[advanced search]
 Library Databases Relevant to the Middle East
http://infotrac.galegroup.com/itweb/wash_mla?db=MLA -
"MLA directory of periodicals: a guide to journals and series in languages and literatures" was removed from the Libraries database on Sep 19 2008
http://www.csa3.com/htbin/dbrng.cgi?username=uwash&access=uwash347&cat=atla -
"ATLA religion database" was removed from the Libraries database on Feb 6 2008
http://www.umi.com/pqdauto?COPT=REJTPTM@ -
"ABI/INFORM global" was removed from the Libraries database on Jun 23 2008
http://firstsearch.oclc.org/fsip?autho=100323370&dbname=AnthropologicalLiterature&done=referer -
"Anthropological literature" was removed from the Libraries database on Sep 3 2008
http://infoweb.newsbank.com/?db=NFCC -
"NewsBank newsfile collection" was removed from the Libraries database on Jun 30 2008
Coverage of major newspapers, including the New York times, Washington post, Los Angeles times, Christian Science monitor, USA today, Boston globe and the Atlanta journal/constitution.
http://research.thomsonib.com/gaportal/?ExpressCode=%20uwash01 -
"Investext" was removed from the Libraries database on Jul 18 2008
http://www.csa.com/htbin/dbrng.cgi?username=uwash&access=uwash347&cat=econlit -
"EconLit" was removed from the Libraries database on Sep 3 2008
http://search.rdsinc.com/sessions?userid=user4154cwi&password=remote&products=CWI -
"Contemporary women's issues" was removed from the Libraries database on Jan 2 2008
http://www.annee-philologique.com/aph/ -
"Annee philologique; bibliographie critique et analytique de l'antiquite greco-latine" was removed from the Libraries database on Feb 12 2007
http://wwwlib.umi.com/dissertations/ -
"Digital dissertations" was removed from the Libraries database on Jul 26 2007
http://infotrac.galegroup.com/itweb/wash_main?db=EAIM -
"Expanded academic ASAP" was removed from the Libraries database on Sep 21 2009
http://www.loc.gov/law/glin/ -
"Global legal information network" was removed from the Libraries database on May 7 2008
http://www.ingenta.com/ -
"UnCover" was removed from the Libraries database on Feb 13 2008
http://lucy.ukc.ac.uk/AIO.html -
"Anthropological index online" was removed from the Libraries database on Jan 3 2008
http://isiknowledge.com/ccc -
"Current contents connect" was removed from the Libraries database on Jul 2 2008
Indexing and full text for a basic collection of periodicals and newspapers.
Indexing and full text for a basic collection of general-interest, humanities and social science periodicals.
AccessUN - - UW restricted UW restricted
Provides access to current and retrospective United Nations documents and publications.
Arts & humanities citation index AHCI - (Web of Science) Web of Science includes Science Citation Index Expanded (SCI-EXPANDED), 1965-present; Social Sciences Citation Index (SSCI), 1975-present; and Arts & Humanities Citation Index (A&HCI), 1975-present. - UW restricted UW restricted
Indexes 1,100 of the world's leading arts and humanities journals, plus individually selected, relevant items from over 6,800 major science and social science journals.
eHRAF world cultures - - UW restricted UW restricted
Provides primarily descriptive information on the cultures of the world
Feminae medieval women and gender index -
Indexes journal articles, book reviews, and essays about women, sexuality and gender in Europe, North Africa and the Middle East, from 450 C.E. to 1500 C.E.
Index Islamicus - - UW restricted UW restricted
A bibliography of books and index of articles in periodicals on Islam and the Muslim world. Also includes reviews
Index to foreign legal periodicals - - UW restricted UW restricted
Covers law of countries other than the United States, the British Isles, and the British Commonwealth, 1985 to the present.
Index to United Nations documents and publications - (CD Net) - Library CD-ROM Network
Current and retrospective index of documents from six main UN bodies: General Assembly, Security Council, Economic & Social Council, Trusteeship Council, Secretariat, and International Court of Justice. Also indexes articles in UN periodicals and bilateral and multilateral treaties. Includes coverage of international problems of an economic, social, cultural or humanitarian nature
Israel library network sites -
The network is also known as Aleph.
Israel Union List of Serials -
Telnet permits Latin, Hebrew, or Arabic script searches. WWW access allows Latin script searches only.
LexisNexis academic - (Internet access) - UW restricted UW restricted
full-text news (newspapers, wire services, transcripts and newsletters), business literature, industry and company information, legal, biographical, and reference resources.
LexisNexis statistical - - UW restricted UW restricted
Provides abstracts and indexes of statistical information from over 100,000 U.S. government publications from 1973, state and private sources from 1980, and approximately 2000 documents from international organizations from 1983. Incorporates ASI subject and keyword searching. Full text or web links provided for some citations
Materials business file - - UW restricted UW restricted
Focuses on industry news, international trade data, government regulations and management issues.
NewsBank infoweb - - UW restricted UW restricted
Includes Global NewsBank, a fulltext news database, NewsBank Newsfile Collection and and AccessUN.
PAIS international - (CSA) - UW restricted UW restricted
Covers social and public policy literature from over 1,400 periodicals and thousands of government documents, books, and other sources.
Periodicals contents index : PCI - Access is limited to public workstations located behind the Reference Desk on the first floor of Suzzallo Library - Library CD-ROM Network
Indexes contents of older periodical issues in the humanities and social sciences.
Population index on the web -
Provides access to all issues published from 1986-1998 (Vol. 52-64), including a free-text search feature
Russian humanities/social sciences index - - UW restricted UW restricted
material on the social sciences and humanities published in the Commonwealth of Independent States and Eastern Europe. Particularly valuable for Central Asia.
Social sciences citation index SSCI - (Web of Science) Web of Science includes Science Citation Index Expanded (SCI-EXPANDED), 1965-present; Social Sciences Citation Index (SSCI), 1975-present; and Arts & Humanities Citation Index (A&HCI), 1975-present. - UW restricted UW restricted
Multidisciplinary database with searchable author abstracts, covering the journal literature of the social sciences
Sociological abstracts - - UW restricted UW restricted
Contains abstracts of serial literature in sociology and related disciplines from approximately 2,500 journals
Tables of contents of journals of interest to classicists -
Searchable index of the tables of contents of over 150 journals "of interest to classicists."
World news connection WNC - - UW restricted UW restricted
Reports from the Foreign Broadcasting Information Service. The material is obtained from non-U.S. open-source political speeches, television programs, radio broadcasts, newspaper articles, periodicals, and books.