[advanced search]

Additional Databases for South Asian Studies

General and Multidisciplinary

  More Info UW Restricted Expanded Academic Index Provides indexing, abstracting, full-text articles and images from scholarly journals, magazines, and newspapers. Spans all academic disciplines from arts and humanities to social sciences, science, and technology
    JSTOR search A subject searchable index of journals online with JSTOR. Retrieves full-text backfiles of scholarly journals, some of which date back to the 1800's. Does not include articles more recent than five years ago.
  More Info UW Restricted

Academic Search Complete Scholarly, multidisciplinary database providing indexing and abstracts for over 10,000 publications including monographs, reports, conference proceedings, and others. Also includes full-text access to over 5,000 journals.

Anthropology

  More Info UW Restricted Anthropology Plus Index to articles and essays on anthropology and archaeology, including art history, demography, economics, psychology, and religious studies

Diaspora Studies

    Ethnic Newswatch Full text articles from newspapers and periodicals published by the ethnic and minority press in America

Economics

  More Info UW Restricted Econlit Published by the American Economic Association, provides bibliographic coverage of a wide range of economics-related literature

History

  UW Restricted Humanities and Social Science Retrospective Index -Multidisciplinary index covering 1907 to 1984
  More Info UW Restricted Historical Abstracts Historical coverage of the world from 1450 to the present

Languages and Literature

  More Info UW Restricted MLA International Bibliography Contains bibliographic records pertaining to literature, language, linguistics, and folklore; includes coverage from 1963 to the present

Law

  More Info UW Restricted Index to Foreign Legal Periodicals Covers law of countries other than the United States, the British Isles, and the British Commonwealth, 1985 to the present

Music

  More Info RILM Abstracts of Musical Literature Compiled by the Repertoire International de Litterature Musicale; bibliography of music literature covering Western and Eastern classical to pop, folk, and jazz; 1967-present

News Sources

  More Info UW Restricted LexisNexis Academic Extensive array of full-text news (newspapers, wire services, transcripts and newsletters), business literature, industry and company information, legal, biographical, and reference resources

Political Science & International Affairs

  More Info Ciao Columbia International Affairs Online The most comprehensive source for theory and research in international affairs
  More Info UW Restricted PAIS International Covers social and public policy literature from thousands of periodicals, government documents, books, and other sources

Religious Studies

  More Info UW Restricted ATLA Religion Database Subject areas include: archaeology & antiquities, Bible, church history, human culture & society, missions & ecumenism, pastoral ministry, philosophy & ethics, religious studies, theology, world religions; coverage 1949-current
  More Info UW Restricted Index Islamicus A bibliography of books and index of articles in periodicals on Islam and the Muslim world. Also includes reviews

Questions? Comments? Email:   dbaner@u.washington.edu
Last modified: Monday June 23, 2008 (dbaner)