![]() |
|
|
|
The University of Washington Libraries contains a wealth of information to support research in the field of library and information science. This brief guide introduces you to major access tools to assist you in locating materials relevant to your research, as well as to some services that you might find useful during the course of your studies.
Begin your search for information by familiarizing yourself with the available resources. The best place to begin is the UW Libraries website, which provides access to the Libraries Catalog, article databases and full-text resources, electronic journals, and web resources. The website is designed to be the entrée to information held by the UW Libraries and beyond.
Although it is increasingly possible to obtain a great deal of information through online systems, some scholarly research is still available only in printed format. And while you can identify articles important to your research through online databases, you may still need to trek to the Libraries to find the actual item.
Background sources such as the Bowker Annual (Suzzallo Ready Reference Collection Z731 .B67 - near the Reference Desk) and the Encyclopedia of Library and Information Science (online and in Suzzallo Reference Z1006 .E57) can often help you to put a topic in context.
The UW
Libraries Catalog, the Libraries WorldCat Local beta catalog, and the UW
Law Library Catalog (MARIAN) list the books, periodicals, and many government
publications owned by the UW Libraries and in the case of WorldCat Local, from around the world. Books can be searched in the catalogs
by subject, keyword, author, and title.
The journal literature is a major form of scholarly communication in the field of library and information science. The databases and print resources below can be used to identify articles on your topic. There are links to these these and other databases on the Information Science subject page.
You may want to search for articles in more general or popular sources that discuss trends having to do with the field of information studies or current issues not yet fully addressed in the research literature. Databases, many of which contain full-text, include: Expanded Academic Index, Research Library Complete, Lexis-Nexis (also known as Academic Universe), and Washington State Newsstand.
All of the databases can be accessed from campus computers, and from your home, either through the UW Interconnectivity Kit (UWICK) or through your Internet Service Provider (ISP) using the Libraries proxy server. A list of frequently asked questions about connecting from off-campus is available through the Libraries Information Gateway in the Help category under Connecting. For information on the UWICK, check http://www.washington.edu/computing/software/uwick. For information on using the proxy server, see http://www.lib.washington.edu/asp/browser/proxy.asp. Be sure to read the Known Issues and Bugs page to see if your Internet Service Provider or browser will be able to use the proxy server.
Consultation services are available from your subject librarian. Contact Nancy Huling at hulingn@u.washington.edu or (206) 685-2211. Holds and recalls may be placed through the UW Libraries Catalog. Books owned by the 25 Oregon and Washington academic libraries belonging to the Orbis Cascade Alliance can be requested through the Catalog’s link to Summit, the shared catalog of these libraries. UWorld Express obtains books and articles the UW Libraries doesn’t own. Grants and Funding Information Service (GFIS) assists UW graduate student in identifying sources of funding to support research, and offers workshops and consultations. A general overview of services available to graduate students is available from the Libraries Information Gateway in the Services category under For Graduate Students.