![]() |
|
|
|
Research Guide
| This guide focuses primarily on researching dance in general, including the history and practice of dance, choreography and choreographers, dance companies, and performers. Although this guide contains mostly print resources, some pertinent electronic resources have also been included. |
| Resource | Location & Description |
|---|---|
|
Ballet Guide: Background, Listings, Credits and Descriptions of More than Five Hundred of the World's Major Ballets |
GV1790.A1 T47 Ougl Stacks A brief history of the ballet is followed by an alphabetically arrangedl isting of more than 500 major ballets giving the plot, staging, choreographer, composer, date and place of the first performance, and the dancers that originally appeared in the work. |
| International Dictionary of Ballet |
GV1585.I57 1993 v.1-2 Ougl Reference & Suzzallo/Allen Stacks 750 entries covering individual artists (dancers, choreographers, comosers, teachers, etc.), individual ballets, and ballet companies. |
| International Dictionary of Modern Dance |
GV1585.I58 1998 Ougl Reference & Suzzallo/Allen Reference 400 signed entries on all aspects of modern dance. The majority treat individuals who have influenced the art since the 19th century and include biographical details, dates, education, awards, roles (if they were performers), and specific works. |
| International Encyclopedia of Dance: A Project of Dance Perspectives Foundation, Inc. | GV1585.I586 1998 v.1-6 Ougl Reference & Suzzallo/Allen Reference
Online - UW Only A project of Dance Perspectives Foundation, Inc. covering individual artists, companies, choreographers and choreographed works, as well as types of dance, music for dance, scenic and costume design, theories of aesthetics and methodologies, and dance films. Bibliographies are included. |
Oxford Dictionary of Dance | GV1585 .C78 2000 Ougl Reference & Suzzallo/Allen Reference
Online - UW Only The Oxford Dictionary of Dance offers wide coverage of dancers, choreographers, teachers, composers, technical terms, major works, important films, and organizations involved in the dance world. |
| Modern Dance Terminology |
GV1585.L65 1997 Suzzallo/Allen Stacks Provides good coverage of terms and serves as a companion to the International Dictionary of Modern Dance. |
| American Ballet Theatre's Online Dictionary |
http://www.abt.org/education/dictionary/index.html - Open access
American Ballet Theatre's Online Dictionary defines 170 terms from the Technical Manual and Dictionary of Classical Ballet. The dictionary uses QuickTime movies to demonstrate the movements. |
| Resource | Description |
|---|---|
|
Biographical Dictionary of Dance |
GV1785.A1 C58 1982 Ougl Reference & Suzzallo/Allen Reference More than 2,900 figures spanning the last four centuries from a wide range of dance and theatrical genre. Includes performers, choreographers, dance impresarios and entrepreneurs, as well as composers and artists associated with dance. Entries include bibliographies. |
| Complete Guide to Modern Dance |
GV1783.M26 Ougl Stacks Covers the forerunners, founders and contemporary choreographers, including biography, description of significant work, and a list of titles and dates of performances. |
| Film Choreographers and Dance Directors: An Illustrated Biographical Encyclopedia with a History and Filmographies, 1893 Through 1995 |
GV1779.B55 1997 Suzzallo/Allen Stacks
970 choreographers and dance directors are covered. Also includes a history of dance on film and a filmography of choreographically important works. |
| International Dictionary of Modern Dance |
GV1585.I58 1998 Ougl Reference & Suzzallo/Allen Reference
400 signed entries on all aspects of modern dance. The majority treat individuals who have influenced the art since the 19th century and include biographical details, dates, education, awards, roles (if they were performers), and specific works. |
| Biography and Genealogy Master Index |
Online- UW restricted
A comprehensive index to more than 11 million biographical sketches in over 3,000 volumes and editions of current and retrospective reference works. |
| Biography Index |
Z5301.B5 Suzzallo/Allen Reference 1946/49-2003/04
Coverage includes English-language periodicals and more than 1,800 books added each year. Includes autobiographies, bibliographies, biographies, critical studies, fiction and drama, pictorial works, poetry, obituaries, book reviews, interviews, and more. |
| Resource | Description |
|---|---|
|
International Bibliography of Theatre & Dance with Full Text |
Online - UW restricted
The International Bibliography of Theatre & Dance represents the most comprehensive multicultural and inter-disciplinary research tool available to theater students, educators and professionals. International Bibliography of Theatre & Dance with Full Text ,contains all of the content available in International Bibliography of Theatre & Dance as well as full text for 100 titles, including Canadian Theatre Review, Dance Chronicle, Dance Teacher, Modern Drama, PAJ: A Journal of Performance and Art, Research in Dance Education, Research in Drama Education, Studies in Theatre and Performance, TDR: The Drama Review, Theater, and many more as well as full text content of more than 50 books and monographs. |
|
The NYPL Research Libraries Dance Collection Catalog |
http://catnyp.nypl.org/search~b1o1c1i1p1r1a1 - Open access
The Dance Catalog lists works aobut all forms of dance, from all cultures, in print and other media. It includes materials in many languages and serves as an index to an international range of dance periodicals. |
| Expanded Academic ASAP |
Online - UW restricted
Scholarly journals and popular magazines in all areas, including dance and the performing arts |
| Lexis-Nexis Academic |
Online - UW restricted
Provides access to a wide range of news (includes New York Times, Washington Post, LA Times) including fine and performing arts news and performance reviews. |
| Research Library Complete |
Online - UW restricted
Scholarly journals and popular magazines in all areas, including dance and the performing arts. Access to The Historical New York Times from 1851-2001. |
| Resource | Description |
|---|---|
|
A Core Collection in Dance |
Z7514.D2 C675 2001 Suzzallo/Allen Stacks
An annotated bibliography of print and non-print dance materials that are recommended for inclusion in libraries that support undergraduate curriculum and/or a significant dance community. All forms nad styles of dance are represented. |
| Dance: An Annotated Bibliography, 1962-1982 |
Z7514.D2 F58 1986
Covers the areas of aesthetics, anthropology, education, history, literature, physiology, psychology and sociology as they pertain to dance. Includes references to articles, books, book chapters, dissertations, and theses in English from 1965-1982. |
| Dancers and Choreographers: A Selected Bibliography |
Z7514.D2 G48 1995
References to books, articles, dissertations, and occasional publications dedicated to an individual. Entries arranged by artists and focuses largely on ballet nad modern dance as covered in 20th century publications in English. Popular magazines such as Dance Magazine and Dancing Times are excluded. Includes a list of general reference works. |
| Research in Dance: A Guide to Resources |
GV1594.B6 1994
A guide to dance information in both electronic and print form covering all forms of dance as well as activities that include teching, writing reviews and essays, or conducting studies in dance kinesiology. All types of sources are cited, including encyclopedias, film and video catalogs, manuals, indeces, serial publications, and sources for book and performance reviews. The focus is on English-language sources. |