 1740-1900 - UW restricted
Over 1,100 periodicals that first began publishing between 1740 and 1900, including special interest and general magazines, literary and professional journals, children's and women's magazines, and many other historically-significant periodicals.

  Arts & humanities citation index - UW Restricted
Web of Science includes: Science Citation Index Expanded, 1980-present; Social Sciences Citation Index (SSCI), 1980-present; and Arts & Humanities Citation Index (A&HCI), 1980-present.
A multidisciplinary database covering the journal literature of the arts and humanities, with cited references but not abstracts. Indexes 1,100 of the world's leading arts and humanities journals, plus individually selected, relevant items from over 6,800 major science and social science journals
  Bibliography of Asian studies - UW restricted
Provides citations to western-language periodical articles, chapters in edited volumes, conference proceedings, anthologies, Festschriften, etc. pertaining to east, southeast, and south Asia. Covers 1971 to the present, including full data from the print editions from 1971-1991
 

International Bibliography of Theatre & Dance with Full Text - UW restricted
Scholarly journals, popular magazines, and monographs in theatre and dance.

  JSTOR search - UW restricted
A subject searchable index of journals online with JSTOR. Retrieves full-text backfiles of scholarly journals, some of which date back to the 1800's
  LexisNexis academic - UW restricted
Extensive array of full-text news (newspapers, wire services, transcripts and newsletters), business literature, industry and company information, legal, biographical, and reference resources
  National Newspapers - UW restricted
Covers 27 major U.S. newspapers and other U.S., international, and minority interest papers.

NYPL Dance Collection Catalog - Open access
The Dance Catalog lists works aobut all forms of dance, from all cultures, in print and other media. It includes materials in many languages and serves as an index to an international range of dance periodicals.
  Periodicals contents index : PCI - Libraries CD-ROM Network
Indexes contents of older periodical issues in the humanities and social sciences.
  Poole's plus - Series I and V only - UW restricted
Resource for pre-1920 studies
  Project Muse Search - UW restricted
A subject searchable index of the Johns Hopkins University Press journals online with Project Muse. Retrieves more than 5000 full-text articles
  ProQuest Newspapers - UW restricted
Regional and National newspapers from the mid-1980's to the present; mostly full-text; great source for reviews.
 

ProQuest Dissertations & Theses - UW restricted
Includes citations for dissertations ranging from 1861 to those accepted last semester; represents the work of authors from over 1,000 North American graduate schools and European universities

  Readers' Guide Retrospective - UW restricted
A database containing comprehensive indexing of the most popular general-interest periodicals published in the United States and reflects the history of 20th century America; covers 1890-1982
  Research Library Complete - UW restricted
Scholarly journals and popular magazines in all areas, including dance and the performing arts.


 


Contact Us
Last modified: Friday April 18, 2008 (murata)